--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day

jtdc
post Mar 1 2012, 07:59 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(neocyke @ Feb 24 2012, 03:40 AM)
proton's version of auto-arm? that's easy. lock the car. then unlock and leave it. don't do anything. if it works, after 30secs or so, the car should lock itself.
mine does not auto lock. i went outside car (engine off and no key inserted), make sure all doors closed, waited for 5 minutes, it did not lock. does this mean its faulty?

kidmad
post Mar 1 2012, 08:51 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Feb 28 2012, 03:00 PM)
tdc known problem : -
1 ) hard to start (need few crank to engine start)..
2 ) jerk on low gear..

for 1 problem, solder is a way to solve the prob.. or change to new type connector (rm300++ in proton sc)..

for 2 problem, need to clean the tdc.. the tdc will get dirt from the dusty flywheel.. so no permanent solution yet.. just service it every 6 month at workshop that can handle renault engine..

*just my 2 cent..

Already on R3 exhaust.. superb performance compare to standard..
Bro R3 exhaust how much you get it done? Also does it pair with an open pod? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
clance
post Mar 1 2012, 02:27 PM

Hi guys,

I am trying to clean the body throttle myself (first time). I read about some body throttle cleaner, do you guys know where i can get these? Any recommended brand?
I managed to open the air filter portion and clean the outer part of the throttle, but I read that I am supposed to be able to open the blade and clean the interior of the blade? Is that only possible when we step on the fuel pedal? How to do that if i am only 1 person. sad.gif
And regarding the spray, is it just press and spray into the body throttle and that's it?

Thanks and appreciate for any advice. smile.gif
fadzlie
post Mar 1 2012, 03:34 PM

99 posts

after 2 years using original NCT5, i changed my tyre today. as recommended by most savvy users, i changed to Continental CC5 165/55/R14 at K&F Auto Car Care Services USJ19. The price is RM200 each. I don't know if the price is high or low, i saw the price sticker is around RM254 if i'm not mistaken. I just went to the shop because it's the first shop with Continental logo i saw today.

I feel the difference immediately! very smooth and very quiet! although the tyre is smaller than NCT5 (165/60/R14), but i think it's okay.
hcgui
post Mar 1 2012, 04:57 PM

my manual savvy has modified its tdc sensor for almost 2 years now. since then, no more 2nd gear jerking or hard to start prob. never clean also since modification.

recently changed tyres to Kumho KH17 @ RM165/piece. ori size at 165/60R14. much better than NCT 5, quieter, softer side wall n better grip!
fadzlie
post Mar 1 2012, 05:54 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(hcgui @ Mar 1 2012, 04:57 PM)
my manual savvy has modified its tdc sensor for almost 2 years now. since then, no more 2nd gear jerking or hard to start prob. never clean also since modification.

recently changed tyres to Kumho KH17 @ RM165/piece. ori size at 165/60R14. much better than NCT 5, quieter, softer side wall n better grip!
woah. so cheap ah? i have no experience with Kumho, and never heard any review before. should've asked a little bit more. hehe
jtdc
post Mar 2 2012, 08:49 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(clance @ Mar 1 2012, 02:27 PM)
Hi guys,

I am trying to clean the body throttle myself (first time). I read about some body throttle cleaner, do you guys know where i can get these? Any recommended brand?
I managed to open the air filter portion and clean the outer part of the throttle, but I read that I am supposed to be able to open the blade and clean the interior of the blade? Is that only possible when we step on the fuel pedal? How to do that if i am only 1 person. sad.gif
And regarding the spray, is it just press and spray into the body throttle and that's it?

I did not do this myself, because I was watching the mechanic at RS Auto.

He took out the airbox, so now you can see the blade. That whole metal silver assembly where the blade is, it is removed as well (there's 3 or 4 nuts holding it). Then just brushed with a container with small amount of gasoline, which will clean dirt well. After it, blast with compressed air all of it (probably to clean unreachable parts). Then reattached it, then replaced back airbox. Done.

I believe this is easily done yourself if you just have correct tools. The mechanic just used "ratchet wrench", dunno what its called but i know how it looks like, can be easily found in hardwares with complete set of nut plug sizes. The "throttle body cleaner", its not normally called like that... look in car accessories shop even Carrefour have, its called "Carburator Cleaner" or similar thing which is sprayed on like contact cleaners or insecticides.

If you did not remove the "metal silver assembly" you can just generously spray the carburator cleaner there, that can be safely done. That liquid evaporates quickly (like gasoline) and should be dry in a few minutes. Problem is I dunno where the loosened dirt will go so best to just take the assembly out.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Mar 2 2012, 08:52 AM
kidmad
post Mar 2 2012, 09:30 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(fadzlie @ Mar 1 2012, 05:54 PM)
woah. so cheap ah? i have no experience with Kumho, and never heard any review before. should've asked a little bit more. hehe
I think continental would be your best bet, my next try would be Pirelli. Haha. Anyway mine is 175/65/14, kena the side wall abit next round ill get the one same size with yours but Pirelli most probably.

I got mine @ RM178 few months back.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Mar 2 2012, 09:32 AM
NOX
post Mar 2 2012, 10:10 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Mar 1 2012, 08:51 AM)
Bro R3 exhaust how much you get it done? Also does it pair with an open pod?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
price is rm192+ (35% discount.. normal price is 290).. installation is rm30.. i'm using drop in with box mod to open air like.. no prob.. nice sound and power indeed..
act fast.. as i know only A.C.T tyre care centre carry this r3 exhaust.. only 10 unit all across malaysia.. r3 try to finish up old stock maybe..

QUOTE(clance @ Mar 1 2012, 02:27 PM)
Hi guys,

you can view the step by step picture guide in savoc.net.. register and read or view the image.. open up box, open 4 bolt (size 10 if not mistaken).. either unplug wire or without unplug.. use wd40 or contact cleaner to clean inside the trottlebody and trottleplate (that plate inside.. u can use your finger to move it..)
then plug back everything.. do the soft reset (again view savoc.net for instruction).. and volla~ if still jerk on low gear, need to clean the tdc (crank case sensor).. look like butterfly. this one a bit hard to reach but easy to clean.. same.. search for the guide in savoc.net please..

QUOTE(hcgui @ Mar 1 2012, 04:57 PM)

well, mine also.. 2 year trouble free from jerk but i still clean my tb to make sure no jerking at low gear.. tdc just recently gave problem to me.. just spray wd40 (if lazy to open tdc and clean) and my ride now jerk free..

this thing sometimes depend on how dirty your surrounding.. and luck also..

sorry for my 2 cent knowledge..
*do read up in previous post and in savoc.net for more detail on DIY and modification on our sweet little renault car.. more then 6 year of knowledge sharing there..

clance
post Mar 2 2012, 02:27 PM

thanks jtdc and NOX, I was checking on savocnru but somehow got myself lost in finding the right information or pictures to show me the steps.
Anyway, I found a few in the savoc.net which show things really clear. smile.gif
Next, is to find some kerosene (it seems to be the best material to clean the throttle body instead of petrol and WD40) and I can try out this DIY in the weekend.
Hope I don't spoilt anything.

I read about the TDC sensor, but I think it might be too complicated for me, at least for now.
dares
post Mar 2 2012, 02:34 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 1 2012, 07:59 AM)
mine does not auto lock.  i went outside car (engine off and no key inserted), make sure all doors closed, waited for 5 minutes, it did not lock.  does this mean its faulty?
No. The auto arm only works when after you unlock via remote and didn't open any of the doors, 30 seconds it will automatically re-arm.

If you open a door after dis-arming, or you switch off engine and got out of the car, it will not re-arm automatically.

That means, to test, do the following:

arm the alarm via remote.
now disarm the alarm via remote.
Wait 30 secs, it will re-arm.

jtdc
post Mar 2 2012, 02:55 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 2 2012, 02:34 PM)
No. The auto arm only works when after you unlock via remote and didn't open any of the doors, 30 seconds it will automatically re-arm.

If you open a door after dis-arming, or you switch off engine and got out of the car, it will not re-arm automatically.

That means, to test, do the following:

arm the alarm via remote.
now disarm the alarm via remote.
Wait 30 secs, it will re-arm.
wow, thanks for the reply. i will try this. i am really sorry to be so dumb on this, as i am an old skool all manual car before (no power lock) and this is my 1st time.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Mar 2 2012, 02:55 PM
dares
post Mar 2 2012, 03:29 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 2 2012, 02:55 PM)
wow, thanks for the reply.  i will try this.  i am really sorry to be so dumb on this, as i am an old skool all manual car before (no power lock) and this is my 1st time.
No problem. I hope it works, that's how my Saga's alarm work anyway.
kidmad
post Mar 4 2012, 05:57 PM

4,481 posts

Anyone having problem using JEC ignition coil. Only changed a couple of months already problem with the ignition coil. went to Mr Hoe and got myself the renault one.. total damage RM520.. jialat...

btw... My spark plug rust habis.. don't know what's wrong. so change the champion spark plug as well.
faizalmzain
post Mar 4 2012, 06:07 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Mar 4 2012, 05:57 PM)
Anyone having problem using JEC ignition coil. Only changed a couple of months already problem with the ignition coil. went to Mr Hoe and got myself the renault one.. total damage RM520.. jialat...

btw... My spark plug rust habis.. don't know what's wrong. so change the champion spark plug as well.
Last time i changed mine to 3rd party ignition coil cost me around rm200++. That one has removeable cables. Still ok until today. I don't know what brand.
kidmad
post Mar 4 2012, 06:12 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Mar 4 2012, 06:07 PM)
Last time i changed mine to 3rd party ignition coil cost me around rm200++. That one has removeable cables. Still ok until today. I don't know what brand.
RM2xx JEC kot... blue color?
faizalmzain
post Mar 4 2012, 06:21 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Jan 31 2012, 06:05 PM)
how you get it fixed and how much?
QUESTION : Any procedure with pics or video how to clean the throttle body sensor, or tdc sensor that is?  just wanna get ideas.
Wow i never thought 2005 savvy price still around 17k-ish. I thought of selling mine and bought upcoming proton model sometime next year. I don't think I can afford a new car this year. I already starts paying more than I supposed to pay monthly because I thought current market price is below than my loan balance. Mine still has around 15k.

Added on March 4, 2012, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(mutt @ Jan 19 2012, 03:25 PM)
All sifus mostly lepak at savoc . net

Try register an account at that forum and you can open a thread and ask around.

I'd suggest go for Manual if you don't want a hassle maintaining an AMT. I myself driving AMT (2006 production) and I admit it has few problems. I don't say it as a problematic car because it's just a wear and tear issue. On the other hand, MT version is almost problem free besides the power steering switch and ignition coil which can be replaced for less than RM500. Ignition coil China brand can get as low as RM230 with installation while the power steering switch issue can be fixed for less than RM400. The engine is very robust. Mine clocked 140,000km already and no single problem with the engine. Mind you that my driving style is quite rough. I do 170kmh quite frequently especially during long hour drives (KL-JB-KL in a day twice a week). The best thing about Savvy is the handling. If Myvi handling 3/10, I'd give Savvy 9.5/10. Try to climb Cameron Highland and you'll know what kind of fun you'll get with Savvy  brows.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 3:29 pmAnother thing I want to add is most of Savvy owners know how to fix their cars just by DIY. So you don't have to rely on any mechanics. Even Renault specialist also don't have so much knowledge on how to fix Savvy.
I've been driving mine (manual) for 6 years plus now. It is still serve me well. But I'm not lenjan type of driver. Even on highway i rarely drive exceeded 120kmh. Hahaha.
But I do service periodically and change any wear and tear parts when needed.

Added on March 4, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(kidmad @ Mar 4 2012, 06:12 PM)
RM2xx JEC kot... blue color?
Yes, blue color.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Mar 4 2012, 06:35 PM
hcgui
post Mar 5 2012, 01:52 AM

anyone used Bosch spark plugs? how's it compare to d stock champion ones? mine still stock from factory but mileage 2 change plugs is due soon.
kidmad
post Mar 5 2012, 09:53 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(hcgui @ Mar 5 2012, 01:52 AM)
anyone used Bosch spark plugs? how's it compare to d stock champion ones? mine still stock from factory but mileage 2 change plugs is due soon.
+ - the same la. Previously i use Denso. As long as it isn't iridium i don't think it has a difference.
death_nite
post Mar 5 2012, 11:48 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

not sure why but my savvy suddenly steering shaking even when driving at low speed around 20kmj. hv tendency to turn left/heavy to the left. like kindda hv force feedback. any idea why?

goona bring to sc tmrw morning. sad.gif

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0720sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:15 PM