292 posts

Maybe you've seen this for the wiring of the 6 stepper
http://reprap.org/wiki/Stepper_wiring
KLKS
post Dec 5 2014, 03:48 PM

292 posts

feiming, mind sharing where you bought the smooth rods from?
KLKS
post Dec 6 2014, 06:18 PM

292 posts

Found this printable i3 frame on thingiverse, think i'm gonna give it a shot.

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:45600

Theres a v2, looks like its thicker and will take longer, i counted the time for slic3r to do just the frame parts, its gonna take 5-6 days to print everything.
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:146061

This post has been edited by KLKS: Dec 6 2014, 07:51 PM
KLKS
post Dec 6 2014, 08:20 PM

292 posts

the frame is sliced into multiple parts and joined with screws and nuts, some people used epoxy as I've read.
KLKS
post Dec 12 2014, 09:09 AM

292 posts

Printing complete. Total hours to print is about 65 hours.

KLKS
post Dec 12 2014, 02:02 PM

292 posts

altan printed in PLA, planning to start a 2nd one from scratch. Plan to take this slow smile.gif.
KLKS
post Dec 12 2014, 02:11 PM

292 posts

Every day print 1-2 parts, used almost the entire spool, i'm guessing 600-700g since the AUW is 800++g, the screws are quite heavy, there are 6 bolts holding the joins behind the item.
KLKS
post Dec 12 2014, 02:33 PM

292 posts

0.2 is abit overkill, i printed with 0.3 smile.gif and wow 400 is alot...
KLKS
post Dec 13 2014, 11:58 AM

292 posts

could it be the quality of the filament?
KLKS
post Dec 13 2014, 12:15 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Dec 12 2014, 08:43 PM)
really? my prusa i3 is print much faster than that for on 0.2mm layer height, non print move I maxed 150m/s smile.gif

[attachmentid=4256710]

altan can you share your normal cura setting, interested to try cura
I tried your settings on my printer, had some problems with the support material. This is what i am printing at. Doesn't add much more time to the total print time for smaller items.

This post has been edited by KLKS: Dec 13 2014, 12:17 PM
KLKS
post Dec 16 2014, 08:43 AM

292 posts

feiming have you considered an MK8 type extruder like this one
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/12-24V-Fan-...1851542508.html ?
KLKS
post Dec 16 2014, 09:46 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(feiming @ Dec 16 2014, 09:12 AM)
I have.in fact it very cheap.about 58usd on DX.com.I saw YouTube video show its very noisy.

Are u using them?
Yes my prusa i3 came with this. so far i'm quite happy with it, isn't noisy for me.
KLKS
post Dec 18 2014, 12:38 PM

292 posts

have you checked belt for slop/backlash? i had that problem initially but adding a tensioner fixed the problem.
KLKS
post Dec 25 2014, 09:46 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(wnyeen @ Dec 25 2014, 08:39 PM)
Would prefer build , more fun...but wouldn't wan to search high n low for parts...budget around 2k
If you have DIY skills and some patience, you can get a prusa i3 kit with 2 rolls of filament for about RM1.5k on aliexpress. Thats the route i chose and took about 5 nights to assemble and tune the printer.

This post has been edited by KLKS: Dec 25 2014, 09:46 PM
KLKS
post Dec 27 2014, 06:27 PM

292 posts

Found a company near puchong which sells bearings/pulleys/rods/lead screws/steppers. Fast email response, they even called me to find out what I needed. Their prices for the shaft is comparable to those that are being sold on aliexpress, coincidentally I found this company on alibaba

They quoted me
- RM5 for LM8UU if <10pcs, RM4.70 if >10
- 8mm shaft 380mm length RM16.70
- 8mm shaft 320mm length RM14.00

I'm gonna pay them a visit next week, they do walk ins which is what i like smile.gif

Their website is http://www.letromec.com.my/ if anyone else is interested.
KLKS
post Dec 27 2014, 06:51 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(izzudinhafiz @ Dec 27 2014, 06:35 PM)
Not bad. Cmw steel in loke yew sells a 6m piece of 8mm shaft for 50 ringgit including cutting to whatever length u want. But you have to buy 6M. Walk in considered as well.

But if you're looking for less than 1M of rod and don't mind waiting after 5th of January i've got one available. Just come pick it up in ampang. Belanja some experience only biggrin.gif

By the way. Could you inquire letromec about NEMA 17 stepper motors?
Me and a buddy are building our 2nd i3, think we are gonna need more than 1M, i might go check CMW out for rods since it sounds like its cheaper to get it there, i'll ask about the nema17 and report back.
KLKS
post Dec 29 2014, 03:25 PM

292 posts

Just got back from the place. They dont have stock for the stepper motors and the smallest pitch for ballscrew is 2.5mm
for 0.5 or 1mm need to custom order and can take up to 3 months

I also saw a nut and bolt shop in this area. Didnt stop to see tho

This post has been edited by KLKS: Dec 29 2014, 03:34 PM
KLKS
post Dec 31 2014, 12:29 PM

292 posts

i print on an MK2B heated bed (heated bed pcb + 3mm alu) and white painters tape ACE hardware brand, sticks so well sometimes the tape tears off when prying print off. Only beef i have is that after afew prints and pry's, the painters tape crumples abit and the bottom of the print has weird shapes on them.

I also tried printing straight onto bare alu bed, didn't have much luck tho.

This post has been edited by KLKS: Dec 31 2014, 12:32 PM
KLKS
post Dec 31 2014, 01:29 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(altan @ Dec 31 2014, 01:10 PM)
Have you tried making a dilute solutiom of PVA glue and apply a thin coating on the bare aluminum? The painters tape adhesive is not very heat resistant and dries out when heated. Also the tape adhesive leaves a melted residue on the surface too.

Instead of painters tape, you can use kapton tape instead but it adheres well to the aluminum surface for wide tapes of a few inches.
I've tried the PVA trick but i guess my mixture wasn't thick enough cos prints were still not adhering to the print bed. the ACE brand painters tape is pretty good for me, get 5-6 prints before i replace torn parts, doesn't give me sticky problems unlike the normal masking tape.

I've tried kapton with PLA with not much luck. right now i've switch to ABS to experiment, using kapton + abs juice.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0637sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:59 PM