11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Apr 5 2012, 09:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 5 2012, 05:40 PM)
Show them your income tax form then    biggrin.gif
Yah, I was considering that, 2010 not a problem. 2011 BE Form Big Problem - no salary. If I really want to increase my CL must go fast fast and go apply before end of this month.
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2012, 01:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 6 2012, 12:04 AM)
If you can prove you have rm1 million net assets, then viola...you need not submit income docs.. smile.gif
How much minimum CL I can get if I can proof above? I know people who has more than RM1M in FD but their PB issued credit card CL less than mine, hahaha.

By the way, to proof got 1 million assets also need to submit document lah to prove the same.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 6 2012, 01:21 AM
Gen-X
post Apr 6 2012, 05:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 6 2012, 01:04 PM)
On documentation, most probably you will need to give your FD slips, bank account statements etc lor... Maybe shares, property title... haha

Btw you can try ask the sales saying what if I don't have any valid income documents. So how and what should I do if I got lots no money in my bank account. See what are their response? wink.gif
Ya loh, to proof net worth may need to show more documents compared to just a single BE Form, haha.

As for having a lot of money, it is different from me wanting to increase my CL. As I mentioned in my blog, my wife and me were issued Premier cards last year even tho we declared we were unemployed; and one bank even gave me 6 figures CL!!! But that particular card benefits is nothing compared to MBB VI 5X TP. The point is, unlike previously where banks would give me 6 figures CL without any proof of income or increase my CL simply by me requesting for it over the phone, nowadays, the banks need us to submit docs even tho one may be earning more than RM36K.

It is just that I might need a higher CL for my MBB VI since I intend to fly overseas more from this year onwards and another child is going overseas for her education next year.

Gen-X
post Apr 6 2012, 08:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Apr 6 2012, 07:16 PM)
apply for temporary credit limit increase. than call in to renew before it expire
yah, that's a good point. Any idea what is the max duration?
Gen-X
post Apr 7 2012, 10:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Apr 6 2012, 11:34 PM)
Have u tried to tell them tat u have submitted once & their bank got no feed back?
Why would I do that if it is not true?
Gen-X
post Apr 12 2012, 10:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Last week my son bought his car with his supped VI. And this week I purchasing tickets to Australia for the coming school break in May, and with my last months transactions, I would be near my CL. So like zenquix said, ask for temp increase in CL easier then asking for Permanent increase in CL. Well, I called MBB and was told max duration for temp CL is 3 months.

I also just posted today a freaking long article about purchasing my son's used car with his supp card in USA. Initially the dealers there won't allow full payment with credit card. Click below link to read my article if you got time for leisure reading.

My Coupe and My Son's Coupe Paid with My Credit Cards
Gen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 02:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Bros, my children Enrich points expiring end of this year, and I taking them to Australia. Assuming the on sale ticket (up to this Saturday) can be upgraded, each of them only need 13K Enrich Points to upgrade to Business Class. Can I redeem for Enrich points with my Treats Points for my children? If yes, what are the procedures because when I went to MBB website, I noted the redemption form does not have a place to fill the Enrich membership number.
Gen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 05:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 13 2012, 05:11 PM)
Call in MBB to do up the conversion for you. As conversion can varies from one card type to another, sometimes the online redemption system is not able to accomodate it.

Your main concern would be how fast would the Enrich Points be reflected in the account. If you are talking about tomorrow's Saturday then you'll need all the luck that you can get - it'll take a miracle for the points to appear that fast.
Thanks for the reply Bro, I just call MBB CS before I read this and as you mentioned can transfer to third party over the phone (by simply giving them name, Enrich Card No. and Telephone No.) rclxms.gif

As for the ticket, I bought them two days ago and just checked cannot upgrade. The joke is, with the sale, only need 19K Enrich Points to fly to Melbourne one way which means each of my child only need extra 7K Enrich points!!!! Too bad for for me did not check it out earlier, "wasted" about RM2K+ (Edited - not including taxes just purely for ticket, I remember hye mentioning still need to pay taxes and etc). This Enrich thingy came about because I applied for one and then remembered my children have the cards. Flying back with AA from Gold Coast.

But now I know what Enrich points can do, maybe I won't let my wife redeem my TP for cash vouchers to get her SKII and instead save it for FREE air tickets smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 13 2012, 05:38 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 07:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 13 2012, 05:44 PM)
Then she should start using her premier miles... smile.gif
Anyway I know Premier Miles allows rebate using the mile points to "pay" for traveling expenses incurred which I would presume flights and hotels. Would you know whether it covers normal retail overseas?
No lah, I don't think PremierMiles can beat Maybankard 2 AMEX when it comes to collecting points (somemore got cash back too) for local transactions. As for overseas, she has a supped MBB VI from me. In my previous article on Premier Credit Cards, for local transaction, PremierMiles when converting to airmiles is like you get 1 enrich airmile for every RM4.11 spending and I believe even MBB 2 AMEX better than this at RM1.40 = 1 Enrich Point (sifu hye pointed this out before).

As for rebate for expenses incurred overseas with PremierMiles, thank you for the info, I just checked it out.

Minimum 5,000 PremierMiles = RM90 rebate. Increment of 1,000 PremierMiles can be redeemed for each RM18 in rebate.

Therefore spend RM15,000 get RM90 or return of 0.6%. Look ok since average most card gives returns of 0.5% BUT many cards award 2X points for overseas transactions. For my case, better to use MBB VI and get 45000 TP (2.5% equivalent in terms of cash vouchers) or 10,000 Enrich Points AND lower conversion fee.

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 13 2012, 05:55 PM)
I believe Premier Miles rebate system is basically the bank's way of "converting" your points into cash. The rebate minus off the total of a particular month bill if it is used. Thus I believe the rebate works the same for both local and overseas retail expenses.

Before everyone were to jump into using Premier Miles ... I need to mention the competing card would be MBB VI and WMC. (if you qualify and can afford the card)
Yah, MBB VI is excellent, with it is like getting 1 airmile for every RM0.90 spent overseas. Locally is equivalent to RM2.25. And with my son purchasing the car with his supp VI, and me buying air tickets with MBB 2 AMEX and MBB VI plus previous TP close to 200K, I will have half a million TP soon in my accounts, never had so much credit card reward points unredeemed at any one time in my life. 5X TP is fantastic biggrin.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 12:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 16 2012, 03:01 AM)
Have a question regarding vouchers redeemed from Maybank, particularly Harvey Norman's. I don't have the vouchers in hand so I have no idea on the T&C.
Is the following scenario doable? Perhaps you've tried doing something like this, but at a different merchant?
Note: 9700 Treatpoints = 1x RM50 Harvey Norman voucher
I just bought a new Toshiba i5 4GB notebook from Harvey Norman for RM1299 yesterday. Converted my TP to RM300 HV cash voucher.

Click below link to read more and also those who are interested in converting your Treats Points to Enrich Mile. I did a comparison between Maybankard 2 Amex and Maybakard Visa Infinite.

New Toshiba i5 4GB ATI Radeon for RM999 with Maybankard On The Spot Redemption and Enrich Miles Redemption

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 16 2012, 01:09 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 01:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 16 2012, 12:56 PM)
Wow what a great deal! Is that the last unit left? And which Harvey Norman outlet?
Yah, I was a great deal. I doubt you will get the same deal anywhere because I asked the salesgirl why so cheap and she said that they were clearing the store room and happen to find that unit there (guess their inventory system needs to be improved).

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 16 2012, 01:02 PM)
Does anyone here enroll or experienced with the current ongoing HLB One Time Balance Transfer promotion with 6.99% pa ?

I just called up the customer service earlier and asked about it but they didn't mentioned anything about it but to propose with the ordinary promotion of :-
I f not mistaken, the promo is only for new to bank (i.e. existing card holder not eligible) and for one transaction and many other T&C. Wasting time if you ask me.
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 01:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Apr 16 2012, 01:26 PM)

Can any expert tell me which CC can entitle me to get a free Travel Insurance? mean can reduce the insurance sum when rent a car aboard eg, Australia/NZ?
I doubt got such a thing reduce insurance for Car rental but if got, I also want to know.
Gen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 11:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Apr 16 2012, 05:23 PM)
Wanna check is there any "better" credit card for medical expenses. Sorry if the same info has been posted somewhere here.
American Express Pantai, if you go to Pantai or use Maybankard 2 AMEX and earn 5X TP/
Gen-X
post Apr 19 2012, 08:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

OMG, another MNet, copy my "hard work" word for word doh.gif I was reading the thread below and thought it look familiar.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2311960

This guy smsbusiness2U started a new thread on BT and copied contents and links in my article titled Credit Card Balance Transfer 2012 - Gone is the best 0% Interest Free Loan. and claim credit for it. I have specifically mentioned in my article that one is not to reproduce any part of my article. mad.gif vmad.gif

Gen-X
post Apr 21 2012, 02:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Apr 20 2012, 09:33 PM)
Hi all sifu, since this is Q&A on credit card thread, I would like to ask something regarding credit card repayment.

Let's say I've owe credit card for an amount of 3K, and I plan to make a repayment for a 500 per month, can bank allow me to do that? I am a customer of Maybank BTW. Is there any suitable plan for me to repay the credit used, in an interest free way? Thanks
Sure you can repay RM500/month but you be charged interest. IF you want 0% interest, then you need to apply for another credit card that offer 0% Balance Transfer. But beware, the 0% BT comes with terms and conditions. Click here to read my article on Balance Transfer Plans and see the different types offered by the banks.

Just FYI, Alliance Bank do offer 0% interest for first 3 months for their credit cards. But, this kind of plan is also like a trap as it entices you to spend more than you can afford and come end of the three months, one can be stuck and cannot repay back in full.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 21 2012, 02:11 AM
Gen-X
post Apr 21 2012, 01:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Apr 21 2012, 12:35 PM)
Is there any CC that is linked to a cheque facility? I know CIMB has that right now and OCBC used to offer that at one point of time. How about other CCs? Anyone can share together with any fee that may be involved?
You may want to look into Citibank Ready Credit and I think SCB also has same type of account. Check thier website for interest rates.
Gen-X
post Apr 21 2012, 09:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Apr 21 2012, 09:24 PM)
Yes, they do have. But they required you to open a separate current account. Hence, it is not linked to the CC. If I want to open a separate current account, I would have opened it at my convenient bank already. Just that when I wanted to open one, coincidentally I was approached by a CIMB agent during their roadshow and was informed of this facility that they offer.
Are you referring to Debit Card by the way? If yes, many banks offer debit card that you can either choose to link it to your Savings Account of Current Account.
Gen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 09:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Apr 23 2012, 08:51 AM)
surprising as i thought MBB advertised epicentre as one of their preferred Apple vendors. (recall some brochures together with the statement). bet they won't be so preferred after this.
I was surprised too that epicentre imposes surcharge. Nowadays, most of the computer shops I go to at Midvalley or Sunway or at shop/offices for miscellaneous stuff don't even charge surcharge. Next time go to Harvey Norman or Machines, no surchage with AMEX smile.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 24 2012, 11:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

This coming Friday is Parkson Member's Day at Subang Parade. Converted my reward points to cash vouchers last weekend for my wife to use it this coming Friday. Click below link to read my latest blah blah blah article titled

Free Money from Maybankard and BonusLink for My Wife's SK-II

Gen-X
post Apr 24 2012, 11:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2012, 11:37 AM)
Conversion to parkson voucher is worth it! I was told that when you make payment using vouchers during bonuslink day, you will not receive the 5x or 10x bonuslink points. It doesn't make any sense, so you might wanna ask the cashier about this.
Yah, maybe it is true no extra bonus link points, but, I save on cash smile.gif Then again, I will also earn the extra bonus link points and 5X TP with MBB 2 AMEX for the remaining amount not covered with the vouchers.

**Edited** I was told last week that the cash voucher still entitles one to the RM10 yellow voucher.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 24 2012, 11:52 AM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:58 AM