Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you
TStomjason
Feb 17 2012, 02:51 PM, updated 5y ago
just to share...actually most contractor use formula to calculate the estimation of you renovation..else..how can they can give quotation between 2,3 days...if somebody want to know the formula..do PM me..
TQ..
after the selection of the steel iron, observe also for the sand type they use...the best sand for renovation is from 'mine/lombong'..usually the mine sand is white in color....the.....second is from river..or we call pasir sungai....normally river sand in yellowish or redish in color.....for pasir sungai or river sand..make sure that the river sand is 'wash' type...else....there is mud inside the sand..causing your concrete not strong enough....
for brick selection....if you got budget..use red brick 'tanah merah'....this brick is good and strong..it also..make your house cooler..compared to sand brick....for sand brick..the price..last time is about 0.23 sen ...else..the red brick is about 0.37 sen..price already gone up...for the red brick..the fully bake brick is good...how to recognized this brick?...there is some black color or line on the brick....
This post has been edited by tomjason: Feb 28 2013, 02:53 PM
TStomjason
Feb 22 2012, 09:47 AM
my previous post under topic 'good contractor'....
...i m new in lowyat....silap sikit..sorry...
about renovation..i had experienced for my house renovation...i had just completed my house renovation..this month.....big renovation...it took me one year to complete my house (slow and steady) after kena tipu...i do it from A to Z (until kitchen cabinet)...
the story like this...first quotation by my contractor was about RM75K (started 23/11/2010) but after took my money about RM60K (workmanship just 50% completed)..then tak boleh siap....2-3 minggu sekali dtg tgk project....i myselft yg monitor the project.....at last i completed my house renovation myself (i became my own contractor...smile.gif)...to be frank..i can claim myself contractor smile.gif...the money i lost i would considered a good lesson for me (bukan rezeki)...about the selok belok susah senang to complete my house...i do studied and research (from internet,tanya member, tanya contractor lain etc) quite a lot about renovation....now i have completed list off all contact person for renovation.
For renovation, if you want satisfaction (and budget pun cukup2 ....unless you are orang kaya2) , do not hire lump sum to one contractor but have a list of persons in specializing t in one thing example, tiling one specialist, ceiling another specialist..this is what i do...
i aslo tau mane mau cari barang contoh..kedai pintu mane bagus, kedai pintu toilet mane bagus..kedai jual sink , org wiring, org tile,air cond man.. dll....
my previsous contractor is Zakaria from Puchong HP 0123537084..soft spoken, big guy...give cheap quotation...be carefull with him..
if you all want my advised and contact person to do things for renovation...... do PM me...one more thing if want to do renovation, you must spare your own time to quality control or monitoring...
Added on February 17, 2012, 8:29 amFIRST LESSON to know....many thing i can share about construction...if you want to make renovation..at least you must know basis things..else your contrator will cheat you.......Fist lesson ....there are 2 types of steel iron for construction..i believe 99% do not know this..only contractor know...
First type is BS type of steel iron for concrete...BS means British Standard. Second is CQ type. If you go to hardware shop selling construction material.. normally they will ask..BS or CQ...if you want to know what is CQ stand for...do ask me..smile.gif...
1.the differences between BS and CQ is the quality and percentage of pure iron inside...the BS steel iron is so hard..compare to CQ (CQ steel iron is a bit 'lembik' and BS steel iron is bigger size...if you want your house stronger and lasting and do not want to crack beam later after a few years....then.....insisted your contractor to use BS steel iron...i m sure they will surprise when you mention BS and CQ...the price of BS steel is higher about RM4-RM5 per pieces. That why contractor do not want to use BS..they want to lower the price with lower quality of steel.
2. I can know by looking at the steel whether it is BS or CQ and what size the steel iron....there are many size of steel iron the lowest and smallest is size 8. There are sizes 8,10,12,16..etc....Make sure for beam and foundation..at least use size 12...do not used size 10...some contractor used size 10...later many years your house will crack..
i share to you all many things that i learn...later....if i m free...
secondly...for foundation of pillar...make sure the hole they dig at spec level...for single storey house...min hole size for pillar foundation is size 3X3 feets...deep about min 3 feets...if your house is use to be swap area like puchong etc...ensure the 'tanam' 'kayu bakau' 5 batang...that why you see some house after few years ...crack here and there...the contractor want to safe money...for double stroey house..the foundation size is at least 5X5 feets...deep about 5 feets...for double storey house..ensure 'tanam kayu bakau'....
if some body want to know mane kedai lampu dan fan murah...go to puchong kedai corner sebelah tesco..nama kedai is TEN TEN...for electrical shop yg murah is at Bandar baru sg buloh..cheaper eg..i bought new freege and air cond.....RM 200 cheaper..
Added on February 17, 2012, 2:57 pmjust to share...actually most contractor use formula to calculate the estimation of you renovation..else..how can they can give quotation between 2,3 days...if somebody want to know the formula..do PM me..
TQ..
after the selection of the steel iron, observe also for the sand type they use...the best sand for renovation is from 'mine/lombong'..usually the mine sand is white in color....the.....second is from river..or we call pasir sungai....normally river sand in yellowish or redish in color.....for pasir sungai or river sand..make sure that the river sand is 'wash' type...else....there is mud inside the sand..causing your concrete not strong enough....
for brick selection....if you got budget..use red brick 'tanah merah'....this brick is good and strong..it also..make your house cooler..compared to sand brick....for sand brick..the price..last time is about 0.23 sen ...else..the red brick is about 0.37 sen..price already gone up...for the red brick..the fully bake brick is good...how to recognized this brick?...there is some black color or line on the brick...
about the price to calculate the price is simple..so that when you want to make renovation..you can know the range price....afraid to share openly...afraid there is contractor here...cannot cari makan...what techmc mention is right....but actually/generally contractor has one figure for calculation for all the works.....when quote the initial price..they dont break the price....they give lump sum price...do PM if you want to know..
This post has been edited by tomjason: Feb 22 2012, 03:30 PM
TStomjason
Feb 22 2012, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 22 2012, 11:22 AM) No, river sand is better and more expensive than mining sand as it has less impurities. Most contractors use mining sand. Choice of contractor is most important, normal housebuyers would not know much about contruction. There are 1001 things the contractors can cut cost on. my experience..for river sand is good for plastering...but make sure 'washed' river sand...else..you know when mud mixed with cement... tehtmc..your r right about contractor... for my house ..i personal buy the all building materials....from A to Z...from the biggest and small small things....even i also learn from the workers..how to do this and thats...i also learn how to 'ikat' the iron concrete steel,plastering,skiming etc.. ..i also design my own plumbing start from meter to water tank and...completely....even for kitchen sink plumbing and dispose pipe..i did myself...also....i also design my sewerage system from toilet.kitchen to indah water... .next time when i want to do reno..i just find the workers only....i be my own contractor....
TStomjason
Feb 22 2012, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 22 2012, 12:41 PM) Depends on what your 'hourly rate' is....it might be cheaper to get contractor to 'pau' all these things. You time is better spend doing what you do best! How many people would be so free and have the time to be oversee the renovation fulltime? And not everyone can be a jack-of-all-trades. The thing about buying your own materials is that you have to monitor and make sure there is no wastage. Workers would not bother to save material for you. If your order is not enough, you have to re-order again - very lecer and have to deal with so many suppliers. If you order too much, it would be wasted. for me its better for me to spent my my time rather than giving all to the 'so call contractor'...about buying materials...ok then....i give special tips how to handle this to you and forumer..on big material such as sand,cement,steell etc........usually hardware shop had special account..... i personally open account with the hardware shop under my own name..i put money or deposit say about RM2-3K into the account...then when my worker shortage of material..i just call the shop to deliver and deduct from my account..then i refill my account...  .....about waste material...what i did is, i ask my worker..how many they want and i estimated myself...usually i order a bit lesser from what they request...tak cukup order lagi..  ... i share one more thing..my house using GI steel metal trust..for roof..i not using kayu..even that lousy 'Zakaria' do not know how to use it...i share some photo... i hv many photos from foundation.... i try to post photo..how to post photo..i add attachment but not keluar pic.. This post has been edited by tomjason: Feb 22 2012, 01:14 PM
TStomjason
Feb 23 2012, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 23 2012, 09:09 AM) TS, the rebar diameter can goes down to 6mm. And the kayu bakau is prohibited to use as pile/foundation by the local council long time ago. At my area no problem.still using kayu bakau...
TStomjason
Feb 23 2012, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 23 2012, 01:49 PM) near sg buloh..
TStomjason
Feb 23 2012, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 23 2012, 02:29 PM) Under which authority, MPS or MBPJ? under MBSA Added on February 23, 2012, 3:50 pmQUOTE(longterm @ Feb 23 2012, 03:07 PM) tomjason, i want to renovate my kitchen. i want to expand the kitchen about 5 feet because i have another 5 feet blnce (tanah kosong) at back of my house, so better i expend it fully to the end. so what i need to know about it, because i'm really2 zero about renovation. "tunjuk ajar ku sifu...." check your PM TQ This post has been edited by tomjason: Feb 23 2012, 03:50 PM
TStomjason
Mar 8 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(xsaed @ Feb 22 2012, 12:44 PM) lucky for u TS, post la some pics of your handywork... this is reno pic..there a lot more...my reno size 43x23.. for those want to reno house please use GI trust for roof..stronger and long lasting and anti termite..but a bit expensive and difficult to install unless you had experienced.. This post has been edited by tomjason: Mar 8 2012, 02:05 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
TStomjason
Mar 8 2012, 04:11 PM
my renovation size area...my pillar is 12 feets high.. Attached thumbnail(s)
TStomjason
Mar 8 2012, 04:38 PM
the most difficult thing using GI trust is to lift from ground to upper beam...if already pro can install the GI on the beam itself. Attached thumbnail(s)
TStomjason
Mar 13 2012, 11:50 AM
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 08:20 AM
another tip..for roof tile..if want to use biasa2 punya..go for brand such as 'Monier'...around RM 2 per piece... one more thing...for sewarage..please use PVC pipe for under ground color oren Sirim approved as pic below..do not use white PVC...white PVC for rain water can... one more advise..for sewarage..every corner should have one main hole..this is to avoid clogging...and also the corner must use clay corner..as pic.. Attached thumbnail(s)
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 09:56 AM
i design wiring for my house like this......more stable....and save my bill..i m waiting for fews bill to monitor..
DB_connector.doc ( 21k )
Number of downloads: 1609This post has been edited by tomjason: Mar 14 2012, 10:09 AM
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 10:45 AM
another pic.... Attached thumbnail(s)
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:18 AM) So, you just let them tow away your concrete mixer? i chained the mixer to the ground concrete cement..he just pull using that lori sampah...tercabut all the chain...actually i very 'geram'..that why i post in the forum..so that myself and forumer can sama2 learn... This post has been edited by tomjason: Mar 14 2012, 11:36 AM
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(miss mandy @ Mar 14 2012, 11:44 AM) wat heppend to the money they owed u? my money gone...i hv paid him RM60K...kerja just 50%.....that why..if possible dont renovate and just give lump sum to one contractor...if they lari...gone everything..if hire different people..tak rugi a lot... actually i wanted to report police..and i also know his house...but think balik..now aday ramai mental unstable mind people...takut susah my family nanti...who know they come and slash me with parang....  ...............for me..the money gone is not my luck...i think the cost i lost is leasson for me...the 'hikmah' or the benefits from this event..i know many things if not everything about renovation..so if i want to renovate in future..i know already... This post has been edited by tomjason: Mar 14 2012, 12:09 PM
TStomjason
Mar 14 2012, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(LJ618 @ Mar 14 2012, 04:05 PM) Bro, can you pm me the formula as well? Thanks PM you already.
TStomjason
Mar 16 2012, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(lonerider @ Mar 16 2012, 12:05 AM) Hi tomjason, First of all, i would like to say thank you to you for sharing your experience with us. I feel sorry for what happened to your money. Hope you will catch that liar in the future. Can you please also pm me about the renovation calculation? I am planning to make a 'tembok pagar' for my car porch, but only on one side since my neighbor already done it for my side I am thinking to buy the material myself and just call the worker to make the 'tembok pagar' but don't know how much is their workmanship cost. I've asked 2 contractors but they quote around rm1.2k++ inclusive materials, which i think quite expensive. Do you have any contact for worker to do the 'tembok pagar' for me? Your help is really appreciated. Thank you for all the help. I will wait for your pm. Anyway, my location is at Puchong. PM you already.
TStomjason
Mar 16 2012, 04:48 PM
TStomjason
Mar 19 2012, 09:33 AM
hai,
PM to Vetkin,William1976,Drsirpet,rep1y,blurcheryl.fmshadow,blackjax. Check your msg.
TQ