Hi sifu, need some insights..
What is the job and responsible of Project Planner in Aker solution?
Is it schedule the production plan for drilling equipment and systems ?
Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
May 27 2012, 12:32 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Hi sifu, need some insights..
What is the job and responsible of Project Planner in Aker solution? Is it schedule the production plan for drilling equipment and systems ? |
May 27 2012, 07:46 PM
21 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Hi guys, want to ask something. what are the job prospects of a mechanical engineer onshore in an oil and gas company? And what is the salary range?
May 27 2012, 08:06 PM
1,124 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
how do u apply for murphy?i am a survey engineer/navigation engineer with 3-4 yr exp
May 27 2012, 10:05 PM
4 posts Joined: May 2012 |
been invited to murphy oil 2nd stage interview tomorrow but don't know whether to go or not as i already secured a position at petronas..im afraid i will regret if i don't go, but haven't prepared a thing
May 27 2012, 11:24 PM
222 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(natasha88 @ May 27 2012, 10:05 PM) been invited to murphy oil 2nd stage interview tomorrow but don't know whether to go or not as i already secured a position at petronas..im afraid i will regret if i don't go, but haven't prepared a thing Natasha, are you a fresh graduate?What position were you offered at Petronas and what position are you seeking at Murphy Oil? Added on May 27, 2012, 11:28 pmSifus, I would like to ask something. By the end of October, I'll have an accumulated 3 months leave which I must use by year end(including whole month of January) from the company I'm working for right now. If I don't use, forfeit. I've been thinking, 3 months is an awfully long time to be out of office. I plan to work in another company (3 months contract) while on the 3 months leave with my current company. Has anyone done this before? This post has been edited by shahwan86: May 27 2012, 11:28 PM |
May 27 2012, 11:35 PM
475 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
May 27 2012, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(badyuan @ May 23 2012, 07:54 PM) Hi there, i just been called up for an interview for Mc Dermott in next week, any recommendation for the interview ? and how was the company background and benefit , will be very appreciate for the help. Thanks Badyuan,What position did you apply for? McDermott has recently won a huge project called Siakap-North Petai (Murphy). They would need huge work force to cater the project needs and local based employees. Last year, in the company I work for, I assisted at the bidding stage, but alas, we bid too high and lost. They will be involved in installation of subsea umbilicals, manifolds, jumper spools, etc. This is a good chance for you, man. Experience is massive for this workscope...provided you stay until the end of the project. |
May 27 2012, 11:52 PM
56 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
May 27 2012, 11:56 PM
475 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
May 28 2012, 12:03 AM
218 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(shahwan86 @ May 27 2012, 11:43 PM) Badyuan, Actually i was applying for the Global Graduate Developement Program (GGDP) but then they called me up for the Field Engineer position interview. So, i guess thats because of the new project u mentioning, since they need a lot of workforce? What position did you apply for? McDermott has recently won a huge project called Siakap-North Petai (Murphy). They would need huge work force to cater the project needs and local based employees. Last year, in the company I work for, I assisted at the bidding stage, but alas, we bid too high and lost. They will be involved in installation of subsea umbilicals, manifolds, jumper spools, etc. This is a good chance for you, man. Experience is massive for this workscope...provided you stay until the end of the project. and ya man really hope that i can get the position so i can involve in this kind of project, nice area to kick start my engineering career perhaps Btw Which comp are u working with rite now ? This post has been edited by badyuan: May 28 2012, 12:04 AM |
May 28 2012, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(badyuan @ May 28 2012, 12:03 AM) Actually i was applying for the Global Graduate Developement Program (GGDP) but then they called me up for the Field Engineer position interview. So, i guess thats because of the new project u mentioning, since they need a lot of workforce? Hmmm.....you'll have a clue once you get the job and ask the tendering department "Which other contractors bid for the Siakap-North Petai (SNP) job?" and ya man really hope that i can get the position so i can involve in this kind of project, nice area to kick start my engineering career perhaps Btw Which comp are u working with rite now ? I don't want to disclose the company I work for here cause I don't know if I have my colleague in this forum too! haha Yes. You'll be involved in EPCIC (engineering-procurement-construction-installation-commissioning) if I still remember correctly. What this means is that you'll be directly involved in some parts, if not all of : 1. Engineering - Design/Analysis of subsea installation, lifting, installation aids, etc 2. Procurement - You assist in getting all of #1 procured to CLIENT's and your specs. 3. Construction - (Most exciting part if you don't like office work) You get to monitor the installation aids (McDermott's part) being fabricated by the fabricator chosen in #2. Being in McDermott (specializes in subsea installation) you will be involved in SIT (site integration test) where the subsea hardware and umbilicals (electrics/hydraulics that make the subsea hardware operational) are being mock-tested for ROV (remotely operated vehicle aka robot) interface. 4. Installation - Go offshore for the actual subsea installation 5. Commission - Basically CLIENT's part with partial McDermott's participation. Usually they impose workforce requirements where you must have at least a certain percentage of local based staff in project team. So, if I were you, I'd get myself attuned to subsea engineering and installation as best I can. And keep mentioning about Siakap-North Petai during the interview. |
May 28 2012, 12:29 AM
4 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(shahwan86 @ May 27 2012, 11:24 PM) Natasha, are you a fresh graduate? Yes I'm a fresh grad and the position for the interview is graduate trainee engineer.For petronas its static equipment engineer.What position were you offered at Petronas and what position are you seeking at Murphy Oil? Added on May 27, 2012, 11:28 pmSifus, I would like to ask something. By the end of October, I'll have an accumulated 3 months leave which I must use by year end(including whole month of January) from the company I'm working for right now. If I don't use, forfeit. I've been thinking, 3 months is an awfully long time to be out of office. I plan to work in another company (3 months contract) while on the 3 months leave with my current company. Has anyone done this before? |
May 28 2012, 01:14 AM
661 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Yankee Territory |
QUOTE(shahwan86 @ May 28 2012, 12:24 AM) By the end of October, I'll have an accumulated 3 months leave which I must use by year end(including whole month of January) from the company I'm working for right now. If I don't use, forfeit. I've been thinking, 3 months is an awfully long time to be out of office. I plan to work in another company (3 months contract) while on the 3 months leave with my current company. Has anyone done this before? |
May 28 2012, 01:17 AM
15 posts Joined: May 2012 |
hi,
Im looking for a jobs.im fresh graduate in electronics engineering anyway. private message me if you have any. Im not a kind of person who will jump from one company to another company for at least 2years time. So it will not be wasted of time if you train me and hired me compare with those outstanding graduate who have really high tendency to jump from one company to another company. im a good swimmer. Healthy lone ranger and independent person. Im also single and a man. Im also a good follower when working in a team. not all people born to have leadership tribe. please acknowledge follower as well in contributing a task really suit to work offshore experience wise can be learn in 3 months probation at least. You may put me on probation,im willing to take the challenge wisely. Will you hire me??Im able to start work immediately This post has been edited by ash2012: May 28 2012, 01:38 AM |
May 28 2012, 01:56 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ash2012 @ May 28 2012, 04:17 AM) hi, are you good in instrumentation? Im looking for a jobs.im fresh graduate in electronics engineering anyway. private message me if you have any. Im not a kind of person who will jump from one company to another company for at least 2years time. So it will not be wasted of time if you train me and hired me compare with those outstanding graduate who have really high tendency to jump from one company to another company. im a good swimmer. Healthy lone ranger and independent person. Im also single and a man. Im also a good follower when working in a team. not all people born to have leadership tribe. please acknowledge follower as well in contributing a task really suit to work offshore experience wise can be learn in 3 months probation at least. You may put me on probation,im willing to take the challenge wisely. Will you hire me??Im able to start work immediately |
May 28 2012, 02:22 AM
15 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Dear Mr/Ms KVReniem,
I will learn . If you need someone immediately in OnG offshore or onnshore please PM me privately for interview. Hopefully I will manage to be a part of your team soon. This post has been edited by ash2012: May 28 2012, 02:43 AM |
May 28 2012, 08:42 AM
9 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(HarimauMuda @ May 27 2012, 11:52 PM) can be used on both.Added on May 28, 2012, 8:46 am QUOTE(shahwan86 @ May 28 2012, 12:21 AM) Hmmm.....you'll have a clue once you get the job and ask the tendering department "Which other contractors bid for the Siakap-North Petai (SNP) job?" McDermott is in Batu Ampar, Batam.I don't want to disclose the company I work for here cause I don't know if I have my colleague in this forum too! haha Yes. You'll be involved in EPCIC (engineering-procurement-construction-installation-commissioning) if I still remember correctly. What this means is that you'll be directly involved in some parts, if not all of : 1. Engineering - Design/Analysis of subsea installation, lifting, installation aids, etc 2. Procurement - You assist in getting all of #1 procured to CLIENT's and your specs. 3. Construction - (Most exciting part if you don't like office work) You get to monitor the installation aids (McDermott's part) being fabricated by the fabricator chosen in #2. Being in McDermott (specializes in subsea installation) you will be involved in SIT (site integration test) where the subsea hardware and umbilicals (electrics/hydraulics that make the subsea hardware operational) are being mock-tested for ROV (remotely operated vehicle aka robot) interface. 4. Installation - Go offshore for the actual subsea installation 5. Commission - Basically CLIENT's part with partial McDermott's participation. Usually they impose workforce requirements where you must have at least a certain percentage of local based staff in project team. So, if I were you, I'd get myself attuned to subsea engineering and installation as best I can. And keep mentioning about Siakap-North Petai during the interview. Fly to SG and take a 45mins ferry from Harbour Front jetty. Stay around Nagoya. Added on May 28, 2012, 8:55 am QUOTE(New Klang @ May 23 2012, 10:47 AM) Due to the leakages, inefficiencies and mediocre management of the lucrative fabrication and ship yard business there will come a time when Dialog or Muhibag will be able to catch up with the big boys. MMHE is partly managed by Technip now so there is a slight hope. In comparison with the Singaporean and Korean yards, we are nose to nose at the finish line but few laps behind. Korean yards are excellent.Just visited Hyundai Marine. We definitely got to JV with SG or Korea not Technip. This post has been edited by dulang-washer: May 28 2012, 08:55 AM |
May 28 2012, 10:12 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Hi sifu, need some insights.. What is the job and responsible of Project Planner in Aker solution? Is it schedule the production plan for drilling equipment and systems ? |
May 28 2012, 12:30 PM
2,142 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(natasha88 @ May 28 2012, 12:29 AM) Yes I'm a fresh grad and the position for the interview is graduate trainee engineer.For petronas its static equipment engineer. You should go for Murphy oil interview so that you can have better picture on working environment that you will encounter later.. Murphy Oil (PSC) and Petronas (Client).. Decide what you want to be in next 5 years, in challenging work environment and more exposure (Murphy Oil), or less challenging environment (Petronas).. that is my 50cent opinion.. Added on May 28, 2012, 12:41 pm QUOTE(yehlai @ May 28 2012, 10:12 AM) Hi sifu, need some insights.. I believe its depend on which project plan that you need to handle.. If the project up to engineering delivery, so you gonna plan up to there only.. If your project is EPCC, you gonna plan up to last C.. What is the job and responsible of Project Planner in Aker solution? Is it schedule the production plan for drilling equipment and systems ? there is no different on planner work scope.. except the project.. This post has been edited by abgkik: May 28 2012, 12:41 PM |
May 28 2012, 01:34 PM
48 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Hi,i've been following this thread since V1, there are few doubts i would like to seek answer from honorable experienced master/sifus in OnG field,
1. I'm very much into flow assurance (FA). However, most of the companies wanted experienced flow assurance engineer. People i met from Intecsea started with graduate process engineer in RWP before becoming exp FA eng. Any chances i might skip the grad process engineer and get started as graduate FA engineer ?. Currently I'm working in one of the OnG operator (downstream) as process engineer with Chemical Engineering background. 2. Being an FA engineer, i understand that i need to well versed in several FA software such as OLGA, Pipesim, PVTsim and so on. Besides those mentioned software, any specific knowledge/ experience i should know about to become an competent FA engineer? I'm in a consideration to take Master in Petroleum Engineering at UTP. Does that Master paper able to help me to increase value in the future? to become an exp/competent FA engineer? would appreciate any feedback from lowyat forumners.... This post has been edited by maninyellow: May 28 2012, 01:39 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0321sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:39 AM |