180 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

sniper on the roof
post Feb 13 2012, 11:32 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bigMEECH @ Feb 13 2012, 03:21 AM)
nex 5n or gx 1? which one is better? type of photography that ill be taking, potraint, scenery and landscape.. generally ill take a photography of everything.
which one is better performing in lowlight condition?
If just with the standard zoom lens... NEX-5N better but micro four third has much better selection of autofocus lens.

GX1 is also more responsive in terms of controls and autofocus.

With primes like 14mm f2.5 + 20mm f1.7/25mm f1.4 + 45mm f1.8... then micro four third is much better imho as a shooter system.

I said system because I think that while the camera itself is important but these are interchangeable lens cameras....the camera bodies have very short lifecycle.. they get replaced every year with better models but the lens stays the same.

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Feb 13 2012, 10:24 AM)
she's taking picture as a hobby and maybe in the future she will look for another lens.from what i see, she doesn't want compact camera as she already got old 5MP Pentax camera.
See above.

Also for cool-ness factor... silver Olympus E-P3 with 12mm or 45mm. Looks awesome for ladies.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Feb 13 2012, 11:42 AM
@Adele
post Feb 13 2012, 11:36 AM

1,042 posts

hi guys, for a newbie, which dslr camera could u recommend me?

Sony one please. there's many kind, not sure which to choose.thanks
N33d
post Feb 13 2012, 02:53 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Feb 13 2012, 11:36 AM)
hi guys, for a newbie, which dslr camera could u recommend me?

Sony one please. there's many kind, not sure which to choose.thanks
A35 or C3
KayEmoLove
post Feb 13 2012, 04:12 PM

26 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR + Lens
Budget: RM4.3k (with/without kitlens)
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : HDR, Landscape & Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 60D & 600D
Any specific features u want? : Lowlight, Speed.

Originally planned :
Canon 60D Kitlens III

Suggested to me :
1. Canon 600D (body) + EF50mm f/1.8 II + Tamron 17-50 VC
2. Canon 60D (body) + 50mm f1.8 or f1.4 + tamron 18-270 + sigma 8-16

This post has been edited by KayEmoLove: Feb 13 2012, 04:15 PM
stephvin
post Feb 13 2012, 05:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 12 2012, 01:09 AM)
All of the models you mentioned are capable of shooting very good pictures.

Keep in mind though that GF2 with the kit zoom lens may not offer any advantage over something like the LX5 even though the former's got a bigger sensor.

Interchangeable lens cameras are all about the lens.. they need specific lens for specific functions to show their best.
If just specs... then go to http://snapsort.com/compare/Sony-TX10-vs-nikon-s9100 and check it out yourself.

Though specs may not say everything.
picture quality wise lx5 on par with gf2? seems like gf2 needs more investment on lens only to win over lx5. thanks for the advice!
sniper on the roof
post Feb 13 2012, 06:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(stephvin @ Feb 13 2012, 05:25 PM)
picture quality wise lx5 on par with gf2? seems like gf2 needs more investment on lens only to win over lx5. thanks for the advice!
I just made a post as to the reason why on the link below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=48956056

It's based on the XZ-1 which share the same sensor as the LX-5.. there's some differences in the lens spec but generally, the concept applies.

Here's what a pro can do with a LX5

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lumix_global/...556940683/show/
naq_saviola
post Feb 14 2012, 03:47 PM

394 posts

Hi there,
i have D3100, just plan to buy 50mm 1.8g lens... so, just cant decide to change my dslr also or not, seems i got rm1.5k in my hand, plus can sell my dslr also. its worth i change my dslr to d90 or d5100?huh.. or better save for d7000?

thanks btw.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 14 2012, 04:38 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(naq_saviola @ Feb 14 2012, 03:47 PM)
Hi there,
i have D3100, just plan to buy 50mm 1.8g lens... so, just cant decide to change my dslr also or not, seems i got rm1.5k in my hand, plus can sell my dslr also. its worth i change my dslr to d90 or d5100?huh.. or better save for d7000?

thanks btw.
Anything wrong with your current camera? Is it broken? Is it limiting you?

If answer to the above questions is NO ... then 2 options:

Option 1: Do nothing cos its just Gear Acquisition Syndrome (GAS) ... also known as gear lust or gatal in Malay.

Option 2: Save up and buy D4... cos anything lesser than that still will get GAS.

If the answer to the above is YES... please describe
naq_saviola
post Feb 14 2012, 05:05 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 14 2012, 05:38 PM)
Anything wrong with your current camera? Is it broken? Is it limiting you?
If answer to the above questions is NO ... then 2 options:

Option 1: Do nothing cos its just Gear Acquisition Syndrome (GAS) ... also known as gear lust or gatal in Malay.

Option 2: Save up and buy D4... cos anything lesser than that still will get GAS.
If the answer to the above is YES... please describe
yes sir.. its GAS huh.. but really scared to change dslr if it not worthy huh..
seems D90 pic quality too big diff compare to d3100 for me, am i wrong?

This post has been edited by naq_saviola: Feb 14 2012, 05:06 PM
sniper on the roof
post Feb 14 2012, 06:20 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(naq_saviola @ Feb 14 2012, 05:05 PM)
yes sir.. its GAS huh.. but really scared to change dslr if it not worthy huh..
seems D90 pic quality too big diff compare to d3100 for me, am i wrong?
I mean if it bothers you... then by all means buy buy buy

But here's some inspiration.. click the slideshow button after the link

http://www.gridenko.com/pg

They're photos taken 100 years ago... waaaaaay before D3100's tongue.gif

naq_saviola
post Feb 14 2012, 06:36 PM

394 posts

huh thanks bro.. which 1 better for potrait pic? d5100 or d90?
sniper on the roof
post Feb 14 2012, 07:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(naq_saviola @ Feb 14 2012, 06:36 PM)
huh thanks bro.. which 1 better for potrait pic? d5100 or d90?
Idea, composition, lighting, post processing...len... camera body difference is quite far behind.
If you also dunno which is better than likely it'll be the same.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Feb 14 2012, 07:20 PM
Zhao
post Feb 14 2012, 07:43 PM

1,267 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget: Below rm2500
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Sony/Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Traveling/family photos/scenery
Any specific models in mind? : A55Y/A35Y/D3100/D5100/600D/550D
Any specific features u want? : Ntg specific.

Asking for my friend here.Need some serious recommendation.
aHLing
post Feb 14 2012, 10:53 PM

25 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR body only
Budget: <RM1.5K (am thinking WTB 2ndhand)
Your Location: Kedah
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, creative shots
Any specific models in mind? : looked at D3100 but read that it is heavier than D70s.
Any specific features u want? : Light and not bulky, and i like to play with efects

currently using D70s, but think i'm not really utilising it to the fullest. (also, it's heavy and big) want to downgrade to a newer model of entry level dslr.

am using 17-50 & 50mm for now, but think want to sell 50mm and buy 35mm instead because of the wider crop. should i? or should i sell 17-50 and buy 35mm? LOL

This post has been edited by aHLing: Feb 14 2012, 10:57 PM
ijam-kl
post Feb 15 2012, 07:56 AM

QUOTE(Zhao @ Feb 12 2012, 10:33 PM)
i would recommend nex5n instead of nex3 since u highlighted .although its a little off ur budget,u shud each model u listed out above.
instead of 550d , i recommend 600D. its rm2500+/- .I used my friend 600D b4, its kinda fun and simple. As for a35,it has much more customize-able effect . evf is  brows.gif , u can see ur setting on ur view finder .

Canon 600D is nice if u have small hand. but if you have a large hand ,you will feel that its kinda uncomfortable to hold it . Personally ,i recommend a65 since u prefer nikon and sony.

video -600D is good in af /mf.
        -A65 is good ,but it comes with continous af

both have better video compared to d90. It easily heat up the camera .

D90 for rm2500 is not much recommend as warranty is not available.
since your budget is rm3000 below and you mentioned  ^. i recommend you have a try on a65. it is much advanced compared to a35/a55.
Zhao, thx for info.
Compare a35 vs a65
- evf good for what aaa
- video with continuous af suppose to mean good right?
- i saw in website, a65 not sell with kit and the price already high
- u got recommendation where to buy

By the way, IT fair next weekend, possible better price or should go lowyat instead
Zhao
post Feb 15 2012, 09:31 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ijam-kl @ Feb 15 2012, 07:56 AM)
Zhao, thx for info.
Compare a35 vs a65
- evf good for what aaa
- video with continuous af suppose to mean good right?
- i saw in website, a65 not sell with kit and the price already high
- u got recommendation where to buy

By the way, IT fair next weekend, possible better price or should go lowyat instead
Evf means you can see the setting that you change on the spot in your viewfinder. like when u increase ur iso, u can see ur img in viewfinder brighten.

continuous Af means you can have diff type of videography with your dslr.

A65 is about rm 2600+/- for body only if not mistaken. For kit lens its about 2700-2800.

as for recommendation of where to buy, wheres your location as in kl?

IT fair this weekend in midvalley. I think not much difference, maybe some extra free gift.

kahsoon0020
post Feb 16 2012, 03:48 AM

70 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : m43
Budget : less than 3k
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Anything
Type of photography u want to do : Street, indoor, potrait, macro
Any specific models in mind? : Olympus ep3, Sony nex5n, nikon V1
Any specific features u want? : View finder would be really great, but only V1 has built in view finder. sad.gif
Karenalvin
post Feb 16 2012, 11:23 AM

247 posts

Thanks in advance

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR or SLT or whatever designation they have
Budget : less than RM 6k (including lens, excluding other acc)
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Anything
Type of photography u want to do : mostly indoor portrait with reasonable lighting (meeting room) and buildings (good lighting) very very occasionally some events (such as seminar and etc, but not primary focus)
Any specific models in mind? : Nilkon D7000, Sony A77
Any specific features u want? : nothing really in particular, video function would be great but mostly print.

cheaper is ofcoz better (for company use) but also dun mind stretching a bit for something better as the output will be used on print. The important thing is value for money.

Actually I more or less like the D7000, but the A77 looks interesting too and is versatile for video too for the company. However, once I reach the A77 budget it seems like there are some others to choose from so some suggestions would be good.
zysf
post Feb 17 2012, 05:31 AM

33 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact camera
Budget: Below rm1000
Your Location: Klang
Preferable brand : Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Traveling/family photos/scenery
Any specific models in mind? : None
Any specific features u want? : Good night shots

Tq!

yuman
post Feb 17 2012, 10:17 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Feb 12 2012, 04:02 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compact dslr/interchangeable lens
Budget: below 2k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  suggest me the best for this budget
Type of photography u want to do :  normal photography
Any specific models in mind? :  sony nex c3..is it good?

my gf want camera like dslr but she want a light camera..i tried google for sony nex c3 n i find maybe it suits her..got any recommendation beside this model?
lumix GX series?

180 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:55 AM