6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

TS-kytz-
post Jul 24 2013, 10:15 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Jul 24 2013, 09:54 AM)
Oh, looks good for a starter like me. thank you so much everyone  nod.gif  you guys are so helpful. I'll look around for good deals then smile.gif
It's even better than the LX-3 which I started off with smile.gif
TS-kytz-
post Jul 24 2013, 10:27 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Jul 24 2013, 08:39 PM)
Hi guys, I'm planning to upgrade my camera and need some advice here..

My choice: Canon 7d or Canon 6d

I was thinking of getting 7d since some times ago and I saw the new 6d and suddenly it became a dilemma..

Is it worth it to get the 6d since the price different is quite great...

The only thing that catch my eye on the 6d is the wifi connection which we will be able to connect to our smartphone.. That's all

But will these connection drains its battery like what happen to tablets and smartphone?

Other than that, what are the others function that worth enough for us to get it instead of 7d?
The main point of getting a full frame cameras like the 6D is due to the bigger sensor. This is the main selling point. On how bigger sensor results in dramatically better image quality, I'm pretty sure you know of that already smile.gif

Or you might want to take a step back because Canon has just announced their latest 70D where it comes with Wifi as well. Expect the price to be cheaper than the 7D when it was originally announced (might want to google for the price as I cannot remember)

TS-kytz-
post Aug 11 2013, 03:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Aug 10 2013, 08:20 PM)
The only improvement on 70D I believe is only the capability of continuous focus on liveview and video mode. Anyway, it's a great advancement for Canon.
Just to add: Brand NEW 20.2 megapixels sensor with Digic 5+, faster burst rate of 7fps, Wifi rclxms.gif
TS-kytz-
post Aug 21 2013, 07:26 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(rux2nub @ Aug 21 2013, 05:16 PM)
erm, mind if i ask..are there any major differences between old and new camera models? or are there basically the same, just more updated design-wise and new minor functionalities? even if there is, is it that big that the quality of the photos or videos that i took will be affected by a lot? haha sorry, i'm kinda new to cameras, just recently started 'studying' them smile.gif
Depending on the product line and the gap in age between the comparison, the difference can be from just minor updates to really significant improvements.

There might be a chance of improvement in the camera sensor which usually brings about better quality images. And if there is an enhancement in the built in image processor, you can find that the camera will perform better in low light situations (High ISO). There might also be improvements in auto focus performance, meaning you can focus on your subject quicker and never have to miss that moment tongue.gif Other improvements maybe a bigger lens aperture, faster max shutter speed limit, faster burst rate, weather proofing, etc etc.

And there's also the software part. "Magic" filters and many others which I'm usually not too keen on tongue.gif

At the end of the day, it's best to do research and read on the difference between the cameras you are comparing and whether this might benefit you or not.

TS-kytz-
post Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Hinava @ Aug 29 2013, 10:30 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : List of best lens for Canon 7D within budget range
Budget: RM2k
Your Location:   Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Preferable brand :  No idea about this. Maybe Canon? Since I am using Canon DSLR
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait, Landscape, Video Making.
Any specific models in mind? :  -
Any specific features u want? :  -
This is quite vague, you need a lens but you are not sure what type of lens you are looking for?

Simple way to know is to look at the lens you are currently using. What makes you want to upgrade from that particular lens?

TS-kytz-
post Aug 29 2013, 06:12 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(rux2nub @ Aug 26 2013, 10:44 PM)
hahaha i see i see...btw this might be off topic haha, but do you have any recommended good websites for learning basic professional photography skills? smile.gif
There are a lot of good tutorials on youtube, you can try adorama.tv, the presenter gives quite good explanation. I myself sometimes find them quite useful.

However if you want to make even more improvements, try to attend photography workshops and I mean the practical ones where the instructor will teach you on the spot smile.gif
TS-kytz-
post Sep 21 2013, 05:33 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(chongtiensum @ Sep 16 2013, 05:33 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: around 1.5-2.5
Your Location:   Perak
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  normal shooting , some vidoes
Any specific models in mind? :  maybe the old 5100 since now cheap already cus im not serious fotoman haha... just want take some pic and vidoes
Any specific features u want? :  full hd vidoes making youtube vidoes
I think you can get a Nikon D5200 with your budget, or top up a little bit. Might want to price hunt around.

And ohh, make sure to get the kit lens as it would have optical stabilisation which will greatly help in videography as it reduces handshake.

QUOTE(luciole1989 @ Sep 17 2013, 11:56 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  mrrorless / compact
Budget: Less than RM2k
Your Location:   JB
Preferable brand : 
Type of photography u want to do :  travelling use
Any specific models in mind? :  Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40
Any specific features u want? :  NFC, wireless functions, for travelling purposes.

thanks in advance.. =)
I'd go with a mirrorless system as it would offer much better Image Quality. The NEX series from Sony should definitely be within your budget.

QUOTE(Adrian95 @ Sep 18 2013, 01:21 PM)
Hi everyone ...!
I have compact camera and searching for a strong and long term becasue i am basically love gardening and farming and thats why i need special type of camera for photgraphy of plants .

Please make suggestions and visit:

Gold Coast Gardening
Phone No : 61 466 691 707
http://sargesmowingandmaintenance.com.au/
Hi, please follow the format on first page. Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(~B3@RbriCK~ @ Sep 18 2013, 03:50 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR Camera
Budget: Below 2k
Your Location:   KL / Selangor
Preferable brand :  Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  mostly landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  D3200 / D5100
Any specific features u want? :  -

Hello to all sifu sifu, any idea on which of the above 2 is more preferable dslr for a newbie and can last longer for around 3-5 years? i had read through some of the reviews of both camera but still hard to decide.. ahhh...

ps* i got no photography experience before..
As this is a Nikon-specific question, might want to ask around Nikon buddies here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2897904

Sorry as I'm not familiar with the differences with both models.

Just one thing though, both cameras do not feature AF motor in the bodies, meaning you can only pair AF-S lenses with them.

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Sep 19 2013, 01:48 PM)
Dear Sifus  notworthy.gif ,

With your mighty camera and photography knowldege, please help this dumb shooter in his quest of getting his first camera.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point and Shoot OR Prosumer
Budget: RM1200 max
Your Location:   Setapak, Klang
Preferable brand :  No preference
Type of photography u want to do :  Scenery and peoples, non professional usage.
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon PowerShot S100 or S110
Any specific features u want? :  1. Can shoot decent photo without much tweaking on camera setting for any situation (if such kind of camera exist).
2. Good at low light/night shooting.
3. Compact and pocket friendly.
4. For long term ownership, so durability and ease of getting replacement battery is a must (would be even better if they run on conventional battery, e.g. AA batteries).

I got a friend who owned S100 and I was impressed by it's night shot. Clear and almost noiseless, that's why S100 was on my mind...
Definitely a prosumer aka enthusiast compacts as there is no reason to get a conventional compact camera.

Canon S100/S110 is an OK camera as there are better choices, cameras which feature bigger apertures through out the focal length, better ergonomics and control.

Check out Lumix LX7, Olympus XZ2 and there's one from Nikon which I can't really recall.
TS-kytz-
post Sep 21 2013, 05:33 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Sep 19 2013, 01:51 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact/mirrorless
Budget: around 1-2k
Your Location:  sarawak
Preferable brand : sony
Type of photography u want to do : anythg
Any specific models in mind? : nex-3N, rx100
Any specific features u want? : nfc or wayerless
If you want the best Image Quality the camera can give, definitely the NEX-3N. If you prefer a smaller camera with all-in-one functions, go for the RX100.

As for NFC or Wifi(?), you have to check the camera specifications whether they have it or not.

QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 21 2013, 10:18 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point & Shoot Digital Camera
Budget: Below RM 300
Your Location:   Kelantan
Preferable brand :  Any
Type of photography u want to do :  Events/Group photos
Any specific models in mind? :  Nope
Any specific features u want? :  Fast shutter, stabilizer, flash that are not too harsh because this cam are mainly for indoor shooting, if possible.

Thank you.
Honestly, with that budget, it'll be quite hard to recommend something that's the best in the market. RnD is more focused on higher end models, giving them distinguishing features such as a reasonably big sensor for a compact, 1/1.63", big apertures like f/1.4 or f/1.8, manual controls, dials and buttons that improve handling and other functions that will greatly help in photo-taking. For the lower end models, sadly there's nothing much to talk about. You can try asking around camera shops smile.gif

Fast shutter, stabilizer, flash that are not too harsh because this cam are mainly for indoor shooting, if possible.

Most cameras should feature a maximum shutter speed of about 1/2000 or slightly less, which is fast enough to capture a lot of quick moving objects.

As for the harsh flash, there's not much you can do except to DIY your own flash diffuser to soften the flash output. Or reduce the flash intensity which I don't know whether the lower end models allow that or not.

And ohh, most compacts *should* feature optical image stabilisation

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Sep 21 2013, 12:18 PM)
Can I make a small suggestion? How bout to those of us who wants a recommendation for flash?? Mind adding it into the first post??

Thanks =)
Ahhh it has been a policy of making this thread specific only to camera recommendations sad.gif Even questions on lens recommendations are advised to be asked in the specific camera brand threads like the Canon, Nikon, Sony topic, etc. It's in the main photography sub forum, you should be able to find it there.
TS-kytz-
post Sep 22 2013, 04:47 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Sep 21 2013, 06:12 PM)
Thanks -kytz-, will definitely check out your suggestion. The Nikon model you're thinking is the CoolPix P330 right?  rclxms.gif
Should be the upcoming P7800 http://www.dpreview.com/news/2013/09/05/ni...alent-f2-4-zoom

I also remember they're coming out with a compact camera with APS-C sized camera. Can't remember the model.

QUOTE(holoman @ Sep 21 2013, 10:35 PM)
guys,
is there any digital camera with function similiar to dslr ?
i need something light and easy to bring around ..
budget below 1.5k if possible
Full manual controls with easy access to controls, etc. Check out 2nd post on the first page.

Compact camera with fixed lenses: Oly XZ-2, Lumix LX7, Canon S110, Nikon P7800 (upcoming, price TBA)

You might be able to find some cheap, older m4/3 camera systems like the Olympus PEN series or the Panasonic GF series for that budget. These cameras have interchangeable lenses.

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 22 2013, 05:25 AM)
Any suggestion for 2k-3k DSLR? prefer kit

eye-ing on Canon 700D , 60D , Nikon D7000 , D90
Canon 70D with kit lens should be only a few hundred more than RM3k hmm.gif I'd go for that if you can squeeze in more juice to your budget biggrin.gif

Else, if you could get D7k with kit lens within that price range, it's a good deal too! smile.gif

As for 60D vs D7k, might want to google more about this blush.gif
TS-kytz-
post Nov 4 2013, 10:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Nov 3 2013, 07:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : around rm3k - 4k
Your Location : Selangor
Preferable brand : Canon/nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, lanscape,Night Scenery
Any specific models in mind? : none at the moment
Any specific features u want? : nothing in mind yet

Thanks ahead, buying this for my wife, she using canon S5, a bit old model, the camera doesn't serve well in night scenery, i wish to get her a better camera since long time...the budget can stretch up to RM4k if necessary...sometimes i help to take photo during trip but i'm pretty dumb in photo shooting and always get hand shake during capturing...any good camera can help on avoid hand shaking? smile.gif , but it is not the main reason to have better camera of coz, it is just the bonus if it does accommodate, it purely for my wife... she also interest to capture those photo like bee around the blossom, I'mm not hurry to get one if there is better model coming up ...thanks again for the recommendation !! rclxms.gif
Night scenery?

Here's what you NEED.

1) Entry level or mid range body.

Canon 650D/700D for about RM2k or a Nikon D5200 or an older D7000 body (please go hunt for prices and report back here)

A 2nd hand Canon 60D is also awesome, goes for about RM2-2.2k or so.

2) Decent tripod

Look at around RM200-500 depending on budget. What you need to look out for is a stable tripod with easy to use ballhead. I like the Manfrotto 496RC2 ballhead which goes for RM200-300

3) Optional- wireless/wired remote trigger [RM50-100]

4) Choice of lenses

For landscape, you can just use a standard kit lens or you can go ultra wide by getting a Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 for about RM1.5k new, Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 for RM2k+ or the Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 USM

For shooting macro, you can get the budget Tamron SP90mm f/2.8 for less than RM1k. Pretty good for the price!

Last but not least, getting a DSLR is not just about clicking the shutter button. There's quite a steep learning curve so expect yourself to be reading up articles online to know the triangle exposure: Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO.

Good luck!
TS-kytz-
post Dec 8 2013, 05:07 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Dec 7 2013, 05:11 PM)
thanks for the advice !

yeah i did some research on website reading articles and watching youtube ... actually i love the wifi capability coz i can send it to my ipad and watch it using the beautiful retina display. but nonetheless a wired USB cable can do the job too

Im leaning more on Canon 70D now but i gonna need to wait for a while for my bonus to come out , the thing is should i go for 18-55 lens or the 18-135 lens

another thing is, is it worth to go PC fair buy DSLR ? does it really have cheaper / promotional price ?
Usually 18-55 focal length is enough for most people but if you need the extra zoom length, the 18-135 would be a much better option. But remember, it is bigger and heavier.

Regarding the bolded statement, in my experience, they usually sell at RRP therefore, it is not worth it. However sometimes there may be good deals.
TS-kytz-
post Dec 25 2013, 01:30 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Dec 23 2013, 11:34 AM)
Guys ! im ready to buy my first dslr ady ~

May I know which place which shop is recommended to buy ? Does the price vary between shops , big difference ?

Is lowyat mall ok ? Like fotokem
I usually go for the cheapest deal I can get, so best to look around. But I do avoid going to those "makeshift" kind of stalls, I go for the proper shops.

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Dec 24 2013, 08:38 AM)
Guys for Nikon D5200, which prime lens is best for street photography?
I am torn between Nikon 35mm 1.8G & 50mm 1.8G? How much & where can get good price in PJ? Thx sifus.
Kinda of a personal preference as there is no "right" lens for a certain situation.
TS-kytz-
post Dec 25 2013, 01:39 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(amin ali @ Dec 20 2013, 11:31 AM)
Hi there, I wanted to ask for help, I am new to photography, so I wanted to but my first camera. but i am not sure if I should go with DSLR or compact camera? Is is hard to learn how to work with DSLR? and my budget is around Rm300. so I want to buy something that work really good, normally i took landscape picture. Thanks for he help.
There's a steep learning curve using the manual controls on a DSLR/advanced compact if you want to make full use of it. Else's there's always the Auto function which should be adequate for most general picture taking.

You can PM me personally if you want to know more, hope I can help in any way I can smile.gif
TS-kytz-
post May 24 2014, 08:50 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ May 20 2014, 11:47 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  point and shoot or mirror less
Budget: around 2k
Your Location:   sunway
Preferable brand :  any?
Type of photography u want to do :  trying to get into photography as hobby
Any specific models in mind? :  rx100, rx100 mark 2, rx100 mark 3 or a5000, a6000?

I have been searching for a camera that is suitable with my budget for a long time until recently the huge price drop of rx100 due to release of mark 3. However the a5000 is sporting a similar price as well? What would be the best option?
There's really no reason not to opt for the A6000 amongst all of your options unless you're looking at the RX100 series for the portability factor
TS-kytz-
post May 26 2014, 02:37 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ May 25 2014, 01:19 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  point and shoot
Budget: around 2k
Your Location:  klang  valley
Preferable brand :  canon sony nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  travelling photos, selfie
Any specific models in mind? : none

Have a Nex-5n but found it not so portable during travel. Would appreciate advice on the current best compact portable.
Definitely the Sony RX100 Mark II, should be able to get around that price. Or top up+wait for the Mark III version which is much better, faster lens, EVF, etc.

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ May 25 2014, 03:18 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : wide angle lens for Canon 70D
Budget: around 2k-2.5k
Your Location: Johor Bahru
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : scenery and landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Tokina 11-16mm F2.8

Been reading the review, found out that Tokina lense are better due to faster AF and F2.8. But Canon 10-22mm are quite good as well. Any other recommendation?
I'd get the Tokina 11-16 as it has quite good sharpness and the bigger max aperture. Distortion seems to be fine last I remembered, anyhow should be easily corrected in Post Processing.
TS-kytz-
post Jun 30 2014, 07:15 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Mesosmagnet @ Jun 27 2014, 01:33 AM)

I'm having a dilemma.
I am going for a trip to taiwan later this year and I want a camera to do the usual stuff people do with cameras. But here's the thing I previously had a cheapo point and shoot camera and I took it to a trip to phuket and it kinda broke.. the camera could not focus anymore and everything is blur. So I'm afraid of buying a camera which needs to be cared for like a newborn baby. At the same time I might want to use the camera in the near future for youtube videos and for blog photos.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  From point and shoot size to olympus OMD EM1 size?
Budget: RM2000 and below
Your Location:   JB
Preferable brand :  Irrelevant
Type of photography u want to do :  Travel + Video blogging (might get wet in rain and steamy in hot spring)
Any specific models in mind? :  No idea's at the moment
Any specific features u want? :  Weatherproof! Can take splashes of water(rain and steam proof) and take a few drops(I have a kid). Also have as good as possible image and video quality.

I know my requirements are rather generic but I want to know which cameras can handle the rain and steam and drops. Besides the obvious tough cameras like the NIKON AW120.

Thanks guys!
Thing about waterproof cameras is that once you choose it, you have to live with the compromises that come with it. Usually won't be high end specs that you might expect from a camera around RM2k.

Best bet would be to get a good compact around RM1500-1600 and get a waterproof housing of some sort. You'd get better image quality than a waterproof camera.

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jun 28 2014, 07:59 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  PnS / Entry Level Mirrorless
Budget: Below 1500
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : None 
Type of photography u want to do :  Mainly for traveling
Any specific models in mind? :  RX100 / A5000 (will accept other suggestion as well)
Any specific features u want? : Good image quality with Auto Mode
The NEX5T is a better option than the A5000 due to better AF performance.

http://www.camera2u.com/Mirrorless-Camera/...port.html?pop=0

Supply is very limited since it's EOL but apparently you can still get it via that website.

RX100 is a good compact camera, more pocketable than the NEX cameras where you can actually fit it in your pocket with ease but image quality wise, there's no competition. The NEX cameras have much better image quality due to the larger sensors, you'll notice much better pictures in lower lighting conditions.

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jun 30 2014, 09:46 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact camera
Budget:  RM600-800
Type of photography u want to do :  Travel purpose
Any specific features u want? :  Good in low light and good battery life.
Need to go for 2nd hand cameras already if you want something good as your budget is a little low for a good low light camera. Do PM me and I'll see if I can help out more smile.gif
TS-kytz-
post Jun 30 2014, 07:41 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jun 30 2014, 07:39 PM)
mhmm, not going for second hand, within that bugest best in low light then ok already biggrin.gif
Generic models around RM800 or below. Nothing special. Maybe a nice flippy screen or Wifi feature lol.
TS-kytz-
post Jul 2 2014, 07:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(FYIGemini @ Jun 21 2014, 05:15 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM 2000 include kitlens (additional lenses excluded)
Your Location : KL/Sunway/Subang/PJ
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography you want to do: Mainly landscape (architectures (interior + exterior), sceneries, night time buildings, timelapse), and food
Any specific models in mind? : D3100, D3200, D3300 (Entry-level ones), or any other recommendation? Have never used a DSLR before, using it to learn photography.
Any specific features you want? : Doesn't matter, as long as I am able to take those photographs that I mentioned earlier.

* Which lenses should I get if I would like to take those photographs mentioned earlier?
Could you get a D5200 with your budget?

Most entry level DSLRs are more than capable of getting the shots you want.

Some extra stuff that you might want to consider: Ultra wide angle lens, remote trigger (for timelapse or long exposure), external flash,etc.

QUOTE(TheThing @ Jul 1 2014, 12:41 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accessories : Compact camera
Budget:  Preferably below Rm1k (on a budget) , but willing to go above till Rm1k++ if necessary
Type of photography u want to do :  Travel purpose / Scenery / Moving Objects / people in motion etc
Any specific features u want? :  Good battery life, good in low light and any additional recommended features.

Perhaps the Olympus XZ-1 or the Lumix LX5 if they're around your budget (search for it). Or top up a little more for bigger sensor cameras like some m4/3 system cameras. <--- You can easily get these 2nd hand for your budget (Garage Sales)

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Jul 1 2014, 08:44 PM)
Sorry i know this is different from the format in front page but i have a few questions regarding Sony's NEX series.

1st. By comparing the latest a6000 and NEX6, is there a lot of differences to go for the former one?

2nd. Is getting a E-mount series worth it even though i will be using the kit lens for some time as compared with getting a RX100?

3rd. For a person starting to get into photography, which camera would be most suitable? Is getting the latest model important?
For your first question, you can easily google it.

Sensor wise, there is a big difference already. Also the AF performance, RX100 has just "okay" AF performance while as you know, A6000 is great in this aspect.

If you're getting into photography, I'd advise one to just grab ANY camera and start playing with it. Most important thing about photography is the thought process/idea/composition/concept/framing instead of the gear, though better gears may help you in your work.

Just go for the best you can afford and bear in mind of the extra accessories like lenses/flash/bag/etc that you would need to factor into your budget.

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Jul 2 2014, 08:27 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : digital camera
Budget: Rm1800
Your Location:  KL/Melaka
Preferable brand : None 
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  Fuji X100S (like the design, but over budget?), Sony RX100
Any specific features u want? : Long exposure, shoot raw file, able to change lens is optional

currently been using Canon 600D + 10-22mm for 2 years and i love to shoot landscape. thinking to get another compact/more portable digital camera. long exposure(up to 30sec if possible) and raw file is the main features i wish to have. im not sure if digital camera have such features or not, anyone?
How portable do you want it to be? If I want something in my jeans/pants, I'd go for the RX100, else I'd go for Sony's NEX system.

Not to nitpick, the term is "compact camera" and not "digital camera" because your 60D is a digital camera also right? wink.gif

QUOTE(ChowQing94 @ Jul 2 2014, 04:10 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM1000+ ( on budget - second-hand ok )
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Cosplay or Event Photography
Any specific models in mind? : Any
Any specific features u want? : Can withstand bright lights and take photos in low lighting, Good battery life

Require it for a media event in Singapore on September.
Try to look around Garage Sales for some good deals on DSLRs and then refer it back here or PM me.

Not to be unhelpful but you need to do some homework too smile.gif
TS-kytz-
post Jul 2 2014, 08:28 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Jul 2 2014, 08:15 PM)
thank you for answering all those questions. u r the man  thumbup.gif
yes, i meant "compact", thanks again for the correction

1. i need something that can 'put inside the jeans' , besides RX100, is there any other model have a similar feature with RX100?

2. i realized that RX100 III have a wider angel if compare with mark I and II (which is more suitable for landscape), but the price around Rm2,999  sweat.gif
any news mark III will be available in malaysia?

3. if i shoot RX100 in raw file, am i able to recover most of the lighting/shadows/color like what DSLRs do?
There's no other compact camera at the level of the RX100 and yet can fit into jeans pocket. There's the Canon S120 but the sensor is much smaller.

One of the nice things about the lens is the aperture range when zoomed in! And you get a newer sensor and a pop up EVF smile.gif

If the RX100 can shoot RAW, it would definitely be better to process compared to JPG as you have more control over your images. Recovering highlights/shadows would depend on the dynamic range and the amount of detail the camera can capture. You might want to download some RX100 RAW images and play with it a bit. smile.gif

TS-kytz-
post Jul 3 2014, 11:32 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(TheThing @ Jul 3 2014, 06:08 PM)
Thanks kytz for the recommendations. I did some research with the 2 model that you recommended and found out that the Lumix LX5 had an improved model which is LX7. Is there a vast difference between them? Worth the upgrade?

Sorry, although I did my research, I am practically a normal beginner user and not really the technical guy when it comes to camera specs.

Thanks smile.gif Hope to get your feedback
Yes, the LX7 is better than the LX5 but I'm afraid that it's much pricier. You can still do a price check on it though. Try shashinki.com, camera2u, lelong.

These enthusiast cameras are really good for the price. You can also dabble with the manual controls which give you better control over what result you might want. A good stepping stone into the mirrorless/DSLR world I should say (speaking from experience biggrin.gif )

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0948sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:16 PM