192 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 10:55 AM

12,696 posts

To tired to go through the 50 pages. So how do you people increase the ringing tone sound volume?

Google and found some pretty complicated and scary way of doing it. Any easier way?

http://www.n9fanclub.com/2011/11/how-to-in...a-n9-sound.html
tonberry_ax
post Mar 22 2012, 10:57 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:55 AM)
To tired to go through the 50 pages. So how do you people increase the ringing tone sound volume?

Google and found some pretty complicated and scary way of doing it. Any easier way?

I think that the most easy way to increase volume, currently using it, working like a charm.

I dun use N9 tweak, it brick my phone.
KennyKB
post Mar 22 2012, 11:01 AM

1,765 posts

The ringing tone volume is already pretty okay in PR1.2 when set to max. Any louder it would be annoying to others. The earpiece volume can be improved, I agree but ringing volume sounds fine to me. Do you still find it too soft?
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 11:12 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 11:01 AM)
The ringing tone volume is already pretty okay in PR1.2 when set to max. Any louder it would be annoying to others. The earpiece volume can be improved, I agree but ringing volume sounds fine to me. Do you still find it too soft?
On 1.2.
Setting/Sound&Vibration/Volume. Still low. Lot behind my other N8. Did I miss something?

Another question. When I wanted to make a video call from the N8 to N9, it says the N9 does not support video? How is that possible or is there some setting i missed?

ps. The N9 can access Internet.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Mar 22 2012, 11:24 AM
KennyKB
post Mar 22 2012, 11:33 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 11:12 AM)
On 1.2.
Setting/Sound&Vibration/Volume. Still low. Lot behind my other N8. Did I miss something?

Another question. When I wanted to make a video call from the N8 to N9, it says the N9 does not support video? How is that possible or is there some setting i missed?

There's a ringing volume with bar in blue and general volume with bar in magenta. You can adjust the ringing volume by pressing the Volume+ key in any screen including the lockscreen.

Yes, unfortunately N9 still doesn't support video calls over the operator GSM network (Maxis, Digi, etc). GTalk doesn't use the GSM network.
Andy214
post Mar 22 2012, 11:46 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:36 AM)
I don't like testing apps so I normally ask around before doing so.

I understand Restartme gives 3 options:
1. Restart
2. Shutdown
3. cancel.

I only want the screen to go into blank instead of pressing the hard key. So does Restart do that or does it do a computer type reboot? I don't want a computer type reboot.
There is a free apps called Shutdown. Option are
1. Reboot
2. Shutdown

Again, does Reboot mean computer type reboot?
http://store.ovi.com/content/240268?clickSource=search&pos=2
Reboot should mean restart.

You want the scren to go black, just press once the power/lock key.
If you leave it, it will turn off the display and go into sleep mode after some time (which you can set in settings).

To re-active or wake, press the power/lock key or double tap on the screen (double tap can be disabled in settings).

In settings, you can also set the swipe down to close feature. So when you slide an application from top to down, it will close. This also depends on screen orientation, in landscape mode (and the app switches to landscape view), it's top to bottom in landscape.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 11:12 AM)
On 1.2.

Can't compare with N8, N8 much louder; but both are mono speaker, so it's better not to go too loud.

No video and yes, how is that possible, it's been like this since N900 more 2 years ago. Never implemented on N900. How is that possible right, a Nokia product. Plus, Symbian have nice contacts management, but it's not implemented to Maemo and MeeGo.

eaglehelang
post Mar 22 2012, 11:50 AM

1,075 posts

1) If you just want to increase the overall volume, go to Setting, Applications, Music or Video. On the Dolby Headphones function, it will increase volume.

2) The restart, shutdown is to reboot and switch off the phone. If just want to on screen saver, press the 3rd button from top. 1st and 2nd button for volume. The screen saver(screen blank) will auto on within certain time. Settings-> Device->Display->Display Time out. Longest is 3 min.

Or you mean you dont want the time to be there when the screen goes blank/screen saver on?

Btw, your maps issue settle? Weird you couldnt see the bottom right icon? oops, just saw your post, solved liao. The back button works

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Mar 22 2012, 12:02 PM
KennyKB
post Mar 22 2012, 11:59 AM

1,765 posts

Discovered something interesting. Off the phone and leaving it on idle has almost the same battery drain. In that case may just leave it on overnight. Anybody else has the same experience?
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 12:06 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 11:33 AM)
There's a ringing volume with bar in blue and general volume with bar in magenta. You can adjust the ringing volume by pressing the Volume+ key in any screen including the lockscreen.

Missed that. I increased magenta but ignored the blue ones. Thanks. It's now louder but still not as loud as N8 but I guess that is it.

tonberry_ax
post Mar 22 2012, 12:07 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
Discovered something interesting. Off the phone and leaving it on idle has almost the same battery drain. In that case may just leave it on overnight. Anybody else has the same experience?
My current Avg Idle is 6mA, anyone have below it?
eaglehelang
post Mar 22 2012, 12:10 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Mar 22 2012, 02:09 AM)

Anyway, talking about video playback, I just tested CuteTube on my N9 which actually has a setting for playing vid when minimised. It works! Just that too bad it's not the whole size of the app windows, it's reduced to a small playback windows on the app itself, just like when you're playing vids on CuteTube when you're holding it in portrait mode. But it works & the playback never stopped even as I swiped it out to minimise & load it back to be focused. Great app for those who use YouTube a lot & definitely worth that RM4 price tag.

Lol, now only you buy the app is it? Previously Open Video Player can play minimised but not compatible with PR 1.2. This one could watch full screen. It's the same developer as cutetube. I asked him in maemo forum is he going to put it to Ovi Store, he said no more doing, too many codes to change.
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 12:12 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 22 2012, 11:50 AM)

2) The restart, shutdown is to reboot and switch off the phone. If just want to on screen saver, press the 3rd button from top. 1st and 2nd button for volume. The screen saver(screen blank) will auto on within certain time. Settings-> Device->Display->Display Time out. Longest is 3 min.

Or you mean you dont want the time to be there when the screen goes blank/screen saver on?

Btw, your maps issue settle? Weird you couldnt see the bottom right icon? oops, just saw your post, solved liao. The back button works
I know of the 3rd button and thought there might be an apps that will do the same thing. Anything like the Pocketlock for the N8 on the N9?

zachary22_77
post Mar 22 2012, 12:15 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 22 2012, 09:40 AM)
Web browser is usually one of the main culprit but the default browser should be better especially since it doesn't support flash. For N900, the flash is one of the major performance killer, some people turn it off. The great thing here is there is option/choice for user, instead of not providing and giving excuses (e.g. Mr Jobs). But he successfully killed it I guess, no more Flash for future smartphone OS. Before that, it was said to come on MOST (if not all) smartphone OS, except iOS.

Luckily they manage to get flash on Firefox for MeeGo. For N9, I don't really like the default browser because it's very plain and simple, even after PR1.2, they didn't seem to add in features like history, bookmarks, and so on. I think they might not be improving/adding it further. Just wonder will we still get PR1.3
Yeah, so we're actually lucky to get Flash support. But it's the end of the road for mobile Flash. Anyway, PR1.2 did add history to default browser, scroll down your most used sites list & you'll see it. Too bad they didn't give any settings to control how long history to keep. I also wonder when we'll get PR1.3, just keep our fingers & toes crossed biggrin.gif

In terms of web browsing performance between MeeGo default browser and Windows Phone IE browser, I do agree with ViraVira (as said in his article/blog); despite the IE browser score less in html5test, but you can feel it's smoother, more snappy, it gives better browsing experience. What MeeGo currently has is the advantage on FireFox for those and can compromise on the performance for what it can do or offer.
True, the thing flexibility is, user need to know the limitation on the hardware or what will happen if they run many apps.
In a way, Microsoft control and limit on how many apps can be run is a good, but it'll be even better if they provide options for user to customize further. You know, like Advanced mode, and then further customization. For general users, they can go with the "recommended" settings. But these are more like "nice to have" improvements in future.
All good points & not something that can be ruled out on WP. Hopefully they add more settings. Well, hopefully. Most users aren't concerned or even know about app/memory management but yes, added flexibility to cater for geeks is always needed.

Didn't know about the swap, thanks for the info.
For N900, what I notice is, when the swap is use up to like 150MB, the device will be really sluggish most of the time, and I will restart the device. There's also ways to sort of force it to use more ram by adjusing the swappiness properties or completely turn it off and face the consequences lol. There's actually an app called "swappoluble" for Maemo, which you can customize some variables or use the "recommended" settings from the developer.

Since N9 has 1GB Ram, I suppose we can turn off or adjust the swappiness level to very low like 10 or 20? Default should be 100. The problem is we can't monitor the ram usage. In Maemo, there is Desktop and you can put widgets to monitor the process and ram usage. I would say Maemo is very optimize in terms of processor and ram usage, despite the slow processor and ram, it can multi-task very well and it's still smooth to switch between different apps. N9 with 1GB Ram should do much better, that's like 4X the ram of N900.

Personally though, I would like to have more powerful device running Maemo5, but the source is with Nokia and they're not releasing it. Else, the team in maemotalk.org would've done wonders. They've modified the kernels to do many things, and there's also CSSU (Community Seamless Software Update) to provide their own updates, they fixed a bug which took quite some time before Nokia did. Imagine that, lol.
If the source was given, I can't imagine how it will turn out.
Yup, CuteTube is great, the developer did a fine job. I mainly use it for download. In Maemo5, it was free, lol; but the developer deserve to be paid for the amazing app.
Thanks for the insight into N900. At least now I know why there r many diehard fans of N900 that wouldn't give up on the device. Super optimised! Yap, only the sky is the limit if Nokia released the source for Maemo5. Makes you wonder what Maemo6 would have been had it not merged.

Honestly the open source community is trully one of the best out there, spending their free time to fix/modify these things. I've always been amazed with them & trust that as long as given the chance, the community will respond & pick it up.

Anyway there's a nice app in Nokia Store called Drop Cache for N9. Helps out a lot in doing garbage collection which MeeGo doesn't seem to do enough. When I get choppy videos in CuteTube I know it's time to use Drop Cache. Oh I didn't realise CuteTube was free for Maemo5, but yes he definitely deserve to be paid smile.gif. I use it mainly for downloads too but sadly buggy DLNA support for vid makes it not possible to make my N9 as a media centre. I use YouTube Downloader/CuteTube/Nokia Trailers on my N8 to download vids & N8 DLNA support is amazing.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 10:50 AM)
Here's the NitDroid on N9 Video. Not too shabby for an Alpha release, eh? Not even laggy.

Way more impressive than I hoped for. Great stuff & super job by the dev!!!

Added on March 22, 2012, 12:18 pm
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 22 2012, 12:10 PM)
Lol, now only you buy the app is it? Previously Open Video Player can play minimised but not compatible with PR 1.2. This one could watch full screen. It's the same developer as cutetube. I asked him in maemo forum is he going to put it to Ovi Store, he said no more doing, too many codes to change.
No ah, I bought CuteTube the moment I got my N9 back in middle of Jan 2012. But I was testing the N8 version which he put out for free before that. Yeah I know about Open Video Player & why he stopped work on it. Big darn QT bug sadly.

Added on March 22, 2012, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 22 2012, 12:07 PM)
My current Avg Idle is 6mA, anyone have below it?
Wow! That is super!!! The lowest I've seen for my phone is 11mA. No I don't off my phone when I go sleep. Very good batt life after PR1.2.

This post has been edited by zachary22_77: Mar 22 2012, 12:21 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 12:40 PM

12,696 posts

Bluetooth. N9 can pair with N8. But can't detect the computer's (confirm pc is working). Any advise?

N9:
Bluetooth 'on'
Visibility 'on'

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Mar 22 2012, 12:45 PM
KennyKB
post Mar 22 2012, 12:47 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 12:40 PM)
Bluetooth. N9 can pair with N8. But can't detect the computer's (confirm pc is working). Any advise?

N9:
Bluetooth 'on'
Visibility 'on'
Is your PC's bluetooth visibility on? I assume you know that most desktop PCs have no inherent bluetooth facility and you need to plug in a bluetooth USB device.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Mar 22 2012, 12:48 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 12:57 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 12:47 PM)
Is your PC's bluetooth visibility on? I assume you know that most desktop PCs have no inherent bluetooth facility and you need to plug in a bluetooth USB device.
Finally got the computer to detect the N9 but the computer asking "insert the disc that comes with your bluetooth
peripheral device".

My pc bluetooth is a tongle and been using for years so I suppose it is asking for my N9 disc? Where got disc?

eaglehelang
post Mar 22 2012, 01:15 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 22 2012, 12:40 PM)

N9:
Bluetooth 'on'
Visibility 'on'
what about direct use the usb cable? Its faster and better. If want to sync, choose sync and connect. If want to copy files, choose mass storage mode.

Ya,can transfer contacts using Bluetooth. Nokia symbian phones to n9 is no prob.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Mar 22 2012, 01:16 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 22 2012, 01:29 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 22 2012, 01:15 PM)
what about direct use the usb cable? Its faster and better. If want to sync, choose sync and connect. If want to copy files, choose mass storage mode.

Ya,can transfer contacts using Bluetooth. Nokia symbian phones to n9 is no prob.
I just don't understand. The pc can link up with N8 via Bluetooth just fine.

PC can now detect N9 but can't link up with N9 and keeps asking for device driver which I don't have.

eaglehelang
post Mar 22 2012, 01:47 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
I found that leaving it on with my wifi connection still on it will reduce by 10% or more.. If off the streamyx, as in pull plug, then whole nite only reduce by 3%. So, on or off phone, not much difference. But with connection on, it will auto fetch feeds, emails periodically. Of course, the other way is put in flight mode, but if forget to put back to normal, leceh.
KennyKB
post Mar 22 2012, 01:51 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 22 2012, 01:47 PM)
I found that leaving it on with my wifi connection still on it will reduce by 10% or more.. If off the streamyx, as in pull plug, then whole nite only reduce by 3%. So, on or off phone, not much difference. But with connection on, it will auto fetch feeds, emails periodically. Of course, the other way is put in flight mode, but if forget to put back to normal, leceh.
Good idea. I'll put it in flight mode instead of switching it off/on every night. Easier and faster. Maybe need to reboot once a week to clear garbage just like Windows.

192 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:17 PM