alxdc
post Apr 16 2012, 10:16 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Apr 16 2012, 10:10 AM)
I've tried the CVTF reset.

I hate the placebo effect, but somehow the car really going smoother.  doh.gif
the manual CVTF reset from the car multi-screen is only a reminder reset number for the dealer to perform CVT reset with their computer....

alxdc
post Apr 17 2012, 02:15 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ Apr 16 2012, 08:15 PM)
@jtlim98

Same problem for me previously... please ask them check the 20 cent size rubber stopper on the left side corner... this will stop the water from coming inside...
Got pic to show which part is this?
alxdc
post Apr 18 2012, 03:03 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Apr 18 2012, 01:43 PM)

Added on April 18, 2012, 2:17 pmthis is UK spec for Insight offer, soooooo good
http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/insight/_asset...brochure-uk.pdf
love the uk spec with leather steering and gear nob, and seats, day running light and shark fin antenna.

alxdc
post Apr 18 2012, 03:25 PM

71 posts

Anyone can PM me shorty's no? I lost it. Wanna ask him about the side steps
alxdc
post Apr 18 2012, 04:46 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Apr 18 2012, 04:27 PM)
Thank you
alxdc
post Apr 18 2012, 06:32 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Apr 18 2012, 05:57 PM)
hmnn..Honda recommends changing of the CVT gearbox oil every 20-40K periods for normal driving conditions, and 20K intervals for extreme driving conditions. That's why changing it at 20k is actually not mandatory.
i used to own honda city CVT, after experiencing problems, and i was advised to change CVTF every 15k to 20k regardless ur driving style. this is to maintain good health of the sensitive CVT gear box.

here is an article abt insight cvt:-

proper maintenance of the gear-box. Besides the use of CVT-F, it was also highlighted that it is crucial to replace the oil once every 20,000km.

here is the full article
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsight/index.html
alxdc
post Apr 19 2012, 10:48 AM

71 posts

main page
http://asia.vtec.net/

Driving the Insight - First drive impressions from the media drive.
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsightFull/index.html

Doing the Genting-Run with the Insight
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsightFull/genting1.html

A short chat with the Honda Insight Chief Engineer
http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsight/index.html

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 19 2012, 10:48 AM
alxdc
post Apr 19 2012, 01:04 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(autobeng @ Apr 19 2012, 12:27 PM)
Thanks for the info. Just wonder, usually a car will reach 20k in a year. For a low millage car, is it necessary to change CVT oil after a year of driving or wait till the millage reach 20k?
To be on the safe side. Just change the CVTF once every 20k or once a year for the low mileage car.

CVTF cost around RM 120. Is better to pay this once a year or every 20k rather than the gear box give problem then It will cost more if warranty over and more headache.

Well, change regularly if u can.

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 19 2012, 01:07 PM
alxdc
post Apr 19 2012, 11:06 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(PluEitaro @ Apr 19 2012, 10:44 PM)
there's sumthing i dun quite understand...according to asia vtec, our insight has econ, normal and sports mode? whats sports mode?
what he meant was, the gear shift to 'S'.
alxdc
post Apr 20 2012, 11:38 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 20 2012, 11:13 AM)
if planning to do...pls question them y for the same engine same gearbox jazz hybrid is so cheap.
thanks biggrin.gif

40k km maintenance
Jazz hybrid - RM593.19
Insight - RM1,019.01
CRZ - RM459.67

maybe insight got something special inside  hmm.gif
I think insight 40k service cost so much is because of the parts like fuel filter (petrol filter) cost around RM 200 and air con service around RM 200 and jazz hybrid and CRZ 40k service is not included?

Anyway Honda advise to service AirCon every 20k. Do not listen to them. This is bull. U can plan your self which parts to replace earlier or later to cut down on the cost of services. For example, change air filter at 30k, change CVTF at 35k, perform AirCon service at 45k, so during your 40k service it won't cost so much. Just plan and see which is it best solution. Don't follow everything Honda said.
alxdc
post Apr 23 2012, 09:14 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 3 2012, 06:20 PM)
Experiencing very frequent (every 5-10 minutes of normal drive), almost total drainage of battery (1-2 bar left), to charging up the battery (full bars), within 2-3 minutes of normal drive (not downhill). The battery bars are very unstable, can be full bars, then within 10 seconds drop to 2 bar, also from 2 bars, can be charged straight to full within a few minutes, it wouldn't gradually increase/decrease bar after bar, like it used to be.

When battery is below half, the car totally lack of power. Sluggish drive.

Sent it to SC to check it out, they "formatted" and "reinstalled" new/updated OS in it.
Seems to be ok after that. Don't know bout later.. will update biggrin.gif
QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 13 2012, 10:03 PM)
After updating, no problems on IMA battery charging/discharging. All back to normal like first got the car.  rclxms.gif
Acceleration back to normal, and all seems well now, except for a few "sounds" around the driver vanity mirror/toll card holder thing. Prolly will get that replaced.

No idea what version number is it, as I didn't have a chance to sit beside the technician while he was on his laptop inside my car doing the reformatting. But apparently its a "new" version as claimed.
Jerkiness/shudder I encountered, only on low gear/speeds ard 20-35.. doesn't seem smooth, but after 40-50.. all ok. Unless there's a valid explanation for that and have the solution, I guess I could live with tht.
QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 14 2012, 09:40 AM)
Weird. I went to Sumber auto P.J. They do not do software update for my 2011Insight unless there is a instruction from Honda Malaysia to perform the update. They say cannot simply update afraid it may cost problem. So they tested my car and say is ok and certain things like jerkiness or shudder during acceleration is normal for insight. Sigh....so I told them that there are ppl updating their software in other branches. But they still do not want to update as lOng no instruction from Hq they cannot do it.
Since Honda is reluctant to upgrade the new software for me,I found a solution to solve this problem.
FORCE RECHARGE. It was advice to do this once every few weeks and if your car is not in use for more than 10 days. It is best to do this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zowelUHhRJc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GCj8GxaGYw

read the comments in the videos

I did it this morning and on my way to work, everything seems to be working fine. No more battery drainage rapidly and the battery indicator on the multi-display show the battery level constantly stay on 5 and 4 bars,then 4 back to 5 bars and even full bar if down hill charge (assuming 6 bars is full bar). Before force recharge, the battery drop from 5 bar to 1 bar rapidly. The Shudder/jerky feeling I was complaining, it seems that it has been reduced to very mile feeling.

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 23 2012, 09:14 AM
alxdc
post Apr 23 2012, 11:11 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Apr 23 2012, 10:48 PM)
My approach on the front number plate.
[attachmentid=2806684]
Observe carefully the front plate number position.

Since the OE number plate position overlap between lower grill and center bar (or whatever we call that), I've relocate the plate to the lower grill area. It also protect the aircond condenser/radiator from direct stone hit (the lower grill opening quite wide). I remembered somebody here been hit.

There are 3 screw hole after the relocation. Initially plan to cement the hole but in the end settles with 3 caps.
the number plate is blocking the air flow into the aircon condencer and radiator. Not healthy for your car. Your water temp will be higher than normal. Not a good idea. If it is a performance car, the car will be over heated.
alxdc
post Apr 25 2012, 12:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(2piece @ Apr 25 2012, 11:28 AM)
i notice now my IMA battery suddenly drop to empty from full..a lot of recharge during driving now..feel the the car underpower during the recharge...
do i need to reset the IMA at SC..my 20K service already due,plan to do it tis wekend..
I personally don't think is the software problem or reset or update issue. After honda refused to do the reset or update for me (read my previous post), I try looking for answer from the internet and from oversea insight forum and I found the solution. According the the experts from other forum where they have been driving insight since the 1 gen, this happen is because of the IMA battery has deteriorate or having a bad cell. Our car recharge the battery by breaking or downhill drive. But it did not perform a full charge.

It is advisable to perform a full charge on the IMA battery once a month. To do that, perform a FORCE RECHARGE. Check on my previous post. Or Google force recharge honda insight.

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 3 2012, 06:20 PM)
Experiencing very frequent (every 5-10 minutes of normal drive), almost total drainage of battery (1-2 bar left), to charging up the battery (full bars), within 2-3 minutes of normal drive (not downhill). The battery bars are very unstable, can be full bars, then within 10 seconds drop to 2 bar, also from 2 bars, can be charged straight to full within a few minutes, it wouldn't gradually increase/decrease bar after bar, like it used to be.

When battery is below half, the car totally lack of power. Sluggish drive.

Sent it to SC to check it out, they "formatted" and "reinstalled" new/updated OS in it.
Seems to be ok after that. Don't know bout later.. will update biggrin.gif
QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 13 2012, 10:03 PM)
After updating, no problems on IMA battery charging/discharging. All back to normal like first got the car.  rclxms.gif
Acceleration back to normal, and all seems well now, except for a few "sounds" around the driver vanity mirror/toll card holder thing. Prolly will get that replaced.

No idea what version number is it, as I didn't have a chance to sit beside the technician while he was on his laptop inside my car doing the reformatting. But apparently its a "new" version as claimed.
Jerkiness/shudder I encountered, only on low gear/speeds ard 20-35.. doesn't seem smooth, but after 40-50.. all ok. Unless there's a valid explanation for that and have the solution, I guess I could live with tht.
QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 14 2012, 09:40 AM)
Weird. I went to Sumber auto P.J. They do not do software update for my 2011Insight unless there is a instruction from Honda Malaysia to perform the update. They say cannot simply update afraid it may cost problem. So they tested my car and say is ok and certain things like jerkiness or shudder during acceleration is normal for insight. Sigh....so I told them that there are ppl updating their software in other branches. But they still do not want to update as lOng no instruction from Hq they cannot do it.
QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 23 2012, 09:14 AM)
Since Honda is reluctant to upgrade the new software for me,I found a solution to solve this problem.
FORCE RECHARGE. It was advice to do this once every few weeks and if your car is not in use for more than 10 days. It is best to do this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zowelUHhRJc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GCj8GxaGYw

read the comments in the videos

I did it this morning and on my way to work, everything seems to be working fine. No more battery drainage rapidly and the battery indicator on the multi-display show the battery level constantly stay on 5 and 4 bars,then 4 back to 5 bars and even full bar if down hill charge (assuming 6 bars is full bar). Before force recharge, the battery drop from 5 bar to 1 bar rapidly. The Shudder/jerky feeling I was complaining, it seems that it has been reduced to very mile feeling.
alxdc
post Apr 25 2012, 02:27 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(ezu_din @ Apr 25 2012, 01:54 PM)
nice...share if u found out where can get it...btw...my car currently 600km...n manage to get 760km for RM70...is this the best i can get? or will it be better after the first service?
hmm.gif
How do u get that figure? It's very good. What's the speed u travel ? 50km?
alxdc
post Apr 25 2012, 03:15 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(2piece @ Apr 25 2012, 01:16 PM)
Tk bro,..will do d' recharge tis evening n let c how its goes
There is another posibility. Check the 12v battery. Why I ask is because insight does not come with a alternator like a non hybrid car. Alternative charges the 12A battery. As for insight case it uses IMA battery to charge the 12A. If 12A battery is weak, it requires the IMA battery to charge harder and the result cause the IMA to drain fast like what u are facing now.

So check the 12A with DIY with a digital multimeter, or go to a auto service and have it check for u.

Added on April 25, 2012, 4:11 pmfrom other forum

(Nevertheless, to add more to my original post, during the past month i noticed strange IMA battery behaviour. Out of a sudden and while driving, the IMA battery would drop its charge completely and the car would go to constant recharging. At first i attributed it to the strange very low temperatures we have been facing but there was no cure even after the temperature climbed to normal season levels. No IMA light on the dashboard, just constant IMA battery charging.
Went to the dealer to have it checked. Bear in mind that it is the OEM battery that was completely drained but fully recharged by the dealer some weeks back. The diagnostic computer showed very low voltage in multiple car systems so we decided to bin the 12V battery and get it over with. A fresh fully charged 12V battery took its place and i have had no problems since. The IMA behaviour returned to normal, mileage to normal. So it was the empty of charge small battery constantly drinking the IMA battery's blood.
We learnt something here...)

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 25 2012, 04:11 PM
alxdc
post Apr 26 2012, 09:16 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 25 2012, 10:37 PM)
I have been doing the FORCE RECHARGE for the past 1 year, every month I do a full charge. Until just recently in which I've reported, this happened. I've tried doing the force recharge, but it didn't help. Force recharging during this period (when I noticed the problem with the IMA battery), actually took longer to fill up to full than it used to, I did force recharge for nearly 15-18minutes, to be able to get it to full, which normally just takes (5-8 minutes to get it maybe from lvl 3-lvl 6 (full)). One time, it needed 10 minutes of force recharge to get it from lvl 5 to lvl 6 (assuming lvl 6 bar is full bar).

After charging it to full, it only lasts until the battery level drops and it will start to give you problems again. I've tried force recharging it again and again. Until I gave up and went to the SC to make a complaint.

I have no doubt and absolutely sure (from experience) that updating/formating the system did solve the problem. My ride is  still going strong on my IMA meter like how it did when it was new. No sudden drops nor sudden surges in battery meter. I do not know why some SCs do not provide this service, I guess its best that if you have a problem like this, and you want it permanently solved, get to a SC that does the update.
hm...sounds serious. Glad that u managed to rectified the problem. Maybe you should share and list down the name of your dealer, location, and person to contact regarding your software update/format. This would help for those who are having difficulties locating the dealer which willing to do the process.

I remember someone else mention that he or she did the update/format as well in section 13 dealer. Maybe you can share more on this info. It really helps.

Force Recharged works beautiful for my car. I get constantly 4 to 5 bars and at times 3, and back to 4 to 5 bars. No more rapid drop to 1 bar. In fact, I get full bar charged 6bar very often compared to before I did this procedure. Force recharge only takes 3 to 4 minutes to have it full charge. Don't know why yours took longer than that.

Anyway I think is a good idea to do this once a month or once in 2 months. Depend on you which you think is the best for your car. Found out that, Prius, CRZ owners perform this method as well to have a good battery life.

I don't know about other ppl's opinion, but I think it is a good thing to do force recharge to keep a good healthy IMA battery. Beside, batteries need to get full charge to keep it in a good shape.

2piece
have you perform this? share some reviews...

Come on ppl, share your reviews and opinion.....

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 26 2012, 11:04 AM
alxdc
post Apr 27 2012, 12:50 PM

71 posts

[quote=2piece,Apr 27 2012, 12:01 PM]
kind busy these few day..
it seems that force recharge doesn't work for my case and FC drop badly..
oledi setup appointment 2morrow for service&inspction..hopely can settle it..

Added on April 27, 2012, 12:06 pm

Do share more info after u visit your dealer and tell us which sc u went and person to contact and etc

alxdc
post Apr 28 2012, 11:10 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(2piece @ Apr 28 2012, 08:47 PM)
today my IMA meter back to normal behavior even i try to sudden accelerate and try to maximize battery usage..waulewei,i suspect tis car know today i want do the service...  hmm.gif

at the SC, i still make complaint..they said will check the battery
suspect that they just do load test on 12v battery and some test on IMA battery..
coz to them everthing in fine condition..them inform during ride test the battery Asst/recharge ok..
look at the report test,12v battery reading 12.something and others test(i assume IMA)86% recharge state and OK..
I do the Service at HZN and feel that their job below expectation..will go other SC if this prob. reoccur..

anyway my 20K service cost $251.(escape cabin air filter)..if not the cost will boom to $400..
If 12A battery reading 12.4, the battery is 70% charged and if it is 12.3 and below at engine not running, its a bad battery. Get it recharge or better get a new battery. New battery reading 12.6 to 12.7

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 28 2012, 11:13 PM
alxdc
post Apr 30 2012, 11:39 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Apr 30 2012, 10:46 PM)
How old was your car when you noticed this? In addition, what was your odometer reading?
If u are referring to my post that i posted the statemnt from other forum. What happen was she forgot to switch off the car map lights both left and right and the middle interior light for whole night. The next mornin her car 12v and ima battery was completely flat. Could not even start the car and nothing is working. So she took the 12V bat to recharge. Once recharged she managed to start the car and the ima start charging. Ever since this happen her ima was acting weird like ima battery drop really fast compares to normal. Then later found out that is the 12V battery is in bad shape that causes the ima keep charging the 12V battery. So once she change to a brand new 12V. Everything works fine.

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 1 2012, 11:16 PM
alxdc
post May 3 2012, 09:48 AM

71 posts

Hi.
to all insight onwer. 2011 and 2012. Just want to find out. Does your car ima battery bar drop to 2 or 1 bar and it start charging with no assist when ever you drive up to a slope or a hill?

This post has been edited by alxdc: May 3 2012, 09:49 AM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:33 PM