11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Sep 25 2012, 07:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 25 2012, 01:50 PM)
A very very informative post  drool.gif
Hope you can benefit from it Bro smile.gif

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Sep 25 2012, 06:30 PM)
Aiya Gen-X bro, if only your blog post came early 1 week.

I ate there just last week at Chinoz and it was on a friday night hence I used OCBC Titanium instead.

I didn't know got promotion if used Amex (Maybank2card)  doh.gif  33% is so much better than 5%

I ordered the same salmon spaghetti  doh.gif
Bro, if two person, then it's 50% off.

So 3 things you can gain from reading my article:
1. At Chinoz use your AMEX Platinum (Gold no discount).
2. Always ask if there is any discount with any credit card - I always do that, buta buta can save RM50.
3. Bookmark my dining promo food article in your smartphone tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 25 2012, 08:15 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 26 2012, 10:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nightwalkertzs @ Sep 26 2012, 04:29 PM)
Just wan to ask. I am fresh entry to work for few months already. I am considering two bank of cards.
1. UOB one cards.
2. Ambank Gold card.
Actually i am just use it mainly for transport rebate. Which 1 is more suitable..since i know UOB need a number of transaction to waive the annual fee while AMbank Gold card is free.
I need sifuss advise...thanks in advance
What do you mean by transport rebate? TnG? Go to Touch n Go Thread. If Petrol, UOB One Card cash back at 5% better than AmBank credit cards.

To ALL

Only recently I published an article that we can get up to 7% discount for our hotel room when booking with Agoda.com using our Maybank, Citibank and HSBC Credit Cards.

If you have a RHB Credit Card, you can get 5% Discount with AsiaWebDirect.com for your online hotel booking. Click here to my post at My Credit Cards at wordpress for RHB AsiaWebDirect Promo.

If you have CIMB Visa, you can get promo rates at HotelClub.com. Click here to my wordpress blog post on CIMB HotelClub room reservation promotion. In this post at my wordpress blog, I have also included links to my articles on hotels - Grand Lisboa Macau, The Venetian Macao, Crockfords Tower Sentosa Island, Budget hotel in Melbourne for a single person or family of four and Chevron Towers Apartment at Surfers Paradise Gold Coast Australia.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 27 2012, 09:30 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 27 2012, 10:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nightwalkertzs @ Sep 27 2012, 09:49 AM)
Currently, I think the most necessary 1 is petrol. While i did not travel a lot and didnt use touch n go so frequently. So for UOB one card is the best choice for the freshie like me? Thanks for your reply ya. Highly appreciate.Thanks biggrin.gif
Bro, the word freshie is too general. If you just need a card for petrol less than RM200, then yes UOB One Card is good. However, if your annual income is >RM30K, you have more options.

Click here to my review on UOB One Card.

Click here to my article titled The Best Credit Cards for Petrol 2012 where I also touched on AmBank Carz card.

If you really want my opinion on what card may be good for you go to this thread and fill up the "form" tongue.gif

Want FREE Money? click here and read my article on Standard Chartered Bank Business Gold credit card where you can get up to RM250 if you apply online. And for limited time, this card also earns you 5% cash back for petrol thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 27 2012, 10:26 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 12:25 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Oct 1 2012, 10:22 PM)
Would like to ask. If my pay is rm1950. Can i still apply for credit card if no OT/fix income.
By right no if purely base on your monthly income. BNM guideline Minimum Income RM24K/year or RM2K per month. Having said that, if got Bonus, then your income will be more than RM24K/year and therefore by right you can apply for a credit card based on annual income.
Gen-X
post Oct 4 2012, 12:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Last month I published an article titled My Credit Cards offer Exclusive Discount for Agoda Online Hotel Room Reservations.

I also posted two short posts on HotelClub.Com CIMB Promotion and RHB Credit Card 5% Discount for Hotel Bookings with AsiaWebDirect.com

I just published another article on hotel room reservation, this time is about Agoda.com with Maybank Visa/MasterCard Versus HotelClub.com with CIMB Visa credit cards. Click here to read my article titled Agoda Maybank Versus HotelClub CIMB - Which Is Better for Booking your Hotel Rooms?
Gen-X
post Oct 6 2012, 02:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 5 2012, 09:20 PM)
White is probably the new Gold. And Platinum credit cards usually are in silver or black but some of theirs are in blue  sweat.gif
Yah, it's white Gold tongue.gif As for Platinum cards in silver - looks like the old Classic Cards laugh.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2012, 11:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 7 2012, 01:52 AM)
Hi there, it is the first time i post something here, please be kind. I just want to know if it is wise to apply credit card for cash advancement? The reason is, i don't want to take any personal loan and just need a few thousands for my upcoming project. And my goal is to settle the amount of what i use within a year. I just need a quick cash because it is an emergency. Need advice. Thanks in advance.
haha, all of us are kind at heart here and our replies are direct so that hopefully you won't be mislead.

First thing first, you need income of minimum RM24K/year to be eligible for a credit card. If your income is less than RM36K/year, your credit limit shall not be more than 2X your monthly salary.

Secondly, most of the time, you can withdraw cash up to 80% of your credit limit.

Thirdly, really an emergency ar? Can die if you don't implement your project?

With the above, assume you get a credit card with Credit Limit RM5K, that means you can withdraw cash up to RM4K - is this enough?

Now comes the bad news:

1. The moment you withdraw cash from the ATM with your credit card, you will be imposed a fee which is usually 5%. So for RM4K, you have to pay the bank RM200 for nothing the second the cash is disperse from the ATM.

2. After that, every single day you'll be imposed interest rate of 18%pa. The faster you pay back, less interest will be charged.

Based on AKPK Calculator found in first page of this Thread item 5.

If you only pay minimum 5% of the Outstanding Balance, it will take you 5 years and 3 months to repay back the RM4K and interest imposed total up to RM1484.

If you repay back monthly fixed at RM400, it will take you 11 months to settle the RM4K. And the total interest imposed is RM367. Add the RM200 fee mentioned earlier, you would have paid RM567 for the RM4K loan.

Assuming your project is a guaranteed money making exercise and that you repay back RM400/month, after you deduct the interest charges mentioned above, how much you actually make? i.e. Estimated Profit less RM567 = Actual Net Profit. Worthwhile?

Seriously, for RM6K and below, go lah borrow from family and friends or ask them to invest in your project.

And if you earn RM3K (or more) and don't have RM6K savings today.... you better go re-look into your position and not think of going into debt. If you got no money (savings) today, what makes you think you can repay back the loan tomorrow?

My advise is - go save up for a year since you said you can repay back the loan in a year. After that go start your project, self funding interest free and debt free smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 7 2012, 11:52 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 8 2012, 09:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 8 2012, 08:02 AM)
I can sense you are accumulating quite a substantial amount of debt to fulfill your obligation. And you have no proper plan in place on how to pay off your debt. Its a very dangerous road to go down...

35k from BSN, soon 5k for wedding and new car.

A rethink of your life priority and expenditure is in order. For starters, try to leave nearer to your workplace instead of traveling 600km/week. And instead of getting a new car, get one that is cheap to buy and maintain. Remember you only earn 40k/year. That is not much at all especially when you have a family.

Just my 2 cents
I add another 2 sen, agree to above. Moreover, he should had adequate time to save up for the wedding day and not now only start to worry where he's getting the money for next month's function.

A credit card will entice one to spend more and may cause one to go deeper into the bottomless hole of debt. Yah, dangerous road ahead, more so having a credit card.

To ALL: last year I published my article The Best Credit Card in Malaysia- Is There Really One? at My Credit Cards blogspot. It is my most read article, and still, so I updated this article and republished it with revisions - to read it click >>The Best Credit Card in Malaysia - Is There Really One?
Gen-X
post Oct 8 2012, 01:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 8 2012, 01:30 AM)
As for the repayment, Im sure I can at least settle half of what I withdraw using the money that I will get from the reception itself. All other expenses is covered but from my future-to-be wife's side, there's a few things that we need to cover so need a quick cash.

Thirdly, regarding the income, is it gross income or nett? If gross, I think Im qualified as I got around 40k/year.

I also open to suggestion on how to get the 5k (legally of course) without having to make personal loan that resulting it to appear on my payslip. Currently I had borrowed 35k from BSN, but it isn't enough, so looking for another alternative. Please advice. Thanks.  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 8 2012, 09:24 AM)
Actually I already planned my financial. I work for the Kementerian Pelajaran, so it is hard for me to get a transfer for now since I just got posted a year ago. The 35k loan is covered by me and my fiancee, so there's no problem there, plus, the duration isnt that long.about the car, it is a must. My 12 year old wira cannot withstand with the harsh condition of road (palm oil estate road which meant for tanker and lorry).
QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 8 2012, 10:14 AM)
I don't have adequate time because I just got posted about a year ago. I did saved a few thousands but was used to pay for the other arrangements. And before I got the new work, my salary is only about 1.3k. So not much I can save from there. Btw, the purpose for the credit card is for the cash advance only. Will not use it at ALL for other expenses. That is 100% guarantee.
Here are my thoughts:

1. For a bachelor to have RM35K loan is kind of hard for me to comprehend. You mentioned the repayments are covered by your future wife and yourself. I hope you're not in this hole of debt because of her......

2. What nonsense you don't have adequate time to save up as it has been a year since you were posted there. Like I mentioned earlier, if you are earning RM3K a month and don't have RM6K savings, something is not right. Some more you living in the rural area and therefore you should be saving lots of money since you don't get the temptation to burn away money like what we have in KL.

3. If your Wira, basically a pretty hardy "Japanese car" cannot handle your current use, you must be joking that a new car can handle the so called estate road you mentioned. Even if you get a second hand 4W pick up, the maintenance cost will be higher. But maybe can save money with diesel. Proton wira is cheap to maintain as we can get spare part easily. Maybe you should get a new motorbike instead tongue.gif And what I really don't understand is, why you want to buy a new car to drive on the estate road and damage it ?

4. And your statement that you going to get a credit card just for your wedding, and 100% guaranteed, I hope that is true. But did you not tell yourself when you took the BSN loan that you won't get another loan? Once you are in hole of debt, it is very hard to get out.... and in your case, you are willing to go deeper into the hole.

Having said the above and knowing that you desperate, here are your options as far as credit cards are concerned:

1. Go apply for credit card from the bank nearest to you. And repay as soon as possible, i.e. money from the reception is to be banked to your credit card account immediately so that you save on the daily interest charges.

2. And if you want to save interest charges (not really much from my earlier example), you can also apply for RHB Credit Card and CIMB Credit Card same time with card mentioned in item 1. Why, because they offer 6 months 0% interest free loan called Balance Transfer. And pray that your application will be approve.

3. If you do withdraw cash from step 1 and your RHB or CIMB credit card is approved, do a 0% balance transfer and save you some interest charges (not the 5% cash withdrawal fee).

Click here to read my article Balance Transfer Plan - Facts You Need To Know

Click here to read my article on RHB Credit Cards where RHB has 0% 6 Months Balance Transfer with equal repayments,

CIMB 0% 6 Months Balance Transfer Plan

4. Or apply for Hong Leong Bank credit card where they will be more than happy to deposit money into your Savings or Current Account. The difference in getting cash from HLB credit cards is that you are not subjected to the 5% upfront fee from ATM cash withdrawal(s). Also, if you opt for 12 months or less Balance Transfer Plan (where they deposit cash into your CASA), the interest rate is lower than the 18% for cash withdrawals via ATM. I recommend you go for the 6 months Balance Plan option because the interest rate is 0.5% per month of 6% per year. And if you pay back earlier, you save on interest charges (but you have to maintain a nominal amount like I mentioned in my article until you settle in full after the expiry date so that you are not imposed penalty).

Click here to read my artilce - Hong Leong Bank Credit Cards - What Are They Good For?

You can also opt for the Cash On Call shown in the link above, the effective interest rate will be higher but at least you are forced to repay back in equal installment.

Some of you members may not agree with me showing him how to get deeper into the shit hole; but, he's getting married laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 8 2012, 02:33 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 9 2012, 09:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 8 2012, 08:17 PM)
3. About the road, if you ever traveled from KK -> Ranau -> Telupid -> Simpang Sapi Nangoh -> Pamol then you know what happened if you're using a small car. No offense but you have to be in the shoe to know about it.

Anyway, since i've got all I need (advice and suggestion), i think 18% is a bit too much and it's gonna land me deeper in the hole as you all said. I'll look for another way on how to get it without getting a CC for cash advance. But if the hole is the only way, probably that's where im going. But as Gen-x said, the money from the reception goes back to the repayment, that is what i'm thinking from the start. Cheers everyone and thanks for the inputs.   thumbup.gif
So what car you thinking of getting? Hmmm.... if you get a Myvi or Saga or Preve or City or Vios, it's not any "bigger" than Wira. And if you get a 4W pick up, you going to regret big time when your wife is pregnant. The point is - live within your means. As of now you are already in debt with the BSN Personal Loan and got no savings. Buying a new car needs down payment (where you going to get the cash? Credit Card Cash Withdrawal?) and monthly repayments. And in a matter of few years, your new car will be old (and damaged too from you using it in the estates) and you have burned good money that can be used for investment to have a better secured future. Like I said, why buy a new car (compared to a Wira which is cheap to maintain) when you know you going to damage it when you go into the estates?

Anyway, I might help you to save some money by letting you know the locations of the AES cameras in Sabah. Check out my artilce titled AES Camera Locations - It's Everywhere There Is No Escape..

And guys, those of yo with big CC cars, you can pay your road tax with CC at JPJ offices - mostly at HQ. If you or your boss got MB S500, volunteer to pay his road tax and earn some cash back or points tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 9 2012, 09:15 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 12 2012, 10:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Oct 12 2012, 09:22 AM)
I didn't know about this Visa buy 1 Free 1 promo for GSC ticket. Better late than never. Taken 2 this weekend.
If you drop by here more often and read all the posts, you would have been informed of this GSC Visa promotion mentioned in this thread earlier by your truly.

Of if you have read my article The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets, you would have also learned about it. However, it is not too late for you to read my article and learn about other FREE Movie Ticket Promotion with Credit Cards. tongue.gif

And for those of you who do not read My Credit Cards at Wordpress blog, recently I posted that Citibank Free 1 for 1 Movie Ticket Promotion have been changed to Friday instead of Saturday effective 1st of this month mad.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2012, 12:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

With more women entering universities than men nowadays, soon women will also be holding more credit cards than men whistling.gif

Check out my latest article below if you are a girl (for guys, better just skip it as you may be offended):

GenY and GenZ Girls' Best Friend - Plastic Money

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2012, 12:25 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 16 2012, 11:51 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Oct 16 2012, 07:54 AM)
Where can I find tool to compare effective interest rates vs. reducing balance interest?
I reckon this will help many of us to compare interest rates
Use Excel
Gen-X
post Oct 17 2012, 02:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(harunayamamura @ Oct 17 2012, 02:04 PM)
i had a CIMB card 4 years ago, and i maxed out both cards totalling RM12K, now after 4 years i get a call saying that now i have to pay 22K which is inclusive on interest.

I want to pay this off slowly, they told me if if i pay the first RM300 for the first month they will get rid of all the interest and i can then start slowly paying it back monthly.

Should i believe them? This was the convo on the phone?
Good deal. Why you did not ask how to go about it? Who to meet?
Gen-X
post Oct 20 2012, 04:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just published my review of the revamped RHB EVO credit card - RHB EVO Visa and MasterCard - It's For Entertainment and eShopping Only.

The main benefit of the RHB Evo is the 20% cash back for entertainment expenses, but still capped at RM50/month. One also earns 2X points for eshopping and paying bills via RHB Online.i

blush.gif edited - made a mistake

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 20 2012, 07:15 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 1 2012, 11:35 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Hi Bros, I'm Back From Melbourne.

@MilesandMore - collected my National Australia Bank Visa Debit Card. Luckily it's not pink, hahaha. Click above link to see my Black NAB DEbit Card smile.gif

While I was in Citibank Melbourne, the teller asked it I wanted a Citibank Credit Card. I said yes but I told her I got no income in Australia and she then said sorry no can do then unless I open a CitiGold Account. haha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 1 2012, 11:36 AM
Gen-X
post Nov 2 2012, 08:51 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Fi Kad Tahunan untuk tahun pertama dikecualikan, Fi untuk tahun seterusnya adalah tertakluk kepada penggunaan kad melebihi 12 transaksi setahun.

QUOTE(arayz @ Nov 2 2012, 08:42 AM)
wanna ask do Bank Islam - Alumni UiTM Platinum MasterCard Card-i got annual fee?
what it states in their website not so accurate:
they just charged me RM388 for annual fee.
If you had swipe more than 12 times, the annual fee should be waived. Call CS immediately and ask for waiver.
Gen-X
post Nov 3 2012, 11:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 3 2012, 09:03 AM)
Wah! The design is very classy! Nice colors and all. Yeah. Good thing you didn't get the pink one   laugh.gif
Same trick again. But at least there is an option. A very good one   tongue.gif
Yes, the NAB Debit Card does really look nice for a card that is issued for FREE.

So options for me to get a credit card in Australia are:

1. Sign up for HSBC Malaysia Premier Account - Minimum AUM RM250K. And then "transfer" to Australia HSBC Premier Account.
2. Sign up for HSBC Australia Premier Account - Minimum AUM AUD200K.
3. Sign up for Citibank CitiGold Account - Minimum AUM AUD100K

And if you had checked out my article Australia Best Savings Account, as of Oct 2013 Citibank Australia is offering 5.35% for first 4 months when one opens their Online Saver, but too bad it is not for foreigners sad.gif But good news is they have Term Deposit Promo currently at 4.9% for 4-6 months tenure.

So if I really want a Citibank Platinum credit card, I guess the Term Deposit Promo at 4.90% may be worthwhile for me to open a CitiGold Australia account since it is much better compared to Fixed Deposit interest rates offered by our local banks. BUT then again, Australia Tax is freaking high for foreigners. So in the end, may just earn interest rates similar to Malaysia Savings Account (and have yet to even include forex related fees).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 3 2012, 12:38 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 5 2012, 12:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 4 2012, 10:42 AM)
Just RM200K will do bro   tongue.gif    And HSBC Australia should be able to extend you a HSBC Premier World MasterCard for free   smile.gif
At least it'd be more or less the same as what we earn from FD here after deducting the tax and all. Not bad not bad   biggrin.gif
Yah lah, you're right, it's RM200K. I keep getting confuse over the required AUM for PB between SCB and HSBC.

To All:

I wanted to open a Maybank Basic Savings Account which earns nominal interest rates but was recommended against doing so. Instead the Maybank Exec recommended that I opened a Normal Savings Account for my purpose of linking all my Maybank Credit Cards to it in order for me to make payments online via Maybank2U. It seems that the Maybank Basic Savings Account cannot be linked to my Maybank Credit Cards at M2U rclxub.gif

Anyway I was issued a Maybankard Platinum MasterCard Debit Card where the 16 digit numbers ended with the number No.8, thanks to my lucky stars rclxm9.gif Initially, the first debit card the Maybank Exec wanted to give me did not have the number No.8.

For those of you who uses Maybank2U to pay your credit card bills, utilities bills, Local Council Assessments/Taxes and etc, you should look into getting the Maybank2U Savers Account (if you have not) because it earns you interest daily and credited into the account monthly.

Click below link to read my story of My New Maybankard Platinum MasterCard Debit Card and Maybank2U Savers. And maybe you can earn some extra money after reading it smile.gif

My Maybankard Platinum Debit Card for My Maybank Credit Cards

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 5 2012, 03:57 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 5 2012, 04:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 5 2012, 04:04 PM)
Is it the basic automatic saving account or some special type? Because I have a joint savings account (open last year) and personal account (open years ago) which I don't think pays interest every 1st, how to check what type it is?
Like I mentioned in my article, you can only sign up for the Maybank2U Savers via M2U only. So if you did not apply for it yourself online, then 100% you don't have it.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:50 AM