Mar 8 2012, 10:21 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
93 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
perhaps it is time for each and everyone that owns an arowana to update picture their arowana here on first page of arowana lover V6 as hall of fame? Rather than, first! Second!
LOL.. |
Mar 9 2012, 12:32 AM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Mar 9 2012, 09:00 AM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Cheras,Kuala lumpur |
Mar 9 2012, 10:42 AM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
hi guys.... im new to arowana..but yesterday my dad manage to get a arowana from his friend ...his friend said that this arowana is HB...( will post a pic later when i go home )
i wanna ask some advice from sifu out there.. 1 . i would wanna know the basics of sump tank setup materials and guides... i know the 1st layer will always be white filter wool..2nd and 3rd compartment will be bio rings ( or theres something better? pls enlighten me ) 4th compartment im planning to put some plants and some some guppies inside is that okay? 2. im getting a 5ft overflow tank...is 2 way overflow ( each corner ) will be a good choice? and after reading arowana v5 forums...i assume a EHEIM compact+ 3000 is good enough to support my 5ft tank. Also 1 more thing...is it okay for me to feed the water back in at the bottom of the water tank...cause by doing this i think the water will cycle better? 3. lastly is the lighting...IF my arowana is a HB....wat lighting and background should i use? im a signboard contractor so i can manage to get all sorts of colour stickers for my upcoming aquarium ^^ to all sifus out there...thank you for advice hope i can post the picture soon.!! This post has been edited by Kelv1n: Mar 9 2012, 06:29 PM |
Mar 9 2012, 12:36 PM
Mar 9 2012, 04:41 PM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: cheras kl |
Mar 9 2012, 06:10 PM
50 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
no pic, video instead
This post has been edited by pigpig: Mar 9 2012, 06:13 PM |
Mar 10 2012, 12:29 AM
haha pig pig how old is ur HB? i notice so many bio ball floating. too bad my aro have 1 side eyedrop. i think hard to cure.
Added on March 10, 2012, 12:36 amguys would like to ask my tank often will have this kind of dirt(refer pic) appear even just few days i do the WC. anyone know why? how to encounter it. do i need to have a fish that eating dirt in my tank? ![]() Added on March 10, 2012, 12:40 am QUOTE(Mahathir Mohamed @ Mar 9 2012, 09:00 AM) woah!!11 month already colour like this...niceeeeee....any tips bro..mine 12 month colour isnt that nice yet..i'll upload later.. no much tips. water change weekly or 10 days. just give MW as main meal, cricket just let him try recently due to it lose appetite to MW. mind to share yours? also HB? btw, nobody is perfect, mine aro have 1 side eyedrop.This post has been edited by Travies: Mar 10 2012, 12:40 AM |
Mar 10 2012, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(Travies @ Mar 10 2012, 12:29 AM) haha pig pig how old is ur HB? i notice so many bio ball floating. too bad my aro have 1 side eyedrop. i think hard to cure. WC weekly -checkAdded on March 10, 2012, 12:36 amguys would like to ask my tank often will have this kind of dirt(refer pic) appear even just few days i do the WC. anyone know why? how to encounter it. do i need to have a fish that eating dirt in my tank? ![]() Added on March 10, 2012, 12:40 am no much tips. water change weekly or 10 days. just give MW as main meal, cricket just let him try recently due to it lose appetite to MW. mind to share yours? also HB? btw, nobody is perfect, mine aro have 1 side eyedrop. MW as main food - cant check because my aro dont want to eat..SW?will only eat if i starve it for a day or 2..my aro prefer cricket..and fish..aiyo..really out of idea on how to make the aro eat the worm..it will even swim in diff direction when d worm nearing it.. HB?mine is MGBB..waiting for it to mature colourwise n sizewise.. |
Mar 10 2012, 06:24 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Guys ok for sump filter when the water goes down and you know you gotta top up , do you guys top up with water and anti chlorine or just water ? some forums say with just water since the anti chlorine content in the existing water is alot already. question 2 ) how much and how often do you do a WC for your tanks ? mine is a 6 footer and do you suction water from the sump or from the tank itself ?
Mar 11 2012, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 10 2012, 06:24 PM) Guys ok for sump filter when the water goes down and you know you gotta top up , do you guys top up with water and anti chlorine or just water ? some forums say with just water since the anti chlorine content in the existing water is alot already. question 2 ) how much and how often do you do a WC for your tanks ? mine is a 6 footer and do you suction water from the sump or from the tank itself ? mine 4 ft. suck from tank itself. do weekly WC or about 10 days. normally when i fill up with water, i let the tap water go into my sump tank pass thru all the filter media then only use motor to pump into tank. others pls advice, not sure is correct method. |
Mar 11 2012, 09:56 AM
when suck from tank that means you off your sump motor and all isit during cleaning ? im still abit fuzzy as to if anti chlorine is needed when topping up the water level in sump filter.pls advice arowana peeps.
Mar 11 2012, 11:54 AM
93 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
if top up abit only, it will be fine to use tap water directly..any volume above 5% then anti chlorine is a must..
and travies, do not let the tap water pass thru all ur media..if tap water pass thru all the media = chlorine passing thru all ur media hence above 50% of ur beneficial bacteria will be kill off.. i would suggest u to refill the water at the water pump compartment or directly into the tank..so that chlorine will not affect ur matured medias |
Mar 11 2012, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Travies @ Mar 10 2012, 12:29 AM) haha pig pig how old is ur HB? i notice so many bio ball floating. too bad my aro have 1 side eyedrop. i think hard to cure. 2.5 yrs old bro Added on March 10, 2012, 12:36 amguys would like to ask my tank often will have this kind of dirt(refer pic) appear even just few days i do the WC. anyone know why? how to encounter it. do i need to have a fish that eating dirt in my tank? http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=214239941990428 read the tips no. 3 ![]() Added on March 10, 2012, 12:40 am no much tips. water change weekly or 10 days. just give MW as main meal, cricket just let him try recently due to it lose appetite to MW. mind to share yours? also HB? btw, nobody is perfect, mine aro have 1 side eyedrop. Added on March 11, 2012, 9:57 pm QUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 10 2012, 06:24 PM) Guys ok for sump filter when the water goes down and you know you gotta top up , do you guys top up with water and anti chlorine or just water ? some forums say with just water since the anti chlorine content in the existing water is alot already. lol, you can stop visiting that forum already.. Added on March 11, 2012, 10:00 pm QUOTE(Travies @ Mar 11 2012, 02:40 AM) mine 4 ft. suck from tank itself. do weekly WC or about 10 days. normally when i fill up with water, i let the tap water go into my sump tank pass thru all the filter media then only use motor to pump into tank. others pls advice, not sure is correct method. wrong... like leggedy said, it will kill your BB... no wonder ur tank got dirt, for all we know, could be your dead BB.. at first i thought it was all the undigested exoskeleton.. Added on March 11, 2012, 10:02 pm QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Mar 9 2012, 10:42 AM) hi guys.... im new to arowana..but yesterday my dad manage to get a arowana from his friend ...his friend said that this arowana is HB...( will post a pic later when i go home ) This post has been edited by pigpig: Mar 11 2012, 10:02 PMi wanna ask some advice from sifu out there.. 1 . i would wanna know the basics of sump tank setup materials and guides... i know the 1st layer will always be white filter wool..2nd and 3rd compartment will be bio rings ( or theres something better? pls enlighten me ) 4th compartment im planning to put some plants and some some guppies inside is that okay? 2. im getting a 5ft overflow tank...is 2 way overflow ( each corner ) will be a good choice? and after reading arowana v5 forums...i assume a EHEIM compact+ 3000 is good enough to support my 5ft tank. Also 1 more thing...is it okay for me to feed the water back in at the bottom of the water tank...cause by doing this i think the water will cycle better? 3. lastly is the lighting...IF my arowana is a HB....wat lighting and background should i use? im a signboard contractor so i can manage to get all sorts of colour stickers for my upcoming aquarium ^^ to all sifus out there...thank you for advice hope i can post the picture soon.!! come read from here ===> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Arowana-Fell...192673100813779 for other more delicate questions, please post at our FB page.. |
Mar 12 2012, 12:41 AM
Thanks for the helpful answers
Mar 12 2012, 09:12 AM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
very helpful notes pigpig.....my 6" arowana is eating MW very well now... looks like he is adapted to the new enviroment very quickly.
Mar 12 2012, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 12 2012, 12:41 AM) Thanks for the helpful answers |
| Change to: | 0.0370sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:27 AM |