Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you

mav_850
post Aug 17 2012, 09:02 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Aug 16 2012, 04:20 PM)
hi bro,
nowdays most 99% local contractor will sub to indon contractor or indon worker..for me it is the same..somehow if if hire local contractor then the local contractor did not monitor..then it is the same as you yourself hire the indon worker....for me i m not to worry about the material and wet work they do..you can just ask them what material they use....not to worry your house will collapse...usually the local contractor is the one that created the problem as they want more untung they will cut the material or use cheap material....

in short...whether you hire local contractor or indon worker..the owner must also monitor the project since it is our house....
no bro.. not all or 99% like you said will totaly sub the work to endon worker.. we (me) as contractor take this indon/bangla/any AND ALSO local worker working for us.. we manage them to do what we want. inspect the job.. what he did and check the result.. these worker DO the job using our machine, our tools.. all working tools we provide.. please dont said ALL local contractor "senang senang amik duit... sub kerja kasi orang lain" THIS IS WRONG! WE NOT BROKER... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by mav_850: Aug 17 2012, 09:05 AM
mhdesajaya
post Aug 18 2012, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(ginming @ Aug 16 2012, 12:55 PM)
hi all, guest everyone would like to save cost as many as you could, as renovation required a lot of $$ and if can save some money at wet work, can use those money to buy others home appliance, sofa and soo...on. Just to share with you u all, i get 3 contractors included 1 Indon quotation(introduced by friend) to code for my renovation. The 2 contractors code me more than 60k, but the Indon worker is about 70% lower for the same works. So at the end i have decided to go for Indon worker.

What my works are:

1. Wet Kitchen - bring up roof tiles and ceiling higher, wall and floor tiling, concrete top,
                      - bring up higher existing window
                      - hack a new window
                      - 6 x 8 feed
2. Yard - build up L shape wall with 6 feets, 13 x 13 feed,, floor tiling
3. Car porch - build up 1 wall 5 feeds, add 1 feed higher for another wall add floor cement + sand, floor tiling,
    18 x 20 feed
4. Up stair balcony - 18 x 13 feed, add floor cement + sand, tiling

The Indon price included material of cement and sand, not include tiles.
They not calculate by labour per day, but calculate by work, let said work for wet kitchen, total how much. So they can work on the wet kitchen or yard together and they will work on their owns, no matter how many days.

Am surprised when 1st week i visited, the wet kitchen roof and yard wall plus floor cement have been completed.

Actually, some Indon workers are very experience as they have work here for so many year, they can be like contractor. My brother build a banglo house single story with 5 rooms,3 bath rooms , without material, only cost about RM50k for labour.

Added on August 18, 2012, 9:21 pmCan I have the indon worker handphone no?

This post has been edited by mhdesajaya: Aug 18 2012, 09:21 PM
Manutd_devilz
post Aug 19 2012, 12:02 AM

14 posts

hi,

please pm me ur formula..

ssl_lim
post Aug 19 2012, 08:33 AM

51 posts

pm me also formula...thanks
leocmc
post Aug 25 2012, 06:38 AM

Hi bro,

Haven't receive your formula can you please PM me your Fomula, TQVM

TStomjason
post Aug 27 2012, 12:49 PM

866 posts

[quote=mav_850,Aug 17 2012, 09:02 AM]no bro.. not all or 99% like you said will totaly sub the work to endon worker.. we (me) as contractor take this indon/bangla/any AND ALSO local worker working for us.. we manage them to do what we want. inspect the job.. what he did and check the result.. these worker DO the job using our machine, our tools.. all working tools we provide.. please dont said ALL local contractor "senang senang amik duit... sub kerja kasi orang lain" THIS IS WRONG!   WE NOT BROKER...  whistling.gif

[/quote]

Hi bro,

you are the 1%.... tongue.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 12:52 pm[quote=mhdesajaya,Aug 18 2012, 09:20 PM]
Added on August 18, 2012, 9:21 pmCan I have the indon worker handphone no?

[/quote]

i hv put the hp earlier...

1. Bibit (indon contractor 0123126782)
2. Arif (indon worker 0166927553)
3. Joha (contractor 0133681704, He himself with his worker do the job)

Added on August 27, 2012, 1:15 pm[quote=chae,Aug 16 2012, 06:37 PM]

Added on August 15, 2012, 7:50 am
well for your case..about RM24K completed all with simple2 tile (the cost without KC and grill).

TQ

[/quote]

hey thanks. what is KC and grill means?

[/quote]

KC = Kitchen Cabinet
Grill = house grill to prevent theft

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just check last saturday few construction items for my latest DIY project....basically nearly 100% items all gone up..

Below are the items i check for my DIY project:

1. cement RM18 (siap hantar)....previously RM17-RM17.50
2. Pasir kasir (3 ton lorry) RM230 ...previously RM190
3. BRC net A7 size RM28
4. Pasir kasir 1 scoop RM90..previously RM70-RM80

This post has been edited by tomjason: Aug 27 2012, 01:20 PM
pnqiu
post Aug 27 2012, 02:42 PM

hi tomjason,

appreciate u could share the formula with me. notworthy.gif

i just bought a sub-sale double storey house with extended kitchen. However the previous owner just built the kitchen with only zink type roof. Now i'm planning to add a proper roof for the kitchen with possiblity to add second floor later.

the question is, to add the roof, can i retain the old wall and just add the roof? or should it be hacked and build new?

thanx in advance
muteq
post Aug 27 2012, 10:55 PM

Pls pm me too.im gonna renovate my apt by end of this yr

TStomjason
post Aug 28 2012, 08:12 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(pnqiu @ Aug 27 2012, 02:42 PM)
hi tomjason,

appreciate u could share the formula with me. notworthy.gif

i just bought a sub-sale double storey house with extended kitchen. However the previous owner just built the kitchen with only zink type roof. Now i'm planning to add a proper roof for the kitchen with possiblity to add second floor later.

the question is, to add the roof, can i retain the old wall and just add the roof? or should it be hacked and build new?

thanx in advance
hi bro,

i hv stop giving formulas as there many contractors here. instead i do give advised and give estimated cost.

for your case..if the existing wall has foundation below it...then should be no problem just add up the roof.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Aug 28 2012, 08:12 AM
lightonokira
post Aug 28 2012, 08:15 AM

788 posts

Can i have the formula? wow this is very informative. :smile:
ek911
post Aug 28 2012, 02:05 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Aug 16 2012, 01:28 PM)
hi bro,

below is my estimated :

1) Extend behing kitchen 18' x 8'
Ans: RM14K (tile owner supply as you said)

2) Car porch tilling 36' x 15'
Ans: Tiling cost RM2160 ((tile owner supply as you said)

3) Beside tilling 10' x 72'
Ans: Tiling cost RM2880 (tile owner supply as you said)

4) Awning (Bali style) Balau and meranti wood 4' x 45'
Ans:estimated range RM5K-7K

5) Toilet tilling 6' x 8'
Ans: RM192 (tile owner supply as you said)

Estimated cost (ES) = RM24323 ~ ~ (RM24K)

you was quote RM50K...too expensive.

Really too expensive lol, kena cut neck already lah.
Any recover plan for it, because the project is on going now.........  sad.gif

Added on August 16, 2012, 1:36 pm
Hi bro,
you are right, that why if i want to reno again..i would just find worker...save a lot...

just to correct you..for indon worker there are 2 type of methods:

1. pay by day
2. lump sump job quote by indon worker (owner no worry about pay by day if the worker delay a bit) the indon tanggung....

the one you mention is item 2 that is lump sump job. The lump sum job , the worker must also calculate you the amount of days to complete and give you the lump sump. They must calculate betul2, else the indon worker also rugi since they have to pay their friend in day to day pay. As i mention above, with this the house onwer need not to worry if the work delay a bit. The disadvantages of this method, if you want to ubah here and there you must tambah duit lah since they already calculated the initial job and want to ubah must tambah lahh..

For item 1, only for house owner that is pro only like me.. biggrin.gif  ....the advantages of this method..i m the boss..i can ubah here and there without problem since i pay them per day....the disadvantages is if they buat slow2..the onwer rugi lah...that why i said this method for owner that is pro only.... biggrin.gif

one more thing about lump sum there are 2 types:

1. Lump sump on labor
2. Lump sump labor + material.
here i would like to share story..why these indon worker/contractor is cheap?...mostly their principles is ..untung2 sikit sudah2lah....asal ade keje sudahlah..asalkan his friend can also work....but you must find good indon worker....there are also indon worker that claim they can do everthing but workmanship not so good...

not like malaysian contractor..they do not do the work (their worker also indon worker) but they want slaughther you like hell as long they get the money....
cay_nd
post Aug 28 2012, 02:33 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ginming @ Aug 16 2012, 12:55 PM)
hi all, guest everyone would like to save cost as many as you could, as renovation required a lot of $$ and if can save some money at wet work, can use those money to buy others home appliance, sofa and soo...on. Just to share with you u all, i get 3 contractors included 1 Indon quotation(introduced by friend) to code for my renovation. The 2 contractors code me more than 60k, but the Indon worker is about 70% lower for the same works. So at the end i have decided to go for Indon worker.

What my works are:

1. Wet Kitchen - bring up roof tiles and ceiling higher, wall and floor tiling, concrete top,
                      - bring up higher existing window
                      - hack a new window
                      - 6 x 8 feed
2. Yard - build up L shape wall with 6 feets, 13 x 13 feed,, floor tiling
3. Car porch - build up 1 wall 5 feeds, add 1 feed higher for another wall add floor cement + sand, floor tiling,
    18 x 20 feed
4. Up stair balcony - 18 x 13 feed, add floor cement + sand, tiling

The Indon price included material of cement and sand, not include tiles.
They not calculate by labour per day, but calculate by work, let said work for wet kitchen, total how much. So they can work on the wet kitchen or yard together and they will work on their owns, no matter how many days.

Am surprised when 1st week i visited, the wet kitchen roof and yard wall plus floor cement have been completed.

Actually, some Indon workers are very experience as they have work here for so many year, they can be like contractor. My brother build a banglo house single story with 5 rooms,3 bath rooms , without material, only cost about RM50k for labour.
hi bro, may i know where is your location? i got already the contact number but no point if the indon worker are far from kl for me to hire them
TStomjason
post Aug 28 2012, 02:35 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cay_nd @ Aug 28 2012, 02:33 PM)
hi bro, may i know where is your location? i got already the contact number but no point if the indon worker are far from kl for me to hire them
i m in selangor...if your area is in kl/sel..should be no problem....
cay_nd
post Aug 28 2012, 03:01 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Aug 28 2012, 03:35 PM)
i m in selangor...if your area is in kl/sel..should be no problem....
thank you very much... from the list of contact number, which one is more reliable?

i have a bad experience with indon worker... they did my plaster ceiling...after 1 year, all the skirting fall down...
ginming
post Aug 28 2012, 03:21 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cay_nd @ Aug 28 2012, 02:33 PM)
am at puchong area.
TStomjason
post Aug 28 2012, 03:35 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cay_nd @ Aug 28 2012, 03:01 PM)
thank you very much... from the list of contact number, which one is more reliable?

i have a bad experience with indon worker... they did my plaster ceiling...after 1 year, all the skirting fall down...
yes..not all indon worker are good..you must be selective to choice the good indon worker...the important is to supervise these indon worker. below is my choice of list..

1. Bibit (he is indon contractor..use to be worker but now become contractor )..he is cheaper that others contractors that you can find.
2. Arif (indon worker)...
3. Joha (malay contractor)

if want more i can give you more list...

for your case ceiling skirting..it may because of the 'glue' compound they use not good (cheap one)..
banana88
post Aug 28 2012, 07:59 PM

58 posts

I have a bad experience on local puchong contractor..seriously..very bad workmanship and still claim that he is ID and doing alot famous dato, tan sri house work...Gosh...big lier and lousy work....

please check properly your contractor, make sure they never cut costs, use less cement, i catch this contractor few times, using less cement and more sand.

another also need to worry about is, make sure everything is in the agreement, prevent they add alot of costs in the middle of work
TStomjason
post Aug 29 2012, 08:00 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(banana88 @ Aug 28 2012, 07:59 PM)
I have a bad experience on local puchong contractor..seriously..very bad workmanship and still claim that he is ID and doing alot famous dato, tan sri house work...Gosh...big lier and lousy work....

please check properly your contractor, make sure they never cut costs, use less cement, i catch this contractor few times, using less cement and more sand.

another also need to worry about is, make sure everything is in the agreement, prevent they add alot of costs in the middle of work
hi bro,

to make story worst..many and majorities of these 'contractor' is actually behave like gangster...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tip:

I will give forumer the standard mixing ratio of cement and sand is 1:2 (is the best) but 1:3 is also acceptable but per square inch compression stress is lesser compared to 1:2 ratio.

adding more:

the standard cement:sand:gravel ratio for concrete is 1:2:3.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Aug 29 2012, 10:09 AM
banana88
post Aug 29 2012, 02:03 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Aug 29 2012, 08:00 AM)
hi bro,

to make story worst..many and majorities of these 'contractor' is actually behave like gangster...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tip:

I will give forumer the standard mixing ratio of cement and sand is 1:2 (is the best) but 1:3 is also acceptable but per square inch compression stress is lesser compared to 1:2 ratio.

adding more:

the standard cement:sand:gravel ratio for concrete is 1:2:3.
i hope no other ppl get tide up with this contractor, i will post up some picture soon...
ek911
post Sep 4 2012, 11:23 AM

18 posts

Hi Bro,

Can i know what is Y10, Y12 & Y16. According my contractor is built the pilling purpose. Can i know more detail about it.

Thanks and appriciated.

56 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:42 PM