SMS Alert - You're Not In Control, Report here your SMS Alert
hye
Feb 26 2012, 07:20 AM
White Tiger
One thing I noticed for MBB SMS notifications is that you need to ensure that your mobile is switched on to receive the SMS when the SMS is sent out.
If your mobile is not switched on when the SMS is sent out - you won't get the SMS nor will there be a resend of the SMS notification. There's still some small probability of you not receiving / missing the SMS notifications for your transactions - it happened to me once or twice but generally I do received the notifications. When I did not receive the SMS, in actual fact my mobile was switched on thus I can't detect the reasons for the SMS not being received as it should be.
This post has been edited by hye: Feb 26 2012, 03:14 PM
ronnie
Feb 26 2012, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 26 2012, 01:30 AM) you have set the minimum default account right? so how do you notice this Certain transactions didn't come with SMS.... which was strange.
Human Nature
Feb 26 2012, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 26 2012, 09:16 AM) Certain transactions didn't come with SMS.... which was strange. I am happy to report that all my tranx (online and F2F) receive SMS from OCBC since I set the min amount. I received double SMS when i used TMOnline portal this morning, but OCBC online banking shows the correct amount so am not concern.
unknowmaster
Feb 27 2012, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(hye @ Feb 26 2012, 07:20 AM) One thing I noticed for MBB SMS notifications is that you need to ensure that your mobile is switched on to receive the SMS when the SMS is sent out. If your mobile is not switched on when the SMS is sent out - you won't get the SMS nor will there be a resend of the SMS notification. There's still some small probability of you not receiving / missing the SMS notifications for your transactions - it happened to me once or twice but generally I do received the notifications. When I did not receive the SMS, in actual fact my mobile was switched on thus I can't detect the reasons for the SMS not being received as it should be. Not true. I off my phone when I go singapore. When I swipe and come back from there I receive the sms of my transaction for the day.
cenkudu
Feb 28 2012, 04:45 PM
I got email from maybank that the minimum threshold is RM 1 and this is different with some other forumers who reported can be set as low as RM 0.01
alexwsk
Feb 28 2012, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(cenkudu @ Feb 28 2012, 04:45 PM) I got email from maybank that the minimum threshold is RM 1 and this is different with some other forumers who reported can be set as low as RM 0.01 does it really matter if it's RM1 or RM0.01
ronnie
Feb 29 2012, 09:51 AM
WARNING !!! Don't swipe below RM1 for Maybankard as you get 0 TreatsPoints
Human Nature
Feb 29 2012, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 29 2012, 09:51 AM) WARNING !!! Don't swipe below RM1 for Maybankard as you get 0 TreatsPoints OT: i think they sum up the monthly amount and grant the TP per each ringgit.
cute_boboi
Feb 29 2012, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 29 2012, 09:57 AM) OT: i think they sum up the monthly amount and grant the TP per each ringgit. No. It is calculated per transaction into two separate TP. 1x TP 4x TP
SUSDavid83
Feb 29 2012, 01:09 PM
Received SMS alert for Auto Debit with MBB2 Visa:
RM0.00 MBB: TQ for using your Maybankard ending XXXX for MYRXX.XX at GREATEASTERNXXXXXXXXXX\\M; DATE; TIME. For inq call num at back of your card.
The 10 Xs after GREATEASTERN is the policy number.
tifosi
Feb 29 2012, 01:37 PM
So far I sent an email to Maybank and got a reply acknowledging my request for changing my threshold since 1 week ago but yet to have the threshold activated. My acknowledgement from Maybank. QUOTE Dear Mr XXX
Thank you for your e-mail.
We acknowledge receipt of your email. We shall forward your request to the respective unit for processing.
Should we be of any further assistance to you, do feel free to contact our Customer Service Executives at 1-300-88-6688 or 03-7844 3696 (overseas) and fax to 03-79538600 or e-mail to mbbcardservices@maybank.com.my.
Thank you. My OCBC meanwhile is activated. I top-ed RM 10 for my Hotlink and they sent me a confirmation SMS.
ronnie
Feb 29 2012, 03:17 PM
Got OCBC SMS for RM20+ swipe at Giant last night
TSGen-X
Feb 29 2012, 04:24 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
I was on the line with Alliance CS and there is a default value of RM500 for Face to Face transaction. I aksed can change, and after putting me on hold me like 10 minutes, she said can, she will fax over form or email.
SUSDavid83
Mar 2 2012, 07:20 AM
Received SMS alert for Auto Debit with MBB2 AMEX:
RM0.00 MBB: TQ for using your Maybankard ending XXXX for MYRXX.XX at MAXIS - AUTOBILLING\GROURA; DATE; TIME. For inq call num at back of your card.
The 10 Xs after GREATEASTERN is the policy number.
This post has been edited by David83: Mar 2 2012, 07:20 AM
den
Mar 2 2012, 07:36 AM
for citibank, the min threshold that can be set online is RM200..
anyone able to set to a lower threshold by other method?
realnumber
Mar 4 2012, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(den @ Mar 2 2012, 07:36 AM) for citibank, the min threshold that can be set online is RM200.. anyone able to set to a lower threshold by other method? sorry for my ignorance, but this one is for F2F or on9? CIMB, i'll get an sms sent everytime (s0 far) i do transaction on9, eventhough it's USD1 ( paypal obviously). Yet, for F2F, they only give a call and send sms if the amount is 1k & above. wish i could lower it down to rm1.00 This post has been edited by realnumber: Mar 4 2012, 10:22 AM
tifosi
Mar 4 2012, 09:24 AM
Found something very interesting. Did 2 transaction online yesterday, one in foreign currency (GBP) and one in RM (for my OCBC card) but did not trigger any SMS alert. A call to OCBC centre reveil that all transaction done through Mastercard 3D Secure for OCBC does not trigger any SMS I am not too sure about other bank through.
SUSDavid83
Mar 4 2012, 10:34 AM
Well, yesterday I swiped at Starbucks with my MBB2 AMEX. I'm not very frequent patron of Starbucks. No SMS alert also. Perhaps amount is not high perhaps. Just < RM 100. Bought the Starbucks card for my friend.
Human Nature
Mar 4 2012, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 4 2012, 10:34 AM) Well, yesterday I swiped at Starbucks with my MBB2 AMEX. I'm not very frequent patron of Starbucks. No SMS alert also. Perhaps amount is not high perhaps. Just < RM 100. Bought the Starbucks card for my friend. A poster reported receiving SMS for RM55 swipe. time to change your threshold limit lah
SUSDavid83
Mar 4 2012, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 4 2012, 11:17 AM) A poster reported receiving SMS for RM55 swipe. time to change your threshold limit lah Did that forumer change his/her threshold? Mine was RM 63+