SMS Alert - You're Not In Control, Report here your SMS Alert

hye
post Jan 19 2012, 11:44 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I saw this informative thread and I called up Maybank regarding the missing SMS alerts. Here's the feedback that I received from Maybank regarding the issue -

1. They will not send SMS for all the transactions that you do. (I personally see this as a violation of BNM ruling) Especially if the transaction which they have previously flagged as green. e.g Let say you have received a call from Maybank regarding a transaction from Merchant A, they will forever flag it as green and therefore you will never receive any alerts from Maybank.

2. I did raise an issue which I did an online transaction for an online merchant which I never did before and didn't get any SMS. They now say (to my best understanding), the amount is small and they think it is not a problem so they don't call me or send me SMS. (A fraud transaction can be in small amount as well before the big amount comes)

3. Now, here's the shocking part. I ask MBB to now activate SMS alerts for all my transactions because I wish to be alerted the moment there's a fraud activity and they refuse to do so! They ask me to request again and ask me to justify my request.

4. More shocks ... they say if got problems then only tell them. My arguments is that I may only notice it after a long period of time as I don't check my account every day. They refuse to budge from their stand.

Emm ... well just to inform you guys of my latest findings and you guys need to call MBB and firmly ask for the notifications to be sent to your phones or else forever you'll not get it!

I'm off to inform BNM of this findings. (I didn't threaten MBB of what I want to do after this if they don't comply, so please no one is to threaten MBB)

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 19 2012, 11:54 AM
hye
post Jan 19 2012, 04:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 19 2012, 12:35 PM)
Yes. Please do. This is indeed worrisome. A clear violation of the BNM ruling  doh.gif
Already reported my case to BNM. Received BNM auto-generated reply. Just to wait now for their feedback.
If anyone have any concerns with not receiving SMS alert from MBB ... please do something about it and together something might happen.

And please don't go and threaten MBB ... CS immune with it already and they will shut off if you do coz I think many did this to them. The one I spoke to just now sounded tensed when I asked why MBB does not want to send me SMS as I have a good case ... kept on insisting I send message to higher authority + said that their system cannot capture my request for the SMS. (Yeah right!)
hye
post Jan 19 2012, 10:45 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys for all of you with MBB cards, please report the moment (to MBB and if they give any excuse then report to BNM) that you do not receive your SMS. Should you do not receive your SMS then it is a clear violation of the existing rules set by BNM.

Them sending you selective messages is not an excuse. You give them business and that's how they make money. If they are not happy with the rules then they can fight with BNM.
hye
post Jan 29 2012, 10:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

With so many issues with MBB's SMS system, I'm beginning to think MBB is dragging their feet on the subject matter.

I've renewed my request with MBB asking them to provide me SMS for all my transactions. Will wait till Wed before responding to BNM email.
hye
post Feb 11 2012, 02:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MariKan @ Feb 9 2012, 11:33 PM)
Everyday received sms from Maxis. Fed up already
Trying to spam your way ? Not enough with multiple nicks ?
hye
post Feb 13 2012, 01:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 12 2012, 11:33 PM)
Since the SMS is FREE, I don't mind ...  drool.gif  drool.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
I agree with you.
I wanted the bank to send me alerts the moment any transactions using my physical card and online occurs. It is especially very useful when I travel coz I need a little peace of mind and not to check my wallet every now and then for my credit card.
hye
post Feb 16 2012, 11:24 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I have been monitoring my SMS before posting this.

Finally MBB is sending my SMS confirmations for my overseas online and physical transactions using my MBB card.

I did took a while before I started to receive the physical transactions SMSes, for a while MBB only sent me the online transactions. I'm receiving the SMS within seconds that any transactions occurred on any of MBB cards.

I'm a happy man!
hye
post Feb 26 2012, 07:20 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

One thing I noticed for MBB SMS notifications is that you need to ensure that your mobile is switched on to receive the SMS when the SMS is sent out.

If your mobile is not switched on when the SMS is sent out - you won't get the SMS nor will there be a resend of the SMS notification.
There's still some small probability of you not receiving / missing the SMS notifications for your transactions - it happened to me once or twice but generally I do received the notifications. When I did not receive the SMS, in actual fact my mobile was switched on thus I can't detect the reasons for the SMS not being received as it should be.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 26 2012, 03:14 PM
hye
post Apr 22 2012, 09:52 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 22 2012, 09:19 AM)
verified by visa transaction? TAC sent to hp?
should receive SMS as well
Not strange ... I'm in the same boat as well.
For some strange reasons, I stop receiving SMS since the last 2 weeks. I'm still receiving MSOS though.

** I'm using Maybank cc

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 22 2012, 12:23 PM
hye
post May 23 2012, 08:16 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I'd like to take the opportunity to alert fellow MBB card holders. With regards to SMS alerts - if you have been receiving your SMS and suddenly no longer receives them, here's what the bank has been doing behind your back.

MBB recently been applying "filters" to the SMS alerts. If your transaction is flagged as low risk or known regular transactions, the bank will stop sending alerts for the transactions. Customers will still receive SMS for transactions which the bank flag as "high risk" or "irregular transactions".

I noticed that I have been receiving less or none SMS and put up a complaint with the bank since the last 2 months or so. And every time the bank will reply "We will investigate and revert to out IT team". I persistently complaint and recently they acknowledge that their action was the result of their risk management team "filtering" your SMS.

I finally mentioned that MBB is contravening BNM rules and they relented.

So ... if you think something funny is going on with your MBB's SMS alert - please make a report and make sure the situation is resolved. And keep on calling unless they solve the problem.

Sigh ... Malaysia boleh mentality.
hye
post Jul 12 2012, 09:24 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chubbybobo @ Jul 12 2012, 09:13 AM)
I had never apply for any maybank credit card and even do not have a maybank saving account, but recently i keep receiving sms alert from maybank that i had spend tis much and tat much of money... Is this a scam?
Why don't you call Maybank (or visit the bank) and find out whether you have a credit card with them or not?
Asking such questions here will not solve your problems and if you do have a problem then obviously you are not being smart (instead lazy) by asking here and not taking the right step to solve your problem.

0.0223sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:03 AM