All About Harddisk Thread V4

cherroy
post Mar 28 2015, 05:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jimmy_none @ Mar 23 2015, 07:54 PM)
hi. may I know is there anyone try putting a WD RED 3tb into Hotway 3.5" USB3.0 K32-SU3 external enclosure? I've tried the combination in lowyat(the technician there help me to assemble) but it only manage to detect 2tb..the technician have no idea what to do... luckily can refund.. then i contact the Hotway support and he told me need to change the GPT format... but I am skeptical to go buy and test it myself.. especially the drive is for my Athlon X2 PC usage... thank you for your replies...
Yes, you need to format in GPT to see the 3TB.
2TB is the limitation of MBR format.
lionelzc
post Mar 29 2015, 10:58 AM

333 posts

Guys, wanna ask now what is the recommended brand currently for both notebook and desktop hdd?

I read in this thread a few years back, it was samsung (forgot which model) which was phased out.

I'm currently using Samsung and WD green for my desktop and also planning to change my notebook hd because all showing caution ohmy.gif on crystal diskinfo.

My WD green was already showing caution a few months after purchase last year and thank god it hasn't die yet.

I think torrenting has some effect on killing hdds much more quickly than before.
marfccy
post Mar 29 2015, 05:51 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

dayum, was at All IT IKANO, WD Red 4TB cost RM719? sweat.gif

i bought mine months back at RM589
limadekad
post Mar 31 2015, 10:26 AM

:)
608 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 17 2015, 06:21 PM)

Err...help? is it dying? can it be fixed?
bumping for answers.
jchue73
post Mar 31 2015, 10:56 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Mar 29 2015, 10:58 AM)
Guys, wanna ask now what is the recommended brand currently for both notebook and desktop hdd?

I read in this thread a few years back, it was samsung (forgot which model) which was phased out.

I'm currently using Samsung and WD green for my desktop and also planning to change my notebook hd because all showing caution ohmy.gif  on crystal diskinfo.

My WD green was already showing caution a few months after purchase last year and thank god it hasn't die yet.

I think torrenting has some effect on killing hdds much more quickly than before.
Perhaps a little bit on the expensive route but I suggest getting the SSD drives for your notebook and desktop boot drive. Don't need to get bleeding edge SSD. Just a normal bang for the buck one will do wonders for speed.

Then go for external drives or invest in NAS for large storage. If you have a few PCs / notebooks connected via your home network, best would be a NAS. Nowadays Seagate and WD drives should be fine. I hear Toshiba drives are also excellent. If you can get Hitachi, that would be best but hard to come by.

Spindle speed? 7200rpm for performance and for home use storage, best to get 5400rpm to keep heat and electricity bills down.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 29 2015, 05:51 PM)
Yeah, my 6TB WD Red drives also damn expensive at the moment. Blame it on the weak currency. sad.gif

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 31 2015, 10:26 AM)
bumping for answers.
How old is the drive? If there's already warning, best is to get ready and transfer / backup your data. It's not like a car where problems can be repaired.
limadekad
post Mar 31 2015, 11:20 AM

:)
608 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 31 2015, 10:56 AM)
How old is the drive? If there's already warning, best is to get ready and transfer / backup your data. It's not like a car where problems can be repaired.
I bought it in 2010, so it's already 5 years. Reading back my old post i just found out i was conned by seller, i requested for Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ mad.gif
jchue73
post Mar 31 2015, 11:28 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 31 2015, 11:20 AM)
I bought it in 2010, so it's already 5 years. Reading back my old post i just found out i was conned by seller, i requested for Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ  mad.gif
5 years is 10% is limadekad. biggrin.gif Hardisk pretty cheap nowadays. Just get one to replace the Samsung. Re-format this Samsung drive and see if errors still come up. You can use it as spare for unimportant data.
lionelzc
post Apr 1 2015, 08:26 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 31 2015, 10:56 AM)
Perhaps a little bit on the expensive route but I suggest getting the SSD drives for your notebook and desktop boot drive. Don't need to get bleeding edge SSD. Just a normal bang for the buck one will do wonders for speed.

Then go for external drives or invest in NAS for large storage. If you have a few PCs / notebooks connected via your home network, best would be a NAS. Nowadays Seagate and WD drives should be fine. I hear Toshiba drives are also excellent. If you can get Hitachi, that would be best but hard to come by.

Spindle speed? 7200rpm for performance and for home use storage, best to get 5400rpm to keep heat and electricity bills down.
Yeah, my 6TB WD Red drives also damn expensive at the moment. Blame it on the weak currency.  sad.gif
Maybe I'll consider an SSD for the laptop but I'm not so up to the idea for the desktop as it is abit old.

So no specific models that come in mind for the hdd?

I'm thinking of the WD blue series as I heard it is quite good, performance wise.
jchue73
post Apr 1 2015, 03:38 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Apr 1 2015, 08:26 AM)
Maybe I'll consider an SSD for the laptop but I'm not so up to the idea for the desktop as it is abit old.

So no specific models that come in mind for the hdd?

I'm thinking of the WD blue series as I heard it is quite good, performance wise.
WD Blue is good. I believe max size is 1TB. Don't know what's the latest info and reliability on the WD Green but I personally avoid it.

On SSD, it's never too old a motherboard to have one. I put a Samsung 840 EVO on my Socket 775 Intel mobo with SATA 2 port. Never been more happy.
socratesman
post Apr 7 2015, 11:48 AM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 29 2015, 05:51 PM)
I quickly Bought wd40efrx @rm680+ when it became clear to me prices are shooting up thanks to weakening RM
Dyson Jin
post Apr 14 2015, 12:28 AM

960 posts

i have a 500gb buffalo portable harddisk HD-PNTU3,
the problem i have is..when i plug in,got green light,the device is connected,but not appearing on MY COMPUTER..wat happening?
tried on several laptops,it's the same..
the harddisk is bought on 2012..
sifu's pls help..
Axalter
post Apr 14 2015, 12:44 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Apr 14 2015, 12:28 AM)
i have a 500gb buffalo portable harddisk HD-PNTU3,
the problem i have is..when i plug in,got green light,the device is connected,but not appearing on MY COMPUTER..wat happening?
tried on several laptops,it's the same..
the harddisk is bought on 2012..
sifu's pls help..
If you bought it from 2012 it's pretty safe to say the warranty have expired. You can try extracting the HDD out from the external hard disk enclosure shell and use the HDD as a usual HDD by plugging it into your SATA slot or cable.

If the HDD still fail to show up then it's your external HDD enclosure controller circuit that is the culprit. Frankly nothing much you can do with this other than getting a new portable external HDD.
knight
post Apr 24 2015, 01:19 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Helo, I want to get a new external 3.5" harddrive, anyone can recommend?
Jon Ravenlocke
post Apr 24 2015, 01:12 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Apr 24 2015, 01:19 AM)
Helo, I want to get a new external 3.5" harddrive, anyone can recommend?
Kinda vague la bro. Nowadays there's a whole range of these 3.5" ones (desktop external HDDs), from very basic storage right through fancy ones with cool functions.

If anything that's 2TB and lower, I'd recommend going for the 2 major brands, Seagate or WD. I'm kinda partial to whatever's cheaper in the market though.

If you kinda know what you're doing, then buy an internal 3.5" HDD and put it into an external case. Keep in mind the capacity of the HDD and upper limit of external case. Some external cases is only compatible with MBR format, so it's limited to recognizing up to 2TB HDD, no matter what capacity HDD you put in.

I've got a couple of old Seagate HDDs in external casings and plugged in via USB cables.

If you're looking for bigger storage, then I recommend getting a NAS. I have a WD My Cloud Mirror that I use for my family to share files with. It's become kind of like our common digital closet, where we keep our family photos and videos. Also, I toss any series and movies so anyone can watch it at anytime with their own devices.
dark_axl21
post Apr 24 2015, 03:07 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

Guys, quick question

Wanna ask where can I still get like 7200 rpm internal HDD 2.5" for my laptop.
Most of the sellers are only selling the 5400 rpm variation and limited brands like WD and Toshiba. Even hybrid drives are hard to find.

Thanks in advance!
Homura15
post Apr 26 2015, 02:00 PM

60 posts

Hi guys,

My WD 2TB is having some issues lately. When I am trying to copy some files over (PC to Harddisk), it just keep getting stuck half way.

I tried cancelling the process and ended up became not responding sad.gif

Searching on the web on this, some say it needs to set the enable caching in Windows, but the issue still persist.

Anyone has idea how I can fix this problem?

wildwestgoh
post Apr 27 2015, 07:37 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Homura15 @ Apr 26 2015, 02:00 PM)
Hi guys,

My WD 2TB is having some issues lately. When I am trying to copy some files over (PC to Harddisk), it just keep getting stuck half way.

I tried cancelling the process and ended up became not responding  sad.gif

Searching on the web on this, some say it needs to set the enable caching in Windows, but the issue still persist.

Check the health of your hard disk, use HDDScan or any other software that can extract SMART info from your hard disk, then look at few of these attributes with keyword "sector", such as "Reallocated sector count" (worst possible case), "Pending sector count".
If there's any number other than "0" then backup all files from that hard disk to other hard disk. Look for software that can wipe your hard disk, usually format won't be enough to clear the "Pending sector count" flag, if the "Reallocated sector count" flag is increasing after you do wiping, proceed to RMA your hard disk, you can't rescue such severe damage.
This is an usual sign of failing hard disk, your case may be different, but you may try out those method as I faced this quite few times from my own hard disk and my time as technical support.
Homura15
post Apr 27 2015, 10:17 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Apr 27 2015, 07:37 AM)
Check the health of your hard disk, use HDDScan or any other software that can extract SMART info from your hard disk, then look at few of these attributes with keyword "sector", such as "Reallocated sector count" (worst possible case), "Pending sector count".
If there's any number other than "0" then backup all files from that hard disk to other hard disk. Look for software that can wipe your hard disk, usually format won't be enough to clear the "Pending sector count" flag, if the "Reallocated sector count" flag is increasing after you do wiping, proceed to RMA your hard disk, you can't rescue such severe damage.
This is an usual sign of failing hard disk, your case may be different, but you may try out those method as I faced this quite few times from my own hard disk and my time as technical support.
Thanks for the advise, I will try it out. smile.gif

elliot_WD
post Apr 27 2015, 11:23 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(Homura15 @ Apr 26 2015, 02:00 PM)
Hi guys,

I tried cancelling the process and ended up became not responding  sad.gif

Hey there Homura15

Just would like to double confirm, can you copy the file to a different location (not to the external drive?)

Most likely there is a problematic file, or problematic portion of the disk that is causing this error then. Like mentioned by wildwestgoh I would suggest running a chkdsk on the machine, which might fix a problematic file issue and might be able to correct a minor disk error.
How to run Chkdsk from My Computer or from Windows Explorer
Double-click My Computer, and then right-click the hard disk that you want to check.
Click Properties, and then click Tools.
Under Error-checking, click Check Now. A dialog box that shows the Check disk options is displayed,
Use one of the following procedures:
To run Chkdsk in read-only mode, click Start.
To repair errors without scanning the volume for bad sectors, select the Automatically fix file system errors check box, and then click Start.
To repair errors, locate bad sectors, and recover readable information, select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box, and then click Start. Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message:
The disk check could not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some Windows files on the disk. These files can be accessed by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule the disk check to occur the next time you restart the computer?
Click Yes to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.
I would recommend Running it to repair errors and locate bad sectors in this case.
Hope this helps.

Homura15
post Apr 28 2015, 11:08 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Apr 27 2015, 07:37 AM)
I downloaded HDDScan and saw a red with "x" mark status on "Reallocated Sector Count" there are a bunch of number on that line. I'm not sure what it means.

What kind of software would you suggest to wipe the harddisk?

QUOTE(elliot_WD @ Apr 27 2015, 11:23 AM)
Hey there Homura15

Just would like to double confirm, can you copy the file to a different location (not to the external drive?)

Most likely there is a problematic file, or problematic portion of the disk that is causing this error then. Like mentioned by wildwestgoh I would suggest running a chkdsk on the machine, which might fix a problematic file issue and might be able to correct a minor disk error.
How to run Chkdsk from My Computer or from Windows Explorer
Double-click My Computer, and then right-click the hard disk that you want to check.
Click Properties, and then click Tools.
Under Error-checking, click Check Now. A dialog box that shows the Check disk options is displayed,
Use one of the following procedures:
To run Chkdsk in read-only mode, click Start.
To repair errors without scanning the volume for bad sectors, select the Automatically fix file system errors check box, and then click Start.
To repair errors, locate bad sectors, and recover readable information, select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box, and then click Start. Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message:
The disk check could not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some Windows files on the disk. These files can be accessed by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule the disk check to occur the next time you restart the computer?
Click Yes to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.
I would recommend Running it to repair errors and locate bad sectors in this case.
Hope this helps.
I tried copying the files to a different location and there were no issue.

I followed your instructions to run Scan and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box on my external harddisk and the scan is still running this morning from last night. Is the scan supposed to be that long?

What are the scenario I should be seeing after the scan is complete?

134 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:27 AM