Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only
Irbean
Jan 25 2012, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 25 2012, 10:15 AM) seem like fifty nifty way stronger! dropped mine from table also because kids... still strong till now my frens also dropped 18105 from a eye level high tripod due to kids also. just HB45 crack else still work like charm u cant compare +- 200g lens with +-1kg lens. The drop impact for sure different. Same goes to thin guy vs fat guy, throw them both to the sea, and see the impact. how the surrounding waves like.
Isepunye
Jan 25 2012, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:29 AM) u cant compare +- 200g lens with +-1kg lens. The drop impact for sure different. Same goes to thin guy vs fat guy, throw them both to the sea, and see the impact. how the surrounding waves like.  eye level tall on tripod plus sb900 + d90 + md8? can u imagine on tripod falling down in front and for sure lens hit the floor first! luckily only HB45 gone not the glass! the wave? every1 waving for new lens. sound really like hammer knocking on the floor! Added on January 25, 2012, 5:50 pmany1 interested in 1870? letting go mine! reason for sale hardly used! no fungus or scratch on lens. never felt down as long as i used. bought 2nd This post has been edited by Isepunye: Jan 25 2012, 05:50 PM
Irbean
Jan 25 2012, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 25 2012, 04:56 PM) eye level tall on tripod plus sb900 + d90 + md8? can u imagine on tripod falling down in front and for sure lens hit the floor first! luckily only HB45 gone not the glass! the wave? every1 waving for new lens. sound really like hammer knocking on the floor! Added on January 25, 2012, 5:50 pmany1 interested in 1870? letting go mine! reason for sale hardly used! no fungus or scratch on lens. never felt down as long as i used. bought 2nd what can i say..u are one damn lucky man didnt get much damage on your lens with that incident..
Everdying
Jan 25 2012, 07:53 PM
Two is One and One is None.
aiyah, depends how it lands. i see D700 + 70-200 VR2 fall down with monopod also just lens hood crack.
MrAkay
Jan 25 2012, 08:10 PM
iv never seen camera equipment fall and frankly i dont want to. i think my heart drop if my body+lens jatuh..
tctham
Jan 25 2012, 08:11 PM
the moment when it's falling and you try to save it.. and you made things worse by accidentally smacking and accelerate it's fall.. or redirected it to elsewhere which is more damaging..  thank goodness those only happened to my phone.. not the camera.. *touch wood* nowadays if i drop things, i will let it land on my feet.. (provided that it's not heavy enough to break a toe or anything that i'd miss later) cause i reckon my feet is softer than the floor.. then when it actually hit the floor, it wasn't direct fall from its original height but slight rebounded from my feet.. not sure if this logic works or i'm just cheating myself.. hahaha~
gnome
Jan 25 2012, 08:13 PM
Had a small incident with my camera+lens at sepang during MSS Round 4. Luckily nothing serious, just a scratch lens hood
celciuz
Jan 25 2012, 09:38 PM
I experienced that before, my camera + lens dropped from my shoulder.
Hood cracked and the filter frame dented a little but still can use, but lens looks perfectly fine. No scratches or any sign of damage. Best of all its working like nothing happened. My camera kena a few scratches though on the pop up flash area (battle scars!) :S.
pziv2
Jan 25 2012, 09:48 PM
my camera dropped onto the pavement and survived after my bicycle went into a ditch too deep.
Isepunye
Jan 25 2012, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 06:22 PM) what can i say..u are one damn lucky man didnt get much damage on your lens with that incident.. not mine la bro. frens of mine. mine only fifty nifty only without any other thing
MrAkay
Jan 25 2012, 11:01 PM
once i tripped and stepped on my camera strap, which got tangled at my flash'es hotshoe. it slammed to the ground... a 4 inch hole tore open below popup flash area.. amazingly the hotshoe + flash was still perfect. d90's are amazing haha sent to nikon and it came back like brand new. repair cost sakit abit though
This post has been edited by MrAkay: Jan 25 2012, 11:02 PM
Irbean
Jan 25 2012, 11:23 PM

just back from Lowyat Plaza.. a friend of mine urgently need to purchased SB700..quite shocked coz Lowyat full with B+W filter now..coz remember previously its hard to fine any..and when take a closer look, yeah its damn FAKE!!!! It doesnt have hologram sign and the package seems kinda funny. Guess what, the seller quote RM350 for 72mm filter. *the intention of this message is to alert all forumer out there..
tctham
Jan 25 2012, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:23 PM) just back from Lowyat Plaza.. a friend of mine urgently need to purchased SB700..quite shocked coz Lowyat full with B+W filter now..coz remember previously its hard to fine any..and when take a closer look, yeah its damn FAKE!!!! It doesnt have hologram sign and the package seems kinda funny. Guess what, the seller quote RM350 for 72mm filter. *the intention of this message is to alert all forumer out there.. how to differentiate the filter genuine or not ar?
Irbean
Jan 25 2012, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 26 2012, 12:30 AM) how to differentiate the filter genuine or not ar? the easiest way is the hologram at the box, fake one didnt have it.
tctham
Jan 25 2012, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:36 PM) the easiest way is the hologram at the box, fake one didnt have it. kewl.. didn't know about that.. hehe.. thanks a lot.
chiahau
Jan 26 2012, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:23 PM) just back from Lowyat Plaza.. a friend of mine urgently need to purchased SB700..quite shocked coz Lowyat full with B+W filter now..coz remember previously its hard to fine any..and when take a closer look, yeah its damn FAKE!!!! It doesnt have hologram sign and the package seems kinda funny. Guess what, the seller quote RM350 for 72mm filter. *the intention of this message is to alert all forumer out there.. Frankly, since Schneider opens an outlet here, fake B+W is increasing dramatically.. They (The sellers) claimed that local B+W does not have the hologram like the imported ones.. So, be extra careful with such products nowadays. This post has been edited by chiahau: Jan 26 2012, 12:56 AM
celciuz
Jan 26 2012, 03:35 AM
Deng, this one le? B+W XS-Pro MRC Nano 67mm UV by CY Pixels, on Flickr How to see ah o_O nowadays got fake B+W? ._.
Irbean
Jan 26 2012, 06:30 AM

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 26 2012, 04:35 AM) Deng, this one le? B+W XS-Pro MRC Nano 67mm UV by CY Pixels, on Flickr How to see ah o_O nowadays got fake B+W? ._. dont worry, the nano version so far doesnt have fake one, yet. the fake i saw is the old packaging one.
TS0168257061
Jan 26 2012, 10:06 AM
I guess regular B+W user should know the weight and the glass transmission, if it was ciplak one can directly tell
Irbean
Jan 26 2012, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 26 2012, 11:06 AM) I guess regular B+W user should know the weight and the glass transmission, if it was ciplak one can directly tell  yup, even when u see the box itself, u can already doubt the genuinity of the filter, without open the box and feel the weight as well as the glass..