97 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Repraps and DIY 3D Printing!, Open source hardware~

zarul90
post Mar 26 2015, 05:31 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Mar 26 2015, 10:17 AM)
Guys!

I am exploring the software side of 3D printing. Trying to learn how to draw my own 3D object. Is there any good program which you would recommend for a beginner like me? Tried using Sketchup but all the measurement does not seems to add up once i export the file out as *.obj.
Hi solidwork also easy 3d software.. before this im using autodesk inventor.. when i try solidwork.. more easier..

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Mar 26 2015, 12:17 PM)
lol, sorry i think i used wrong word shakehead.gif  i mean i redesign it in freecad to fit with my threaded rods and nuts
ooo.. ok i tot can edit from the web hehe..
i edit the stl file.. the object full of mesh sad.gif

This post has been edited by zarul90: Mar 26 2015, 05:33 PM
Prosperer
post Mar 26 2015, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Mar 26 2015, 05:31 PM)
Hi solidwork also easy 3d software.. before this im using autodesk inventor.. when i try solidwork.. more easier..
ooo.. ok i tot can edit from the web hehe..
i edit the stl file.. the object full of mesh sad.gif
This is what i create from copying the thingverse design so that it will fit my rods and screws

Attached File  wobbleZ_fixed.stl.7z ( 6.97k ) Number of downloads: 2

altan
post Mar 27 2015, 12:58 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Mar 26 2015, 10:17 AM)
Guys!

I am exploring the software side of 3D printing. Trying to learn how to draw my own 3D object. Is there any good program which you would recommend for a beginner like me? Tried using Sketchup but all the measurement does not seems to add up once i export the file out as *.obj.
You can also try Openscad which uses coding instead of visual tools to create and edit objects. I used that a lot for creating mods for my printers and the ability to tweak the design is very useful.

Also one advice on exporting files for 3D printing, try to export as .stl so the size of your model/design does not run off. obj files tend to run off and not just for Sketchup but for a number of modelling software.

If you want a good modelling software, try Blender, a free and open source modelling software. Its has a very difficult and steep learning curve at first but once you get the hang of the shortcut keys, you can start working on any designs. I have been using blender for about 10 years and I am still creating designs and 3D models till now.
eehtsitna
post Mar 27 2015, 08:09 AM

356 posts

Thanks for the suggestion guys! Really appreciate it.

Download and tried Freecad last night but was overwhelmed by all the available tools there. I end up downloading and using the latest version of Sketchup and finally managed to draw and print out a 3D object! Will definitely try out the rest of software which everyone have suggested here.
KLKS
post Mar 27 2015, 09:14 AM

292 posts

I used to use Sketchup but switched to Autodesk 123d. Complex but simple enough, plus there are some good tutorials from adafruit on designing stuff with 123d ( https://www.youtube.com/user/adafruit & https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gn739HGNJuA...pjsXSQ45nxfORb)

This post has been edited by KLKS: Mar 27 2015, 09:15 AM
Prosperer
post Mar 27 2015, 12:17 PM

Guys, someone ask me to print i3 rework parts, how much should i charge
altan
post Mar 27 2015, 02:47 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Mar 27 2015, 12:17 PM)
Guys, someone ask me to print i3 rework parts, how much should i charge
You could charge based on time, weight, or volume of print.
Prosperer
post Mar 28 2015, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(altan @ Mar 27 2015, 02:47 PM)
You could charge based on time, weight, or volume of print.
ok thanks, i dont know how to charge them based on what you told so i just charge them according to prize on ebay biggrin.gif

maybe you can give some example tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Prosperer: Mar 28 2015, 01:53 PM
altan
post Mar 29 2015, 01:16 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Mar 28 2015, 01:53 PM)
ok thanks, i dont know how to charge them based on what you told so i just charge them according to prize on ebay biggrin.gif

maybe you can give some example tongue.gif
You can check the link in my signature to find out more of the 3D printing price that I have set or do a search in Lowyat in trade zone for 3d printing.
boon96
post Apr 1 2015, 12:37 AM

100 posts

Hey guys, I'm sorry I tak sempat read all the previous posts but can someone guide me through how to get a cheap printer?
daijoubu
post Apr 2 2015, 10:56 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Hi all smile.gif. I have on my hands a brand new Makerbot Replicator Mini that I would like to sell off. If anyone is interested feel free to PM me. Thanks!

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry73728406
sooyewguan
post Apr 3 2015, 09:34 AM

427 posts

New release from E3D, attractive price for an good quality hotend

http://e3d-online.com/blog/lite6
Prosperer
post Apr 3 2015, 12:34 PM

QUOTE(boon96 @ Apr 1 2015, 12:37 AM)
Hey guys, I'm sorry I tak sempat read all the previous posts but can someone guide me through how to get a cheap printer?
i bought mine from aliexpress prusa i3 kit , or you can follow the BOM and source parts and vitamins locally. For acrylic frame, it will give some problem but dont know when it will happend tongue.gif it like time bomb brows.gif i think i want to convert my i3 to wilson ts for rigidity cause i saw my acrylic frame got a little bend on parts that hold the y axis. if you type of person that love to modified and tweaking thing find kit that come with controller that we can modified and upload the firmware to the controller, usually aliexpress kit that come with melzi board we can't upload or modified the firmware
KLKS
post Apr 3 2015, 05:05 PM

292 posts

you can actually reflash the firmware on the melzi board, the isp headers are broken out. I helped a friend flash his melzi's firmware to repetier host 0.91
daijoubu
post Apr 3 2015, 06:32 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

edit: wrong post!

This post has been edited by daijoubu: Apr 3 2015, 06:52 PM
Prosperer
post Apr 3 2015, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(KLKS @ Apr 3 2015, 05:05 PM)
you can actually reflash the firmware on the melzi board, the isp headers are broken out. I helped a friend flash his melzi's firmware to repetier host 0.91
interest in this, can you tell me how cause my board i can't upload merlin into it, and the seller also tell me that dont touch the firmware tongue.gif 1 week with the melzi and change it to ramps1.4 already biggrin.gif
boon96
post Apr 4 2015, 03:10 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Apr 3 2015, 01:34 PM)
i bought mine from aliexpress prusa i3 kit , or you can follow the BOM and source parts and vitamins locally. For acrylic frame, it will give some problem but dont know when it will happend tongue.gif  it like time bomb brows.gif  i think i want to convert my i3 to wilson ts for rigidity cause i saw my acrylic frame got a little bend on parts that hold the y axis. if you type of person that love to modified and tweaking thing find kit that come with controller that we can modified and upload the firmware to the controller, usually aliexpress kit that come with melzi board we can't upload or modified the firmware
hmmm.. I understand some of those words rclxub.gif rclxub.gif but I at least now I know where to start hahaha. Thanks a lot I'm most probably gonna source my own parts since it'll probably gonna be much cheaper.
laugh.gif laugh.gif
KLKS
post Apr 4 2015, 09:37 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Apr 3 2015, 06:48 PM)
interest in this, can you tell me how cause my board i can't upload merlin into it, and the seller also tell me that dont touch the firmware tongue.gif  1 week with the melzi and change it to ramps1.4 already biggrin.gif
From memory, I didnt use the ICSP, just used the usb, my buddy's melzi from china had the rrp or something firmware and we use repetier firmware. The steps i did to flash is

1. Download the repetier firmware (http://www.repetier.com/firmware/v091/index.html)
2. Download the arduino IDE
3. Download the sanguino board information for arduino from https://code.google.com/p/sanguino/downloads/list
4. Load the repetier firmware in Arduino, do the configuration.h changes, select the sanguino board (since melzi uses the atmega 1284p chip)
5. Upload firmware
6. Make sure everything works using repetier host
7. Copy eeprom settings from an existing melzi thats running repetier host to the newly flashed board

read more at http://reprap.org/wiki/Melzi
I dont use marlin so cant help u there sad.gif
Prosperer
post Apr 4 2015, 10:11 PM

QUOTE(KLKS @ Apr 4 2015, 09:37 PM)
From memory, I didnt use the ICSP, just used the usb, my buddy's melzi from china had the rrp or something firmware and we use repetier firmware. The steps i did to flash is

1. Download the repetier firmware (http://www.repetier.com/firmware/v091/index.html)
2. Download the arduino IDE
3. Download the sanguino board information for arduino from https://code.google.com/p/sanguino/downloads/list
4. Load the repetier firmware in Arduino, do the configuration.h changes, select the sanguino board (since melzi uses the atmega 1284p chip)
5. Upload firmware
6. Make sure everything works using repetier host
7. Copy eeprom settings from an existing melzi thats running repetier host to the newly flashed board

read more at http://reprap.org/wiki/Melzi
I dont use marlin so cant help u there sad.gif
Thanks for the step, do your friend melzi come with the printer or he buy the melzi board only?
KLKS
post Apr 4 2015, 10:21 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Prosperer @ Apr 4 2015, 10:11 PM)
Thanks for the step, do your friend melzi come with the printer or he buy the melzi board only?
He bought the melzi board only for his 2nd printer.

97 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:41 PM