Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

Irbean
post Jan 24 2012, 08:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hapeace @ Jan 24 2012, 08:27 PM)
hi.  i think im going to buy nikkor 2470 2.8 in few days...  but just curious..  when the new model come out?  maybe vrII?

just like 70200.. after vr..  come vrII then vrIII then vrIV..  bla bla bla
recent 2470 doesn't even have VR. Nevertheless, it works just fine if u know how to match the focal length with your shutter speed

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 24 2012, 09:10 PM)
be careful with the old batch of 2470, they have serious zoom ring issue. Repair needs at least rm2k.
I heard they fix this issue on newer batch.
don't get 2nd hand unit if i were you.
yup do some homework before purchased the lens. just google or check in youtube.
TS0168257061
post Jan 24 2012, 09:03 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

talking about 24-70N
I have a friend, his friend dropped his 24-70 w/ D300s from typical dinner table, terus his 24-70 lens barrel cracked,

nikon quoted him rm3k for whole new lens, serial no. is diffrent from his previous lens. the f***ed part for him is, his friend refused to pay the repair charges, not even a dollar.
seather
post Jan 24 2012, 09:19 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 24 2012, 08:59 PM)
recent 2470 doesn't even have VR. Nevertheless, it works just fine if u know how to match the focal length with your shutter speed
yup do some homework before purchased the lens. just google or check in youtube.
hmm... i can hear some grinding sound around 50mm... still under warranty i better get it checked... shocking.gif

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 09:03 PM)
talking about 24-70N
I have a friend, his friend dropped his 24-70 w/ D300s from typical dinner table, terus his 24-70 lens barrel cracked,

nikon quoted him rm3k for whole new lens, serial no. is diffrent from his previous lens. the f***ed part for him is, his friend refused to pay the repair charges, not even a dollar.
maybe his fren dunno the true price of the lens... tot it will be 2~3K like those entry level packages being advertised everywhere...

usually after i tell my frens about the price of my lens... they will not even dare touch it with a 10 foot pole tongue.gif
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 09:25 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 05:02 PM)
Canon 5D X ? sounds nice  brows.gif 
if so, canon has been naming their product with X  quite often
the unfill warranty card tricks works even now right ?
unlike canon its a bit hard to do..
http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Nikon-DS...-cat_nikon.html

unless you really want the spilt focusing screen,
if not changing it wouldn't help much imo  smile.gif
QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 24 2012, 07:05 PM)
no problem as u can depends on the dot
haha.. cuz the focus confirmation dot lights up and the electronic rangefinder says the subject is in focus, but when i shift the focus (by a bit), it still stays in the same condition.. in other words, there is a slight free play or region of "in-focus" instead of dead on.. not sure if i described properly.. was thinking that if got the split screen it would be slight easier to get the correct focus.. but then my dilemma is the cost + support from nikon if i change the focus screen might be void? + i will lose the other focus dots guide when i not using the middle focus.. the other focus dots would still work, but now i dun have a "pointer" for me to point at.. unless i keep tapping the lights.. haha~ my issue is with the 85mm f/1.4 at wide open.. i guess i'll just have to practice more until it's a second nature to me.. hehe.. thanks for the opinions. smile.gif
TS0168257061
post Jan 24 2012, 10:25 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Err wait, what camera are you using ?
the 85/1.4 fail you in AF ?

Calvin Seak
post Jan 24 2012, 10:53 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Before Cny I got the 70-200 vrII! It's much longer than the sigma version and finding difficulty keeping it inside my bag lol!

Does the 70-200 have a soft lens cover??
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 11:01 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:25 PM)
Err wait,  what camera are you using ?
the 85/1.4 fail you in AF ?
samyang 85/1.4 is full manual lens.. nikkor af-s wun fail me de.. but i cannot afford.. keke~

edit: read wrong.. i using D5100 and pair with the samyang, it's a full manual focus.. no AF..

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 24 2012, 11:01 PM
TS0168257061
post Jan 24 2012, 11:06 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 24 2012, 11:01 PM)
samyang 85/1.4 is full manual lens.. nikkor af-s wun fail me de.. but i cannot afford.. keke~

edit: read wrong.. i using D5100 and pair with the samyang, it's a full manual focus.. no AF..
Now i know you using Samyang,
and on D5100 lol, must be hard haha
ever tried in D300 or D700 those ? awesome, you can see the indicator tells you where to turn during mfing tongue.gif

Irbean
post Jan 24 2012, 11:08 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jan 24 2012, 11:53 PM)
Before Cny I got the 70-200 vrII! It's much longer than the sigma version and finding difficulty keeping it inside my bag lol!

Does the 70-200 have a soft lens cover??
the lens itself supposed comes with the pouch rite? or u mean neoprene kinda pouch?
sakurakinomoto
post Jan 24 2012, 11:18 PM

This was a triumph.
1,164 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 24 2012, 08:10 PM)
be careful with the old batch of 2470, they have serious zoom ring issue. Repair needs at least rm2k.
I heard they fix this issue on newer batch.
don't get 2nd hand unit if i were you.
Wait what? I am pretty sure this 2470 that I have here is gotten together with the D3 when it is first launched. So far no problem.
Calvin Seak
post Jan 24 2012, 11:21 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 24 2012, 11:08 PM)
the lens itself supposed comes with the pouch rite? or u mean neoprene kinda pouch?
Yea the neoprene type, like to keep my lenses in it, I was wondering can the lens pouch can be used on think tanks modular belt? Haha can safe some money no need to buy an extra pouch
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 11:49 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 11:06 PM)
Now i know you using Samyang,
and on D5100 lol, must be hard haha
ever tried in D300 or D700 those ? awesome, you can see the indicator tells you where to turn during mfing  tongue.gif
haha.. small viewfinder.. i found out the hard way that it is impossible to focus without looking at the confirmation dot..

i no try it on any other camera yet except D70s.. haha~ that's agito's camera.. smile.gif

yea.. it does tell me when to turn.. but when the confirmation light lit up and the "electronic rangefinder" says it is in focus.. i can still move the focus ring back and forth like 1-2mm and the focus confirmation + "e-RangeFinder" still says it's in focus.. thus the picture turns out to be hit/miss case.. even stopping down to f/2.8 i still encounter that issue.. not sure it's an issue with my mind/eyes/fingers.. hahaha but that samyang lens is gorgeous.. loving it. smile.gif

spam another shot of my cat.. keke

tried taking the star picture.. but there's way too much clouds.. sad.gif at least i find out that i cannot use up to 30 secs for night sky shots.. i end up with star trails instead.. hahaha~ failed attempt.. guess I'll open the lens wider and or bump the ISO.. i heard that opening the shutter for long periods may cause dead/hot pixels.. sad.gif is that true?

edit: spam another inanimate object.. do c&c.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 24 2012, 11:56 PM
TS0168257061
post Jan 25 2012, 12:05 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Are you using middle focus point to let it work ?

I guess this is the limit of electronic rangefinder mechanism,
it isn't as precise and sensitive,

I've tried D3 with 50 f/1.4 AI too, seems like the cpu is hard to determine on very small detail. Esp there are two little things contain in 1 of the 51 boxes.
tctham
post Jan 25 2012, 12:13 AM

653 posts

yea.. using middle focus point.. i even avoid focus & recompose to make sure.. i also tested using tripod and remote release.. just to be sure..

tested that there is a slight free-play with the confirmation dot..

if focus with live view on max magnification, then things improves ALOT.. but that's for static objects like that orchid.. for quick moments, i still have to rely on viewfinder..

i got a few more pictures, but i haven't really gone through them yet.. usually i just fire extra.. just in case.. focus, fire, re-focus.. then fire and repeat for about 3 times.. just in case
QiAnG
post Jan 25 2012, 12:48 AM

545 posts

Hello hello. I'm planning to upgrade into a Dslr and have currently a used d80 + 50 1.8 or new d3100 in mind as my budget is around 1.6k.

So wanna have an advice here from all sifu that is the larger pentaprism virwfinder, autofocus motor, dual dial of d80 worth it over the lack of live view and cmos sensor of the d3100?

I'm planning to venture more into high magnification macro photography. Thanks all!
gnome
post Jan 25 2012, 01:08 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Sepam old pics since got too many wall of text now tongue.gif

Somewhere over terengganu if not mistaken hmm.gif
sukhoi37
post Jan 25 2012, 01:26 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Jan 25 2012, 01:20 AM)
Anyone here using 24mm F1.4G?
me, what can I help you?
Calvin Seak
post Jan 25 2012, 03:21 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 25 2012, 01:26 AM)
me, what can I help you?
Post some pics with your 24mm 1.4G wink.gif Would love to see them!
Isepunye
post Jan 25 2012, 09:15 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 09:03 PM)
talking about 24-70N

seem like fifty nifty way stronger! dropped mine from table also because kids... still strong till now my frens also dropped 18105 from a eye level high tripod due to kids also. just HB45 crack else still work like charm

sukhoi37
post Jan 25 2012, 09:52 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Jan 25 2012, 01:58 AM)
How do you find it compared to 35mm F1.4G?
I got no experience with 35f1.4 before, so no comment haha.
you should ask celsiuz, he just bought a 35f1.4.

you can go to my flickr or Facebook : Teo Soonhaur for more samples smile.gif
and also my portfolio site http://maplewindphotography.wordpress.com/

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:37 AM