double..
This post has been edited by squarepilot: May 9 2020, 02:37 PM
Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!
May 9 2020, 02:35 PM
1,075 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
double..
This post has been edited by squarepilot: May 9 2020, 02:37 PM |
May 9 2020, 02:35 PM
1,075 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(CyFrozenFoods @ Apr 27 2020, 10:22 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Preferable compact type compact type: Micro 4 thirds systemBudget: RM2k to RM3k? I'm not sure Your Location: Ipoh Preferable brand : Any durable and easy to maintain Type of photography u want to do : Food presentation photo and video Any specific models in mind? : Any durable and easy to maintain Any specific features u want? : Got WIFI? so I can transfer video or photo easier. If don't have also nvm. Thanks. Olympus EM10-mark3, WIFI, Olympus apps for you to transfer photo via wifi, and also as a remote control now have free F1.8 45mm lens promotion when you buy Olympus. for food photography, you might want to add another 60mm macro lens (2nd hand of cuz) https://home.olympusimage.com.my/promo_deta...1b-188cac1e01ac buy lazada shoppe even cheaper. total cost around 3k only. suits your budget This post has been edited by squarepilot: May 9 2020, 02:39 PM |
May 14 2020, 01:18 AM
899 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: The Land of Smile |
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 5 2020, 11:10 PM) Hi sifus, For RM2000 or less, Sony a6000 (with the 16-50 kit) fit the bill. But, if you want to see substantial differences in term of quality from your smartphone photo or video, you need to spend more by getting at least a decent lens. If not, you rather use that money to top up your next smart phone purchase. Without a good lens, many has been disappointed from their camera purchase and end up not using it, collecting dust at home or sold at a huge lost. Don't repeat their mistake.I dunno shit about camera, but deep inside I am pretty interested in photography. Previously while traveling and occasional point & shoot, only been using a camera phone and up to a point where I think I might as well trying to do it properly. Never before handling a camera, but I hate the idea of bulky DSLR. Looks hipster and maybe too.. showoff too. Wanna avoid that image publicly. So maybe a mirrorless a better choice for me? Also, another issue, even if I settle down with a camera, another major issue is I don't know jack shit about lenses. Urgh. So I think I might ask here first, before being stupid and waste thousands on something overkill or not suit my need. Any input is very much appreciated. Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact, unlike DSLR. Easy to care and carry with. Budget: 2k or less, preferably with lens and accessories. Your Location: Klang Valley area Preferable brand : Sony. Type of photography u want to do : Stationary video, ambulating video (with gimbal), general photography of pets, and scenery. Any specific models in mind? : Been eyeing A6000. Not sure if it suits me. Any specific features u want? : Any extra features to make it more convenient for vlog is much beneficial. |
May 14 2020, 11:31 PM
47 posts Joined: Oct 2016 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact without interchangeable lens
Budget: 3000 Your Location: Klang Valley Preferable brand : Any Type of photography u want to do : Interior design and outdoor (hotel area) Any specific models in mind? : Something like Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R II but cheaper Any specific features u want? : If got 4k picture and video is bonus. 1080p minimum |
May 22 2020, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(iskandarnazreen @ May 14 2020, 11:31 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact without interchangeable lens If you really want compact, then Sony RX100 series. If you are willing to reconsider interchangeable lens system, I would suggest Sony a6300+ Samyang 12mm or Fuji XT20 + Samyang 12mm. The reasons being that they give you room to grow. You never know in the future that you might want to venture further into photography and both the 6300 and XT20 give you the room for that. They both give you 4k video and + lens should be under RM3K used.Budget: 3000 Your Location: Klang Valley Preferable brand : Any Type of photography u want to do : Interior design and outdoor (hotel area) Any specific models in mind? : Something like Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R II but cheaper Any specific features u want? : If got 4k picture and video is bonus. 1080p minimum |
May 22 2020, 07:09 PM
571 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(iskandarnazreen @ May 14 2020, 11:31 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact without interchangeable lens Ricoh GRII, or top up a bit for GRIIIBudget: 3000 Your Location: Klang Valley Preferable brand : Any Type of photography u want to do : Interior design and outdoor (hotel area) Any specific models in mind? : Something like Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R II but cheaper Any specific features u want? : If got 4k picture and video is bonus. 1080p minimum |
May 29 2020, 11:49 PM
218 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact APSC mirrorless
Budget: 4000 Your Location: Sabah Preferable brand : Sony and Canon Type of photography u want to do : Vlog , Cinematic video , photography Any specific models in mind? : Sony A6400 or Canon M6II Any specific features u want? : Good 1080p and good picture quality |
Jun 24 2020, 05:54 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
650 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
Hi sifu and professionals, I’ve just started record videos for youtube and would like some recommendations to UP my video resolution game (I want to achieve the video quality similar yo when Daniel Shiffer/Peter Lindgren do tutorial/talking video, i have Final Cut Pro X to do the editing and color grading)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR / Digital Camera Budget: RM 2000 but flexible Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony (flexible) Type of photography u want to do : Selfie video (for youtube educational tutorial video where i sit infront of camera on a tripod and talk for about 1-2 hour per session; i want a camera that has a flip screen to see my recording view, and maybe a 3.5mm jack to fit my Boya M1 mic or a holder for future shot gun mic; I want the video to be able to focus on my face automatically (mainly 1080p, 30fps) and slightly bokeh blur on my background Any specific models in mind? : Dont have specific, but i saw youtubers recommend the Sony Alpha series seems decent, but im a total noob in this Any specific features u want? : i dont really use it for outdoor, in future might want to use it when travel overseas, but for now mainly just for video recording purpose (indoor lighting). Also if sifu can recommend a good lighting combination that will be great |
Jun 24 2020, 09:16 PM
94 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
I am looking to buy RX100 from mark 3 onwards. I really don't know which to choose. I am very active and adventurous person, think trail running and hiking. I mostly shoot in jungle and sea/ all nature setting, landscape, selfie portrait, flora and fauna, sunrise and sunset. I don't own any cameras before, only using my Xperia XZ1. I tried print out with photos from XZ1 but found that they are too sharp and not natural even in small print photo books. I do wonder if the latest Xperia 1 or Xperia 1 ii will have better print out quality?
Back to the topic, jungle is mostly little dark so please bear that in mind too. Which RX100 models from mark 3 onwards would you guys/pros recommend? If possible, please list out each pros and cons? Thanks! This post has been edited by footunhou: Jun 24 2020, 09:17 PM |
Jun 26 2020, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(clement7621 @ May 29 2020, 11:49 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact APSC mirrorless Both a6400 and m6ii can fullfill your need. Just that, Canon has better color for skin tone, which requires less editing. I would suggest you to take a look at eos M50 for the cheap, and save your money from 6400 or m6ii for better lens.Budget: 4000 Your Location: Sabah Preferable brand : Sony and Canon Type of photography u want to do : Vlog , Cinematic video , photography Any specific models in mind? : Sony A6400 or Canon M6II Any specific features u want? : Good 1080p and good picture quality QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Jun 24 2020, 05:54 PM) Hi sifu and professionals, I’ve just started record videos for youtube and would like some recommendations to UP my video resolution game (I want to achieve the video quality similar yo when Daniel Shiffer/Peter Lindgren do tutorial/talking video, i have Final Cut Pro X to do the editing and color grading) If you want camera with RM2k budget that has flip screen, the only one I can think of is Canon eos m50. For bokeh, you need to have lens with big aperture. For that, I would recommend the Sigma 16mm f1.4, but that is additional cost around rm1700. As regard lighting, you can take a look at this youtube video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXe3rEWrDVgType of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR / Digital Camera Budget: RM 2000 but flexible Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony (flexible) Type of photography u want to do : Selfie video (for youtube educational tutorial video where i sit infront of camera on a tripod and talk for about 1-2 hour per session; i want a camera that has a flip screen to see my recording view, and maybe a 3.5mm jack to fit my Boya M1 mic or a holder for future shot gun mic; I want the video to be able to focus on my face automatically (mainly 1080p, 30fps) and slightly bokeh blur on my background Any specific models in mind? : Dont have specific, but i saw youtubers recommend the Sony Alpha series seems decent, but im a total noob in this Any specific features u want? : i dont really use it for outdoor, in future might want to use it when travel overseas, but for now mainly just for video recording purpose (indoor lighting). Also if sifu can recommend a good lighting combination that will be great If your budget can flex a bit more, I would recommend you to take a look at a6100, a6400. But both of them are above 3k This post has been edited by Loseeker: Jun 26 2020, 11:22 AM |
Jun 26 2020, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jun 26 2020, 11:17 AM) Both a6400 and m6ii can fullfill your need. Just that, Canon has better color for skin tone, which requires less editing. I would suggest you to take a look at eos M50 for the cheap, and save your money from 6400 or m6ii for better lens. Hi I've seen quite some good review on the Canon EOS 200 D (Rebel SL 2), and it seems to fit every single aspect that I'm looking for (maybe except for budget). Not sure about the kit lens - do you have any thoughts on it? If you want camera with RM2k budget that has flip screen, the only one I can think of is Canon eos m50. For bokeh, you need to have lens with big aperture. For that, I would recommend the Sigma 16mm f1.4, but that is additional cost around rm1700. As regard lighting, you can take a look at this youtube video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXe3rEWrDVg If your budget can flex a bit more, I would recommend you to take a look at a6100, a6400. But both of them are above 3k I can stretch my budget to high-2k if needed. Noted on the big aperture for high bokeh effect. Big aperture = wide lens right? Sry im a complete noob in this |
Jun 26 2020, 06:51 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Jun 26 2020, 04:35 PM) Hi I've seen quite some good review on the Canon EOS 200 D (Rebel SL 2), and it seems to fit every single aspect that I'm looking for (maybe except for budget). Not sure about the kit lens - do you have any thoughts on it? It is interesting that you've made mention about the 200d. I happened to recommend that camera to a friend 2 days ago. Yes, it is an excellent camera. For starter, you can start with the kit lens first (18-55). Get yourself familiar with the focal length first and work your way up from there. If you need something wider, my recommendation is Tokina 11-16 f2.8. I can stretch my budget to high-2k if needed. Noted on the big aperture for high bokeh effect. Big aperture = wide lens right? Sry im a complete noob in this Having said that, I'd still highly recommend you to look at EOS M50 (similar price point to the 200d). Because dslr (and 200d is a DSLR) in general is a dying breed. The future is mirrorless. If I"m not mistaken, the 1DX -Mark 3 should be the last dslr canon released. After that, the company will only make mirrorless camera. QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Jun 26 2020, 04:35 PM) Noted on the big aperture for high bokeh effect. Big aperture = wide lens right? Sry im a complete noob in this Big aperture is not equal to wide lens. Big aperture lenses are those that comes with big F numbers, like F1.2, F1.4, F1.8 and F2....being smaller the number, bigger the aperture.Wide angle lens are lenses that has focal length that is 16mm or less (for apsc sensor) For your usage (vloggin and youtube content), I think the lens that best suit your need is the Sigma 16mm f1.4. It is wide enough and yet, give you the f1.4 big aperture to blur abit your background. Noticed that I said blur a bit is because generally, for wide angle lens, you can't get too much blur background. Blur background usually achieved using long focal length like 30mm above. But that focal length would be not suitable for vlogging. If you have more question, you can whatsapp me at +6016 5799388 This post has been edited by Loseeker: Jun 26 2020, 07:05 PM |
Jun 27 2020, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jun 26 2020, 06:51 PM) It is interesting that you've made mention about the 200d. I happened to recommend that camera to a friend 2 days ago. Yes, it is an excellent camera. For starter, you can start with the kit lens first (18-55). Get yourself familiar with the focal length first and work your way up from there. If you need something wider, my recommendation is Tokina 11-16 f2.8. Thank you very much! I will do more research and definitely reach out to you when i discover more grounds!Having said that, I'd still highly recommend you to look at EOS M50 (similar price point to the 200d). Because dslr (and 200d is a DSLR) in general is a dying breed. The future is mirrorless. If I"m not mistaken, the 1DX -Mark 3 should be the last dslr canon released. After that, the company will only make mirrorless camera. Big aperture is not equal to wide lens. Big aperture lenses are those that comes with big F numbers, like F1.2, F1.4, F1.8 and F2....being smaller the number, bigger the aperture. Wide angle lens are lenses that has focal length that is 16mm or less (for apsc sensor) For your usage (vloggin and youtube content), I think the lens that best suit your need is the Sigma 16mm f1.4. It is wide enough and yet, give you the f1.4 big aperture to blur abit your background. Noticed that I said blur a bit is because generally, for wide angle lens, you can't get too much blur background. Blur background usually achieved using long focal length like 30mm above. But that focal length would be not suitable for vlogging. If you have more question, you can whatsapp me at +6016 5799388 I did see that for my purpose, mirrorless actually seems more feasible (lighter, and no need the optical viewfinder thingy since im not doing any photography or cinematography etc.) - if what i read is correct. That said im definitely eyeing something along this budget. Curious to see if there’s any good physical shop with competitive price for these cameras, or I should get one from Shopee instead |
Aug 4 2020, 10:39 AM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR or mirrorless camera
Budget : RM4000 Your Location : Sabah Preferable brand : Canon or Sony Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Family Portrait, Nightscape Any specific models in mind? : Canon M50 or Canon EOS Any specific features u want? : able to capture fast moving object and function well in low light |
Aug 24 2020, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(boredness @ Aug 4 2020, 10:39 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR or mirrorless camera Is clement7621 your another account ? Budget : RM4000 Your Location : Sabah Preferable brand : Canon or Sony Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Family Portrait, Nightscape Any specific models in mind? : Canon M50 or Canon EOS Any specific features u want? : able to capture fast moving object and function well in low light For fast moving object and function well in low light, you might want to get a dslr. Canon M50 may not cut it....you can look to canon 6D mark 2 with your budget. |
Sep 6 2020, 06:11 PM
18 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless camera
Budget : RM5000-RM7000 Your Location : Outside of msia currently Preferable brand : Canon or Sony Type of photography u want to do : Group Portrait, Video, Landscape, Underwater Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS M6 Mark II/Canon EOS RP Mirrorless/Sony Alpha a7R II Any specific features u want? : 4K HD Video, High MP I am looking for an entry-level but excellent mirrorless camera. I have done up some researches and so I kinda know the difference between full frame and APS-C lens. I obviously prefer the full frame since I will be shooting and recording underwater as well therefore a better image quality is preferable, but it is way more costly than APS-C lens. Also I, am not planning to upgrade my camera body for a long time once I get it. So can anyone please advise whether I should go for full frame or APS-C lens? Is the image quality difference huge? Thank you! |
Sep 18 2020, 04:04 PM
113 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Hi everyone!
I'm interested in learning more about photography since end of last year when I helped a family member to take pictures during their ROM. Quite happy with the results. Type of camera/lens/accesories : Mirrorless Camera Budget : Preferably between RM2000-RM3000+) Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Canon/Sony/Fujiflim Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Food, Product, My Cat and other random stuffs, which includes video. Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 50M, Sony A6000/Sony A6400, Fujiflim XT100/XT200. Any specific features u want? : Not to bulky room to be able to change lens if I want to pursue this further. Thus cost of lens would come into consideration. I have a old Canon camera but I rarely use it as its getting blurry. Thank you! This post has been edited by eggtart02: Sep 18 2020, 04:06 PM |
Oct 8 2020, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(nutella00 @ Sep 6 2020, 06:11 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless camera The image quality difference is very minimal. Usually you can only see the differences if you zoomed in at least 100%. I would advise you to get into something like Sony a6400 and save your money for good lenses. The reason to go for sony is that you have the upgrade path from APSC to Full frame in the future. If you go canon eos M6II the mount is totally different from the EOS R and RP mount. OTOH, if you have the money to go FF body + lens, then go straight into FF. Any FF of those you've listed above is more than capable for underwater photography provided u can get the housing. Budget : RM5000-RM7000 Your Location : Outside of msia currently Preferable brand : Canon or Sony Type of photography u want to do : Group Portrait, Video, Landscape, Underwater Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS M6 Mark II/Canon EOS RP Mirrorless/Sony Alpha a7R II Any specific features u want? : 4K HD Video, High MP I am looking for an entry-level but excellent mirrorless camera. I have done up some researches and so I kinda know the difference between full frame and APS-C lens. I obviously prefer the full frame since I will be shooting and recording underwater as well therefore a better image quality is preferable, but it is way more costly than APS-C lens. Also I, am not planning to upgrade my camera body for a long time once I get it. So can anyone please advise whether I should go for full frame or APS-C lens? Is the image quality difference huge? Thank you! QUOTE(eggtart02 @ Sep 18 2020, 04:04 PM) Hi everyone! If you want to get Sony, at least the a6400, the a6000 is really dated at this point. If you want to go for fujifilm, at least get a XT20/30 body. IF you really wanted the flip out screen, then the XT200 is fine. Just don't go for the XT100 no matter how cheap it is, unless you going to get it for free. The AF is really slow on the XT100.I'm interested in learning more about photography since end of last year when I helped a family member to take pictures during their ROM. Quite happy with the results. Type of camera/lens/accesories : Mirrorless Camera Budget : Preferably between RM2000-RM3000+) Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Canon/Sony/Fujiflim Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Food, Product, My Cat and other random stuffs, which includes video. Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 50M, Sony A6000/Sony A6400, Fujiflim XT100/XT200. Any specific features u want? : Not to bulky room to be able to change lens if I want to pursue this further. Thus cost of lens would come into consideration. I have a old Canon camera but I rarely use it as its getting blurry. Thank you! This post has been edited by Loseeker: Oct 8 2020, 03:55 PM |
Oct 9 2020, 02:23 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Oct 2020 From: Denmark |
Oct 12 2020, 10:49 AM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Oct 2020 |
Hi folks, I already own gopro and now looking for mirrorless for good quality pics, which camera brand are suitable for hikers or 4x4 traveler?
we usually drive all types of terrain, trails to waterfalls or camp near river. Would like to shoot sunrise, sunset, gang members and mountain view, most importantly how you guys protect camera gear to get dirty? because harsh and wet area will damage camera optics right? And which camera brand are reputable on after sales service? Likes grpro malaysia which they very honored their warranties. thanks! |
| Change to: | 0.0385sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:43 PM |