Photography Travel Photography, when travelling meets photography...

zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 10:14 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 28 2012, 11:45 PM)
u will see it... when u travel to safari in africa!
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 29 2012, 12:33 AM)
U go open one. Share share. We all can pitch in and support.
Got.. I was in wulai ( taiwan )hot spring last weekend and saw one hongkie aunty shoot her kids with 60d + 70-200 f2.8. I feel pain for her
safari i can understand lar... but other than that i just don't see the point.. rclxub.gif
zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 08:30 PM

15,856 posts

Seoul, Korea

1. Your travel itinerary + gear

Travel itinerary can be found at Travel & Living subforum tongue.gif Family trip.

Gear: Sony Alpha 300, Tamron 17-50 f.8

2. Your travel experience

Seoul is great for nice palaces, shopping, street photography and food!

3. Nice places for photo shooting

Seoul tower! The various palaces... with beautiful tress especially during Autumn.

4. Tips and skills for travel photography

Try to bring less gears if you are going to a cold season. Dropped my camera and broke my lens hood as I was trying to juggle to take off my backpack and taking off the jacket.

5. Things to be careful or take note

Some old aunties arent keen to be photographed, especially those manning the stalls. try not to piss them off laugh.gif

6. Last but not least... share your travel photographs here

Night view from my hotel by zstan, on Flickr

Colorful trees by zstan, on Flickr

DSC03691 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC04042 by zstan, on Flickr

Spot the difference by zstan, on Flickr

DSC04568 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC04583 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC04531 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC04737 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC03772 by zstan, on Flickr

zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 10:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 29 2012, 08:49 PM)
BTW, zstan, that short skirt scene more in Tokyo haha.. not many in Seoul.. Now confirmed liao Seoul is much simple in term of fashion compare to Japan haha
QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 29 2012, 09:47 PM)
+1... Actually Taiwan also a lot, but only can be seen during summer... winter all wear socks...
Lulz cannot compare like that la. I went during autumn leh...
zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 11:29 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 29 2012, 11:00 PM)
Not yet la.. the weather lately a bit crazy one... hot and cold on the same day.
omg i totally forgot you at taiwan one. will pm you some questions soon notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zstan
post Mar 30 2012, 05:20 PM

15,856 posts

Hatyai

Gear: 24-105mm equivalent will do.

Place to see and shoot:

- Floating market
- Temples

DSC09514 by zstan, on Flickr

Pidgeon eggs by zstan, on Flickr

Klonghae Floating Market by zstan, on Flickr

Sushi by zstan, on Flickr

Stainless Steel Pagoda by zstan, on Flickr

DSC09758 by zstan, on Flickr

The Buddha by zstan, on Flickr

Coconut ice cream by zstan, on Flickr

DSC00050 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC00248 by zstan, on Flickr

zstan
post Mar 30 2012, 10:20 PM

15,856 posts

@beelze_gpwk

what makes papua new guinea such an expensive place to visit?
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 10:36 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 31 2012, 08:43 AM)
anyone can give tips on how to protect camera when go to island? biggrin.gif

like when go island liao when go snorkelling or island hoping, i want to bring camera to take picture there, but then when go down swimming or play water that time leh?

the camera how? @@

at 1st i thought i can bought a hypergear drybag, then put my camera in and swim with it

but then when i test it at home, put some tissue paper inside it, and then splash water on it, seems that it will still masuk some water ehhhh
I just used a normal bag to carry my DSLR when i went to langkawi that time. even during island hopping. I didnt bring it out while I was on the boat though. swimming that time i just put my bag by the beach within my sight.
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 01:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 31 2012, 11:13 AM)
1. Your travel itinerary + gear
Day 1: Reach Taoyuan Airport in the evening, went to Shilin Night Market (士林夜市) right after check in.
Day 2: Walk around Taipei town (忠孝&敦化area), went for a concert at night
Day 3: Depart to Tai Zhong (台中), visit Sun Moon Lake (日月潭), areas and temples around it, then Feng Jia Night Market (逢甲夜市).
Day 4: Depart to Ye Liu Geological Park (野柳地质公园), Jiu Fen Old Street (九份老街), then Ji Long Night Market (基隆夜市)
Day 5: Gold Museum (黄金博物馆), Golden Waterfall (黄金瀑布), Yin Yang Sea (阴阳海), Shi Fen Water Fall (十分大瀑布), Xi Men Ding (西门町)
Day 6: Bei Tou Hot Spring (北投温泉,地热谷), Fisherman's Harbour (渔人码头), Lover's Bridge (情人桥)
Day 7: Old Palace (故宫), Hello Kitty Restaurant, Taipei 101, Five Dime Restaurant (五角船板), Merimar Wheel (美丽华摩天轮)
Day 8: Depart back home
Gear used: Canon Powershot G12, Tripod, CPL, ND Grad filter

your whole taizhong trip all by taxi? i was wondering whether are there any trains connecting taichung and hua lien or not.. if not have to go take train back to taipei and to hualien ... hmm.gif
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 01:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 31 2012, 01:23 PM)
ahhhh understood lol

won't dangerous meh?
ermm.. i chose a slightly secluded spot to swim lar at pulau beras basah there.. unless got people already target you otherwise its safe.. maybe need be careful of monkeys la laugh.gif
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 01:51 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 31 2012, 01:46 PM)
island hoping okay, but pulau payar....hmmm =.='

why la that drybag not working as it advertise.....or i use wrongly...

pictar gona update after i balik , hehe
oh i also invested in a water proof camera for occasions like these. sorry didnt mention earlier tongue.gif
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 03:14 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 31 2012, 02:52 PM)
i also bought a cheapo underwater camera at rm30 d

those for underwater pic lo, but DSLR for scenery ma , but swimming tak tau how to take care of it lol
this time travel with gf 2 person nia, so cannot d @@
well, i quite worry about those water proof casing ma, then those mahal one too not worth liao for me. but now kinda regret since drypack macam not good sad.gif

haha, i know la, but this forum more pros on DSLR ma, so want to get idea on how these DSLR user do to protect their camera when visiting island/sea lo
For the following photos, do you think its taken by a DSLR or a compact? smile.gif

zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 03:30 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 31 2012, 03:20 PM)
for my noob eyes,i can't really see the diff lol

btw, which waterproof camera u using o?
Sony TX10 biggrin.gif
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 11:03 PM

15,856 posts

Oh i also brought a pirated version of gorillapod to Seoul which was almost totally useless because it can't support the weight of the DSLR unless when almost fully flatten on the ground laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 1 2012, 01:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 1 2012, 11:27 AM)
Now already replace my kit lens with tamron , Sooner replace my nissin 622markII to canon 580exII , omg , it will be more tired for me , but what to do , u spend so much on travel , must capture some nice photo as memory right? hahaha  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
My girlfriends just do PHOTOBOOK for our HK trip , when u see back the photo , u will feel that the tiredness is worth !!!
Unfortunately you can only do so (setting up a tripod and remote) if you are travelling by yourself and without much time constraints..if for a group shot I would pass my compact to a passerby and ask them help me shoot can liao.. As long as can see the background slightly and know where is the picture taken, it's ok liao.. These type of shots picture IQ don need too be excellent.. My 2 cents.

QUOTE(yankiat @ Apr 1 2012, 11:33 AM)
this photo oof already.. background sharper than the subject..  blush.gif
Ah well. It's back focused. And street photography not so picky about focusing accuracy one gua? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 1 2012, 12:42 PM)
DSLR for overseas.
LX-3 for local.

I'm trying to shed more weight off the lens part. But I wonder if lens can be made even lighter considering the new one weight only 52g. hmm.gif
Buy the 40mm pancake brows.gif
zstan
post Apr 2 2012, 04:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 2 2012, 03:12 PM)
Actually what is ur guys main point when choosing a DSLR over Compact , or COMPACT over DSLR??

For me to choose DSLR over compact is

- Able to use External Flash (for night , indoor , group shoot)
- Better ISO control (but i believe nowaday compact camera also improve alot in ISO control)
- Faster Focus speed and Brust Speed
- Can swap Lens , from WIDE to TELE
The colours and contrast that a bigger sensor and lens give can never be compared with a compact as well...

though the main advantage my compact has that it can easily enter my pocket and can go underwater laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 2 2012, 11:13 PM

15,856 posts

What are your guy's definition of compact?

For me, the camera MUST fit into my jeans. So those G1X, X100, or even XZ1 too bad la laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 3 2012, 06:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 3 2012, 04:32 PM)
Hmm.. just saw this thread...

Will be going around Europe end of April for about 2 weeks.
Been thinking of what lens to bring along. Any recommendations?
I have a 60D with
- 17-50mm f2.8
- 50mm f1.4
- 70-200 f4 USM
- 90mm f2.8

Been thinking about getting either a Tokina 11-16 (or Canon 10-22) for close up (indoor / inside the Vatican City) or a 18-200 for a single travel lens solution.

Appreciate any advice or feedback

Will of course be bringing along the little S100 (compact and easy to carry around and pull out)
i suggest the canon 10-22 and the 50 smile.gif UWA for all the amazing architectures and 50mm when you need more zoom.
zstan
post Apr 3 2012, 06:43 PM

15,856 posts

^wow nice. how much did you pay for it? plan to compile all my photos in one book.
zstan
post Apr 3 2012, 07:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 3 2012, 07:00 PM)
Not many buddies using DSLR...
family members are using Nikon.. hehe

15-85 was one of my choices previously but then I already have the other lenses... *sigh*
time to sell off some lenses I suppose.
hmm... interesting choice.
Just wondering...
How often do you need to use zoom (above 50mm)?
I guess this won't be much of a problem if I had a used 5D mkII and a 24-105 L..
There's always a chance to use above 50mm. Heck even with 200mm there will definitely be use. But now are you travelling to Europe specifically to take photographs, and taking photographs while you are travelling? It's two totally different things you know. You do not want to be bogged down about lenses being stolen or stuff like that. Furthermore, with larger megapixels you could always crop.

Well to reach a 24-105L range you could carry your 90mm with you as well. Since 10-22 and 50 pretty much covers everything in that range, and being slightly wider.

zstan
post Apr 4 2012, 08:34 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Apr 4 2012, 12:30 AM)
Erm..reli hv to think wisely b4 buying another digi cam..prerably thin and small n light weight..s100 let me go see the review...

I have always wanted to develop all my picture into hard copy but it's too costly and too much to develop..

If I on business trip I won't bring my Dslr...cos the country I travel nothing much for me to capture and not much time.. So envy u guys who travel to Europe on business trip..

Going to kk soon..where is the place nice for photography?anyone know?
The islands if you are doing island hopping. Mount Kinabalu too. From far also nice to shoot. Around Kundasang area.

0.0227sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:01 AM