Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

ex24dec02
post May 24 2012, 01:25 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ May 23 2012, 09:34 PM)
Thanks alot for the info, any idea for the working environment ? and career advancement in Dermott ? Btw i search their website but couldn't found any contact in m'sia, so do they have any operating office in kl currently ? the interview held in Berlian Mcdermott in kl, i wonder is that their operating office ?
are you fresh grad? do you apply through email?
AtMostFear
post May 24 2012, 01:35 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ May 23 2012, 09:34 PM)
Thanks alot for the info, any idea for the working environment ? and career advancement in Dermott ? Btw i search their website but couldn't found any contact in m'sia, so do they have any operating office in kl currently ? the interview held in Berlian Mcdermott in kl, i wonder is that their operating office ?
I think their office is in Wisma Selangor Dredging..my friend works for McDermott singapore but when he's attached in malaysia that's where his office is..
MEngineer
post May 24 2012, 08:44 AM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(ckliew89 @ May 23 2012, 07:11 PM)
yeah, thats pretty bad lots of them dont wanna receive hardcopies of resume, they just want us email them... wonder what kind of test would it be tomorrow?
I did that test before. It is an English and IQ test. The english test is basically grammar and sentence construction. The IQ test is not difficult too but time consuming. If not mistaken english test got 20 questions and IQ about 30/40 which is to be completed in one hour (without calculator). I didn't have enough time to complete it, in the end I just tembak the back questions and I passed. I think the test just wants to make sure you can think normally and english command is good.
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 09:36 AM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 23 2012, 11:12 AM)
i apply for mechanical engineer.i just got a few years experience in small company.
Not multitasking means i cannot grow well / train well in this company?
But i should glad rite if i landed in MNC company compared to small company...
In SBM, they will assign you to take care only on one package... forever.. ha ha ha biggrin.gif you will grow well, but specialize only in one package, or two..
Example: as you are mechanical engineer, maybe they will ask you to care on Deck Crane (Max 25 tonnes).. so that will be your baby maybe for 4-5 years..
as example of others FPSO company, as Engineer, you may involve in Superstructure, helideck, tandem mooring system, turret mooring system, spread mooring sytem, mechanical handling equipment (included crane), topside and module structure, scantling, fender system, HVAC, laboratary, Foam system, fire water system, davit and many things.. if you specialize in any 3-5 package with min 5 years experience, i salute you as a good engineer, not yet senior.. notworthy.gif
thunderaj
post May 24 2012, 09:50 AM

General Manager
1,175 posts

QUOTE(ltykor @ May 22 2012, 09:42 PM)
Dear All,
Recently the hottest topics besides Petronas-BASF RM 60bil RAPID project, another one could be the merger of SapuraCrest and Kencana Petroleum. They even came out with a new website. Anybody here kind enough to share or know what is the next step of this big player? Noticed that MMHE already has their yard occupied, rumours saying Kencana might be able to win all those coming up fabrication projects. Is that true? And also may I know what is the role of the Lumut yard? Also fabricating offshore structures? Appreciate all the feedback and opinion from all sifus smile.gif
MMHE has space for offshore project after buying sime fabrication in teluk ramunia.

SUSNew Klang
post May 24 2012, 10:57 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(niculas @ May 23 2012, 05:40 PM)
An international fire fighting contractor looking for site manager to be based in Singapore with minimum 5 years of experience in power plant,Refinery ,petrochemical or heavy industry . Interested candidates Pls. send your resume and application to zarrin.gsy@gmail.com
our client,singapore electrical company looking for Electrical supervisor to be based in singapore with minimum 5 years of experience in the power plant ,refinery,petrochemical or heavy industry.
How much is the pay for the Electrical supervisor?
SupremeLahh7
post May 24 2012, 02:19 PM

108 posts

hello,ive been thinking about this for a long time,can a QS works with O&G companies?and if can,what type of work will they do?thanks in advance
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 03:12 PM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(SupremeLahh7 @ May 24 2012, 02:19 PM)
hello,ive been thinking about this for a long time,can a QS works with O&G companies?and if can,what type of work will they do?thanks in advance
can.. similar scope of work.. go to the place that require fabrication work.. biggrin.gif
GaussSeidel
post May 24 2012, 03:34 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ May 24 2012, 01:35 AM)
I think their office is in Wisma Selangor Dredging..my friend works for McDermott singapore but when he's attached in malaysia that's where his office is..
Their HQ is in Singapore (for Asia Pac region, HQ for global operation is somewhere Middle East/US if i am not mistaken) while their base for AsiaPac region is in Batam where their reputation is well known over there. They have a fleet of installation barge mainly caters offshore installation segment (structures, jacket, pipelay). Most well known amongst all is DB101 (crane capacity monstrous 3500 ST) where i am currently now at/onboard. Facilities onboard is superb (PS3 in every bunk/room) while the food is marvellous.

Career wise is very good as Field Eng where you will basically manage the project and oversee the completion and ensure successful execution to meet clients' requirement where u'll be assisted by very well experienced barge supritendent, captain, foreman, riggers etc. A very good place to start your career IMHO.

P/s: Am not working for them but as a client to oversee my project's execution/completion.
mhyug
post May 24 2012, 04:44 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ May 24 2012, 03:34 PM)
Their HQ is in Singapore (for Asia Pac region, HQ for global operation is somewhere Middle East/US if i am not mistaken) while their base for AsiaPac region is in Batam where their reputation is well known over there. They have a fleet of installation barge mainly caters offshore installation segment (structures, jacket, pipelay). Most well known amongst all is DB101 (crane capacity monstrous 3500 ST) where i am currently now at/onboard. Facilities onboard is superb (PS3 in every bunk/room) while the food is marvellous.

Career wise is very good as Field Eng where you will basically manage the project and oversee the completion and ensure successful execution to meet clients' requirement where u'll be assisted by very well experienced barge supritendent, captain, foreman, riggers etc. A very good place to start your career IMHO.

P/s: Am not working for them but as a client to oversee my project's execution/completion.
just 3 alphabets man, WOW.....the pay must be very hansome too. rclxub.gif
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 06:57 PM

2,142 posts

Facilities onboard is superb (PS3 in every bunk/room) while the food is marvellous.

Is it come with LCD tv? hmm.gif

badyuan
post May 24 2012, 07:08 PM

218 posts

Career wise is very good as Field Eng where you will basically manage the project and oversee the completion and ensure successful execution to meet clients' requirement where u'll be assisted by very well experienced bayurge supritendent, captain, foreman, riggers etc. A very good place to start your career IMHO.

wow thanks alot for the detail info!! hope that i can pass the interview well

Vishalline
post May 24 2012, 09:46 PM

QUOTE(preakzz @ May 20 2012, 02:00 AM)
I'm kinda annoyed with this kind of spoon-fed grads. Do you know how hard it is for me to finally get a job? How many applications?  Geeezzzz.....so annoyed. You think it's that easy? Asking for guidance but you didn't even do your homework. What guidance? Guidance to get a job? Guidance about the industry? Get some overview, do your homework for God's sake.  mad.gif
LOL! True to that. Read from v1 lah, that's what I do when I was fresh out of the 'oven' unemployed for 6 months. But yeah, I am still fresh now. Still 0.00001% knowledge. -___-''
I don't see the reason why you have to be so annoyed. I am sure, when you first graduated you needed guidance and help.
Obviously we all do our homework it's the passion and curiosity that has brought us here, we graduates are trying so hard to learn and we definitely need advices you seniors. Please don't be annoyed. Sorry didn't mean to be rude in any ways biggrin.gif Just explaining. Thank you.
Frenzy0412
post May 24 2012, 10:13 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 24 2012, 09:36 AM)
In SBM, they will assign you to take care only on one package... forever.. ha ha ha  biggrin.gif  you will grow well, but specialize only in one package, or two..
Example: as you are mechanical engineer, maybe they will ask you to care on Deck Crane (Max 25 tonnes).. so that will be your baby maybe for 4-5 years..
as example of others FPSO company, as  Engineer, you may involve in Superstructure, helideck, tandem mooring system, turret mooring system, spread mooring sytem, mechanical handling equipment (included crane), topside and module structure, scantling, fender system, HVAC, laboratary, Foam system, fire water system, davit and many things.. if you specialize in any 3-5 package with min 5 years experience, i salute you as a good engineer, not yet senior..  notworthy.gif
huh?that sounds boring. i wan become senior fast fast... sad.gif
let see i got offer or not. Perhaps i should stay in small company and learn more few years...

Added on May 24, 2012, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(vult2res @ May 23 2012, 08:30 PM)
i did applied as piping/mechanical engineer with SBM but they didn't call me up or even email me. how did u apply? i sent in my resume by hand and email, but sadly no call, email or watsoever from them. hmm.
normal procedure,by email, no cable...

This post has been edited by Frenzy0412: May 24 2012, 10:14 PM
abgkik
post May 25 2012, 06:48 AM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 24 2012, 10:13 PM)
Senior at SBM.. Min 10 years experience.. wink.gif

GaussSeidel
post May 25 2012, 07:43 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 24 2012, 04:44 PM)
just 3 alphabets man, WOW.....the pay must be very hansome too. rclxub.gif
Am not sure about their salary tho. My advise is that if you are newbie and just looking forward to start your careeer, dont get too obsessed with the starting salary. The experienced gained is much more important in the long run. Not to say that u must not demand, but assess urself whether u are worth the salary paid.

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 24 2012, 06:57 PM)
Is it come with LCD tv?  hmm.gif
Not for each bunk but yes for CSR's offices. 42" inch summore. Have to say that the facilities here is top notch and lets not get into details on their cinemas, gym, entertainment room etc.

QUOTE(badyuan @ May 24 2012, 07:08 PM)
No prob. Gud luck and all the best bro!

vult2res
post May 25 2012, 09:53 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 24 2012, 10:13 PM)
let see i got offer or not. Perhaps i should stay in small company and learn more few years...

Added on May 24, 2012, 10:14 pm
normal procedure,by email, no cable...
ah..thx for the heads up..hopefully i'll get a call for an interview with sbm.
eandi
post May 25 2012, 10:00 AM

105 posts

Guys..Anyone applying PETROFAC..their ads was in Jobstreet recently..Kindly share if you got an interview with them
AtMostFear
post May 25 2012, 05:49 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ May 24 2012, 07:08 PM)
good luck for the interview bro. I'm not sure of the exact pay but my friend left Petronas to join McDermott. He's based in Singapore but currently attached to their base in Batam. I think he joined last year through the Graduate Development Program.

QUOTE(eandi @ May 25 2012, 10:00 AM)
Guys..Anyone applying PETROFAC..their ads was in Jobstreet recently..Kindly share if you got an interview with them
here's the job ad in case anyone else interested..but minimum 10 years experience. doh.gif

feekle
post May 25 2012, 09:04 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ May 25 2012, 05:49 PM)
here's the job ad in case anyone else interested..but minimum 10 years experience.  doh.gif
OVERKILL...lol

This post has been edited by feekle: May 25 2012, 09:05 PM

117 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:52 AM