11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Apr 24 2012, 08:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2012, 05:28 PM)
I got this invitation from SCB. Anyone went to this event before?

A free 60-min health management preview - Golden horses health sanctuary

*will receive a complimentary dinner buffet for 2 at palace of golden horses and a complimentry health assessment at golden horses DMS (worth RM350)
*will receive a complimentary 1 night stay at palace of golden horses if attend the event with spouse (worth RM780)
Bro, this offer has been around for sometime and offered thru credit cards. Please attend it and then give us a review/report smile.gif

I actually wanted to go for it, but I call them up and no one pick up the call and therefore not bothered after that.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 24 2012, 08:18 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 25 2012, 05:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Apr 25 2012, 05:30 PM)
i've confirm my appointment with them 26/04/12 3pm. will share with everybody after that... icon_rolleyes.gif
Bro, give a review of the room too smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 25 2012, 05:56 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 26 2012, 06:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Apr 26 2012, 02:46 AM)
noop, mine is at Golden Palace Horse The Mines....

Added on April 26, 2012, 2:48 am
what kind of review u want me to review? pls indicate the point as the guideline....
i'll do it once i finish the invitation preview.. icon_rolleyes.gif
the ambiance, was it luxurious, was the bed or sofa comfy, deco, toiletries, service etc like I did here for Grand Lisboa and Venetian hotels in Macau. And the buffet too. Maybe you should start a blog too smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 26 2012, 06:43 AM
Gen-X
post May 1 2012, 01:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Apr 30 2012, 08:42 PM)
About the complimentary 1 night deluxe room stay at Palace Golden Horse, well this is the photos. Overall, the hotel is nice, the staff is very polite, environment is comfortable and relaxing. I got a pool view room and with beautiful view... thumbup.gif  Some people says this is a 5 star hotel but i heard from someone else before it's a 6 star hotel... Anyway, whether 5 or 6 doesn't matter, as long as it's FREE  icon_idea.gif . From my point of view, it doesn't look like 6 star at all.... doh.gif

About the complimentary international buffet dinner, it is just an ordinary buffet only serve with coffee/tea. I heard that walk in price is RM88++ per pax. It's not value for money.... Compare to Jogoya & Sunway Pyramid Resort Hotel are much much better than this...Anyway, it's FREE, who cares? drool.gif
QUOTE(rickkywong @ Apr 30 2012, 10:23 PM)
when you called them up to fix an appointment of the preview, you can ask them to check in the complimentary night stay (Palace Golden Horse) on the same day you attend the preview. So, after you finish the preview go back to your room for a rest or go for a round of swimming at their beautiful pool. rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  After swimming, you will feel hungry. Then go for their complimentary international buffet (make reservation after the preview).  thumbup.gif

Yes, you end up paying nothing including free parking brows.gif . Anyway, it's a FREE 2 day 1 night short vacation. Nothing to lose...right?
Bro, thank you thank you for the review and your comments. And wonderful tip on checking in on the same day as the talk notworthy.gif

Gen-X
post May 2 2012, 08:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ May 1 2012, 10:04 PM)
yes, they will try very hard to brain wash you to join  icon_idea.gif .
btw, i've sign up one of their package.  doh.gif
for those who like to sign up with them, ask for more free gift before sign. i've got mine. thumbup.gif
haha, guess you were brainwashed. Installment or 1 off swipe?

To ALL:

I just publish my the second article on my tutorial series for beginners to credit cards. For those who have read my previous article titled Credit Cards are Cash Cow For Banks - Are You Working For the Bank? no point reading this as it is similar. But for those who got no idea how the banks impose interest on Outstanding Balance and new to credit cards, the article may be useful.

CC 224 - Credit Card Interest Rates

Gen-X
post May 8 2012, 06:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 8 2012, 02:14 AM)
But i never received it. As a matter of fact, i have not been receiving a single sms alert regarding transaction made to my Maybankard for two or three months now...
You should call CS. I am been receiving SMS from MBB for my transactions including those as ESSO.
Gen-X
post May 13 2012, 04:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(speedo @ May 13 2012, 01:16 PM)
Hi

Im earning basic salary of RM2250 + RM500(in training allowance , as I got promoted, this in training will be removed once I get confirmed in position and basic will be adjusted)
Can I applied for Maybankard 2 card Gold?
How long does it takes to get approved?
My limit based on my salary?

rgds
If your salary is RM2.5K/month, that means your annual income should be no less than RM30K/year which meets the minimum income requirement for MBB 2 Cards. If you are above 21 years old, yes you can apply for MBB 2 Cards. And if your annual income is less than rM36K/year, based on Bank Negara Malaysia guidelines, your credit limit shall not be more than 2 times your monthly salary.
Gen-X
post May 13 2012, 06:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ May 13 2012, 06:00 PM)
Question about combined credit limit across several cards.

I have 3 cards from Maybank (VISA petronas, Maybank2card).

I wanted to buy something earlier today but I didn't have enough balance on my AMEX. Actually there's zero outstanding on the AMEX itself, but since the CL is shared so I had to bank in the amount that I wanted to use via Maybank's cash deposit machine (to my AMEX).

So I went to this shop and only discovered that they don't accept AMEX when I was already at the cashier... I gave my M2VISA card but it was declined. I didn't ask the cashier to try a second time. This VISA card have about 3k outstanding from a 12 months ez-payment scheme.

I was under the impression that since the CL is shared, this VISA should be able to 'use' the extra available balance that I banked in to my AMEX account.

So yeah, just want a confirmation on this.
Bro, call CS to confirm - ask what is your available credit. My guess is that their system combined credit used up when calculating the shared credit limit but does not take into consideration if you have "over paid" for a particular card until statement date.
Gen-X
post May 13 2012, 09:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ May 13 2012, 07:21 PM)
I have called the CS and got the confirmation... if I overpaid on my AMEX, the extra available balance won't be shared with my other MBB cards.  doh.gif
Oh well, learned something new today.
Thanks for the update, we learned something today. So, if we do overpay, call CS to transfer amount to another card that we intend to use or have used smile.gif
Gen-X
post Jun 11 2012, 06:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aLpHa-Ev7 @ Jun 11 2012, 04:12 PM)
hi guys,

I have a standing car hire purchase with Hong Leong. On the site, it says i can file an standing monthly payment of the hire purchase to my credit card.

Would there be any charges? Would this charge for the monthly installment be eligible for cash rebate/points?
give the link please
Gen-X
post Jun 12 2012, 04:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 12 2012, 12:53 PM)
36 months!! By that time already got 2 newer products and the guy still paying for his obsolete gadget, haha

And if use MBB 2 AMEX at Harvey Norman up to 12 months installment plan still can earn equivalent 2.5% with Treats Points (e.g. RM1000K = RM25) plus up to RM50 cash back on Saturdays or Sundays for single swipe instead of RM10 or RM15 cash voucher with AmBank CC.
Gen-X
post Jun 19 2012, 08:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Jun 19 2012, 06:17 AM)
May I know if it possible for me to call them and check my tier interest rate?
Of course you may call them and ask whatever relating to your account.
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2012, 09:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sguy @ Jun 20 2012, 08:58 AM)
i have a question here, any1 know about Hong Leong Visa Platinum Credit Card? will they waive the annual fees? i think their annual fees is RM400 per year
Don't know how much the annual fee but HLB do waive my annual fee for years and in the last 3 years they auto waived it when I wanted to cancel 3 years back.
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2012, 03:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Jun 20 2012, 03:24 PM)
Hi, would like to get an advise about the offer
SCB CC - outstanding 3k, prompt payment every month (about rm500+-)and no problem every month.

now they offer cash solution.. i suggest 3k to cover the outstanding and the interest is 9.8%, repayment 1 year, rm270+- monthly. still i need to pay rm270- and auto debit about rm300.. so total is 500+

should i get it ??? is it worth? or remain 18% interest?
the 9.8% upfront one time? if yes -
since you can repay RM500/month why don't you use excel and calculate the interest and determine which is "cheaper".
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2012, 03:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Zaman85 @ Jun 20 2012, 03:38 PM)
1 question to ask

My credit card application from mbb already approve and appear in my m2u but until now i don't receive the card. apply last 2 week

can anyone help?

tq
wait few more days or call customer service to ask if the card have been sent out.
Gen-X
post Jun 21 2012, 12:24 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Finally, a great offer from RHB, FREE Starbucks Drink and GSC Movie Ticket every Friday with RHB Credit or Debit Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 21 2012, 12:24 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 21 2012, 12:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 21 2012, 12:29 AM)
Bro, posted already about two weeks ago. You were still in MEL then    tongue.gif
haha, maybe Human Nature can benefit from it (since I noted at another thread he was on holiday too about the same time as me).
Gen-X
post Jun 21 2012, 09:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 21 2012, 09:14 PM)
Been studying/working overseas for a few years now so I might not have a CCRIS record.

CIMB only asked for 1 months payslip so that's all I gave to them. I told them I'd be happy to provide any additional documentation if need be but they didn't request for any. I submitted the application and documents to them via e-mail and called up 4 working days later and was told straight up that it was unsuccessful.
why do you want a Malaysia Credit Card?
Gen-X
post Jun 22 2012, 08:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 21 2012, 11:45 PM)
Because it's safer to use a CC rather than carry a chunk of cash around when I'm in M'sia?
Well, I guess above statement applies to anywhere on earth.

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 12:37 AM)
Australian banking fees and interest rates are amongst the highest in the world.
If you pay in full your Australia CC there won't be any interest charges. In actual fact, some Australia credit card interest rate on outstanding balance is even lower than Malaysia issued ones. For example Bankwest has a CC that offers interest rate of 10.99%. Click here to see table of other banks' credit card interest rate. HSBC interest rate is high and don't offer low interest rate CC.

Banking fees not necessary high too, I have several free debit cards from Australia and I am sure you have several too. However, using your Australia Debit Card in Malaysia will most probably cost you more than using cash as there are fees associated with overseas transactions.

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 01:07 AM)
Debit card is an option I've thought about. However my family is in M'sia and I want a supplementary card for my parents for emergencies and stuff as they are already retired.
Here are your options if you are unsuccessful in getting a Malaysia issued credit card:

1. Next time you are back and if you are in Klang Valley. Drop by Maybankard Centre at 1U and apply for the Maybankard 2 Cards on the spot. I got no idea if they will process your application based on your overseas income but no harm trying.

2. Ask your parents to get a debit card from their own banks. You can bank in the money for them via online transfer/TT or post them bank drafts.

3. Ask your parent to open a join Citibank Savings Account where debit cards can be issued to both of them (from a single account). You on the other hand open a Citibank account and you can do online transfer of funds to their join account instantly. Alternatively, when you are back home, go open join accounts with each of them and all 3 of you will get debit cards and you can monitor all your savings accounts worldwide with Citibank from a single online account. Click here to see comparison of Citibank Global Transfer between account versus cash withdrawal.

4. Check out HSBC Advance account when you come back. See if they will issue you the HSBC Advance Platinum Card. Maybe Miles can confirm if the card is issued automatically with opening of a HSBC Advance account. Need to maintain RM20K in account or else there's a monthly fee. However, I am not sure if you can get supp card without a join account.

5. If you have RM150K to deposit, go open CIMB Preferred Banking and you'll be issued a credit card automatically or other Privilege/Priority Banking with Alliance and HLB with RM200K. Got more money to deposit, check out Standard Chartered Bank and HSBC. Once again, you need to open the account jointly with your parents to get supp cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 22 2012, 08:48 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 22 2012, 10:27 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 22 2012, 09:19 AM)
For HSBC Advance, they still need to see his income documents.
Need to have RM200k to open a CIMB Preferred Banking account now    smile.gif

By the way, about the supplementary card, you are talking about supplementary cards such as Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA Infinite/HSBC Premier World MasterCard right ? If he joins Standard Chartered Priority Banking or HSBC Premier, then he can just apply for supplementary cards to anyone, even to you and me    biggrin.gif
As usual, you the sifu notworthy.gif

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 10:23 AM)
I looked into the Citibank option a few months ago but for some reason my dad doesn't like Citibank and refuses to open an account with them. rclxub.gif I think that would have been the ideal solution as I believe there are no transaction fees for global transfers within Citibank as well. At the moment I already TT a fixed amount to them every 3 months but the intention of the CC is to provide some cover for unexpected expenses (medical bills etc.).
Citibank - freaking long (about 2 hours) to open an account here. Anyway, even if they don't want, you can open one yourself and use the debit card when you are here and transfer your funds from Australia online.

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 10:23 AM)
I do have substantial savings but might need to use it for a deposit on a house in the near future. I will be in KL in 2 weeks so I'll check on the Maybank and HSBC options as well.
if you are not using the funds for a year or so, then go open an Alliance Bank Privilege Banking or RHB Premier Banking and get their credit card for free. Advantage is that it will help you built up your credit history here and easier for you in the future get a credit card. Best of all, these banks don't charge you anything if your AUM falls below RM200K and still get to keep your Premier Debit cards and Platinum cards which allows you free entry to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge and LCCT too smile.gif Click here to read my article on Privilege Priority Premier Banking Accounts and the credit cards issued for FREE.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 22 2012, 11:03 AM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0424sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:03 PM