20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Travel Photography, when travelling meets photography...

TSbeelze_gpwk
post Mar 29 2012, 02:02 AM, updated 13y ago

632 posts

Let's talk about travelling and photography here!!

Feel free to share:
1. Your travel itinerary + gear
2. Your travel experience
3. Nice places for photo shooting
4. Tips and skills for travel photography
5. Things to be careful or take note
6. Last but not least... share your travel photographs here icon_rolleyes.gif

It doesn't matter where are you from, where have you been, what brand and type of camera you are using...
If you travel and take photos... you are one of us!
sniper on the roof
post Mar 29 2012, 02:09 AM

23,414 posts

I add some decoration to the thread with some cliche'ed tourist shots can?

My loot for 2011 biggrin.gif

IMG_1530 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_8211 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_0718_19_20 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_0356 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_5854 by vmwt, on Flickr

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Mar 29 2012, 02:11 AM
llsphinxll
post Mar 29 2012, 09:04 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

my trip to London few months ago.
1. travelled with a 60d + c10-22mm and 600d + c24-105L and a compact: sony nex5N.
3. there are tons in London, but when i went, it was winter. so going out was a problem.
4. noob here, no tips. simply point and shot ni. blush.gif
6. my contribution! biggrin.gif

Art in Red by eijoux, on Flickr
TSbeelze_gpwk
post Mar 29 2012, 09:15 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 29 2012, 02:09 AM)
I add some decoration to the thread with some cliche'ed tourist shots can?

My loot for 2011 biggrin.gif
So it is a Paris, Las Vegas, HK, Shanghai and... where is the last one?
You guys can share a few pics then put a link to your flickr set for us to view more of the pictures brows.gif

I'm editing my pictures from Taiwan which I have just went to... I will post some when it is ready... a bit shy to post cos the pic you guys have here seems so good... blush.gif

Normally i use Manual mode all the time when shooting... what do you guys think? OR maybe Av or Tv is more productive or effective mode for travel photography?
led_zep_freak
post Mar 29 2012, 09:23 AM

5,231 posts

I love travelling and thus love capturing images on the road. These days I'm trying my best to travel as light as possible, so I'm slowly switching to M4/3 (Which is why the D90 is being sold. biggrin.gif ) format. I respect those who are able to bring their dSLRs and huge zooms abroad because even with my humble Nikon, I find it tiring to carry it for a whole day.

Here are some of my favourite on-the-road shots:
Gyeongbukgung Palace, Seoul, South Korea

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Seoul, South Korea
zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 10:14 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 28 2012, 11:45 PM)
u will see it... when u travel to safari in africa!
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 29 2012, 12:33 AM)
U go open one. Share share. We all can pitch in and support.
Got.. I was in wulai ( taiwan )hot spring last weekend and saw one hongkie aunty shoot her kids with 60d + 70-200 f2.8. I feel pain for her
safari i can understand lar... but other than that i just don't see the point.. rclxub.gif
deodorant
post Mar 29 2012, 10:21 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I took part in a travel blogging contest by MAS and won free holidays to Perth and Tokyo using this travel blog post tongue.gif ... photos below!

user posted image user posted image user posted image
sniper on the roof
post Mar 29 2012, 10:25 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Mar 29 2012, 09:04 AM)
my trip to London few months ago.
1. travelled with a 60d + c10-22mm and 600d + c24-105L and a compact: sony nex5N.
3. there are tons in London, but when i went, it was winter. so going out was a problem.
4. noob here, no tips. simply point and shot ni. blush.gif
6. my contribution! biggrin.gif

I'm heading to London next month, staying near Paddington station and can only shoot at night.
Anything interesting around there?
Thinking of sticking to 30mm + PnS only. Any thoughts?

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Mar 29 2012, 09:15 AM)
So it is a Paris, Las Vegas, HK, Shanghai and... where is the last one?
You guys can share a few pics then put a link to your flickr set for us to view more of the pictures  brows.gif

I'm editing my pictures from Taiwan which I have just went to... I will post some when it is ready... a bit shy to post cos the pic you guys have here seems so good...  blush.gif

Normally i use Manual mode all the time when shooting... what do you guys think? OR maybe Av or Tv is more productive or effective mode for travel photography?
The last one is the Bay of Naples, Italy.

Whatever mode also can la.. that's not important. I think more important is to research on background of the place that we visit, think about what to shoot and prepare for it. Just my dua sen la.

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 29 2012, 09:23 AM)
I love travelling and thus love capturing images on the road. These days I'm trying my best to travel as light as possible, so I'm slowly switching to M4/3 (Which is why the D90 is being sold. biggrin.gif ) format. I respect those who are able to bring their dSLRs and huge zooms abroad because even with my humble Nikon, I find it tiring to carry it for a whole day.

Yeah... I dun like the weight and bulk but I do like the experience of shooting dslr with optical viewfinder and all.
I usually just bring one or max 2 lens on a trip + a gorillapod. That helps reduces the weight to a manageable level.

Another thing is the camera bag... most camera bags focus on protection and hence very heavy.

Come to think of it... a lot of camera bags weight as much or more than an entry dslr body + lens itself. What I do is either use a regular man bag or something like the lowepro exchange messenger, remove all the dividers, put in a scarf or light windbreaker (which I usually bring out anyway) and just leave the camera there.

Compromising is the key biggrin.gif
rx330
post Mar 29 2012, 10:35 AM

11,811 posts

u guys travel photo dem nice la....
i never get this kind of photos
yankiat
post Mar 29 2012, 10:43 AM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 29 2012, 10:35 AM)
u guys travel photo dem nice la....
i never get this kind of photos
At least you travelled... Me no lor sad.gif
Jing-leBelle
post Mar 29 2012, 11:27 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Sharing some of my old shots during my trips in 2011.
Hope you guys don't mind the pictures spam.

These were shot by my Canon EOS 400D w/ Canon 10-22mm around March-April'11
Rome

View from Spanish Step, Rome by Wenjing87, on Flickr

Venice
The night is still young in Venice, Italy. by Wenjing87, on Flickr

Bergamo
Sunny day in Bergamo, Italy by Wenjing87, on Flickr

Vatican
The St. Peter's Square, Vatican City by Wenjing87, on Flickr

Below were shot by my Canon EOS 550D w/ Canon 10-22mm around August'11
Sydney

Urban of Sydney by Wenjing87, on Flickr

Great Ocean Road, Melbourne

Great Ocean Road, Melbourne Aus by Wenjing87, on Flickr

rx330
post Mar 29 2012, 12:04 PM

11,811 posts

Bali, 2012 december
- mamiya universal, rolleicord & M8
- good place to chill out, cheap booze
- get a driver for 10 hours to bring u to a few places u wanna see or take pictures
- if im not mistaken, uluwatu seaside, by the cliff, dem nice to chill, was there for like 3-4 hours drinking beer
- famous for tanah lot, ubud, kintamani
- not there yet to gip tips
- remember to keep enough rupiahs to pay tax on the way back
- the bloody monkeys at the temple
6. Last but not least... share your travel photographs here

UK family living in Bali

The hotel i stayed, 70 USD

Tanah Lot

A pub in Legian, her violin really unique

My buddy by the pool at 2am

Streets of Benoa

Jimbaran, nice place to have dinner by the seaside looking at the sunset

Sunset at Sanur, taken while on a cruise

hmmmm.... my pics really diff from u all, hahahahha blush.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Mar 29 2012, 12:18 PM
adam_lss
post Mar 29 2012, 12:14 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

how come your tanah lot picture like got dot dots one?
rx330
post Mar 29 2012, 12:29 PM

11,811 posts

er.... itu dot dot ar... mungkin scanner punya pasal? i dunno wor
XiuKeong
post Mar 29 2012, 12:42 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

Taiwan 2012

All shots using 60D + 17-40 f4L smile.gif
I find that Taiwan is mostly famous for its landscape. Definitely must go back again nod.gif

This post has been edited by XiuKeong: Mar 29 2012, 12:43 PM
Michaelbyz23
post Mar 29 2012, 01:14 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,560 posts

as for me, i sometimes dont really like travelling with too many gears because they are heavy.
so, next time if i were to travel, i'll just bring 1 body without battery grip, a wide angle, and a prime lens. 50mm f1.4 for FF.

some of my shots

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Mar 29 2012, 01:18 PM
sniper on the roof
post Mar 29 2012, 01:22 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 29 2012, 12:29 PM)
er.... itu dot dot ar... mungkin scanner punya pasal? i dunno wor
Dust la... aiyor.. go clean first before scanning la.
TSbeelze_gpwk
post Mar 29 2012, 01:31 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 29 2012, 01:22 PM)
Dust la... aiyor.. go clean first before scanning la.
+1... obviously...
sniper on the roof
post Mar 29 2012, 02:06 PM

23,414 posts

Hmmm... going to post more organised manner now.

Start with Paris.

- Usually go there as business trip last stop for R&R before coming home.
- Gear: 550D + 30mm, 17-50mm and XZ-1 as backup.

- Paris is great for jalan jalan. Awesome place for every genre of photography. Landscape, street, architecture etc

- Montmartre is a must go. Great hill top view and Sacre Couer is magnificent. Also visit the artist market but the most interesting is the lanes and alleys away from there.

- Eiffel tower at night with its on-the-hour lightshow. Best viewed under the tower. In the daytime, its best shot from Palais de Chaillot on the other side of the river for some foreground interest and that classical doisneau look.

- Paris panorama on top of Arc du Triomphe. Cost Euro 9 to get up there.

- Do visit the many gardens.. especially Luxembourg garden. Less tourist.

- the Metro is quite interesting if you like those urban decay themes.

- Pont des Arts with its lover's padlocks.

- For shooting people... avoid the china tourist and go to the backlanes around the Opera area and St.Germain area.

- Getting lost. Paris is an extremely photogenic city.

- Don't carry a tripod cos Lourve, Arc du Triomphe, Eiffel tower etc checks your bag before letting you go in. Tripod is not allowed. Setting one up on the riverside is ok but keep it in the hotel before proceeding to next destination.

- Paris may be the birthplace of streetphotography but its laden with privacy laws (you can take photos of people in public place but by right, isolating and focussing on one face is invasion of privacy) and copyright. Even the lighting in the Eiffel tower by right.. is copyrighted though this is largely not enforced. So act like tourist. Buy a "I Love Paris" t-shirt and you're fine.

- Gear wise.. anything will do. Lens along the standard focal lenghts are fine. UWA can be useful but definately don't need long zooms.

- Less is more. Keep gears to bare minimum, dress comfortably as lots of walking is involved.

- Don't be a fashionista.. don't flaunt your branded stuffs. Keep an eye on your belongings against pickpockets especially in crowded area and the metro.

6. Last but not least... share your travel photographs here

IMG_1189_90_91 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_1475 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_5070 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_4841 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_5170 by vmwt, on Flickr