11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Aug 14 2012, 06:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Aug 14 2012, 04:59 PM)
hi bro gen-x

can help me with my question above?  tongue.gif

thanks  thumbup.gif
Bro, you quoted wrong post lah, hahaha, go see. I guess what you meant was below:

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Aug 14 2012, 04:56 PM)
hi all

i want to reduce my card limit for HSBC (normal HSBC and Amanah also can) but i was informed that normal HSBC min credit limit is 7k? shocking.gif

im planning to use this card for online purchases and i dont want to have such high limit. is there anyway for me to reduce the CL to rm1k?

or is there any card that can provide RM1k CL?

thanks in advance
Are you sure HSBC Amanah Minimum CL is RM7K. I mentioned in my article Malaysia Premier Credit Cards that HSBC Visa Signature minimum CL is RM5K! That was what I was told by HSBC CS. So, call HSBC CS and ask them to reduce the CL - I would think the minimum CS for non HSBC credit card should from RM3K or maybe RM4K.

QUOTE(dig_dug @ Aug 14 2012, 05:56 PM)
why u wan ban ah?
wah, since when ronnie can ban people here tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 15 2012, 01:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 15 2012, 12:26 PM)
The intention is to alert everyone who reads this forum of the potential "risks". In the first place, everyone should be aware of the inherent risks of doing so and not panic/come to this forum when there's potential trouble. If you ask me anyone trusting someone online so easily (just because of perceived convenience) is not so smart as well.
Yah, agree with above. Trusting a guy because he/she sent a PM then giving out personal info to a stranger is no different compared to those who got conned over the phone - Fraud Calls Relating to Credit Cards.

Bro, can I start a thread on credit card agents and anyone else too who sent unsolicited PM relating to credit cards? hahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 15 2012, 01:26 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 15 2012, 03:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 15 2012, 02:39 PM)
I concur. Similiar like housing mortgage loan thread here, where agents can post their notices there, and anyone can apply, request or report there, if they prefer to trust someone online (or not).
Bro, thank you for the support.

However, if ever my thread is approved later by hye, agents cannot advertise, they can go to Notice Board. The purpose of my intended thread is to highlight spammers/potential scammers/Forum Rule breakers in Credit Card Section but not to the extend we want them to be banned or warned like here where Admin/Staff will take actions.

Forum Rules and Regulations
Do not abuse the PM system. Do not send unsolicited messages, however well intentioned. A single PM is sufficient to constitute spam.

I will then compile the reports and summarize it in Post#1 for easy reference like my Suspicious Telephone Thread smile.gif

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 15 2012, 02:47 PM)
I have see a lot of request from readers who post and ask for agents to contact them online and I don't tolerate such. I personally see it as an excuse of laziness wanting these agents to come to their feet and serve them on the pretext of convenience. (I think the LYN main mods are also upset with me on my trigger happy attitude for these posts as well ... hahaha) I'm not against it but I value personal information security even more - especially with what are the crimes around us these days. Such were less/unheard of a few years ago.

Let's hang on to that thought for a while. If the trend persist then by all means go ahead and hopefully it'll deter scammers from taking advantage of this forum to con people.

On one hand there's no way to authenticate claims and this can potentially be a very trashy thread as people can come in and say anything they like without any solid proof of their claims.  And the other ... our social obligations to educate our readers.
I think you are doing the right thing by not allowing members to request agents to contact them here; and, it also prevent others from doing the same. But more importantly, your this said action is done for the benefit of the member (so that they are not taken advantage off in this CC Section) and I don't see why would anyone object to it.

Members and agents can go to the Notice Board Section if they want to be contacted.

If a member wants to report, they need to post screenshot as evidence. And yah, KIV that "future" thread, already too many thread to update anyway, haha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 15 2012, 03:38 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 17 2012, 01:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dig_dug @ Aug 16 2012, 08:40 AM)
his username is kingt
btw the bank already call me n ask hope i didnt kena scam
Bro, be kiasu like me, call OCBC to confirm it's OCBC that called you and not somebody else.

And talking about Kingt, he actually PM me half hour ago doh.gif

Based on his posts at OCBC Thread, he is not sincere guy. He mentioned he will recommend his agent whereas he is the agent.

Noted also in OCBC Thread he offered to PM our MOD MilesandMore back in April offering GST waiver sweat.gif

Obviously he don't read the posts here but lurk around here to just cari makan.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 17 2012, 01:07 AM

Gen-X
post Aug 20 2012, 01:39 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 20 2012, 01:26 AM)
I would like to wish all of our Muslim friends and readers of this forum / thread Selamat Hari Raya! Do enjoy the holidays with your family and friends. Have a safe driving home and return.

Same for me, I would like to take this opportunity to wish all Muslims Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 20 2012, 08:18 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 24 2012, 02:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Aug 24 2012, 02:50 PM)
RHB travel money credit card....look intresting..for petrol:5% cash back on the 1st weekend and 2% cash back on other days at ANY petrol station nationwide..also got airmile point...anyone here have use this card??
Better you go read the terms and conditions for the Petrol Cash Back and understand them before you sign up for it. Don't want you come back here and complain you got cheated like thomas, see post #723. And check my blog next week where I will be publishing an article on RHB Credit Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 24 2012, 02:56 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 25 2012, 06:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(whyee @ Aug 25 2012, 06:30 PM)
Sure, guarantee 100%, CANNOT.

There is this customer service relations asked/promoting a 5% rebate for petrol, credit card. Since i dont have a petrol rebating credit card, i dont mind getting one.
i replied, i dont have any documents (payslips) with me, but i have more than 100k in that same bank. And the CS, replied due to bnm regulations this year, even you have back up 100k, also cannot.
Btw, who brings their payslips everytime to the bank. not that you will know in advance, you'll want a card from their bank.

Of course, i did not show the banker, the other 'infinite' 'world' and m2card plats and some other plats in my pocket.

For security purposes, DO NOT use your previous cards to apply for new ones. Who knows your card details are being revealed to how many parties and personnels. Kudos for bnm to stop the card to card application.

So in short, having 100k in a particular same bank doesnt get you a card.

RM100K in a particular bank maybe cannot get you a credit card automatically but with Premier Banking Status (starting from RM200K deposit), sure can smile.gif

Click here to read my article Premier Priority Privilege Banking Account and see what card you can get automatically without submitting any pay slip wink.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 26 2012, 09:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Aug 25 2012, 07:19 PM)
I tried with HSBC though, it didn't work. sad.gif
You mean you have HSBC Premier Banking and you are not issued their WorldMasterCard?

QUOTE(TSOM @ Aug 25 2012, 07:53 PM)
by the way, do they need your payslip if you want to change your cc at the same bank??

For example, you hold 1 cc and you want to change it to another cc.
Not necessary if you have an existing card with the same bank.

For example I applied for Maybank Visa Infinite in October 2011 without any documents via phone.

And if you have a Maybankard, walk into Maybankard Centre and you can apply for the Maybankard 2 Cards without any documents and the card can be issued to you within 2 hours.

Same applies for MACH by HLB, if you existing HLB cardholder, go to a MACH centre and the card can be issued to you within 1 hour without any documents except for your NRIC.

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Aug 26 2012, 01:40 AM)
Due to the latest BNM guidelines, although one are eligible for their Premier/Priority/Privilege Banking, still need to furnish income document to get a credit card. If I'm correct, all complimentry free credit card for Premium Banking customers are discontinued since the BNM guidelines. But one still need to be a Premium Banking customer + income document for certain credit cards which reserved only for Premium Banking client.
Complimentary cards are still being issued for PB customers.

Since BNM guidelines was announced in March 2011, these are the following new cards which I have obtained without submitting any pay slip because I simply don't have any starting from January 2011 (did not submit BE Form too). My wife and I have obtained several cards through Premier Banking and both of us are unemployed.

- My wife's Citibank PremierMiles and my Citibank Platinum. - April 2011 applied thru CitiGold and both declared unemployed (Citibank will ask this when you are opening a banking account with them and it will be reflected in their system). I got a shocked the CL Citibank gave to my wife considering she has two other Principal credit cards of her own and she has zero income.

My Wife's and my Standard Chartered Bank Visa Infinite - October 2011, both Principal cards obtained via Priority Banking. Once again both obtained the card without submitting income documents because we don't have any. Same thing for my wife as far as CL is concerned, SCB really generous giving CL to my wife. For me, the CL was less than my other Premier cards.

And my latest card UOB Privilege Banking Visa Infinite last month without submitting any documents too, just sign on the form and my RM did the rest smile.gif

Having said that, one can also apply for new Alliance Visa Infinite thru Privilege Banking and on the application form there is a box for one to tick if he earns above RM36K.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 26 2012, 11:47 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 26 2012, 11:30 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 26 2012, 08:56 AM)
The ruling is there to prevent uncontrolled unsecured credit which I'm in full support if we don't want our country to be full of debt filled citizens. And if you are trying very hard to advocate the "large logo" which you have in your signature then take a seat back and think in a broad picture of that decision made by Bank Negara and your reaction itself. I'm sure there's no need for the country to bend over so whatever demands made by the public - the ruling is made to protect the public in the long term. Rethink the intelligence of your own answer which you just posted.

It is not easy for expats to get a local credit card - not just in Malaysia but it's the same thing all over the world. Even in Singapore, South Korea, Japan (worst) it's the same thing.
I agree to above 1st paragraph and I think the minimum annual income should be raised further to RM30Kpa since nowadays many debit cards offer benefits similar to credit cards. Also, BNM should also seriously look the maximum period for installment plans and make it not more than 12 months and ban balance transfer plans. The other thing is BNM should also apply the credit card requirements to personal loans where the maximum loan amount shall not be more than 2 months salary.

Anywhere on earth if one got no income from legit source, sure very hard (not impossible) to get a Principal credit card. When I was in Australia I asked the Personal Banker if I can apply for a HSBC credit card with my Malaysia issued HSBC VS and was told NO. On the other hand, no problems in getting Australia Debit cards. Those of you who want to see my Australia Citibank, Commonwealth and HSBC Debit Cards click here.

Having said above, the HSBC Personal Banker did confirm that there is an exception if one has HSBC Premier Banking Account. You see, if I have a Malaysia HSBC Premier Account, I'll automatically be eligible to open an Australia HSBC Premier Account (without depositing the minimum amount required for Premier Status) and as such I can get HSBC Australia issued World MasterCard without needing to proof any income smile.gif Initially I thought of opening a Malaysia HSBC Premier Account but then decided against it as they don't offer FD Promotion to existing customers and as such I will be earning less from interest compared to FD promos in town.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 26 2012, 11:33 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 27 2012, 12:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 24 2012, 06:30 PM)
I'm using RHB Travel MoneyCredit Card Now...
For New RHB Card- They give back $50 Cash Back on GST on Their CASH BACK PROMO- 1st Spend
I have 3 Cash Back(GST) with 3 different  cards with RHB so far... rclxm9.gif 
The GST Cash Back will credit back to your account within 3 months  rolleyes.gif
But, if U cancel the card within 1 year, the bank will charge back their GST blink.gif
& NO Annual Fee with min. 12x swipes per year
Quite O.K about RHB Card , got many promotion now...
RHB Friday  Special (Buy 1 Free 1 Promotion) at Sushi King, Starbucks, Popular & GSC
U Can have a Check on it.... brows.gif Their Hot Cake: Travel Money Card (Cash Back+Reward Point)
Yah, RHB Travel Money is amongst the best RHB Classic Credit Cards series since you can earn you 2X points for selected transactions.

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Aug 24 2012, 02:50 PM)
RHB travel money credit card....look intresting..for petrol:5% cash back on the 1st weekend and 2% cash back on other days at ANY petrol station nationwide..also got airmile point...anyone here have use this card??
Currently, RHB have pretty good promotions on Friday where we get Freebies at Starbucks, GSC, Sushi King and Popular Bookstore. And they are offering 0% Balance Transfer Plan until 31 December 2012.

I just published by latest article where I did a short review of several of the RHB Credit Cards, please click on below link to read more. As usual, there will be comparison of cards, and in this article RHB Tesco versus Maybankard 2 Card and I also touched on RHB Travel Money petrol rebate.

RHB Credit Cards Review & Promotions 2012
Gen-X
post Aug 27 2012, 10:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Aug 27 2012, 09:36 PM)
couple hours ago, I've received 2 sms both my primary and sup MBB2Kard Amex been charge on certain online transaction which is not perform by me nor my wife as that time we are still in the middle of having our dinner. So immediately I called up to CS to check on the situation and they barred my both pri and sup AMEX and ask me to wait for my new AMEX replacement within 5-7 days.

My question now is, Do I have to pay for the fraud transaction?
I suggest you call MBB CS and reconfirm the procedures - i.e. do you need to make an "official" written report or if you are required to fill any form(s). By the way, take down the name of the CS and record the time and date of your conversation too,
Gen-X
post Aug 28 2012, 10:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(czyhades90 @ Aug 28 2012, 07:34 AM)
Hi guys, i called a 5 star hotel to book for a buffet dinner, and the staff asked me to give him my credit card number and expiry date of the card, so called to ''secure'' my booking. Security number on the back of the card is not needed.

I am using a RHB Visa card, can they or anyone else do anything (such as fraud transaction) by using that 2 numbers only? (the main credit card number and expiry date)

Thank u^^
In the past, for Buka Puasa buffet, some hotels even make me sign on a fax copy to confirm booking. But I can't remember which hotels. Oh, I my reservation was for many people and not for a couple.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 28 2012, 10:38 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 06:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Aug 29 2012, 06:16 PM)
Hi, I have questions regarding this service of AEON's credit service. I myself (and my family, dad, mum) have never used credit card before as to what happened to my uncle, well - you know.

But now I'm grown up and my dad has never used credit card, he doesn't know a wee bit about this. I have the moolah but I do not want to spend one lump sum on a product costing a thousand or more.

Case is like this now : I am interested in buying a new TV, a 32" or 40" LCD/Plasma/LED TV for the family, again, I do not want to pay one lump sum. So how does this HERE service work? I do not have a credit card myself and have no plans for that yet.

I need enlightenment from the seniors and the wise elders. Thank you.
That AEON installment got interest charges lah. For 32" or 40" TV, nowadays it's kinda cheap compared to 5 years ago. Better you go use cash or debit card and pay one lump sum.
Gen-X
post Aug 30 2012, 10:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bylone @ Aug 30 2012, 09:50 PM)
Hi, need help from u guys.
Recently when i apply for home loan, the agent ask to apply for credit card.
He said apply for credit card will easier to get approval.
At that time, i did not think much and said ok.
Now, it turns out that the agent applied 2 credit cards for me, 1 visa & 1 master. Thus, i would need to pay RM100 gst.
I was angry cos the agent was like took advantage on us, 2 cards with combine limit and paying 2 gst, what's the purpose?

I already called to cancel both of the cards, the question is that can i get waiver from the bank? Cos the bank already billed me.

Can i lodge a complain to bank negara on this issue?
When you cancel the card, did you ask that the GST be cancelled too? Anyway call CS and tell them you were conned and see what they can do. If they not willing to waive, then I suppose you can lodge a complain with BNM.

But, it is your fault for being negligent and not ticking on the application form what card you want. Luckily the agent the did not tick on all the cards tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 30 2012, 10:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bylone @ Aug 30 2012, 10:28 PM)
I did not sign anything, the agent just said bank will call and said i got apply...
The CS said cannot waived...
Guess just have to feed the government.
You did not sign anything? You sure? Was there a box to tick in your loan application? If you really did not sign anything, than someone must have forged your signature because you have to agree to the terms and conditions.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 30 2012, 10:30 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 30 2012, 10:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bylone @ Aug 30 2012, 10:33 PM)
I apply for pre-approve loan, just submit my doc and did not sign anything.
Thats why i did not even see the form...
Huh? Was your conversation recorded? What proof the bank got you applied for the card?

anyway, what bank? maybe the card can benefit you.

Gen-X
post Aug 31 2012, 10:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(whyee @ Aug 31 2012, 10:15 AM)
The banks should change the application format.
Instead of ticking for what the applicant wants, they should implement crossing off what the applicant doesnt want.
This way, there would be no forgery, for example, the agent, ticking for extra card applications.
Yah, what you mentioned is possible. So, ask for a copy of the signed application form for your records (they need to photocopy your IC right) or take a photo of the application form with your smart phone smile.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 31 2012, 07:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dig_dug @ Aug 31 2012, 06:34 PM)
Hi wanna ask if my cc application was not approve can I appeal for it?

btw last time the agent not a really responsible one.....
Yes, you may appeal if you know the reason why it was rejected and you need to justify why you should be given the card.
Gen-X
post Sep 2 2012, 08:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PetGrass @ Sep 2 2012, 07:41 PM)
Hi..

I'm not working in private/gov sector, just run a small homebased business.

Registered enterprise business and got current account (opened on April 2012)

Wanted to buy an iphone+plan from maxis via EPP plan.

Can I apply for credit card?
What is the criteria?
and based on the company bank statement I had, how do I self-check whether I can apply the CC?
I guess the first requirement besides needing to be 21 years old, you need to meet the minimum income requirement of RM24K.

Go ask your bank if you can apply for one based on your current account.
Gen-X
post Sep 7 2012, 05:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Sep 7 2012, 04:38 PM)
i own a maybank petronas gold card, i going singapore next week, my question is if i need to use my credit card at singapore, how is the charges?

example : 100 sgd , i use my credit card pay, how will it charge?
singapore got maybank rite? and if i withdraw using my atm card can o not
Read This Thread and there is a link to Visa International Exchange Rate Estimator

Just use your Petronas Card as you would in Malaysia and don't worry about the exchange charges.

If you need cash while in Singapore, use your Maybank ATM Debit Card (if you have one) BUT never use credit card for cash withdrawal as you will be imposed a fee upfront and subsequently daily interest shall be imposed. Furthermore, will it be convenient for you to access a MBB ATM?

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:55 PM