°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V5 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

alxdc
post May 4 2012, 01:17 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(shaun1212 @ May 4 2012, 11:25 AM)
Ya loh. Heaven!

Sometime even forget when last visit gas station. One time drove almost 2 weeks without refueling. Drive to work everyday fuel cost like taking lrt only. Amazing!

BTW changed back to semi synthetic at 15k service, pedal seems heavier and engine not so responsive. FC dropped a bit from 600++ km per tank to 550++km per tank

Might change back to full synthetic and feel the fun back. Fun and fuel saving at the same time? Amazing.
Please share your driving condition and style that u achieved that results. Thanks
alxdc
post May 4 2012, 06:47 PM

71 posts

lets be more specific on the figures...
this will give a clear picture.

DRIVING: 70%City 30%Highway
TRAFFIC: Jam every morning to work
FUEL: Ron 97
ECON MODE: Off
FUEL CONSUMED: 32 Litre
TRAVEL: 523km
REMAINING KM READING: 33km

I hit this before few months ago:-

FUEL CONSUMED: 35 Litre
TRAVEL: 570km
REMAINING KM READING: 0km

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 4 2012, 06:49 PM
alxdc
post May 4 2012, 07:21 PM

71 posts

I forgot to add the important average speed

FUEL BRAND: Shell
AVERAGE SPEED:70-100km/h
FUEL CONSUMED: 32 Litre
TRAVEL: 523km
REMAINING KM READING: 33km

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 4 2012, 07:30 PM
alxdc
post May 7 2012, 11:08 AM

71 posts

Looking at the Prius c owner commented on their ride. Full tank can got 700 to 1000km. I envy them. If talking about fuel saving. Prius c win big time.
alxdc
post May 7 2012, 05:52 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(MsPotato @ May 7 2012, 05:22 PM)
Hey guys, is it a must that we gotta wait for the car to warm up fully until the "C" goes off each and everytime.  I find it abit impatient doing this every morning and every evening after work.  Atleast 2-3 mins each time.
dun have to. just drive slowly till the cold sign goes off.

alxdc
post May 7 2012, 06:36 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(MsPotato @ May 7 2012, 05:22 PM)
Hey guys, is it a must that we gotta wait for the car to warm up fully until the "C" goes off each and everytime.  I find it abit impatient doing this every morning and every evening after work.  Atleast 2-3 mins each time.
dun have to. just drive slowly till the cold sign goes off.

QUOTE(kets @ May 7 2012, 06:05 PM)
ditto
got this from searching the net:-

Contrary to popular belief, idling is not an effective way to warm up a vehicle, even in cold weather. The best way to do this is to drive the vehicle. Driving a vehicle cuts warm-up times in half.

Warming up the vehicle means more than warming the engine. The tires‚ transmission‚ wheel bearings, catalytic converter and other moving parts also need to be warmed up for the vehicle to perform well. Most of these parts don't begin to warm up until you drive the vehicle.

Today's electronically controlled engines allow you to drive away after only 30 seconds of idling, even on the coldest winter days.

It's important to drive away as soon as possible after a cold start‚ while avoiding high speeds and rapid acceleration for the first 5 kilometres. This allows the whole vehicle to reach peak operating temperature as quickly as possible without paying a fuel penalty.

**Running your car to warm the engine before driving is no longer necessary. Today's cars have computer driven performance systems that compensate for outdoor temperatures and cold engines. You can head out after just a couple of minutes of running the engine in the morning or after the car has "sat" for a few hours. I can understand your father's concern with the cars of old, but today's technology has eliminated the need for a thorough warm-up before driving.**

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 7 2012, 06:44 PM
alxdc
post May 7 2012, 06:45 PM

71 posts

yeah. but end of the day, is the fuel saving that counts
alxdc
post May 10 2012, 10:16 AM

71 posts

[quote=jtlim98,May 10 2012, 09:10 AM]
[quote=jtlim98,Apr 28 2012, 11:27 PM]
rclxub.gif Not again....SC suspect the same location causing leak. They say too many wire going thru the rubber hole causing the leak. What an explanation. They will silicon it for me free and see how. Need to be white mice again for them to see if it leak or not... cry.gif
Finally after so many days.......no more leak... rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

[/quote]

hm..why is it too many wiring? it is stock or u had modified something that used extra wires to go through the rubber hole?
alxdc
post May 11 2012, 09:19 AM

71 posts

Honda Insight 0-230 km/h Amazing acceleration

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endsc...79rnbokiCA&NR=1
alxdc
post May 11 2012, 10:23 AM

71 posts

sounds like a sport exhaust. and i was told that put to 'S' and Econ OFF and full throttle, IMA wont assist...
alxdc
post May 11 2012, 04:54 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ May 11 2012, 03:59 PM)
@alxdc

from the video you have share, clearly it is from the famous Game GT5. .
Oh is it. Ok then. I don't play games. So can't see the difference.
alxdc
post May 14 2012, 12:41 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ May 13 2012, 11:46 PM)

Finally the damage is being repaired.
cost me RM300
300 is a good deal. Which body shop did u sent it?
alxdc
post May 14 2012, 01:20 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ May 14 2012, 01:14 AM)
friend shop smile.gif
if melaka ppl who need this service (touch wood i hope u all dont need it), just let me know
Friend shop? Name. Place? Come on lah. Share lah.

Added on May 14, 2012, 1:22 amuser posted image

Seriously. How do u get 600km?

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 14 2012, 01:22 AM
alxdc
post May 14 2012, 12:05 PM

71 posts

Seriously need an official forum. . What happen to the proposal last time suggested. Insightmalaysia.com.my and etc?

Itrump. Maybe u Can start an official forum for
Insight.

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 14 2012, 12:06 PM
alxdc
post May 14 2012, 04:26 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(cbinn @ May 14 2012, 07:11 AM)
Just try your best to maintain more than 20km/l reading for every driving trip and you should be able to do at least 650km per tank of fuel.

With the reading of the attached image, which is around 22km/l, I am getting around 700km before fuel warning lights come on.

You can get at least 20km/l if mixed driving around 30% traffic jam and 70% smooth crusing around 80 to 100km/l. Frequent stop will lower the km/l reading e.g. a lot of traffic lights or road junction. Heavy aircond  usage greatly reduce autostop and lowers km/l too. My aircond temperature control rarely goes below 25 degrees celcius. I get around 24km/l because I to drive to work much earlier, so  no jam at all and minimal aircond usage.

Anyway, I am happy to get anything above 18km/l, that's my minimal target. Compared to my previous non hybrid which is only around 9km/l, and my previous monthly petrol bill of around RM1200 a month, this car saves me at least RM600 monthly.
Ic. I think I would never get 600km with my everyday traffic jam to work. Driving 70% city with morning jams and only 30% highway. With this journey, I guess this is the best result I can get. 580km. I did managed to get 600 before earlier when I travel out station to north side. I guess I only can see 600km and above when I travel out statiOn.
alxdc
post May 14 2012, 11:37 PM

71 posts

guys, do u use auto climate control?

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 15 2012, 10:50 AM
alxdc
post May 15 2012, 03:35 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(WKA1116 @ May 15 2012, 03:00 PM)
hi bro,
i very interested on hybrid car....n i think i oli can afford Insight....i very concerned about FC...so bro can share some info of Insight?
prius C is cheaper than insight

Prius C RM 97K
Insight RM 99,800
Jazz Hybrid RM 94,800

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 15 2012, 03:35 PM
alxdc
post May 15 2012, 07:46 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(autobeng @ May 15 2012, 03:48 PM)
Yes, I use it all the time or at least most of the time

What temp u set? And when use auto climate, the blower always blows in high speed like 3 to 4 speed.

alxdc
post May 16 2012, 10:13 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(WKA1116 @ May 16 2012, 09:44 AM)
Hi,bro
toyota was cheaper then insight...however...toyota c is too small for me....u know malaysian thinking PLC,(Peng,Len,Jeng)(Cheap,Good,Wonderful)....so far u feel comfort with the ride?
IC. Good choice than. Comfort? Well my wife always falls asleep in the car.

Added on May 16, 2012, 10:13 am
QUOTE(ongdennis @ May 16 2012, 09:51 AM)
after sometime it will slow down when the carbin tempeture is drop. but it depend to what tempeture u set.
for me i normally put at 25, night time normally let it auto but day time will manual adjust it.
Icic thanks

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 16 2012, 10:13 AM
alxdc
post May 16 2012, 12:53 PM

71 posts

PROPOSAL FOR AN OFFICIAL FORUM FOR OUR HONDA HYBRIDS.

I do not have the knowledge to build an official forum.
I would like to suggest, whoever is capable to do this, I think is a good Idea to have an official forum for our honda hybrids to have a official forum. Insight, Jazz Hybrid, Civic Hybrid and CRZ. All in one official Forums. This is a good way to communicates, discussion, trouble shoots and ETC...
Suggestion:

www.hybrids-ima.com.my
www.hondahybrid.com.my

What do you think?

LYN HONDA INSIGHT Owners V5
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2200771

LYN Honda Jazz Hybrid Official Thread V1°°, Naturally Fun Jazzy Hybrid
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2264090

LYN Honda CRZ Hybrid Owners Thread V1 °°, The Hot-Hatch Hybrid
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2094804

Honda Civic Hybrid
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=785115&hl=