11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post May 22 2013, 01:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ May 22 2013, 11:56 AM)
hi. got a question. i recently change my number.

How do i change my maybank mastercard contact number ? ( the 1 they send a confirmation number when you purchase online, the MSOS number )
Call Customer Service - number behind your credit card.
Gen-X
post May 23 2013, 08:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Nagato @ May 23 2013, 08:42 PM)
Hi all sifus, just wandering whether supplementary card can build up credit history for supplementary card holder or not?

I would think NO since the principal card holder is the one responsible for supp cards too.
Gen-X
post May 27 2013, 09:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Hi guys, for your reading pleasure, I just published my usual freaking long winded article with a short title My USA Trip 2013.

My trip to USA would not have materialized if not for the wonderful Maybankard Visa Infinite.

In the above said article I touched on how I got a FREE Malaysia Airlines ticket with my Maybankard Visa Infinite, United Airlines Mileage Plus Points and Premier Access, United Airlines’ United Club Lounge access with my Priority Pass Membership Card, using Facetime with Apple gadgets, my son’s guitar collection and posted photos taken in Seattle and San Francisco. And of course my articles would include a message for you to decode, hahaha.

My Malaysia issued credit cards are not accepted by United Airline Online Booking, but that's a blessing in disguise because my son got me cheaper domestic USA tickets and one of them is with United Airlines.

And for you guys who love Starbucks, I visited the first Starbucks Store at Pike Place Seattle. Check out the photos.

Click below link to start reading and you can always bookmark it if you find a headache developing from reading all the text, hahaha.

My USA Trip to Los Angeles, Seattle and San Francisco.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 27 2013, 09:38 AM
Gen-X
post May 29 2013, 09:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ May 29 2013, 09:25 PM)
It's my 3rd credit card so maybe that's why they reject me.
I want to cancel my Hong Leong clear card which is really useless but scared cancel dy left with one card if cannot apply new one.
I blame my sister for this stupid HLB clear card, last time she staff so HLB forced her to get new applicant for credit card. I become victim.
Anyway, what is better? Cancel current card before applying new card or get new card only cancel current card?
If you not using the HLB credit card, why keep it.

Don't be discourage because OCBC rejected your application, many people reported the same.

If you are earning RM60K or having salary of RM5K/month, many banks are more than willing to offer you a credit card.

Having said that, some have reported that their Maybankard application was also rejected because their income is commission based even though they earn more than RM60K/year.
Gen-X
post Jun 4 2013, 12:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ Jun 4 2013, 01:46 AM)
Hi guys,

I have AMEX corporate card from Maybank, just charged up about RM 11k by various transaction oversea.

When I login to maybank2u, there is a statement date 12 May 2013 and the due date for payment is on 8 June 2013.

However I cant find the statement to see up to which transaction I have to pay. I went to statement section but there was no statement available. I think I activated it by accepting a term and condition.

On the amex card page itself, there is transaction history and date but there is no statement.

In my citibank credit card, there is statement shown to tell me the amount to pay up to the statement date.

Anyone know where I can get the statement from maybank2u? I am in swiss, so it is abit expensive to call maybank. And I do not wish to pay up lump sum since I havent claim from company yet.

Thanks for the info.
From the Transaction History - pay for all transactions prior to Statement Date -and to be kiasu, include transaction on statement date.

Or the other way - Balance Due less transactions after Statement Date.
Gen-X
post Jun 4 2013, 12:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 4 2013, 12:08 PM)
Not sure, never face any issue before. I suppose as long as your account has the sufficient fund, you can pay.
If the AMEX account appears in our M2U account, I guess there should be no limit. But if paying a third party there is a limit.
Gen-X
post Jun 5 2013, 06:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(leechers @ Jun 5 2013, 06:09 PM)
i am actually thinking about total credit limit combine. if i have rm10k limit from maybank and rm10k from cimb, my credit limit is not rm20k?

but your question actually raise another doubt

say if i buy something worth rm15k, can i use two different card to pay for it, since my credit limit is only rm10k per card?

so the merchant charge rm10k on my maybank credit card, and another rm5k on my cimb credit card. is that even practical, or more importantly legal to do so?
it is legal, and of course it is practical.

As you may be aware, the MBB 2 AMEX earns us 5% cash back up to RM1K spending. If I were to purchase something worth over RM1K, I would split the payment where I will use my MBB2 AMEX and get my wife's to use her own MBB2 AMEX to maximize the cash back. There was one time bought a watch for my wife and the merchant prefer Visa or MC over my AMEX, so to make both of us happy, I use my CIMB (up to a certain amount to qualify for a gift from CIMB at Pavilion) and the rest paid with my MBB 2 AMEX.
Gen-X
post Jun 5 2013, 09:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(leechers @ Jun 5 2013, 06:32 PM)
thanks for the clarification.

actually the real situation is that i has been approached by one citibank agent and she wants me to apply for citibank. she begged me just at least apply for it.

the same thing happen last time with my standard chartered.

now i already have maybank with credit limit of rm25k and standard charterd card of rm36k

i am thinking, should i apply for another card, will the credit limit of current card that i am holding now, affect the the assessment of my application and resulting a lower credit limit?
What you talking about she beg you to apply?

I think your reason to get a card is kind of ridiculous.

If it was a guy would you apply for the card? tongue.gif

Anyway, what you so worried about getting lower CL? You need how much CL with card from Citibank?

For example - do you actually utilize the CL with your SCB credit card considering the fact that is has the worst redemption program.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 5 2013, 09:19 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 5 2013, 11:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 5 2013, 11:14 PM)
apply for credit cards which you don't need:
1) increased your total credit exposure in CCRIS
2) RM50 GST for each card
3) increased risk of card misplaced/fraud

So with (1), your new credit card limit depends on it, unless you earn way above the norm. You might even be rejected if the bank thinks you are over exposed
Nah, I don't think Citibank will reject as they "hadap" for customers and they are known to give pretty generous credit limit; but, if you say OCBC then I agree tongue.gif

I think (3) is the most important thing to consider when one is holding a card, hassle when lost or with higher CL bigger headache when fraud occurs.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 5 2013, 11:55 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 6 2013, 12:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kindra @ Jun 6 2013, 12:09 AM)
SC here as in Standard Chartered.
Bro go to SCB Thread and ask, many sifus there sucking money from SCB laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 6 2013, 12:24 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 6 2013, 09:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Denis @ Jun 6 2013, 08:36 AM)
Hi, I need some advise here:

I have applied for the housing loan from the Public Bank (PBB) and was successfully taken the loan from them. However, Public Bank has given me a credit card based on that. I don't like that card as it is not beneficial. The PBB cs said that I need to use at least 3 times within two months with a min spending of RM80 each in order to get the rebate of RM 50 to cover the GST payment.

My question is if I don't activate the card, will PBB still  charge me GST RM 50?

Thanks for the advice.
You are not the first one to complain here that you have been issued a cc by PBB because of your loan with them.

If the card is in your hand, you need to pay the GST.

Options -

1) Pay the RM50 and keep the card for a year. PBB reward points/cash back is amongst the worst but who knows, you may get to save some money from their discount promotions at selected outlets.

2) If you thinks it is a matter of principle that you should not be issue the card, call Customer Service and tell them you do not wish to have the card as you did not apply for it (i.e. you don't remember checking any box or read anything that you be issued a credit card in any of the forms you signed and also you did not give verbal consent to the agent for any credit card to be issued). Recommend you record the conversation (use your mobile phone lah), write down the person's name and time of conversation. If PBB insist you pay the GST, email to BNM to complain that you were issued a credit card from PBB without your consent.

3) go swipe the card 3 times as you mentioned and get the GST rebate.

Gen-X
post Jun 6 2013, 10:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 6 2013, 09:35 AM)
According to custom department, only those renewed card but cancelled within 3 months and not use the new card is eligible not to pay GST.
http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php/en/pro...for-credit-card

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 6 2013, 09:43 AM)
Anyway, if you do not use yet you do not cancel; technically you are still required to pay the tax. The only caveat is you cancel the card within 3 months of the renewal as specified in the website.
This is good news, thanks b00n for the invaluable info.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 6 2013, 10:02 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 12 2013, 11:42 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I am sure many of you love the wonderful Maybankard 2 Cards American Express for our local transactions where we get to earn unlimited 5X Treats Points for all transactions PLUS 5% cash back on weekends. And when we convert the Treats Points to cash vouchers, it is like we are getting 2.5% cash back.

For overseas transactions, I have mentioned many times that the Maybankard Visa Infinite is the best. This is simply because it has one of the lowest conversion rate and at the same time earn the cardholder 5X Treats Points too.

And now, I will show you how I can get returns of more than 10% with the Treats Points earned from my expenses.

Would you believe me that I can "earn" more than 19% in returns from using my Maybank Visa Infinite? And you too can earn up to xx% in returns too with the Maybankard 2 AMEX. Click here to read my latest article titled My Son Is Going To The USA on Business Class Again.
Gen-X
post Jul 8 2013, 10:18 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

It has been more than 1.5 years since my last article on airport lounge was published and since then HLB and Citi VS no longer issued the Priority Pass Membership Card or allow FREE entries to LCC Plaza Premium Lounge. So instead of updating that article, I just published a new article in regards to airport lounge entry with credit cards.

Click here to read my article titled The Best Credit Card for FREE Entry to Airport Lounge 2013.

And of course the article comes with a brief review of the new Citibank Citi Prestige World MasterCard Elite that issue the Priority Pass Membership Card that grants UNLIMITED entries to airport lounges worldwide. And also my comments on HSBC World MasterCard and Visa Signature UNLIMITED entries to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 8 2013, 11:33 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 9 2013, 01:08 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 8 2013, 10:00 PM)
HLB Visa Signature still allows entry to the lounge @ KLIA & LCCT.
I was at KLIA lounge 2 weeks ago, and LCCT lounge just last week with my HLB Visa Signature card.

I just looked at the website after reading your page quickly, and yes, HLB stated it on their site.
http://www.hlb.com.my/pfs/cc/cc_visa-signa..._visa-signature
Thank you Bro for pointing out above. Glad to know HLB extended the privilege to KLIA and LCCT PPL. In Airport Lounge Thread, b00n did take the trouble to post all cards allowing FREE access to LCCT PPL and HLB VS is one of them (refer to Post#1).

Anyway, I updated my article to include the HLB VS and gave credit to you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(fly126 @ Jul 8 2013, 11:07 PM)
I think now will need min. Annual Income RM80,000 only last time RM180k.... hmm.gif
Reported by Gen-x last time,
The annual income required to be eligible for the EON Visa Signature was RM180,000.00 per year. Now, the Hong Leong Bank Visa Signature only need Minimum Annual Income of RM80,000!
http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2012/02...ature-best.html
Yes, when I first got the EON Visa Signature the annual income requirement was RM180K (and gave me CL of 6 figures too without submitting any proof of income doh.gif ) but after HLB took over EON Bank, the Priority Pass Membership Card feature was removed and the annual income requirement was reduced to RM80K. However, I got no idea if HLB has reduced it further since Citi Premier Miles annual income requirement is now only RM60K. I hardly used the HLB VS since the reward points were not competitive compared to MBB 2 AMEX and MBB VI for local and overseas transactions respectively. HLB did waive my annual fee for the 2nd year but before the 3rd year anniversary I terminate it as did not want the hassle go begging for annual fee waiver yearly. Moreover, from my experience with HLB, it takes like forever for HLB to reverse/credit annual fee in their system.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 8 2013, 10:46 PM)
Interesting. LCCT is not stated as one of the PPL there  hmm.gif Any idea what is the income requirement? not stated at the website  doh.gif
Someone is going to get the HLB VS soon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 9 2013, 02:00 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 20 2013, 11:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tweer @ Aug 19 2013, 08:13 PM)
hi,

i want swipe my ccard for 5k(car downpayment)

problem is car dealer do not have swipe machine.

how to solve this?

if cash advance it will charge 5% thus will minus from 5k or it will go into card statement?

thx
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 20 2013, 07:15 AM)
Find a car dealer which has a terminal seems like the most logical option  biggrin.gif
agree with tgeoklin. Most car dealers do accept credit cards for payment.. Toyota, Mazda, Honda and luxury cars but they may limit you up to a certain amount without any surcharge, so nego with them. However some Proton dealers do not accept credit card... so as go look for one, e.g. try Proton HQ Shah Alam. I remember for Perodua, at one time there were offering 0% installment for Nautica downpayment with Citibank CC.
Gen-X
post Aug 20 2013, 12:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 20 2013, 12:22 PM)
I  have MBB 2kad. If use the AMEX overseas is it will haf extra charge on top of the converted rate?
Not sure what you mean by "extra charges" but AMEX charges 2.5% and MBB another 0.5% (not sure if they increased it this month). Read thread below:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

To ALL:

In respect of overseas transactions, I noticed that my MBB VI overseas conversion rate for August (this month) is higher than previous months but I can tell you it is still lower than my UOB VI.
Gen-X
post Aug 20 2013, 12:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 20 2013, 12:32 PM)
SO means if use in malaysia not kena the 0.5% and 2.5% charge right. Is it also apply online transaction?

Cos i notice last month i use my cc to pay a domestic flight in korea but not kena charge. Means the website say 100k korea won then i use kad pay they just charge 100k korea won. hmm.gif
Bro, sure they charge you 100K Korean Won but you paying in RM. So what was the spot rate on the day your transaction was posted versus the rate you are paying. Can someone please explain the Forex admin fee to him notworthy.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 20 2013, 01:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 20 2013, 12:51 PM)
I use masterkad to pay. The cost is 131 200 korean won. The transaction history show caj in RM is RM368.94.

I not sure that day rate la but today rate is 0.0029 from google. If convert using today rate is 380.48.

Just a gap of 1 month or so i feel like not kena caj 0.5% from use credit kad hmm.gif
Wah you actually save money tongue.gif

Reason being is Ringgit has been weakening and weakening and weakening. Go check what was the conversion rate the day your transaction was posted (i.e. about a month ago).
Gen-X
post Aug 26 2013, 12:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Aug 26 2013, 12:21 PM)
Hi all, currently i got 3 credit cards. I wish to use it to do turnover of daily expenses because I don't want to pay so much money at same month...how can I change the statement / due date to suit my needs?

My cards:
UOB - Closing Date = 26, Opening Date = 27, Paymeny Due = 15 of next month
Maybank Master - Statement Date = 6, Payment Due = 26 of same month
Maybank Amex - Statement Date = 6, Payment Due = 26 of same month

Please help...thanks!
I think all MBB cards have t he same Statement Date and Anniversary Date, so you can't have separate statement date for different MBB cards.

I feel above is adequate. Ignoring that you can earn up to 5% cash back or getting discount with the right card, transactions between 27 and 6 use UOB. Transactions between 6 to 26 use MBB.

Seriously how much money can you really save/earn (from having the money in the bank to earn interest) for daily expenses?

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0251sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:40 PM