Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

BillySteel
post Apr 27 2012, 07:05 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(paradox @ Apr 27 2012, 10:08 AM)
I try to check back my sent mail but i cannot trace any mail that i sent to them. From tele-conversation, they offer me for position Management Trainee. More like Junior Engineer they said. All job description will be explained during the interview. This makes me not sure whether my experience related to the position offered. Right now I work more on managing the project for supplying oil and gas equipment.Will I be eligible to demand for a higher salary? or just accept what they offer.
KSTB main field is tubular services but they do provide maintenance/inspection/fishing services.

The job scope you will experience is as a field specialist.Call it a junior engineer if you want to so if you perform within certain period then you can choose to be office based or field based.
BillySteel
post May 12 2012, 09:18 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 12 2012, 05:49 PM)
same case as mine. not to brag bout myself, i too performed quite well if not outstanding in relative to other candidates who 1st of all speak poor english, not contributing much during the group activity yet passed the stage. i still keep my humility and not being overly confident or trying to be in the centre of attention.
and i cant even pass the 1st round whereby 10/15 did.

do those people prefer average or slightly above average people rather than good performers ???

Added on May 12, 2012, 5:15 pm

of cz i know those qualities that u mentioned. being good in english is just a part of it. problem is, during the group activity, i came out with brilliant ideas and of cz, i do not purposely show off and act like a leader. all of 4 team members harmonize pretty well. during the group discussion, all of the members voted me when ask "who do want to be the leader" as well as "which 2 people do u want to work with in the next project".

like i said, im not braggin on myself, its of no point. the problem is, those qualities uve mentioned, out of 10 ppl, i think 9 also dont possess. theoritically yes, people seek those qualities during hiring, but in this world, the good people, the pretty/handsome, the successful people are like 1/100. i mean if  people can passed those rounds being weak in english in the 1st place, (even taking out the note when he forget his lines in self introduction), being passive or not enthusiastic during group activity, do not exhibit confidence and passion, why dun i pass as well.

in fact, 10/15 people made it to the 2nd stage and me as the minority 5 didnt. come on, even if im not that good or average, i dont think im that bad to become the 1st 5 people who failed. unless those 10 who made it are the powerful candidtes with great leadership, determination, loyalty, wudeva u named it but they dont.

wudeva u might say to rebuke me, i still insist on this. i still maintain to keep humility while not trying to hog the limelight.
and can u ever explain why a guy with 2.8 pointer managed to get the interview and the job while a 3.9 pointer whos excellent in curicullum as well cant even f***in get the interview. its not some rare or exceptional cases of this happen, my 4 friends whose pointer are 3.5+ cant fkin get the interview during the on campus interview.

and also about the slb interview, my previous friends who interview for slb said the exact thing. she's already got petronas but went slb interview for "fun"/ to experience it... therefore, during the session, she's being quite passive and didnt talk much but she pass the round. she didnt expect it. while her 2 malay friends (my coursemate as well, whom we all know to be great performers because we are with each other for 3 years, we know who is good and who's not) cant even got thru the 1st round same like my case.
kindly leave me a reason why!! im not trying to whine or whut, i jz wanted to address my flaw and improve. do we have to self handicapped ourselves in order to be recruited ???
Hard to say.........even I have experienced the same thing and sometimes its baffling really.

But best not to dwell on it for too long and learn to move on.

You do know that educational pointer rarely dictates how one performs in his/her work? and if they wanted field workers I doubt most 3.5's pointer above would be willing to get their hands dirty.

BillySteel
post May 20 2012, 03:23 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ May 20 2012, 03:00 AM)
I'm kinda annoyed with this kind of spoon-fed grads. Do you know how hard it is for me to finally get a job? How many applications?  Geeezzzz.....so annoyed. You think it's that easy? Asking for guidance but you didn't even do your homework. What guidance? Guidance to get a job? Guidance about the industry? Get some overview, do your homework for God's sake.  mad.gif
LOL! True to that. Read from v1 lah, that's what I do when I was fresh out of the 'oven' unemployed for 6 months. But yeah, I am still fresh now. Still 0.00001% knowledge. -___-''
Lol------I feel you.

Er I really can't brain this types of post...... O&G or not applying for a job is the same in every sector. And these people are going to be engineers?

Students.....working life is different although some companies 'mentor you/nurture you' in a sense the "best'"ones usually just throw you there and expect you to get the job done and you either sink or swim.

BillySteel
post May 28 2012, 01:14 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(shahwan86 @ May 28 2012, 12:24 AM)

By the end of October, I'll have an accumulated 3 months leave which I must use by year end(including whole month of January) from the company I'm working for right now. If I don't use, forfeit.

I've been thinking, 3 months is an awfully long time to be out of office. I plan to work in another company (3 months contract) while on the 3 months leave with my current company.

Has anyone done this before?
I am not a sifu bro sorry but from what I can gather is for you to read your employment letter clauses. Some companies like mine does not allow for you to work in/for other companies without their approval.

BillySteel
post Jul 15 2012, 10:53 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:27 AM)
i wanna ask, if i wanna venture my career as QA/QC engineer, should i go and get a welding inspection cert as starting? I dont know what company that accept fresh grad as normally QA/QC they wan experienced guy..
You want to change from deputy CSR to QA/QC engineer blink.gif .

A welding cert covers QC engineering basically. But then there is the Blasting/Painting cert and material inspection etc.....etc.....CSWIP for WI better.

QA hmmm........more towards auditing and quality process..... I also not to sure about QA jobscope that much but should be something like that.
BillySteel
post Aug 18 2012, 03:34 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(TheMan @ Aug 18 2012, 03:33 PM)
Hi guys, are the O&G projects usually messy as hell?
I joined the O&G industry from the automation industry and things aren't what I've expected. Coming from an organised company with proper steps from calculation to drawings to fabrication I'm quite shocked.
Yes messy as hell.....lol
BillySteel
post Aug 20 2012, 11:53 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Aug 20 2012, 06:52 PM)
nope, just comparing. According to my friend and IMO, both of these company has almost similar package. just that Bumi Armada offers more on-site exposure then Kencana.

I would like to know if the experience on-site is counted separately or the experience you have in oil and gas field is counted as a whole. Regardless whether its field or in-office experience.

Most larger oil companies only hired personnel with >3 years experience in Oil and Gas Industry.

Design engineers I taught are usually office engineers. In kencana if you are located at the yard then you can still gather site experience but through own initiative.
BillySteel
post Aug 21 2012, 02:43 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ Aug 21 2012, 01:06 AM)
Dear seniors :

How will you guys gather true site experience?
or I just write it myself on my resume?

Or I gather all the work progress for that particular project,
and attach for my future use for resume purpose for justification by HR?

But IMHO, for fresh start, should concentrate on paperworks and design instead of field works.
Get yourself familiar with specifications used in the industry. You don't even have think to read and think while in field jobs

sometimes, i fell like i am 'bangla' doing the field jobs.
How to gather true site experience.....work on site.

I can say this much. Oil and gas is not rocket science thus only those dealing with the unknown (etc: subsea/deepwater/geology/material) are hard obviously while those which are already known by modern technology or has been done before can be obtained by asking the right questions and a little common-sense (experience plays a role here).

All engineers need to familiarize with specs site or not.

Engineer's don't do the bangla job we have bangla's for that field specialists are probably the ones doing the labour.

For me I believe that site experience is the first step because this is the area where experience matters while designing......well already got standards, papers etc... to help and designing always got books to learn from.

As to how they hire site-people I can't say gotta ask the more experience people here.

0.0436sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:17 PM