Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

Zhao
post Jan 25 2012, 07:49 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(elairvent @ Jan 25 2012, 05:44 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM2600 (with kitlens)
Your Location:   Terengganu
Preferable brand :  Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  HDR, landscape, wedding
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 600D or D90 or D5100
Any specific features u want? :  user-friendly

having used 1000D before..easy to use..i like canon but i love nikon.. smile.gif
Canon 600D and D5100 is much recommended compared to d90. I used d90 once... the video is capped at 720p and it heats up easily after 6-9minutes....
However this is not much concern as you are in HDR, landscape, wedding. D90 IQ is good but D5100 is better. But d90 have much buttons for settings and 2 dial for better control. Try both before choosing. biggrin.gif
Zhao
post Jan 27 2012, 07:57 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(kirs92 @ Jan 27 2012, 07:17 PM)
lol just checked those out but then again, imma girl and i kaki camwhore with my friends sooo those camera's dont really spark my interest tongue.gif ahhahaha
among the 2 samsung ones. I prefer the ex1 as it has a hot shoe . External flash will be useful if you are really into camwhore smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zhao: Jan 27 2012, 08:06 PM
Zhao
post Feb 1 2012, 01:47 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(purplevil @ Feb 1 2012, 01:23 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : landscape,portrait,wedding and item
Any specific models in mind? : D60, D7000
Any specific features u want? :  user-friendly
nikon d7000 . Rm3800 - rm 4000 range with 18-105mm tongue.gif
Zhao
post Feb 12 2012, 10:33 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(stephvin @ Feb 10 2012, 05:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact DSLR or decent compact camera
Budget:lowest possible. 1k -2k.
Your Location: Klang Valley/KL
Preferable brand : canon, sony, panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : graduation photos, family photos & using for traveling purposes.
Any specific models in mind? : lumix-gf2,lumix gmc-lx5, sony nex3
Any specific features u want? : able to capture in low light, capture good nightview, excellent colours

beginner in photography. pls advice smile.gif
i would recommend nex5n instead of nex3 since u highlighted .although its a little off ur budget,u shud each model u listed out above.
QUOTE(baoz @ Feb 12 2012, 02:35 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : RM 2.4k including kitlens
Your Location : PJ & KL
Preferable brand : Sony or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, night landscape, lowlight, macro, sports. Sometimes potrait.
Any specific models in mind? : Sony A35 SLT, Canon 550D

Kindly recommend. smile.gif Thank you.

P/S: I currently have a compact Canon S90, but looking for something more especially when it comes to landscape and night photos. Been looking at 550D for a long time, but it's an old model (by now) and still pricey. The A35 is new, lightweight and within my budget. Also tried it at a store and I like the feel/controls. Just not sure if hopping over to Sony from Canon is a good move.

Tried on my friend's Nikon D90 but I don't like the feel of a Nikon.. not used to it.
instead of 550d , i recommend 600D. its rm2500+/- .I used my friend 600D b4, its kinda fun and simple. As for a35,it has much more customize-able effect . evf is brows.gif , u can see ur setting on ur view finder .
QUOTE(-cmi- @ Feb 12 2012, 02:46 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : Around 2.5k
Your Location : Cheras, Bangi, Kajang and around KL
Preferable brand : Nikon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, night landscape, lowlight, video etc
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D90, Nikon D5100, Canon 600D

Ok here's my case. I planning to buy new camera. My dilemma is, my friend want to sell his Nikon D90 camera to me for RM2.5k (maybe i can push the price until RM2.3k). He bought that camera on Jan 2011 so no more warranty. The question is should i buy that camera or just go to new Nikon D5100  & Canon 600D option? The seller is my friend so i'm sure the quality is still good. I know Nikon D90 is old model. Which is why i'm in dilemma whether should spend that amount of money to old camera or not. Please help any sifu here  icon_question.gif
Canon 600D is nice if u have small hand. but if you have a large hand ,you will feel that its kinda uncomfortable to hold it . Personally ,i recommend a65 since u prefer nikon and sony.

video -600D is good in af /mf.
-A65 is good ,but it comes with continous af

both have better video compared to d90. It easily heat up the camera .

D90 for rm2500 is not much recommend as warranty is not available.

QUOTE(ijam-kl @ Feb 12 2012, 04:10 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR camera
Budget: Below RM3000 include kit lens
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Sony/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Traveling/family photos/scenery
Any specific models in mind? :  A33Y/A35Y/D3100
Any specific features u want? :  Easy set on exposure, ISO...what u see in display...is what u get when captured

Looking for only new.
New to DSLR. Love taking photos and movies. Now I consider myself beginner with manual setting.
Like to have the long zoom lens (55 is ok, beyond is a bonus).
Prefer if unit can do with movies (lazy carry another camcorder laa)
Which would suits me best?
How much best price & where can get it?
Also pls recommend alternative...

Thanks to the sifu here.
since your budget is rm3000 below and you mentioned ^. i recommend you have a try on a65. it is much advanced compared to a35/a55. D3100 is not comparable here .

QUOTE(danielkong13 @ Feb 12 2012, 08:13 PM)
Budget: RM2000
Your Location:   Kajang area
Preferable brand :  Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Potrait and Landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  Nope
Any specific features u want? :  Auto focus and HD recording smile.gif
canon 1100D or nikon d3100.

but preferably canon s95/s100 or olympus xz1 as you r new in photography.
Zhao
post Feb 13 2012, 01:18 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 13 2012, 12:16 AM)
XZ-1 sucks for "HD recording".
IMHO, for someone "new to photography".. a dslr is a better tool for learning.
If they just want a camera to snap shooting that trip etc.. then maybe a travel zoom is a better choice.
blush.gif didnt know it sucks for hd recording.
I recommend compact as i see lots of newcomer tend to shoot fully auto with dslr. Auto mode in compact are much better ,in my opinion.
Then they complain "y dslr so heavy" ...

Zhao
post Feb 14 2012, 07:43 PM

1,262 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget: Below rm2500
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Sony/Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Traveling/family photos/scenery
Any specific models in mind? : A55Y/A35Y/D3100/D5100/600D/550D
Any specific features u want? : Ntg specific.

Asking for my friend here.Need some serious recommendation.
Zhao
post Feb 15 2012, 09:31 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(ijam-kl @ Feb 15 2012, 07:56 AM)
Zhao, thx for info.
Compare a35 vs a65
- evf good for what aaa
- video with continuous af suppose to mean good right?
- i saw in website, a65 not sell with kit and the price already high
- u got recommendation where to buy

By the way, IT fair next weekend, possible better price or should go lowyat instead
Evf means you can see the setting that you change on the spot in your viewfinder. like when u increase ur iso, u can see ur img in viewfinder brighten.

continuous Af means you can have diff type of videography with your dslr.

A65 is about rm 2600+/- for body only if not mistaken. For kit lens its about 2700-2800.

as for recommendation of where to buy, wheres your location as in kl?

IT fair this weekend in midvalley. I think not much difference, maybe some extra free gift.

Zhao
post Feb 19 2012, 11:35 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(aizax007 @ Feb 19 2012, 10:51 AM)
i heard that 550d better than 600d.. is it right??
Nt sure its trolling or real. i think 650D is better. Tbh, try both at a shop and buy either one lo biggrin.gif
Zhao
post Feb 19 2012, 08:53 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(warmice @ Feb 19 2012, 08:18 PM)
Hi guy, im looking for a compact camera, any suggestion??
budget is around 1500RM....
hmm...thinking abt canon G12, Nikon 7100, lumix GF3.....any other choices will u guy recommend?? Thank for ur guy kindly reply^^
QUOTE(zul_klasik @ Feb 19 2012, 08:24 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : travel compact camera
Budget : RM1500 (below)
Your Location : bandar utama
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : nil
Any specific models in mind?

Any specific features u want? : more mp..more zoom..more function..
Panasonic Lumix LX5
Canon S100/s95
Nikon P300, P7100
Olympus XZ-1

this few model are the most bang for the buck compact camera.

Zhao
post Feb 19 2012, 10:42 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(zul_klasik @ Feb 19 2012, 10:21 PM)
but those camera are less 10x zoom rite? (im sorry if im wrong..)
i survey for above 10mp and above 10x zoom
such my list
or u can suggest to me others model that have criteria i need some
heheh  icon_rolleyes.gif

by da way
thanks for reply my post  biggrin.gif
Actually , zoom and mp is nt important. mp is juz a sales gimmick, i dont think you do large printing right?
when you master your camera, 4x zoom is already good enough. 10x zoom doesnt really do a great job as compact camera have small sensor.

whistling.gif

btw , i used sony hx5v b4 , its nice. maybe you can look for hx7v/hx9v. 10x zoom optical/10x digital. 10+mp too laugh.gif
Zhao
post Feb 19 2012, 10:58 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(zul_klasik @ Feb 19 2012, 10:47 PM)

oo great suggestion
but
is it ok to have function such gps?
for me, i think i didnt need it
huhhuuh
gps is juz something fun to play with for the first few time you bring your camera for outing.

I have gps in my dslt but mostly i switch it off unless i am going for long distance holiday and i want to keep my pic location tagged.

enjoy hunting for camera. choose it confidently without influence from anyone, or else you will regret after awhile. icon_rolleyes.gif
Zhao
post Feb 19 2012, 11:52 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(warmice @ Feb 19 2012, 11:00 PM)
thx bro for the recommend....
any idea for canon g12?? quite interest with this model...
G12 is nice for camwhore whistling.gif flippable screen is fun.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Feb 19 2012, 11:14 PM)
Guys, I'm still learning on photography stuff but can anyone recommend me a camera based on below?

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Interchangeble Lens Camera
Budget : RM2-RM2.5k
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : N/A
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, Landscape..
Any specific models in mind? : NEX series
Any specific features u want? : N/A
nex5n is nice for your budget. icon_rolleyes.gif
Zhao
post Mar 1 2012, 12:17 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(apaijas @ Mar 1 2012, 11:45 AM)
Budget: <RM3800
Your Location:   Kuala Lumpur
Preferable brand :  Nikon or Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  potrait, landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  D7000 or 600D
Any specific features u want? :  easy to use, have a lot of mode like scene (landscape,firework,candle etc)
D7000 should be compared to canon 60D instead of 600D. Both are great camera. Check out what format your friend is using,so that you can pinjam lens tongue.gif
Both do well in potrait and landscape, Its the lens that is important instead of the body.
QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Mar 1 2012, 12:03 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Compact Interchangeable-Lens Cameras
Budget: Below 2500
Your Location:   Cheras/Ampang/KL
Preferable brand :  Nikon/Lumix/Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape/Architectural
Any specific models in mind? :  Nikon J1, Nex-5N, DMC-GF3
Any specific features u want? :  Nope (possible waterproof for camera in this range?)

I'm currently looking at the above 3 cameras but also open to other cameras with similar range. What is the best price
i can get for the 3 cameras? Or where can i get it from without getting overcharged? thank you.
Among the 3 listed, i recommend nex5n. water proof is possible if you buy a external case smile.gif
Nex5n rm 2550 (+/-rm100)
Zhao
post Mar 2 2012, 01:05 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(Sagunthala @ Mar 1 2012, 11:41 PM)
Dear Friend,

I'm deeply interest in photograpghy since 3 years ago, seems im not financially good, i didnt buy any. But i do make shots with my friend's point and shoot camera. Now i would like to own one something really goes with the rhythm of my interest in photography. Please help me to choose smile.gif

Type of camera : DSLR camera or Any
Budget : RM2000 - 2500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape / People
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 60D [ it is running out of my budget  sad.gif  ]
Any specific features u want? : Good zooming, picture quality

THank you for your time and kind help in choosing the model  smile.gif
canon 600D or nikon 5100 both are rm2499.
Zhao
post May 26 2012, 06:58 PM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(gtasaboss @ May 26 2012, 05:40 PM)
lol even rm300 cant buy a decent point and shoot or the cheapest lens there is.
can buy 2nd hand 50mm1.8 blush.gif

0.0852sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:01 PM