Arowana Lovers V6, All about Arowana

antzz
post Jun 19 2013, 08:53 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Jun 18 2013, 08:04 PM)
LOL..bro..

Honestly, I find kois more interesting..

Keep coming to u..playing with your hand..

Still, main concern is always the water..
Boss.. ive been curious about kois.. My fren told me they need a pond with great depth to grow normally?

Is it true? Cuz i dont like idea of having too depth pond, cuz may be dangerous to kids n other pets.
leggedy
post Jun 19 2013, 07:28 PM

93 posts

The bigger the better..the depth is to make sure the water is cooling enough for them..

Butterfly kois look great in tank..

Kois have the lifespan of up to 100years given if u can maintain an excellent water quality all year round
antzz
post Jun 22 2013, 08:27 PM

115 posts

Today's prey ;p

aiman04
post Jun 23 2013, 09:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi Sifus,

I've done the most unexpected thing, even to myself. Parked near a LFS to buy a few things from from the Speedmart beside it. Suddenly I thought of a new hobby: arowana. My wife & kids were happy with the idea so we went arowana hunting. So I'm a total noob, here. Did the stupidest thing purchased one without any research, anybody who knows me would be surprised because that is not my style. Seeing the adult, I just fell in love with Chili Red & bought an 8". Been at my home for only 5 days now.

Pics:

1. What do you guys think of the overall quality? Will it be redder & shine more as adult?
2. Just noticed the drop eye, but it won't affect the lifespan & activity right?
3. A couple of the scales torn or chipped a bit but didn't drop off, will it grow back? The tail & fins are fine now, but will it also recover if torn?

I've read this whole thread and a few pages of V5, at first really difficult with the abbreviations but now I'm slowly getting it. Really impressed with everyone's knowledge & dedication, learned a lot. Been feeding with feeder fish but today started to train with Hikari sticks which it chew a few times and spit out, just starved him for 2 days only, will continue on. My wife don't want any kind of worms in the house.

I'm also looking for a 5'x2'x2' glass tank, any suggestion for the best place? Still can't decide to use cannister or sump tank.

Advices from all the masters here will be very much appreciated. notworthy.gif

antzz
post Jun 24 2013, 11:02 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 23 2013, 09:41 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I've done the most unexpected thing, even to myself. Parked near a LFS to buy a few things from from the Speedmart beside it. Suddenly I thought of a new hobby: arowana. My wife & kids were happy with the idea so we went arowana hunting. So I'm a total noob, here. Did the stupidest thing purchased one without any research, anybody who knows me would be surprised because that is not my style. Seeing the adult, I just fell in love with Chili Red & bought an 8". Been at my home for only 5 days now.

Pics:

1. What do you guys think of the overall quality? Will it be redder & shine more as adult?
2. Just noticed the drop eye, but it won't affect the lifespan & activity right?
3. A couple of the scales torn or chipped a bit but didn't drop off, will it grow back? The tail & fins are fine now, but will it also recover if torn?

I've read this whole thread and a few pages of V5, at first really difficult with the abbreviations but now I'm slowly getting it. Really impressed with everyone's knowledge & dedication, learned a lot. Been feeding with feeder fish but today started to train with Hikari sticks which it chew a few times and spit out, just starved him for 2 days only, will continue on. My wife don't want any kind of worms in the house.

I'm also looking for a 5'x2'x2' glass tank, any suggestion for the best place? Still can't decide to use cannister or sump tank.

Advices from all the masters here will be very much appreciated. notworthy.gif
Nice fish bro, apart from the drop eye. In longer run, u'd find that drop eye is so annoying. But as long as u dont really emphasize on it, should be okay for now.

Torn scales will naturally heal. My aro hurts his scales and tails more than urs, and it completely heals in 2-3 weeks. Just maintain water quality and u'll see the improvement.

Feeding wise, i learned from here as well, that a stable aro will take almost anything. That applies to my fish, when he consumes almost anything. Yesterday he ate 20 crickets, and still looking for more.
aiman04
post Jun 27 2013, 10:31 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jun 24 2013, 11:02 AM)
Nice fish bro, apart from the drop eye. In longer run, u'd find that drop eye is so annoying. But as long as u dont really emphasize on it, should be okay for now.

Torn scales will naturally heal. My aro hurts his scales and tails more than urs, and it completely heals in 2-3 weeks. Just maintain water quality and u'll see the improvement.

Feeding wise, i learned from here as well, that a stable aro will take almost anything. That applies to my fish, when he consumes almost anything. Yesterday he ate 20 crickets, and still looking for more.
Thanks bro. smile.gif

Yeah the DE doesn't bother me as long as it has no side effects. Plan to keep it as long as possible maybe 20 years. Not gonna sell him.

About the scales, that's a relief. The colors haven't really come out yet, but the scales really shine with golden hue. Just beautiful, can't wait to see how he looks as an adult.

I went Kin Fatt in Kepong, they have a 5'x2'x2' tank complete with wooden cabinet, hood and sump filter, for RM2300 inclusive of delivery. Is it a good deal?

By the way the have a few blood red there, almost like my chili red but with darker scales, selling for RM2700.
antzz
post Jun 27 2013, 12:09 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 27 2013, 10:31 AM)
Thanks bro. smile.gif

Yeah the DE doesn't bother me as long as it has no side effects. Plan to keep it as long as possible maybe 20 years. Not gonna sell him.

About the scales, that's a relief. The colors haven't really come out yet, but the scales really shine with golden hue. Just beautiful, can't wait to see how he looks as an adult.

I went Kin Fatt in Kepong, they have a 5'x2'x2' tank complete with wooden cabinet, hood and sump filter, for RM2300 inclusive of delivery. Is it a good deal?

By the way the have a few blood red there, almost like my chili red but with darker scales, selling for RM2700.
How much u bought ur red for? Pretty daring if its ur 1st aro.

This post has been edited by antzz: Jun 27 2013, 12:09 PM
aiman04
post Jun 27 2013, 07:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jun 27 2013, 12:09 PM)
How much u bought ur red for? Pretty daring if its ur 1st aro.
It was RM2300. Yeah I know, won't do it again next time. tongue.gif
sideways
post Jun 28 2013, 04:24 PM

128 posts

bro, can go take a look at Xien Leng @ Shah Alam.

Saw them selling 4feet tanks RM 2500 range.
These are the very presentable type with Digital indicators for temperature, Lights, bla bla bla... Not wood finishing but those Black acrylic glass stuff. IMO very presentable & worth that 2k+. These used to sell for 5k+.

Didn't really notice if they had 5feet though.
antzz
post Jun 28 2013, 07:27 PM

115 posts

IMHO u should consider at least a 5 footer, or else u'll need to upgrade ur tank soon, as in my case years ago.
aiman04
post Jun 28 2013, 08:55 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just tried to feed him crickets for the first time, he's just crazy about it & now ignoring the feeder fish. Just wondering, the LFS uncle added crumpled newspaper piece into the box, "buat rumah dia" he said. But now I see they eats the paper even though I feed them with carots regularly. Will this affect my arowana?

QUOTE(sideways @ Jun 28 2013, 04:24 PM)
bro, can go take a look at Xien Leng @ Shah Alam.

Saw them selling 4feet tanks RM 2500 range.
These are the very presentable type with Digital indicators for temperature, Lights, bla bla bla... Not wood finishing but those Black acrylic glass stuff. IMO very presentable & worth that 2k+. These used to sell for 5k+.

Didn't really notice if they had 5feet though.
Wow, interesting. I've heard of those, premium high-end stuff. Really cheap for that price, too bad it's just 4'. Will try to visit them tomorrow maybe. The LFS just close by my house is selling a 5'x2'2' (nyatoh cabinet) for RM1950 complete with everything including delivery & installation. Might opt for 5'x2.5'x2' instead, haven't decide.

QUOTE(antzz @ Jun 28 2013, 07:27 PM)
IMHO u should consider at least a 5 footer, or else u'll need to upgrade ur tank soon, as in my case years ago.
Yeah, aiming at least a 5' with 2.5' width if possible.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 28 2013, 09:27 PM
kent75
post Jun 28 2013, 11:56 PM

66 posts

Bro aiman04, can try to consult Aquatic Solutions for your queries ... They will provide you professional opinions and suggestions too..
aiman04
post Jun 29 2013, 11:24 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kent75 @ Jun 28 2013, 11:56 PM)
Bro aiman04, can try to consult Aquatic Solutions for your queries ... They will provide you professional opinions and suggestions too..
Thanks Kent, but their prices seems to be too expensive. I've already found one close to my house, they're really knowledgeable about water parameters, filtrations, diseases, etc and their advice didn't contradict with what I've read from V5 & V6 of this thread. I appreciate them for sharing their knowledge even after I've told them I wasn't gonna buy anything, just surveying for price, so now I've made my decision. smile.gif
Piratefx
post Jun 30 2013, 11:23 PM

Hello fellow Aro maniacs, picked up a TINY mgbb a few days ago, a bit smaller than 2.5 inches, cutest aro i've ever laid eyes on. Fed bloodworms 3-5 times a day. Can't really eat a lot, at most 10-15 pieces of blood worms at any one time. It will be interesting to see how fast it grows in the next few months.

Antc
post Jul 2 2013, 09:09 PM

Cute tiny fellow. So scare of the shark below.. surgeon fish biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 3 2013, 11:01 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

My aro just jumped and hit his head on the cover, hurt himself with white mark on top of his head like missing skin. It will heal right? He's swimming normally right now no signs of stress.

Why did he do this? He seems hungry though. I've just fed him at 7pm with 4 crickets. I've been feeding him 4 crickets twice daily. Is that enough? He is about 9 inches now.

So sad. sad.gif
Piratefx
post Jul 4 2013, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 3 2013, 11:01 PM)
My aro just jumped and hit his head on the cover, hurt himself with white mark on top of his head like missing skin. It will heal right? He's swimming normally right now no signs of stress.

Why did he do this? He seems hungry though. I've just fed him at 7pm with 4 crickets. I've been feeding him 4 crickets twice daily. Is that enough? He is about 9 inches now.

So sad. sad.gif
Thats the problem with these fishes, they like to go airborne. Something scared it most likely. The mark will heal but there may be a scar. As for feeding, my Chili red is around the same size and i think that amount is fine. But its entirely up to you if you want to feed more.
antzz
post Jul 4 2013, 09:26 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 3 2013, 11:01 PM)

So sad. sad.gif
No worries bro. My aro also jumped and hurt himself in his early days. That was the last time he did. Now he's already stable and never jumped afterwards.
arowana24
post Jul 19 2013, 01:05 PM

why this forum not active liao? who have free tank wan gv up selangor area.
sideways
post Jul 23 2013, 09:27 AM

128 posts

Bros... got an Aro to let go.

Letting go this piece at lelong price. RM 750 only !
Bought as 24k Golden, some blue is visible on the fish now.
Might be a 24k or MG BB, you be the judge.
Rings & Pearlies shown.
Very high shine.

1 scale, tail damage due to jumping. OTW recover. DE.

Urgent sale to clear tank.

127 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:03 PM