7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fitness The Runners Thread V4, Everything about running...

fastreader
post Apr 27 2012, 09:36 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Apr 27 2012, 09:34 AM)
by Choi's MPV  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
can all LYN tumpang?..i mean convoy!!!!!!! nanti pbim ingat its BERSIH... tongue.gif tongue.gif all kena ban tongue.gif
fastreader
post Apr 27 2012, 11:42 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Apr 27 2012, 10:26 AM)
yeah...RJM, plan to run at 5-6hr biggrin.gif
i tink there's a prize for the best snap too rite?..if not mistaken...shud get some DSLR fag to join to keep fit... tongue.gif
fastreader
post Apr 27 2012, 12:13 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(ultr4lite @ Apr 27 2012, 11:58 AM)
will bring my sony point-shoot camera, she can handle rain and water easily smile.gif
a very good idea.. smile.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 08:43 AM

4,554 posts

does many of LYN runner here wear the spibelt or any belt (eg. Nike Slim Running Waistpack) when running marathon?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

isit comfortable with it?..if not, how do you guys keep your stuff when running destination marathon?.. hmm.gif
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 09:00 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(eeki @ Apr 30 2012, 08:48 AM)
me. I'm using SPI belt. very comfortable if u want to carry some small items, car keys, gel, etc.
no bounce.

i normally put handphone & car key. so far has been serving me so well.
bought it from Choi.
oic...good to hear about tat...i'm considering whether to get 1 onot... tongue.gif and afraid tat if putting too heavy stuff (eg. handphone) it mite b too "bouncy" and affect the run.. tongue.gif what about those that dun use the spibelt?..where do you guy/gals keep ur stuff?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

but, owner of spibelt do provide some suggestion or recommendation or advice of spibelt/nike slim running waistpack use.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 10:46 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(eeki @ Apr 30 2012, 10:29 AM)
it wont bounce if u didnt put much heavy stuff, i did try before to stuff in many things, it did bounce actually. that time i put car key, BB phone, gel and coin some more  tongue.gif
other than that, you  can try running wallet, but quite small compartment.
running wallet are those that they attach to their shoelace isit?.. hmm.gif yeah, did saw a few in the Nike shop selling for around RM40. smile.gif but really, the compartment quite small..
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 11:11 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(eeki @ Apr 30 2012, 11:10 AM)
got another one you can strap on your arm, bigger size than those attach to shoelace.
oic...any example of it?..or website link to it?..so far those tat i know of are from Nike where the wallet is attached to the shoes smile.gif
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 09:20 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(eeki @ Apr 30 2012, 08:43 PM)
oic..i tink those are mostly better for phone...and of cuz,no harm to slip some cash in. tongue.gif
fastreader
post Apr 30 2012, 11:28 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Apr 30 2012, 09:48 PM)
I owe two of those Nike Arm band .. working fine but only need rinse it after a run ..  laugh.gif
one for left arm and right arm?.. brows.gif
fastreader
post May 1 2012, 08:59 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ May 1 2012, 02:55 PM)
haha .. both of them was on right arm coz left already got Iphone arm band ...  tongue.gif
Looks bulky on it  sweat.gif
I managed to get this offer from eBay..costing only RM11++(including delivery) tongue.gif ..so i got 2 of it. tongue.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPORT-LOVER-ARM-BA...#ht_1758wt_1163

hopefully the quality is as good as those branded ones. smile.gif

was tinking to get this: running waistpack..costing RM33++ including postage to Malaysia

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Goout-Lightweigh-t...a#ht_500wt_1413

brows.gif brows.gif

fastreader
post May 1 2012, 10:38 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 1 2012, 09:51 PM)
Yes, curl bros who neglect lower body exercises that would otherwise provide them with explosive power/strength are unsightly.

Squats and deadlift are really fulfilling exercises, everyone should incorporate this into their routine.
yes..some of us do go to the gym to build some core muscles too...if that is your point.
fastreader
post May 2 2012, 08:36 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 2 2012, 08:05 AM)
All you regs here are just way too nice sometimes, haha!

I woulda given him hell for that initial comment..
we're just trying to be diplomatic.. *noted his popularity in Kopitiam for creating "high-value" thread* tongue.gif
fastreader
post May 2 2012, 01:05 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 2 2012, 11:43 AM)
As far as racing flats go, the NB1400 is not the lightest nor is it the flattest of flats...  tongue.gif What distance U plan to use the shoes for ? I've been using Asics Gel Hyperspeed 3 (the latest one is Hyperspeed 5) for over a year now & it's the lightest shoe I've got in my stable now (not including spikes). However the issue is durability & being a pretty big guy, I only use the shoes for 10K races, 12K max.

If Ur a light runner (60kg below) with efficient strides, U can use the NB for half marathons or even marathons. I bet it's much more durable than Asics too. U might also wanna check out Adizero Hagio. Adizeros have this thing called the Torsion plate right in the middle of the sole, U can really feel it working. I plan to switch to that once my Asics have worn out, which is not that long now... maybe after Larian Bomba...  tongue.gif
for runner in the region of 60kg to 65kg, would u recommend a light shoes?..or better to stick to slight cushioned shoes like the Asic Gel Nimbus?.. am pretty interested to tried out the Adizero series one day.. smile.gif but hopefullly i'm not too heavy for a light shoes.. tongue.gif
fastreader
post May 2 2012, 04:28 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 2 2012, 02:56 PM)

I used to weigh 84kg, yet I used Adizero Ace for 2 half marathons back in 2010. But the cushioning was like gone after halfway la.. after that I switched to Newtons for HM, currently happy with the Brooks Pure Cadence... But I think for 10K or less it's still okay... 60-65kg considered light wat... not like me.. like a rhinoceros...  tongue.gif
hmm.gif hmm.gif 60-65kg considered light?.. somehow i felt heavy dy.. tongue.gif was tinking of trying out a race shoe like the Adizero ace pro or Adizero boston 3 (if i happen to come across one during discount/sale), but at the same time afraid that the minimal cushion mite hurt my leg and may have an impact on the leg in the long run...
my concern is of the risk of injury using less-cushioned race shoe, although dunno whether the risk is real risk or just perceived risk only..am still a noob at running.. tongue.gif

all this while had been using cushioned shoes like the Asics Gel nimbus and the Adidas Duramo...because i tink that i'm quite heavy and tat my legs cant take my weight.. tongue.gif smile.gif
fastreader
post May 2 2012, 05:16 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 2 2012, 04:49 PM)

Work on Ur running economy, try to get a faster turnover & try as much as possible to land light... the higher Ur turnover, the lighter Ur feet will become, meaning U'll only make minimal contact with the road becoz Ur legs are turning faster...

Adizero Boston is quite well cushioned, there's no Adizero Ace Pro, but there's Adizero Ace & there's Adizero Pro. The Pro is being replaced by the Hagio. If Ur lucky U can still find some around... Adizero Pro is the lightest Adizero...
oooppsss..sorry for the wrong naming of the shoes there..yes, i was talking about the Ace..not the Pro.. tongue.gif was afriad that the less-cushioned mite b harmful for myself.. smile.gif

running economy?..i googled it and noted that it is about breathing... on the faster turnover, are u referring to the steps taken?..meaning to try to take lighter step will in a way help to reduce impact and also speed up the pace?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif will give tat a try. smile.gif

Goals: Try to land as light as possible, Aim is to get a faster leg turnover..this means to focus landing on mid-foot?..this will create lighter step?.. smile.gif
fastreader
post May 2 2012, 08:02 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 2 2012, 05:31 PM)
Faster turnover = higher cadence (number of strides per feet per minute). Of course U have to land on midfoot/forefoot to be able to achieve that. If Ur a heel striker, work on achieving faster switch from heel (landing) to toe off (take off).. eventually this will lead to midfoot/forefoot striking...

alrite..noted..will tried it out.. smile.gif thanx sifu tenno for the tips!!
fastreader
post May 3 2012, 08:54 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ May 2 2012, 10:43 PM)
Check out the Saucony Kinvara 2 just ard 7.3oz.  Light enuf to be a racer and a marathon shoe.  4mm drop and just abt the right cushioning and support.  Durability - easily last u 400k.  One may get better mileage if u are light footed and not on the heavy side (60-70kg)  Price wise RM280 for LYN Runners.  And if u really want a flat racing shoe, the Newton MV2 had proven itself.  Just over  5oz.  I hv seen runners taking it for a 42k race but i think its more suitable for 5, 10k and 15k

Added on May 2, 2012, 10:57 pmIMHO and not doubting the capabilities of others, unless one can do a 10k in 40-50mins then a racing flats is important bcos of the fast turnover.  you just need speed and as less weight as possible.  slightly heavier shoe will slow you down. Else a light weight trainer weighing abt 7oz will be good enuf
alrite Mr. Choi...will give the Kinvara a look when i have enuf fund for another shoes soon.. smile.gif really itching to try out a racing shoes than the usual cushioned trainer. brows.gif brows.gif
fastreader
post May 3 2012, 09:59 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ May 3 2012, 09:13 AM)
Actually i m preparing for year end Penang Bridge FM. I am looking to upgrade my gear also.
Currently i m using kayano 17 for training. Just wondering wat kind of use u all prefer for HM or FM ?
kayano has quite a fair bit of cushioning..so u planning to go "bare"?.. brows.gif i'm on cushioned shoes too..and also tinking to try out "bare" or 'thin profile" progressively.. smile.gif
fastreader
post May 4 2012, 02:47 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ May 3 2012, 11:18 PM)
Hi, I checked last year, medal only 100#. So you must run atleast 55min and below.
http://derkeenrunner2009.blogspot.com/2011...bomba-2011.html

2012 - 150#
http://derkeenrunner2009.blogspot.com/2012...bomba-2012.html
something to be training for.. brows.gif brows.gif a great motivation for those participating smile.gif
fastreader
post May 4 2012, 10:38 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ May 4 2012, 10:14 AM)
same thing happen to me last year, when i start run back after stop for 7-8ys ago( tat time im a inner state 100,200 n 400m runner), when i start run just barely finish 2km+ and i register for Bidor HM n just 1 1/2month to go...so i go training 7time a week 1hr+ every session...and able finish sub 2, at that time i addicted to running  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  so nothing is impossible..u still gt alot time icon_rolleyes.gif
7 days a week??..u tak takut overwork ur muscle and joint kah?..maybe b'cos i'm too old dy..so got such concern.. smile.gif tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0566sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:11 AM