129 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

kca
post Mar 8 2012, 07:39 PM

77 posts

I got HKD100 = RM39.40, consider good deal? from summit , money changer near kfc. I'm not going so soon but tot the rate is quite good so exchange some...

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 6 2012, 02:57 PM)
Did you negotiate?  I'll go for 2.55 if changing RM5000, well, just HKD150 more, but good for 2 meals...  Anyway, if it's HKD100 to < RM40, consider good already.
Ami Tsun
post Mar 8 2012, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(kca @ Mar 8 2012, 07:39 PM)
I got HKD100 = RM39.40, consider good deal? from summit , money changer near kfc. I'm not going so soon but tot the rate is quite good so exchange some...
It's up to you, if you think it's good, then go for it. It is about the same as last Sept. I was comparing back in 2009, was HKD100 to RM44!! That's why if it's below RM40, I consider it good liao lor.

Sometimes, also not worth the petrol and parking fees if going to check and compare few more times..
Ami Tsun
post Mar 8 2012, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Mar 8 2012, 06:43 PM)
I guess not only night time worth to go to the peak? morning also worth to go?

Added on March 8, 2012, 6:49 pmhmm want to clarify this.. if we bought the Madame Tussauds/ Tram/ Sky Terrace  from ding ding..

then we take the bus at central? @@ i mean to The Peak.

So from Central station , exit J2 then i can see the peak tram? @@ am i right?
I found this..:

The Peak
1. Peak Tram from the lower Peak Tram terminus on Garden Road (reach it by taking bus 15C from the lay-by outside the Star Ferry pier in Central, or walk from MTR Central Station, Exit J2.)
That time I went to the Peak from late afternoon to night, did the circular walk around 4pm, early dinner at 6pm, then Madame Tussauds, after that watch the night scenery before heading back.

Regarding the direction, what you found means to say that -
- the Peak tram is at the Lower Peak Tram terminus on Garden Road
- to reach the lower peak tram terminus, take bus 15C from outside Star Ferry Pier in Central, or
- WALK from MTR Central Station, Exit J2

Please check the HK map(Google map is good enough) for the walking direction, it's about 10mins walk.
shakiraa
post Mar 8 2012, 10:18 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 8 2012, 05:10 PM)
Actually with ur budget u can get anywhere within HK for a 3 to 4 star hotel.

Check

www.agoda.com biggrin.gif
Hi all,

I tried agoda and hotel.com most is ard 450-550 for 3-4 star.

Any particular recommendation? thanks so much!

Btw, is taxi expensive in HK?
AngelLingLing
post Mar 8 2012, 10:34 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 8 2012, 09:52 PM)
That time I went to the Peak from late afternoon to night, did the circular walk around 4pm, early dinner at 6pm, then Madame Tussauds, after that watch the night scenery before heading back.

- to reach the lower peak tram terminus, take bus 15C from outside Star Ferry Pier in Central, or

Please check the HK map(Google map is good enough) for the walking direction, it's about 10mins walk.
Hmm i plan to go at night =( but not enough time, so still thinking i want to go or not... because if i bought the ticket from ding ding ithink it will be around rm60 included the tram also.. so currently thinking to slot it in the morning @@

what is circular walk? on the peak?

Hmm so if i take MRT to Central station exit J2, i can find the direction to lower peak tram waiting area? 10mins walk should be find =) because hk have lots of building to view ^^
Ami Tsun
post Mar 8 2012, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Mar 8 2012, 10:34 PM)
Hmm i plan to go at night =( but not enough time, so still thinking i want to go or not... because if i bought the ticket from ding ding ithink it will be around rm60 included the tram also.. so currently thinking to slot it in the morning @@

what is circular walk? on the peak?

Hmm so if i take MRT to Central station exit J2, i can find the direction to lower peak tram waiting area? 10mins walk should be find =) because hk have lots of building to view ^^
Circular walk is a walking trail along Lugard Road at the Peak, jogging place for local, not many tourist but good scenery.

Have not walk from Central Station to the Peak before, not sure if the direction is clearly signed. That's why I asked you to Check the Map. Would take more than 10mins to walk if keep looking at and take pictures of the buildings(eg, Citibank, Bank of China).. ha ha.
AngelLingLing
post Mar 9 2012, 10:10 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 8 2012, 10:47 PM)
Circular walk is a walking trail along Lugard Road at the Peak, jogging place for local, not many tourist but good scenery.

Have not walk from Central Station to the Peak before, not sure if the direction is clearly signed.  That's why I asked you to Check the Map.  Would take more than 10mins to walk if keep looking at and take pictures of the buildings(eg, Citibank, Bank of China).. ha ha.
hmm~ okok thanks ya babe =) cant wait for my trip ^^
snow_xueli
post Mar 9 2012, 04:23 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 8 2012, 09:52 PM)

how long u have spend at Madame Tussauds??

Added on March 9, 2012, 4:33 pmi m going to hk end of this month
24-27 march
one day disneyland, one day ocean park
half day b4 going to airport, just wander around ~~

This post has been edited by snow_xueli: Mar 9 2012, 04:33 PM
sfwong1
post Mar 9 2012, 05:39 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 8 2012, 11:28 AM)
Took these pictures in 2009.  From the Lugard Road circular walk, The Peak.  Did not go to the Sky Terrace.

awesome view.! i did the same too i walk down from the sky terrace to find there is small pathway then continue walking to find some car passing by and 1 or 2 houses. but when i went it was quite foggy can see clearly. the peak during night time was super cold as the strong wind keep blowing non stop.
taxpayer
post Mar 9 2012, 08:06 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Mar 8 2012, 10:18 PM)
Hi all,

I tried agoda and hotel.com most is ard 450-550 for 3-4 star.

Any particular recommendation? thanks so much!

Btw, is taxi expensive in HK?
I go Hk every month or executive programs. Taxis are expensive in Hk. Rm 3.50 per km its only cheaper than Tokyo in asia. Avoid taking taxi from the airport or across the tunnel from island to Kowloon. You have to pay two pay toll which is 45 hkd if they use the western tunnel and also hkd 45 for the lantau link to the airport. A trip from the airport to the island can cost u close to 100 in tolls alone. Don't put anything in the boot if u can as they charge 5hkd per piece
SUSnordingh
post Mar 9 2012, 09:26 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

I heard money changer at Mid valley can give a good deals but don't know which one.

For my next trip to hong kong, I taking airport pickup to go to hotel. Have too cos, I going there with family and my wife is pregnant, don't want them to stay at airport so long... I reach there night time already.

Cos is HKD350 for airport pickup... not cheap but this is for my family.
SUSnordingh
post Mar 9 2012, 10:26 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

got question...

Have anyone bring any cigarette to HK before... how many you bring?

Normally which customs lane you all use when arrive, red or green?

do you all declare anything when arrive.... (above should answer this)

Ami Tsun
post Mar 10 2012, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(nordingh @ Mar 9 2012, 10:26 PM)
got question...

Have anyone bring any cigarette to HK before... how many you bring?

Normally which customs lane you all use when arrive, red or green?

do you all declare anything when arrive....  (above should answer this)
Quote from the website: http://www.taxfreetravel.com/Hong%20Kong%2...ee%20Allowances

>>With effect from August 2010, travellers and visitors over 18 years of age entering HK, are allowed 1 litre of alcoholic liquor/spirit with an alcoholic strength above 30% by volume and 19 cigarettes or 1 cigar or 25 grammes of other manufactured tobacco. In addition 250 ml of eau de toilette and 60ml of perfume,>>

Nothing for me to declare, so it's always Green Lane for me...

Ami Tsun
post Mar 10 2012, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(snow_xueli @ Mar 9 2012, 04:23 PM)
how long u have spend at Madame Tussauds??

Added on March 9, 2012, 4:33 pmi m going to hk end of this month
24-27 march
one day disneyland, one day ocean park
half day b4 going to airport, just wander around ~~
1 hour at Madame Tussauds, 6.50pm to 7.50pm, (",) got to check thru the time my pics taken to give you this answer...

Disneyland and Ocean Park are great, enjoy your holiday!
Ami Tsun
post Mar 10 2012, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Mar 9 2012, 05:39 PM)
awesome view.! i did the same too i walk down from the sky terrace to find there is small pathway then continue walking to find some car passing by and 1 or 2 houses. but when i went it was quite foggy can see clearly. the peak during night time was super cold as the strong wind keep blowing non stop.
Yup, there are a few private bungalows! This is the alternative to Sky Terrace if want to see 360 deg HK view without paying and without the crowd.. Get to see some interesting trees and plants along the trail too.
kca
post Mar 10 2012, 08:07 AM

77 posts

anyone stay here before? read the reviews from tripadvisor, it seems good.
http://www.hopinn.hk/
cynnz
post Mar 10 2012, 11:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(kca @ Mar 10 2012, 08:07 AM)
anyone stay here before? read the reviews from tripadvisor, it seems good.
http://www.hopinn.hk/
i stayed there for two nights during my recent trip to HK...

overall not bad but their room are really small (but majority of hotel in HK are small unless you stay in 5 star hehehe)...

they have 8 rooms in total if im not mistaken..all the rooms are in different design and layout...on my first night i was in room 2..which im not quite happy with because they use electriv saver kind of light and it takes time for the light to be bright..i suffer under darkness when i reach back my room at night....second day we changed to another room (3 of us) so its much better bcoz its normal light...

the building have guard after 12am and they will lock the gate to enter the staircase...during my stay, the doorbell was spoilt and we all waited outside for half an hour before someone came and open the gate...called the hostel but noone picked up....anyway just a small matter, they apologised after that... no big deal smile.gif
snow_xueli
post Mar 11 2012, 09:15 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Mar 10 2012, 12:16 AM)
Quote from the website: http://www.taxfreetravel.com/Hong%20Kong%2...ee%20Allowances

>>With effect from August 2010, travellers and visitors over 18 years of age entering HK, are allowed 1 litre of alcoholic liquor/spirit with an alcoholic strength above 30% by volume and 19 cigarettes or 1 cigar or 25 grammes of other manufactured tobacco. In addition 250 ml of eau de toilette and 60ml of perfume,>>

Nothing for me to declare, so it's always Green Lane for me...
really 1 hour is enough??
Ami Tsun
post Mar 11 2012, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(snow_xueli @ Mar 11 2012, 09:15 AM)
really 1 hour is enough??
I thought I stayed quite long time there, taking pictures with lots of wax figure, take pictures for my parents too. But when I checked back the time on pictures (from the 1st to the last pics there), really was 1 hour nia.. Maybe that I went that time was during dinner time - no crowd.
ryan18
post Mar 11 2012, 05:51 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Mar 9 2012, 09:26 PM)
I heard money changer at Mid valley can give a good deals but don't know which one.

For my next trip to hong kong, I taking airport pickup to go to hotel. Have too cos, I going there with family and my wife is pregnant, don't want them to stay at airport so long...  I reach there night time already.

Cos is HKD350 for airport pickup... not cheap but this is for my family.
MV Forex trader beside wawasan gives 39.75 for hkd100.that is yesterday rate

129 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0215sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:37 PM