°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V5 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

mrsafwan
post Feb 12 2012, 03:58 PM

when receiving your new car, does your SA make a copy of the car registration and put it in the black document holder?

did your SA also, photocopied the Cobra pin number on top of the registration card copy?

mine did.

its kinda dangerous to leave the PIN around, anybody can disarm the car if they found out about the "PIN in the glovebox"
Ram46
post Feb 12 2012, 04:51 PM

Hi guyz, im new to this forum, read the previous threads. Must say lots of info. Anyway im looking for sum acc, like the door side step n visors. Any idea where to get them. Im frm klang, bt working in pahang
chizzu
post Feb 12 2012, 08:09 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

you can PM Sh@rty for more info on the side step and visors if you are from klang. His shop is at Jalan Meru just opposite the primary school smile.gif

I still cant get the beep sound working sad.gif probably stuck at enter the pin as the indictor light doesnt flash.
jtlim98
post Feb 12 2012, 09:09 PM

32 posts

Try many many time...buzzer not working for my insight... cry.gif
gadgets2us
post Feb 12 2012, 09:53 PM

44 posts

Glad info I got from the net outa pure luck, was useful for you guys biggrin.gif

For those who still can't get it to work, I'm offering to do it for you free if you come over to my area in Kepong/Segambut/Bdr Menjalara.

or if you need more detailed instructions hands on, or a mini TT session biggrin.gif Just pm me biggrin.gif

watonk
post Feb 12 2012, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 9 2012, 09:22 AM)
I'm using stock and add a under seat woofer so far so good for personal enjoyment smile.gif
The oem audio system is lacking of BASS, especially playing from USB. Active subwoofer is adequate for some ears.

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Feb 10 2012, 01:47 PM)
but u pay more in servicing every 5k km. in the end, the maintenance costs more than the petrol saved. not to mention about the time spent doing 5k km service.

if honda practice the 10k km interval, then it'll be much more economical and consumer friendly

i dont have insight, almost bought one, until i looked at the maintenance schedule.
The total maintenance cost for Insight in 5 years is about rm7-8K (after considering discounts etc). Yes Honda Malaysia is taking advantage. The only factors making me buy this car last time is, with normal tax structure it cost rm142K.
I guess you share similar reason for getting inspira, only the badge (and some parts) localize thats all tongue.gif .

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Feb 11 2012, 03:26 PM)
Just realized that our alarm system has the beeping/buzzer function to signal arming and disarming alarm. Did some research and managed to successfully program mine with the buzzer function smile.gif

HM purposely deactivated the function, not sure why, and SCs reluctant to activate it for me. Asked me to go to Cobra, to get it activated and they do not want to be involved if anything wrong were to happen. Went to Cobra Tmn Tun, but the technician forgot to asked me to bring the PIN number for the alarm, which is needed to program. So went back and did some research, got this dealer's manual and DIY it and it was successful.

Something to share with you guys
Directions to program our Cobra Bridge 4400 system:
http://www.m-sjoberg-ab.se/pdf/Manual/4400...l_06DE2399B.pdf

Take note : Pg 25 : List of Programmable Functions,
Pg: 28 : How to Program , Pg 29 : Functions Tables.

For those who are lazy to read, here are brief instructions to do it.
1) Disarm your car

2) open driver's door,

3) Click open your bonnet,

4) put in your key switch it to ON, wait 15 seconds,

5) Tricky Part: KEY IN PIN Number @ the control panel button next to your ignition switch (Cobra PIN provided by HM when they handed over the keys to you), On how to key in Pin, please refer to the PIN Card behind. IF SUCCESSFUL, you can see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink once. Else if you do not see it, take out key and wait 5-10 seconds before repeating Part 4.

6) Once you see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink, press the control panel button and hold it (Approx 3 Seconds) till you hear a BEEEEEP continuously. (ok now its activated). You can let go now.

7) To adjust the volume of the Buzzer function, press the control panel button again to adjust from volume 0 - volume 7 (being the loudest). Press once to upgrade from volume 1 to 2, press once again to 2-3 and so forth, once volume has reached volume 7, the next press would be silent, meaning its volume 0. Adjust to liking.

8) After adjusting, remove key. close door, close bonnet.

9) Test your alarm now.... ! biggrin.gif

I'm loving the buzzing function now, too bad our alarm does not have the auto lock function, else it definitely would be programable. Not too sure about the volumetric sensors too. According to Cobra technician, our exact alarm model is Cobra 4465 (not too sure if its the right model tho), perhaps do more research and see what can be done from there.

Here is the brochure for our alarm and its functions: Cobra Bridge 4400 Brochure

Technically, if HM is complaining bout warranty of the alarm if they hear the sound, we can just switch it off anytime we want when we send it to service or if we want to get something replaced.
Beep beep rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
bafukie
post Feb 12 2012, 11:56 PM

1,406 posts

For those who tried and still unsuccessful, here are a few tips.

1. Get down from ur car, lock and then unlock ur car. Sound won't be activated if u are driving and then u turn off everything. Need to Lock and then Unlock.

2. Punching in ur alarm code. Press first number (confirm by watching the red light comes on) say first number is 3, please make sure that the red light comes on each time u punch ie 3 blinking light. Then wait for light to blink before punching second number.
ongdennis
post Feb 13 2012, 12:33 AM

762 posts

another tip to try, make sure ur pin number is correct and never change before.
to test it out, arm ur alarm and open ur door with the key. then now is turn to key in ur pin number that attach to ur spare key.

if correct pin entered, the alarm will stop. this also a good change for u to test the timing smile.gif but of cos noisy la...

i believe la...after turn the ignition ON (key position at II), u must wait 15sec or more before start to key in the pin numbers. take a stop watch with u smile.gif

Added on February 13, 2012, 12:38 amI am now very interest to enable the "Activation of automatic system arming" feature. from the description it mean that
"This function enables the automatic arming of the system after the engine has been switched off and the door on the driver's side has been opened and closed within 30sec"

what we currently have now is when we disarm the car and never open any door, the alarm will auto lock back the car after certain of time.

what i worry is that chances the car key will be lock inside will be getting higher...

This post has been edited by ongdennis: Feb 13 2012, 12:38 AM
watonk
post Feb 13 2012, 09:01 AM

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Feb 13 2012, 12:33 AM)
another tip to try, make sure ur pin number is correct and never change before.
to test it out, arm ur alarm and open ur door with the key. then now is turn to key in ur pin number that attach to ur spare key.

if correct pin entered, the alarm will stop. this also a good change for u to test the timing smile.gif but of cos noisy la...

i believe la...after turn the ignition ON (key position at II), u must wait 15sec or more before start to key in the pin numbers. take a stop watch with u smile.gif

Added on February 13, 2012, 12:38 amI am now very interest to enable the "Activation of automatic system arming" feature. from the description it mean that
"This function enables the automatic arming of the system after the engine has been switched off and the door on the driver's side has been opened and closed within 30sec"

what we currently have now is when we disarm the car and never open any door, the alarm will auto lock back the car after certain of time.

what i worry is that chances the car key will be lock inside will be getting higher...
Should be ok since the auto arming happens when the engine is switched off and driver door has been opened. U can also test whether the auto arm still engages if the key is still in the slot. Insight have sensor for key e.g beeping if u open the door while leaving the key in slot. Keep your window open while testing this or u might want to keep your spare key around.

I have a bad experience last time, with my old car, when my car keys were still inside and engine running, the alarm suddenly autolock. doh.gif

ongdennis
post Feb 13 2012, 09:11 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Feb 13 2012, 09:01 AM)
Should be ok since the auto arming happens when the engine is switched off and driver door has been opened. U can also test whether the auto arm still engages if the key is still in the slot. Insight have sensor for key e.g beeping if u open the door while leaving the key in slot. Keep your window open while testing this or u might want to keep your spare key around.

I have a bad experience last time, with my old car, when my car keys were still inside and engine running, the alarm suddenly autolock.  doh.gif
i also has that bad experience >.<
that time the wireman was debuging some wiring at the engine bay there. then we start the car n close the door...
joshuawong
post Feb 13 2012, 09:13 AM

310 posts

My car now got beep beep sound! Woots! Thanks @gadgets2us
watonk
post Feb 13 2012, 09:32 AM

I got some query in fuelly on how can i achieve average 19km/l.

This is my reply.

My aircond always set at 28degree. The most 26degree in the afternoon.

I always maximize my momentum by extending the charging period before stops. Abrupt stops is waste of energy.

My daily journey is on normal state road (not highway) so i can keep my speed nicely between 70-90km/h. Those were the most economical speed for Insight.

I've tried maintaining 160km/h, fuel economy drops to around 16-17km/l only.

I always make sure my average per tank hits >19km/l before fuel up. I always refuel @ indicator blink. Yeah sometimes i only get ard 18km/l only. Sometimes i purposely drive out to improve the reading, while buying burgers or something. U will notice that if u maintain speed @ 70km/h for some 5km or so, the reading will shoot up to 20+km/l for current journey. I always prevent too short journey and prefer longer route to get better mileage record.

I limit engine warmup every morning by shifting to S or L after start the engine for a few seconds and let the car crawl. Once the C (cold) indicator lights off, i resume driving normally. I notice lengthy warm up in the morning badly affect the FC.

I never/very, very seldom let the engine on while stationary e.g, stop by burger stall, go to atm machine etc.

iTrump
post Feb 13 2012, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(watonk @ Feb 13 2012, 09:32 AM)
I got some query in fuelly on how can i achieve average 19km/l.

This is my reply.

My aircond always set at 28degree. The most 26degree in the afternoon.

I always maximize my momentum by extending the charging period before stops. Abrupt stops is waste of energy.

My daily journey is on normal state road (not highway) so i can keep my speed nicely between 70-90km/h. Those were the most economical speed for Insight.

I've tried maintaining 160km/h, fuel economy drops to around 16-17km/l only.

I always make sure my average per tank hits >19km/l before fuel up. I always refuel @ indicator blink. Yeah sometimes i only get ard 18km/l only. Sometimes i purposely drive out to improve the reading, while buying burgers or something. U will notice that if u maintain speed @ 70km/h for some 5km or so, the reading will shoot up to 20+km/l for current journey. I always prevent too short journey and prefer longer route to get better mileage record.

I limit engine warmup every morning by shifting to S or L after start the engine for a few seconds and let the car crawl. Once the C (cold) indicator lights off, i resume driving normally. I notice lengthy warm up in the morning badly affect the FC.

I never/very, very seldom let the engine on while stationary e.g, stop by burger stall, go to atm machine etc.
yar.. letting the engine run with a/c while you waiting on the car kill the FC a lot.. I always try to off while waiting but sometimes kena scolding from wife!
ongdennis
post Feb 13 2012, 11:14 AM

762 posts

kah motor call and remind me to go service end of this month.
what should i do? go on time or wait another 2k km to go?
chris_tco
post Feb 13 2012, 11:36 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Feb 11 2012, 03:26 PM)
Just realized that our alarm system has the beeping/buzzer function to signal arming and disarming alarm. Did some research and managed to successfully program mine with the buzzer function smile.gif

HM purposely deactivated the function, not sure why, and SCs reluctant to activate it for me. Asked me to go to Cobra, to get it activated and they do not want to be involved if anything wrong were to happen. Went to Cobra Tmn Tun, but the technician forgot to asked me to bring the PIN number for the alarm, which is needed to program. So went back and did some research, got this dealer's manual and DIY it and it was successful.

Something to share with you guys
Directions to program our Cobra Bridge 4400 system:
http://www.m-sjoberg-ab.se/pdf/Manual/4400...l_06DE2399B.pdf

Take note : Pg 25 : List of Programmable Functions,
Pg: 28 : How to Program , Pg 29 : Functions Tables.

For those who are lazy to read, here are brief instructions to do it.
1) Disarm your car

2) open driver's door,

3) Click open your bonnet,

4) put in your key switch it to ON, wait 15 seconds,

5) Tricky Part: KEY IN PIN Number @ the control panel button next to your ignition switch (Cobra PIN provided by HM when they handed over the keys to you), On how to key in Pin, please refer to the PIN Card behind. IF SUCCESSFUL, you can see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink once. Else if you do not see it, take out key and wait 5-10 seconds before repeating Part 4.

6) Once you see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink, press the control panel button and hold it (Approx 3 Seconds) till you hear a BEEEEEP continuously. (ok now its activated). You can let go now.

7) To adjust the volume of the Buzzer function, press the control panel button again to adjust from volume 0 - volume 7 (being the loudest). Press once to upgrade from volume 1 to 2, press once again to 2-3 and so forth, once volume has reached volume 7, the next press would be silent, meaning its volume 0. Adjust to liking.

8) After adjusting, remove key. close door, close bonnet.

9) Test your alarm now.... ! biggrin.gif

I'm loving the buzzing function now, too bad our alarm does not have the auto lock function, else it definitely would be programable. Not too sure about the volumetric sensors too. According to Cobra technician, our exact alarm model is Cobra 4465 (not too sure if its the right model tho), perhaps do more research and see what can be done from there.

Here is the brochure for our alarm and its functions: Cobra Bridge 4400 Brochure

Technically, if HM is complaining bout warranty of the alarm if they hear the sound, we can just switch it off anytime we want when we send it to service or if we want to get something replaced.
thanks, bro. I'll try tonight smile.gif
super8
post Feb 13 2012, 07:07 PM

Hi gadget2us, I had tried many time but still fail.
Question :
1) which key u used to switch ON (spare key or remote control key)?
2) after successful key in the last digit pin code, what indicator light on the LED?
ongdennis
post Feb 13 2012, 07:25 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(super8 @ Feb 13 2012, 07:07 PM)
Hi gadget2us, I had tried many time but still fail.
Question :
1) which key u used to switch ON (spare key or remote control key)?
2) after successful key in the last digit pin code, what indicator light on the LED?
1. Either keys should work.I use the remote control key.
2. The car signal will blink one time (so call indicator light also)
alxdc
post Feb 13 2012, 09:10 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Feb 13 2012, 07:25 PM)
1. Either keys should work.I use the remote control key.
2. The car signal will blink one time (so call indicator light also)
I can't also. Switch on mean turn the ignition once or twice?

Added on February 13, 2012, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(alxdc @ Feb 13 2012, 09:10 PM)
I did till step 5. Nothing happen. ????

This post has been edited by alxdc: Feb 13 2012, 09:20 PM
gadgets2us
post Feb 13 2012, 09:58 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Feb 13 2012, 09:10 PM)

Added on February 13, 2012, 9:20 pm
I did till step 5. Nothing happen. ????
Switch ON means, till you can see all the lights on your dashboard, (yunno, the usual engine check, srs, oil check, etc etc).

If you did step 5, and didn't see BOTH your indicator/signal lights light up, then you've entered your PIN wrongly/or didn't pressed correctly on the digits.
Trick to do it is to do it with the flow, have a right tempo. Between digits, try not to hesitate on the number of clicks u need to do.

if the number is 4, u MUST see the control panel red light 4x while u pressing it (IF you didn't see 4x red light while pressing, reset it (by going back to step 4) and do again).
then pause to wait for a 1 second red light (that shows that the system has identified the digit),
then immediately go for the second digit. do the same , wait for the 1 second red light, then immediately go to the next digit.

hata_yie
post Feb 13 2012, 10:03 PM

273 posts

sangat nak tau. warranty battery 5 tahun kan. kalau battery rosak ke after 5 tahun. macam mane? ganti free ke? brapa harga dia? - nak tau sgt sbb sy pencinta alam sekitar. hehe

125 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:14 AM