Crank pulley, Stock VS lighten.

TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 14 2012, 11:54 AM, updated 14y ago

20 posts

Hi all Sifus and bros, I want to ask what is the different between stock and lighten crank pulley (same diameter and circumference) in FC and HP?
huakenny
post Jan 14 2012, 12:29 PM

384 posts

gain better response...better pick up/accelerate?

lost abit top speed
Chan320
post Jan 14 2012, 02:36 PM

113 posts

better FC if drive normally

TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 14 2012, 02:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Jan 14 2012, 01:29 PM)
gain better response...better pick up/accelerate?

lost abit top speed
How come will lost top speed arh?
wandzul
post Jan 14 2012, 07:28 PM

152 posts

lesser momentum
GEFORCEXTREME
post Jan 15 2012, 07:56 AM

60 posts

Don't know if I lost top speed, but the engine feels lighter, but after awhile, you will get used to it.
huakenny
post Jan 15 2012, 10:34 AM

384 posts

no pain no gain...

zeone
post Jan 15 2012, 11:25 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Jan 15 2012, 10:34 AM)
no pain no gain...
Yup, firsthand/Direct Experience is very good teacher in Life's lessons...
No gain something w/o losing something wan! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Jan 15 2012, 11:27 AM
shinjite
post Jan 15 2012, 01:43 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

My top speed is intact
but definitely engine is lighter
saru04
post Jan 15 2012, 02:03 PM

1,358 posts

any recommendation of brand for lighter crank pulley?

i'm driving gen 2.
wandzul
post Jan 15 2012, 03:44 PM

152 posts

all the way from the premium mythelogy, zerone, redline to cheaper jasma..
Me using redline (not too expensive yet not too cheap) for 2 yrs++, so far so good.. top speed remains but may need longer distance to achieve, esp when using lightweight rims..
kueh karas
post Jan 15 2012, 08:33 PM

141 posts

i tot it will give better responds but lower momentum for top end..
TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 16 2012, 07:10 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(kueh karas @ Jan 15 2012, 09:33 PM)
i tot it will give better responds but lower momentum for top end..
I tot gain in both orh cry.gif
joefbi
post Jan 16 2012, 09:38 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

no change in top speed if your engine powderfull ady...but if kancil 660 use it, no momentum loh
saru04
post Jan 16 2012, 12:54 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(wandzul @ Jan 15 2012, 03:44 PM)
all the way from the premium mythelogy, zerone, redline to cheaper jasma..
Me using redline (not too expensive yet not too cheap) for 2 yrs++, so far so good.. top speed remains but may need longer distance to achieve, esp when using lightweight rims..
but i assume that the price for premium mythelogy and zerone will be very expensive?
wandzul
post Jan 16 2012, 01:45 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Jan 16 2012, 12:54 PM)
but i assume that the price for premium mythelogy and zerone will be very expensive?
thats why i mentioned premium sweat.gif
kueh karas
post Jan 16 2012, 01:54 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Jan 16 2012, 12:54 PM)
RM550 -i still can afford but as to value my money - i rather take zerone
saru04
post Jan 16 2012, 01:55 PM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(kueh karas @ Jan 16 2012, 01:54 PM)
RM550 -i still can afford  but as to value my money - i rather take zerone
means zerone over mythelogy?
joefbi
post Jan 16 2012, 03:59 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

perfect weight balancing is crucial to ensure right balance between tork and speed...they do with formula and actual test....not all maker of lightweight material do this. so choose the right maker is needed
TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 16 2012, 11:58 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(joefbi @ Jan 16 2012, 10:38 AM)
no change in top speed if your engine powderfull ady...but if kancil 660 use it, no momentum loh
How about with wira 4g15?
joefbi
post Jan 17 2012, 12:26 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

4G15 powderfull what
Tommykeng
post Jan 17 2012, 12:27 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Jan 16 2012, 07:10 AM)
I tot gain in both orh  cry.gif
Want gain both response and top speed , must upgrade engine den

theory its like the HI Cam system , want Hi End , sacrifice low end . Want low end , sacrifice high end

same like exhaust system as well.
amad108
post Jan 18 2012, 06:31 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

before this try change at 4g63 sohc engine (perdana sei) manual.. top speed kinda same, but engine respond a bit lighter..
xshiro
post Jan 18 2012, 07:08 PM

133 posts

this is to lighten the engine, good to reduce powerloss being transferred..should not lower the topspeed...top speed related to engine power, gearbox and drag

This post has been edited by xshiro: Jan 18 2012, 07:12 PM
Zaypher
post Jan 18 2012, 07:51 PM

297 posts

how is mythelogy LCP ah?

TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 18 2012, 11:35 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(joefbi @ Jan 17 2012, 01:26 PM)
4G15 powderfull what
Will light crank pulley lost top speed in 4g15 engine? blink.gif
joefbi
post Jan 19 2012, 11:22 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

i would like to say nothing lost in speed for g15
alpha33
post Jan 20 2012, 10:27 PM

1,010 posts

Have been a happy user of myth lcp for years....first time installed,tak rasa apa apa.....
Then drive with five people in car,can feel liao. Same feeling u driving alone.
Even my wife who drive knows......its ilighter,but dont la expect tebabo power.
empire23
post Jan 21 2012, 12:12 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

It won't lower your top speed, but remember as you go up in the revs and power, the lighter crank pulleys might not stand up to punishing use and if they do give way, well, your engine is screwed.
Vervain
post Jan 21 2012, 12:50 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

not that I'm against LCP but it does screw up the engine. search around and you will understand why.
drexchan
post Jan 21 2012, 01:48 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Zaypher @ Jan 18 2012, 07:51 PM)
how is mythelogy LCP ah?
LOL! You tell me? whistling.gif
alpha33
post Jan 21 2012, 08:30 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(Zaypher @ Jan 18 2012, 07:51 PM)
how is mythelogy LCP ah?
I got mine from drex afew years ago. It got the ruber thingy to absorb vibration....
Just check recently,the rubber still sitting nicely. Marked with chalked,tested 190kmph, the chalk marking still same. Means no slip between rubber and pulley. U get wat u pay for.mno regrets.

This post has been edited by alpha33: Jan 21 2012, 08:32 AM
Zaypher
post Jan 21 2012, 09:45 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jan 21 2012, 08:30 AM)
I got mine from drex afew years ago. It got the ruber thingy to absorb vibration....
Just check recently,the rubber still sitting nicely. Marked with chalked,tested 190kmph, the chalk marking still same. Means no slip between rubber and pulley. U get wat u pay for.mno regrets.
ah icic. thanks so much for ur feedback. tongue.gif
shinjite
post Jan 21 2012, 12:19 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

My myth since 2006 till now, running strong biggrin.gif
TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 22 2012, 11:16 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jan 21 2012, 09:30 AM)
What is myth? Any 4g15 users here with LCP? smile.gif
Peekab0o
post Jan 22 2012, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 21 2012, 12:12 AM)
It won't lower your top speed, but remember as you go up in the revs and power, the lighter crank pulleys might not stand up to punishing use and if they do give way, well, your engine is screwed.
QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 21 2012, 12:50 AM)
not that I'm against LCP but it does screw up the engine. search around and you will understand why.
Depends on what engine ... Not all engine use LCP well boom ur whole engine ... known many friends that use LCP dam many years and still strong running healthy dont just read reviews n judge LCP are not good . Dont judge a book by its cover yea ?
alpha33
post Jan 23 2012, 01:16 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Jan 22 2012, 11:16 PM)
What is myth? Any 4g15 users here with LCP?  smile.gif
Mytheology lcp.
Lazy type in full...hard to spell...
Vervain
post Jan 23 2012, 11:10 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 22 2012, 11:45 PM)
Depends on what engine ... Not all engine use LCP well boom ur whole engine ... known many friends that use LCP dam many years and still strong running healthy dont just read reviews n judge LCP are not good . Dont judge a book by its cover yea ?
Same. I also have source and owners having their engine jeopardized by LCP. As you've mentioned, it depends on engine. Well, i disagree. I would say it depends solely on the aftermarket LCP. An incorrect LCP size, weight and dampers may invite trouble. Again, I would like to stress, I have no grudge against LCP. I'm just creating awareness among users to be skeptic and becareful with aftermarket LCP. There are so many brands out there with some we've never heard b4. Some dodgy accessory shop will tell you, the lighter the better. If you're not sure, go with the reputable brands. saving a few hundred bucks can actually reduce the burden/stress on the engine.

Some reading materials.

http://www.bhjdynamics.com/downloads/pdf/t...Damper_Info.pdf
http://www.fluidampr.com/HOWITWORKS.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmonic_balancer

ph34r.gif
the_catacombs
post Jan 23 2012, 11:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jan 21 2012, 08:30 AM)

how the belt can slip??...
TSJajay Chong Hon Keat
post Jan 24 2012, 12:44 AM

20 posts

Is aerospeed crank pulley ok?
alpha33
post Jan 24 2012, 08:17 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 23 2012, 11:46 PM)

Belt slip when belt is in bad condition,or during rain water hits it,or pulley groove has become sharp after so many rotations.

But i mean the slip is the damper between the lcp. As u can see in ur photo,the black damper will twist,causing the outer pulley and the crankshaft one to run away. Once the damper give way,the outer pulley will drop out,and u have no more belt...

Its very normal in cars tat uses this kind of pulley ie mercedes.
Kereta jepun i not sure wat model uses it....i more interested in merc...

Peekab0o
post Jan 24 2012, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 23 2012, 11:10 PM)
Same. I also have source and owners having their engine jeopardized by LCP. As you've mentioned, it depends on engine. Well, i disagree. I would say it depends solely on the aftermarket LCP. An incorrect LCP size, weight and dampers may invite trouble. Again, I would like to stress, I have no grudge against LCP. I'm just creating awareness among users to be skeptic and becareful with aftermarket LCP. There are so many brands out there with some we've never heard b4. Some dodgy accessory shop will tell you, the lighter the better. If you're not sure, go with the reputable brands. saving a few hundred bucks can actually reduce the burden/stress on the engine.

Some reading materials.

http://www.bhjdynamics.com/downloads/pdf/t...Damper_Info.pdf
http://www.fluidampr.com/HOWITWORKS.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmonic_balancer

ph34r.gif
So u only read materials ? Have u tried using it technically ? Materials are easy to type out from keyboard warriors technically did u see the market yourself ? Jasma Crank Pulley are undersize and light and yes the lighter the better no wrong there from
those acc shop salesman . Jasma one has been cheap and cheerfull selling so well outthere . Dont juz read materials and create " awareness " . Theory are not always right . Fit in and check out the real thing and how many engine gone case with LCP ? Like one in a million news of it ? Lol
low yat 82
post Jan 24 2012, 09:51 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Jan 24 2012, 12:44 AM)
Is aerospeed crank pulley ok?
its ok. most LCP r balanced. jus some cheaper 1 more rough workmanship. anyway, till now i never heard any real life prob of belt snap / crank oil seal broken etc

ab d damping stuff, for low bhp car, kalo ada good la.. if dun got, tidak apa.... lol..
empire23
post Jan 24 2012, 10:12 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 22 2012, 11:45 PM)
There's a reason they're heavy, it's because they act as dampeners so the engine doesn't rattle all the front bits to death. The lack of weight contributes to bearing wear and attached component wear.

Without the weight or the harmonic balancing of a good crank pulley, the car rattles itself to an early grave. That's why people who really really want the most power out of their cars go for an ATI performance or Ross Tuffbond crank pulley, note that these are even more heavily built than standard.

It's the same for lightened cam pulleys, for what little you gain, the fact the advance and retard settings are just held together by 5 shithouse screws without loctite in some cases is just a recipe for a blown head.

Best is stock sometimes laugh.gif
Vervain
post Jan 25 2012, 12:11 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 24 2012, 04:07 PM)
So u only read materials ? Theory are not always right .
Yes. I read and meet with knowledgeable people to exchange knowledge. I open my mind and accept all convincing facts, I never dispel the fine truth that LCP brings in improvement. Theories may not always be right, but to prove a theory wrong, you need genuine fact to prove how the theory is wrong. Theories serves as a guideline. Just like how rules were set.

I trust, you never read the links I've posted. Those are general information on how crank pulley functions. there is no ill intention stating negatives on LCP.

Materials are easy to type out from keyboard warriors technically did u see the market yourself ? Jasma Crank Pulley are undersize and light and yes the lighter the better no wrong there from those acc shop salesman .
ratio of 2 out of 6 accessories shop I've visited have knowledge on cars. Generally Most accessories shop salesman will just sell sell sell and sugar coat you with words of improvement assured. After all, it's nothing personal, its business. When you walk back and claim warranty on your wrecked engine, they will give you tonnes of reasons stating, your car is bad from the beginning, you expect we warrant you something sold so cheap for your engine?, we never promise to warrant your engine from the beginning, etc. Hope you will take their words with a grain of salt next time.

Note however, there are still a handful of reputable shops giving good pointers and directions on modding. It's not all lost & hopeless.

Technically, LCP was on my milestone list of upgrades. However, after learning bits and pieces around, I just took a big leap and increase my stock hp and torque with another option.

Jasma one has been cheap and cheerfull selling so well outthere . Dont juz read materials and create " awareness " . Fit in and check out the real thing and how many engine gone case with LCP ? Like one in a million news of it ? Lol
If you take your stock crank pulley and walk into a fabrication shop. they can lathe machine a much better aluminum crank pulley. Go for bulk, you can sell at a much cheaper price than jasma.

1 in a million still means there is a tendency of it to happen. You may say this now, but things will be different if you're that one guy out of the million.

*********************************************************************************************************

Lastly, you remind me of an old man whom I've advised to quit smoking due to health reasons. He told me the same thing. "Son, I've been smoking even before you're born. Look at me now. If smoking is deadly, I wouldn't have live up to this age. You won't understand cause you never smoke." That's how I feel now, having good deed but being hammered as a keyboard warrior cry.gif

I have no intention on winning this argument or winning a fight. Neither do I want to deter people from installing LCP. I'm like empire23 here just to share some pointers. Good or bad is up to the general public to perceive. Depending on the next wave of comments, I may just remain silent to avoid any conflicts. Like the previous post, I do concur stock is still best.

On the side note, loctite is damn awesome, I've been using it on fluid joints and it never leaks. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Vervain: Jan 25 2012, 12:11 AM
dares
post Jan 25 2012, 12:46 AM

834 posts

So u only read materials ? Have u tried using it technically ? Materials are easy to type out from keyboard warriors technically did u see the market yourself ? Jasma Crank Pulley are undersize and light and yes the lighter the better no wrong there from
those acc shop salesman . Jasma one has been cheap and cheerfull selling so well outthere . Dont juz read materials and create " awareness " . Theory are not always right . Fit in and check out the real thing and how many engine gone case with LCP ? Like one in a million news of it ? Lol
Whats with the rudeness mate?

People politely sharing info but you have this sudden urge to flame him and call names? Its not like he pulled this info out of thin air.

Did you even read the links he so thoughtfully posted before launching on your tirade? Come one day no one will share any knowledge on Lyn for fear of being ridiculed and flamed, and i will know exactly who to blame.

Just chill and take it as what it is, some friendly info sharing.

This post has been edited by dares: Jan 25 2012, 12:55 AM
low yat 82
post Jan 25 2012, 01:44 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 25 2012, 12:46 AM)
Whats with the rudeness mate?

People politely sharing info but you have this sudden urge to flame him and call names? Its not like he pulled this info out of thin air.

Did you even read the links he so thoughtfully posted before launching on your tirade? Come one day no one will share any knowledge on Lyn for fear of being ridiculed and flamed, and i will know exactly who to blame.

Just chill and take it as what it is, some friendly info sharing.
ermm... action speaks louder than words? its been tested locally..

this matter already been discuss many many times around d world..i guess he kinda frust liao...lol.

again, those rubber thingy is good to have, takda also ok for small engine...btw, d metheology shows malaysia apa pun boleh..lol

u guys will b surprise dat stock crank pulley do cracks... aftermarket provide better material, t6 aluminimum yada yada.

edited:typo

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Jan 25 2012, 01:48 AM
ryan_hustler
post Jan 25 2012, 02:50 AM

889 posts

Without theory, you cant understand how anything works..this will just lead you to taking your car to a shop, paying the guy up front for stuff you dont need or understand, go drink some coffee and come back once the job is done. Take your ride for a test drive later and achieve godlike speed in your head.
point :just because something sells, doesnt mean its good or useful. read : magnetic fuel saver yada yada..
My point is similar to vervain..ive got nothing against jasma or using an LCP, but before you go out there and spend money on a mod, you need to know the pros and cons and the best way to find out is by reading about it and asking in forums. Theory may not always be right, but you cant also go and buy every part out there just to test it and decide.

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:12 PM)
There's a reason they're heavy, it's because they act as dampeners so the engine doesn't rattle all the front bits to death. The lack of weight contributes to bearing wear and attached component wear.

Without the weight or the harmonic balancing of a good crank pulley, the car rattles itself to an early grave. That's why people who really really want the most power out of their cars go for an ATI performance or Ross Tuffbond crank pulley, note that these are even more heavily built than standard.

It's the same for lightened cam pulleys, for what little you gain, the fact the advance and retard settings are just held together by 5 shithouse screws without loctite in some cases is just a recipe for a blown head.

Best is stock sometimes laugh.gif
Dude, ive seen aftermarket "pro street" clutch covers which were supplied with allen screws..to quote you, 5 shithouse allen screws. Now thats gonna keep it all together eh?
Peekab0o
post Jan 25 2012, 09:27 AM

Orh >.< i been using lcp for 2 yeard and my car has been half my track and daily drive car . Lcp has boomed my engine and it became Optimus Prime . Basicaly hks , m7 , Trd , works , arospeed , redline , mythelogy all can close liaw lor if its so bad ... And in world of performance modding without buying try and test it out trial n error u wont know which is best . U hoping people will share thier setup with u ? Lawl . Shoot me all u wan but.. remember that LCP are still
used worldwide by famous tuners and yah that 2 famous brands mentioned above heavier LCP i wanna see u use that in your car when air con is on . Track car an afford to use it cause they dont even have air con .

This post has been edited by Peekab0o: Jan 25 2012, 09:27 AM
dares
post Jan 25 2012, 09:50 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 25 2012, 01:44 AM)
ermm... action speaks louder than words? its been tested locally..

this matter already been discuss many many times around d world..i guess he kinda frust liao...lol.

again, those rubber thingy is good to have, takda also ok for small engine...btw, d metheology shows malaysia apa pun boleh..lol
u guys will b surprise dat stock crank pulley do cracks... aftermarket provide better material, t6 aluminimum yada yada.

edited:typo
Understood where you are coming from.

But the fact is shit happened to some who used LCP, so it's good to know that there is a risk, even if it's one in a million. Vervain did not shoot down LCP, he is merely pointing (in good faith, I might add) out that there is a risk, however slightly, to this particular upgrade, just in case others dunno about it.

If I am interested in LCP, I won't be put off by his information, but I will be glad now I am better informed and will be more cautious when selecting a LCP for my ride.
empire23
post Jan 25 2012, 11:55 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 25 2012, 02:50 AM)
Dude, ive seen aftermarket "pro street" clutch covers which were supplied with allen screws..to quote you,  5 shithouse allen screws. Now thats gonna keep it all together eh?
Not all aftermarket is gewd that's for sure. Not everything lighter is better. Good engineering isn't common.

Well if someone buys something liddat, the least that can be done is 2 titik aerospace grade loctite. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Jan 25 2012, 09:27 AM)
Orh >.< i been using lcp for 2 yeard and my car has been half my track and daily drive car . Lcp has boomed my engine and it became Optimus Prime . Basicaly hks , m7 , Trd , works , arospeed , redline , mythelogy all can close liaw lor if its so bad ... And in world of performance modding without buying try and test it out trial n error u wont know which is best . U hoping people will share thier setup with u ? Lawl . Shoot me all u wan but.. remember that LCP are still
used worldwide by famous tuners and yah that 2 famous brands mentioned above heavier LCP i wanna see u use that in your car when air con is on . Track car an afford to use it cause they dont even have air con .
I've got a Ross rebuilt dampener in on my RB25DET running 13 PSI of boost. No problems with aircon mate, still cold.

If they made one for my 4B11T, I'd get it.

Trial and error is fine, but like Tesla's theory versus Edison's trial by error, I'm siding Tesla laugh.gif. I mean I've seen HKS lightened cam pulley adjustment run out due to fiddly screws, so just because it's branded doesn't mean it is good.

You may not have heard of other brands like Quaife, Pfitzner, BorgWarner, PAR, DBA, Alcon and so on, but they make good stuff. You don't need to be famous to make decent parts and doesn't mean if you're famous, you do.
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2012, 06:04 PM

380 posts

since there is no LCP for my peugeot. do u know any workshop that can make one for me? head they cn clone the original LCP and make it lighter
Kirie
post Jan 25 2012, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Jan 25 2012, 06:04 PM)
since there is no LCP for my peugeot. do u know any workshop that can make one for me? head they cn clone the original LCP and make it lighter
stock original already Lcp? then buy new original one..hehe
OC4/3
post Jan 26 2012, 04:18 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 25 2012, 11:55 AM)
You may not have heard of other brands like Quaife, Pfitzner, BorgWarner, PAR, DBA, Alcon and so on, but they make good stuff. You don't need to be famous to make decent parts and doesn't mean if you're famous, you do.
I have heard of most of those brand except PAR laugh.gif
Some more uncommon brand:Buschur Racing,Bulls Eye Power,OS Giken,ATS,Full Race laugh.gif
empire23
post Jan 26 2012, 06:46 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jan 26 2012, 04:18 AM)
I have heard of most of those brand except PAR laugh.gif
Some more uncommon brand:Buschur Racing,Bulls Eye Power,OS Giken,ATS,Full Race laugh.gif
PAR is Precision Automated Robotics, an Aussie company that makes MTs in Melaka.

OS Giken makes really hard clutches, a workmate of mine runs an R30 with an RB25DE with an OS Giken twin plater. Those buggers are on-off.

ATS has a lot of nice kit but Full Race and their manifolds....... drool.gif ......

Either way, in regards to the LCP, really, what is the point unless you want to dampen something? If you can keep the dampening and balancing at the same level while losing weight, fine, good, but the reality is most of the time, you don't.

Behind the crankshaft you have the rotational mass that is the flywheel, the clutch and the whole damned car. In front, you have the aircon, alternator and so on. A reduction of a 2kg tops in just isn't going to bring out the beast in your damned car.

For the amount of money spent on the LCP, I can buy myself KFC and some minyak, go for a hard drive and set my tune correctly and still get more power. Malaysians are just in love with anything shinny when it comes to modding.
low yat 82
post Jan 26 2012, 09:33 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 06:46 AM)
PAR is Precision Automated Robotics, an Aussie company that makes MTs in Melaka.

OS Giken makes really hard clutches, a workmate of mine runs an R30 with an RB25DE with an OS Giken twin plater. Those buggers are on-off.

ATS has a lot of nice kit but Full Race and their manifolds....... drool.gif ......

Either way, in regards to the LCP, really, what is the point unless you want to dampen something? If you can keep the dampening and balancing at the same level while losing weight, fine, good, but the reality is most of the time, you don't.

Behind the crankshaft you have the rotational mass that is the flywheel, the clutch and the whole damned car. In front, you have the aircon, alternator and so on. A reduction of a 2kg tops in just isn't going to bring out the beast in your damned car.

For the amount of money spent on the LCP, I can buy myself KFC and some minyak, go for a hard drive and set my tune correctly and still get more power. Malaysians are just in love with anything shinny when it comes to modding.
U were right ab d 2kg tingy. But d reduction means alot for puny engine..(dun expect too much though...lolol)

for engine powerful like urs, dampening d torsion force is d main reason, but for puny 4g15 d torsion force n vibration r soo...

ryan_hustler
post Jan 26 2012, 10:46 AM

889 posts

LMAO.. behind the car is a booth full of shit and a 200kg subwoofer.

Another thing I dont get is this :

Wheel (before)
Power 96 hp (72kw) @5868 rpm
Torque 130 Nm @ 4173 rpm

Wheel (after)
Power 99hp (74kw) @6141 rpm
Torque 129Nm @ 4378 rpm

Well, shouldnt your HP be higher (obviously) at a higher rpm? My car makes more HP at a higher rpms without an LCP
In fact right up to 4500rpm, your stock crank pulley is doing a better job than a lightened dampened billetted forged titanium aluminium hybrid alloy crank pulley with a piece of rubber. (LDBFTAHACP + PR)

sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 04:06 PM

HKS japan sold LCP few years back even before malaysian know about it . so how a big company would risk ? as long the pulley is balance in some way how it could wreck ur crank ? wreak crank or crank oil seal my cause by improper instalation oil seal . when the oil seal is improper install it my cause the valve seal to worn out or the inner retaining wire in the oil seal may came off and scratch the crank hence crank damage and unrepairable oil leak .

Added on January 26, 2012, 4:16 pmso if using lcp could ruined ur engine so how about using lighten flywheel ? since it could effect the same way like the pulley ? some time the info u found on web aka information highway can be olso MISINFORMATION HIGHWAY .

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Jan 26 2012, 04:16 PM
empire23
post Jan 26 2012, 06:20 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 26 2012, 10:46 AM)
LMAO.. behind the car is a booth full of shit and a 200kg subwoofer.

Another thing I dont get is this :

Wheel (before)
Power  96 hp (72kw) @5868 rpm
Torque 130 Nm @ 4173 rpm

Wheel (after)
Power 99hp (74kw) @6141 rpm
Torque 129Nm @ 4378 rpm

Well, shouldnt your HP be higher (obviously) at a higher rpm? My car makes more HP at a higher rpms without an LCP
In fact right up to 4500rpm, your stock crank pulley is doing a better job than a lightened dampened billetted forged titanium aluminium hybrid alloy crank pulley with a piece of rubber. (LDBFTAHACP + PR)

People don't want to believe that gaining power isn't easy. There ain't no magic pill for it. Even for example the air intake. You upgrade the air intake and for a while you get extra power, because more airflow means the system runs leaner and timing can advance to suit. But once the ECU figures out what you've done, 7 out of 10 times the bugger will downtune the car to rich, although the car will still be more responsive on the throttle because of flow velocity, all because ECUs are dicks.

Also some of these pulleys aren't the same size as stock most of the time. Meaning they underrun the components connected to the belt. That's shite.

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Jan 26 2012, 04:06 PM)
HKS japan sold LCP few years back even before malaysian know about it . so how a big company would risk  ? as long the pulley is balance in some way how it could wreck ur crank ? wreak crank or crank oil seal my cause by improper instalation oil seal . when the oil seal is improper install it my cause the valve seal to worn out or the inner retaining wire in the oil seal may came off and scratch the crank hence crank damage and unrepairable oil leak .

so if using lcp could ruined ur engine so how about using lighten flywheel ? since it could effect the same way like the pulley ? some time the info u found on web aka information highway can be olso MISINFORMATION HIGHWAY .
I put poop in a box and got General Electric to put their name on it, does it make it any good? For example, among Evo X owners here, the HKS Hipermax is known as crap and so is the shit made by TEIN. They're both big names but most would go for the cheaper and better Eibach Federn kit or having the dosh, the Ohlins DFV. Brembo makes good brakes, but I'm trading them in for Alcon goodness.

Just because it is balanced doesn't mean it wont kill it. No balancing act is perfect. So there is always some vibration, now vibration is once thing, but as all engineers know when vibration hits the right note you have resonance, which is a form of harmonic that rattles bits to shitsville. That's why you also call the main crank pulley a "Harmonic dampener" for a reason. Issues won't show up right away, but increase wear and tear.

So why isn't the lightened flywheel in the same league as the LCP? Because the LCP itself must get rid of harmonics, the lightened flywheel has the springs located in the hub of the clutch to absorb any harmonics biggrin.gif . Do you know why racing car with lightened flywheels and unsprung clutches have to have their hubs, screws, prop shaft and all have to be replaced regularly? Driveline shock icon_rolleyes.gif

the_catacombs
post Jan 26 2012, 09:57 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jan 24 2012, 08:17 AM)
Belt slip when belt is in bad condition,or during rain water hits it,or pulley groove has become sharp after so many rotations.

But i mean the slip is the damper between the lcp. As u can see in ur photo,the black damper will twist,causing the outer pulley and the crankshaft one to run away. Once the damper give way,the outer pulley will drop out,and u have no more belt...

Its very normal in cars tat uses this kind of pulley ie mercedes.
Kereta jepun i not sure wat model uses it....i more interested in merc...
err... myth lcp is a 1 piece unit with rubber belt slip in the groove... if u got see properly laa...
if u say the rubber will twist, means the whole pulley can twist???....

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 06:20 PM)
Because the LCP itself must get rid of harmonics, the lightened flywheel has the springs located in the hub of the clutch to absorb any harmonics  biggrin.gif
flywheel has springs??... cannot brain bro... got picture??... sorry for my noobness...
empire23
post Jan 26 2012, 10:09 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 26 2012, 09:57 PM)
err... myth lcp is a 1 piece unit with rubber belt slip in the groove... if u got see properly laa...
flywheel has springs??... cannot brain bro... got picture??... sorry for my noobness...
the lightened flywheel has the springs located in the hub of the clutch

OC4/3
post Jan 26 2012, 10:21 PM

4,746 posts

Agreed on the lightweight crank pulley part laugh.gif
Not to mention normal drivability suffer(A/C Not Cold,Engine easier to stall etc)

sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:21 PM)
Agreed on the lightweight crank pulley part laugh.gif
Not to mention normal drivability suffer(A/C Not Cold,Engine easier to stall etc)
this not a issue if the aftermarket lcp is same size with stock not those undersize . i installed a handful since i work as mechanic for a living
sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:09 PM)
now i get it .
either u are the chief mechanic at pagini factory or team renault f1 chief development and u never seen local paliah scene that most were homemade brew recipe . sorry to degrading you
empire23
post Jan 26 2012, 10:57 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Jan 26 2012, 10:43 PM)
now i get it .
either u are the chief mechanic at pagini factory or team renault f1 chief development and u never seen local paliah scene that most were homemade brew recipe . sorry to degrading you
Nope lol. Engineer for oil and gas electrical, work with motors and generators of the biggest sizes. Projects include the Condamine power station with Siemens SGT series turbines and Allen Bradley VSD control system.

I've built a lot of pariah industrial rigs where I work, but no play play one, all must calculate banyak banyak especially when it comes to moving stuff lah. Deswai I no likely LCP, given bad dampening of lighter material, the enjin will goncang goncang. That's no good.

This post has been edited by empire23: Jan 26 2012, 10:59 PM
Kirie
post Jan 26 2012, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:57 PM)
Nope lol. Engineer for oil and gas electrical, work with motors and generators of the biggest sizes. Projects include the Condamine power station with Siemens SGT series turbines and Allen Bradley VSD control system.

I've built a lot of pariah industrial rigs where I work, but no play play one, all must calculate banyak banyak especially when it comes to moving stuff lah. Deswai I no likely LCP, given bad dampening of lighter material, the enjin will goncang goncang. That's no good.
sure u master MOM, DOM, KDM & struc mechs subjects..

Vervain
post Jan 26 2012, 11:56 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

and jumping off baskets... unless he goes to work by heli.
NaShRiCk
post Jan 27 2012, 12:01 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(wandzul @ Jan 14 2012, 07:28 PM)
lesser momentum
ryan_hustler
post Jan 27 2012, 03:12 AM

889 posts

Dampening the crank pulley is definitely a good thing, especially to absorb vibration, but in essence like what empire said in most of his posts, a lightened crank pulley at most shaves off 2kgs tops on a singular part which doesnt really make a significant difference on a mild or road spec car. dont get me wrong, 2kgs on a track car makes a shit load of diff, but those engines are balanced, blueprinted and stripped down after the race. Your crank and engine internals are not expected to last 100 000km as a regular street car is usually overhauled.

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 26 2012, 09:57 PM)
Its attached via a belt, even your crank has torsion stresses.

hmm.gif this will definitely become unbalanced once the springs lose their tensile strength..how often does this need replacing? im guessing very..

Added on January 27, 2012, 3:35 am
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Jan 26 2012, 10:38 PM)
this not a issue if the aftermarket lcp is same size with stock not those undersize . i installed a handful since i work as mechanic for a living
There is a significant difference between a mechanic and an engine builder. Also an engineer. I remember a mechanic guy in LYN said he came up with a brilliant design to fit an intercooler to the intake of NA cars.. In fact he was selling the kit and installation service to other car owners.

The purpose? to cool ambient air to ambient temperature notworthy.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 27 2012, 03:35 AM
empire23
post Jan 27 2012, 05:08 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Kirie @ Jan 26 2012, 11:45 PM)
sure u master MOM, DOM, KDM & struc mechs subjects..
I have some basics in mechanical but most of it is on the job training and customers shouting at me they want XXXX MTBF and they want numbarrrssss........you learn veli fast when your ass is on the line

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 27 2012, 03:12 AM)
Dampening the crank pulley is definitely a good thing, especially to absorb vibration, but in essence like what empire said in most of his posts, a lightened crank pulley at most shaves off 2kgs tops on a singular part which doesnt really make a significant difference on a mild or road spec car. dont get me wrong, 2kgs on a track car makes a shit load of diff, but those engines are balanced, blueprinted and stripped down after the race. Your crank and engine internals are not expected to last 100 000km as a regular street car is usually overhauled.
hmm.gif  this will definitely become unbalanced once the springs lose their tensile strength..how often does this need replacing? im guessing very..

There is a significant difference between a mechanic and an engine builder. Also an engineer. I remember a mechanic guy in LYN said he came up with a brilliant design to fit an intercooler to the intake of NA cars.. In fact he was selling the kit and installation service to other car owners.

The purpose? to cool ambient air to ambient temperature  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
On a real race car, sure the 2kg lost with a lightened fly wheel, plus Delrin Acetal tensioners, carbon fiber covers, sodium filled shaved valves, ultra light timing chains, crashbox straight cut SMGs and so on all make a difference. But remember, most of our cars aren't race cars and I wouldn't want the reliability of one. I still want to go out and buy susu, go Giant, ayam goreng McDs, go 7-11 at Ampang Jaya beli berger and so forth.

The central hub of a clutch is usually replaced with the clutch. Usually comes in a kit. But you are right, they take a kicking and sometimes under the right circumstances and enough stupidity, they will crack laugh.gif
ryan_hustler
post Jan 27 2012, 11:45 AM

889 posts

that flywheel is rather interesting..where can I get more information on it? Also is there any particular name for it?
empire23
post Jan 27 2012, 12:08 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 27 2012, 11:45 AM)
that flywheel is rather interesting..where can I get more information on it? Also is there any particular name for it?
It's just a removable hub for a cluch. Normally they aren't removable or even splined for that matter, but the picture is from a Nismo SuperCoppermix which I wanted to order for the 34.

Most everyday clutches will have a unsplined hub with springs.

Now compare it with Exedy's top of the line carbon clutch for race use only.
Look ma, no springs laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Jan 28 2012, 11:07 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

ur flywheel so high tech miaa... what drivetrain u using???.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:57 PM)

ok.. so did u send ur engine for full balancing and blue print??.. i'm sure as an engineer u cannot tolerate any defects due to large manufacturing tolerance right??.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
empire23
post Jan 29 2012, 03:48 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 28 2012, 11:07 PM)
ur flywheel so high tech miaa... what drivetrain u using???....  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
ok.. so did u send ur engine for full balancing and blue print??.. i'm sure as an engineer u cannot tolerate any defects due to large manufacturing tolerance right??....  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
That's a Nissan SuperCoppermix for the R34 la.

Me drivetrain, DSG style TC-SST, with fully reworkable torque limit maps accessed via a CobbTuning AccessPort.

Large manufacturing tolerances? I think I paid so much money for the Evo X precisely for the reason that they've already reduced the tolerances at the factory for me biggrin.gif. Although I do have a set of Cosworth pistons and Ferrea valves lying around somewhere in the store waiting for slight grinding.

But the reality is that you can accept failure in tolerance somewhere, but not others. A road car should prize reliability and drivability above all. One could remove the aircon from their car and get a quite a few extra horsies, but I rather just get a car with more grunt than lose the aircon.

drexchan
post Jan 29 2012, 11:17 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 23 2012, 11:46 PM)
bad tensioning?

ryan_hustler
post Jan 29 2012, 08:13 PM

889 posts

Drex, since youre here, can you shed some light on who Mythelogy actually are? Ive tried looking up information on this company and I cant find any.

The question is :
Who are/is mythelogy?
When was the company founded and by who?
Whats their pedigree or experience in manufacturing car parts etc..

Since EA autoworks supplies their crankpullies, I guess youre the best person to ask..
maddriver
post Jan 30 2012, 08:50 AM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 27 2012, 06:12 AM)
then care to explain how my engine is still running fine after 200,000km with a lcp installed, plug and play?
ryan_hustler
post Jan 30 2012, 12:12 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 30 2012, 08:50 AM)
then care to explain how my engine is still running fine after 200,000km with a lcp installed, plug and play?
simple..

1) you own a workshop
2)ive never heard a bad review of your services means you know your shit and you do a good job.in fact before you even quota a price you always ajak ppl over to discuss what needs to be done and have a look at ur workmanship.

do you dare vouch for the quality of products you dont carry or the services of any other workshop?

tongue.gif
maddriver
post Jan 30 2012, 07:23 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 30 2012, 03:12 PM)
simple..

1) you own a workshop
2)ive never heard a bad review of your services means you know your shit and you do a good job.in fact before you even quota a price you always ajak ppl over to discuss what needs to be done and have a look at ur workmanship.

do you dare vouch for the quality of products you dont carry or the services of any other workshop?

tongue.gif
well...... i'm using mytheology lcp on my sic bi(th.....
sinister_sid
post Jan 30 2012, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 30 2012, 12:12 PM)
simple..

1) you own a workshop

tongue.gif
I still dont get it ? ur answer looks more like shoe licking and butt polishing unker maddriver . i tot u earliar said lighten crank pulley will destroy crank .
and i believe maddriver sold many of these and install on totally standard engine without any1 race prep and harmonic balancing . care to explain ?
ryan_hustler
post Jan 31 2012, 11:18 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Jan 30 2012, 08:47 PM)
I still dont get it ? ur answer looks more like shoe licking and butt polishing unker maddriver . i tot u earliar said lighten crank pulley will destroy crank .
and i believe maddriver sold many of these and install on totally standard engine without any1 race prep and harmonic balancing . care to explain ?
lol.. i dont anything from kissing his ass, just speaking my mind. I dont have a problem with a lightened crank pulley, or a balanced lightened crank pulley. The problem is :

tons of aftermarket parts with no history or proven RnD
some are undersized, some are lightened, some lightened and undersized, some with harmonic balancer, some with dodgy looking rubber damper
The question is, do you want to take the risk of running your car with a product with no history or proven RnD or engineering skills?

Who are mythelogy? try googling them, no history..maybe its a proper Engineering house with tons of credentials and racing designs under their belt, but think about it..if they did, im sure it will be plastered all over LYN, ZTH, have their own wiki etc..

Who are Jasma? http://jasmajapan.com/index.php website is jasmajapan, parts made in pahang? hmm.gif

maddriver can use it in his "stock" wira/satria end of the day he owns a workshop, so if his car gets f***ed, no big deal. Same story with drex, but I got nothing against them. In fact I respect their contribution to providing knowledge in an open forum for discussion. If you followed drex and guans fotopic last time, you will know these guys are very serious and smart in what they do. BUT i will never go to their workshop because I had some bad experience there. End of the day no hard feelings, maddriver and drex business are still going strong irrespective of what I say or my clientele. You just gotta decide for yourself if you wanna put your trust in watever product in the market.

I can honestly say im not a car modding god. but ive worked in a workshop and I have a very strong engineering background. As a part of this online forum, im sharing my knowledge and thoughts, bottom line is its your F**king car and money. I always answer questions as unbiased as possible. Should I change wira to rear disc brake? i tell you the pros, the cons you f**kin decide. Thats what brains are for, to be used

edit : typo

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 31 2012, 11:20 AM
maddriver
post Jan 31 2012, 07:58 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 31 2012, 02:18 PM)
lol.. i dont anything from kissing his ass, just speaking my mind. I dont have a problem with a lightened crank pulley, or a balanced lightened crank pulley. The problem is :

some are undersized, some are lightened, some lightened and undersized, some with harmonic balancer, some with dodgy looking rubber damper
The question is, do you want to take the risk of running your car with a product with no history or proven RnD or engineering skills?

Who are mythelogy? try googling them, no history..maybe its a proper Engineering house with tons of credentials and racing designs under their belt, but think about it..if they did, im sure it will be plastered all over LYN, ZTH, have their own wiki etc..

Who are Jasma? http://jasmajapan.com/index.php website is jasmajapan, parts made in pahang?  hmm.gif

maddriver can use it in his "stock" wira/satria end of the day he owns a workshop, so if his car gets f***ed, no big deal
. Same story with drex, but I got nothing against them. In fact I respect their contribution to providing knowledge in an open forum for discussion. If you followed drex and guans fotopic last time, you will know these guys are very serious and smart in what they do. BUT i will never go to their workshop because I had some bad experience there. End of the day no hard feelings, maddriver and drex business are still going strong irrespective of what I say or my clientele. You just gotta decide for yourself if you wanna put your trust in watever product in the market.

I can honestly say im not a car modding god. but ive worked in a workshop and I have a very strong engineering background. As a part of this online forum, im sharing my knowledge and thoughts, bottom line is its your F**king car and money. I always answer questions as unbiased as possible. Should I change wira to rear disc brake? i tell you the pros, the cons you f**kin decide. Thats what brains are for, to be used

even if i own a workshop and my car gets fu(ked up, it is a big deal...... spare parts don't grow on trees...... still have to buy, still have to fix. i don't blindly put parts on my car. got to be confident with the design before i test it out. can't say much about that "j" brand as i have not used it, but mytheology's design is exactly what i was looking for in a lcp. as for googling, remember the days before the internet? how did colin chapman start out? of hks for that matter. these all started out small, good shit spreads really fast, so there.......
Vervain
post Jan 31 2012, 10:49 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Guys, Stick with the topic, don't go personal and start calling out names. Dragging down workshops is not the game here.
Zaypher
post Jan 31 2012, 11:19 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 31 2012, 11:18 AM)

Who are Jasma? http://jasmajapan.com/index.php website is jasmajapan, parts made in pahang?  hmm.gif

maddriver can use it in his "stock" wira/satria end of the day he owns a workshop, so if his car gets f***ed, no big deal. Same story with drex, but I got nothing against them. In fact I respect their contribution to providing knowledge in an open forum for discussion. If you followed drex and guans fotopic last time, you will know these guys are very serious and smart in what they do. BUT i will never go to their workshop because I had some bad experience there. End of the day no hard feelings, maddriver and drex business are still going strong irrespective of what I say or my clientele. You just gotta decide for yourself if you wanna put your trust in watever product in the market.

Well wish to share my thoughts on LCP. For this purpose, I will be speaking from a point of view of a consumer and as a layman who is not as highly educated as you.

I am personally using a mythelogy LCP. To me, the problems you outlined are, with the greatest respect, highly irrelevant and unfounded when it comes to LCP per se. To begin with, the market is filled with so many labels / brands of any product of a similar nature. Regardless of whether it's an aftermarket LCP / exhaust / intake / or any other aftermarket performance parts, certain brands will boast about its long history and/or proven-dyno. That is how the market works, when there is good business opportunity, there will be competition wherein different business entities strive to distinguish their products from the rest. In this regard, the consumers will be spoilt with choices.

Now, you pointed out that there are tons of aftermarket parts with no history or proven RnD. If you ask me, I don't give a damn as to the history of any given product. When I am deciding between different brands, the utmost consideration in my mind, would be these, 'are they effective, do they work, would it serve my purpose?'. I would ask people whom I deem trustworthy and do my own little research before making my end decision. In other words, the 'history' or the lack of it, will not be crucial. Afterall, we are interested in the present and not the past. Most consumers wouldn't be bothered if any brand has a long history, what excites them are innovation, something which could improve their current station, for whatever it is. Hence it is not uncommon for business to fall despite having a long history, when you cannot keep up with innovation, you're just out of the race- simple. On the other hand, you may have a 'good' history but it can all be ruined overnight. Therefore I am of the humble view that a long line of history or a lineage which can be traced back to Alexander the Great, is not an issue, what more, a problem.

As for proven RnD, I don't know to what extent you mean. When you talk about RnD, are you comparing aftermarkets RnD to the amount of RnD done by car manufacturers? If yes, it's hard for most aftermarket players to compare with major car manufacturers. Afterall, both their focus doesn't cross path in the strictest sense of the word. In any event, most of the aftermarket products are fitted and tested in their own way before making their way into the market. Unless the products are sold by those 'fly-by night' company, a genuine business will not risk ruining their reputation and subjecting themselves to product liability action. Hence, this is also not much of a problem. If this can be perceived as a problem, then I would say that this problem is evident everywhere - many unscrupulous businesses sells all sorts of products which poses safety hazard, be it food, electronics, furnitures etc. Hence the concept of 'caveat emptor'. It's widespread. Something that is understood without having to be brought up.

It amuses me when you talk about googling mythelogy and wiki. For me, if they have wiki, then good as I can gain more info, if none, would that be a problem? Seriously, there are good stuffs or I should put it, 'hidden gems' out there which doesn't have wiki or history. Hahah, seriously, who cares about having wiki or history? I think goodwill is what one should look for rather than wiki or history. My apologies if you hold wiki or history in high regard, cause I feel that it's an irrelevant consideration.

To your question, 'do you want to take the risk of running your car with a product with no history or proven RnD or engineering skills?'.
Well, I'd say that modding car is all about taking calculated risk. Normally one mod their car the best they can in their own way and within their own budget. Some products don't work, some do. We don't know for sure which will work or which exhaust will give the most gain etc. What we can do is ask around and research. As said earlier, most consumers doesn't care about history or proven RnD etc. They are mostly sold when a particular item is proven to give certain % of performance gain and/or certain improvement in drivability, and that improvement and/or gain will not be harmful to the engine. Again, prior to the mod, consumers would never know for sure as they can only base their decision on dyno charts and representation of the salesman, and then confirm it with their own dyno run.

Speaking from my own experience, I have installed an extractor. The extractor has a wiki? No. Has a history? No. Price wise - ok. Quality wise - ok. Feedback from other buyers - good. With that, I decided to install the exhaust. Was satisfied with the performance gain as shown on the dyno chart. So to me, it works and a risk worth taking. Even with that, perhaps there may be other unknown exhaust which performs better?

As for the Mythelogy LCP, i couldn't find the wiki too, nor any history. But I heard relatively good reviews and some bad ones. Decided to get it. Enjoyed slight improvement in driveability, as for reliability, will see how it goes. Risk taken? Yes. Satisfied? Yes. Is that a problem? Perhaps no. No Wiki? Who cares?

Well yeah, that's my thoughts. I also feel that if you're scared of this and that, then don't mod anything. Secondly, if you're concerned with wiki, just remember that it's an online encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Thirdly, if history of performance parts are important, don't keep holding on to past glory(ies).

My humble two cents.
notworthy.gif
ryan_hustler
post Feb 1 2012, 01:17 AM

889 posts

Well said and well written.. i honestly appreciate it

back to the context of LCPs, why do I or others place RnD and proper engineering on a high pedestal when anyone can make a good performance part? Simple, and let me take you up on your extractor story.
I have reasonable welding skills and I previously handmade a turbo manifold out of high grade,heavy gauge buttweld fittings. Was it hard? very. Did it work? perfectly..in fact it was neater and i put in a considerable effort in calculating the fluid dynamics of exhaust gases in an effort to maximize scavenging effect. After roughly a year and a half, a small leak appeared in the weld joint and started leaving toxic exhaust gases. I check my engine bay regularly and diagnosed the problem and fixed it. Speaking to a few other friends, they have purchased aftermarket extractors which had similar leaks and they brushed it off. This is serious shit. If you breathe in the toxic carbon monoxide gases over a prolonged period of time in a confined environment, you will DIE..no doubts, no second chances. Therefore should there be an importance in choosing a quality extractor from a cap ayam one? I would say yes..

What would the average lifespan of an engine be? Lets say 100,000km of hard driving before being overhauled. thats roughly 5 years give or take. Buying a half baked poorly designed part for instant gratification would not justify the possibilities of something going wrong. How would an unbalanced crank react spinning at 6000rpm? Engine malfunction? I can life with that..Could be worse.. does anyone care to educate the general public of these problems that may occur? Ask a mechanic how to increase your HP, he will say get a stroker it, janji laju..what are the side effects? Tada punya, saya sudah buat untuk banyak kereta..modifying is not something you wanna take on without proper research, reputable products and sincere mechanics

Ive seen engine blocks with holes the size of a cigarette box because a bolt worked itself loose and shot out of the block..if it carries enough force it can go thru your firewall and kill you..it could hit a pedestrian and kill him or her..your car could sieze and hit another car, a motorcycle or a pedestrian. I find it rather irresponsible to say who cares when your decisions affect innocent unrelated people. no RnD? who cares! no QA? who cares! no QC? who cares!

I guess its all fun and games until someone takes a chunk of 6000rpms worth of poorly designed crank pulley in the face. would you still care then?

Use a product for a few months and everyones a brand ambassador. Why do we need quality, research, design, maths,physics,engineering when Muthu my trusty metalworker can turn a chunk of steel into a car part? Who cares? Malaysia boleh thumbup.gif
maddriver
post Feb 1 2012, 04:11 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Feb 1 2012, 04:17 AM)

back to the context of LCPs, why do I or others place RnD and proper engineering on a high pedestal when anyone can make a good performance part? Simple, and let me take you up on your extractor story.
I have reasonable welding skills and I previously handmade a turbo manifold out of high grade,heavy gauge buttweld fittings. Was it hard? very. Did it work? perfectly..in fact it was neater and i put in a considerable effort in calculating the fluid dynamics of exhaust gases in an effort to maximize scavenging effect. After roughly a year and a half, a small leak appeared in the weld joint and started leaving toxic exhaust gases. I check my engine bay regularly and diagnosed the problem and fixed it. Speaking to a few other friends, they have purchased aftermarket extractors which had similar leaks and they brushed it off. This is serious shit. If you breathe in the toxic carbon monoxide gases over a prolonged period of time in a confined environment, you will DIE..no doubts, no second chances. Therefore should there be an importance in choosing a quality extractor from a cap ayam one? I would say yes..

What would the average lifespan of an engine be? Lets say 100,000km of hard driving before being overhauled. thats roughly 5 years give or take. Buying a half baked poorly designed part for instant gratification would not justify the possibilities of something going wrong. How would an unbalanced crank react spinning at 6000rpm? Engine malfunction? I can life with that..Could be worse.. does anyone care to educate the general public of these problems that may occur? Ask a mechanic how to increase your HP, he will say get a stroker it, janji laju..what are the side effects? Tada punya, saya sudah buat untuk banyak kereta..modifying is not something you wanna take on without proper research, reputable products and sincere mechanics

Ive seen engine blocks with holes the size of a cigarette box because a bolt worked itself loose and shot out of the block..if it carries enough force it can go thru your firewall and kill you..it could hit a pedestrian and kill him or her..your car could sieze and hit another car, a motorcycle or a pedestrian. I find it rather irresponsible to say who cares when your decisions affect innocent unrelated people. no RnD? who cares! no QA? who cares! no QC? who cares!

I guess its all fun and games until someone takes a chunk of 6000rpms worth of poorly designed crank pulley in the face. would you still care then?

Use a product for a few months and everyones a brand ambassador.
Why do we need quality, research, design, maths,physics,engineering when Muthu my trusty metalworker can turn a chunk of steel into a car part? Who cares? Malaysia boleh  thumbup.gif
i installed the pulley at 230+k km..... my engines now close to 330+k km...... still good, never changed anything on the bottom end yet......

brand ambassador? no, just sharing my experiences...... i don't get paid......

drexchan
post Feb 18 2012, 12:26 AM

91 posts

Speaking of history and reliability, I am not sure if I should take out the 7-year old Mythelogy LCP in my 170k km car to try to make some damage on it. I too don't like the fact that I can't sell more than once to the same guy. Proton so smart, the vendors are still making money selling replacement crank pulleys to the old sagas/iswaras.

Added on
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 31 2012, 11:18 AM)
Same story with drex, but I got nothing against them. In fact I respect their contribution to providing knowledge in an open forum for discussion. If you followed drex and guans fotopic last time, you will know these guys are very serious and smart in what they do. BUT i will never go to their workshop because I had some bad experience there.

Interesting. Come, lets talk about that openly, shall we? First, start helping me to recall who you are.

Added on
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Feb 1 2012, 01:17 AM)
Use a product for a few months and everyones a brand ambassador. Why do we need quality, research, design, maths,physics,engineering when Muthu my trusty metalworker can turn a chunk of steel into a car part? Who cares? Malaysia boleh  thumbup.gif

Some how, that sounds to me, as if, you think you are the only educated guy in the forum. Good to have self-confidence. I admire that. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by drexchan: Feb 18 2012, 01:14 AM
speed2horizon
post Feb 18 2012, 02:39 AM

15 posts

Hmm.... It would be interesting to know how do u calculate the scavenging effect on a TURBO manifold when we're expecting the turbo manifold pressure to be positive due to the restriction of the turbine fins. Unless ur turbine sucks in exhaust rather than the turbine wheel is recovering the energy and heat from the exhaust... CFD..?

Bro, actually The best tubular manifolds cracks in time... Had a Full race imported... But still cracks after 2 years...
U can know it from here.

http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarre...ength_manifolds

And also, u're talking about confined space... Not sure how do you define confined space with CO. In your cabin..? Ur leaking exhaust would be blended into the atmosphere before it even reaches you firewall. Needn't to talk about it entering your cabin. Worry more on the CO2 u are exhaling every seconds reducing the O2 concentration. Even then, The Old Japanese women and a young girl that was trapped in a TOYOTA Mark for 2 days inside a non running car sealed by water were still breathing.

Sorry I don't mean to be rude. I apologize in advance...

Meaning to say the best would be leaving the engine as stock. Cause the best machines available in town for balancing a crank is the factory itself... Perodua uses 16 process with different machines to process a raw cast into a balanced crank. Same goes to Proton. But though the crank was well balanced, but the sad thing is, the pistons and rods aren't.

BTW, CNC billet cut aluminium has the least imbalanced possibility. Well, don't shoot me for this. This is what Fidanza(being one of the best aftermarket flywheels brand) claimed in their certificate of purchase.

I've know of the danger of broken flywheels going through firewall due to the momentum of the high speed rotation. That's why FIA/NHRA rules says it's necessary to install scatter shield. But of course there are possibilities of conrod flying out too... Seen one on my frend's drag car during his launch at SDB.

Most of the engines blocks with holes caused by conned rods were caused by a few things.

1) Hydrolocks aka engine masuk air. There was a post somewhere on a Stock GEN2. Search around.
2) Over rev without proper engineering assembly/parts/torque/etc.

Haha.... That would sure be painful...

Use a product for a few months and everyones a brand ambassador. Why do we need quality, research, design, maths,physics,engineering when Muthu my trusty metalworker can turn a chunk of steel into a car part? Who cares? Malaysia boleh  thumbup.gif
This has to go back to the demand and supply. How would poorly made JXXMA products survives if there's no demand. In fact, they have never claimed their parts have quality. It's back to the customers that kept looking for cheaper and cheaper stuff. Imagine, so many complains on JXXMA product and they are still surviving.... Simple, the appreciation of engineering has longed be forgotten... Price matters more... Maybe not for you and me... But for the majority of the market.

Cheers bro... have a nice day.
Notoriez
post Feb 18 2012, 03:24 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

Love using my Mythelogy LCP....even with bigger A/C compressor, it still feels ok. At least 90% of the load was 'dispersed'

For me as long the LCP is balanced & dampened is more than good enough.
sinister_sid
post Feb 18 2012, 05:50 AM

wah !! speed2horison mali liaw . lolz
@ryan hustler u still havent answer my question , i only see alot of yapping and barking , and my older question i ask earlier why hks , cusco , knightsport , gfb , skunk 2 racing , aem , sells lcp ? no 1 answer me , instead i got a flywheels with spring , why does this big shot aftermarket made aftermarket lcp if its a risk ?

Added on February 18, 2012, 5:50 amwah !! speed2horison mali liaw . lolz
@ryan hustler u still havent answer my question , i only see alot of yapping and barking , and my older question i ask earlier why hks , cusco , knightsport , gfb , skunk 2 racing , aem , sells lcp ? no 1 answer me , instead i got a flywheels with spring , why does this big shot aftermarket made aftermarket lcp if its a risk ?

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Feb 18 2012, 05:50 AM
Quazacolt
post Feb 18 2012, 05:52 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

i want to buy and try out mytheology LCP just for the sake of that additional rubber dampener also cannot since they stopped producing for iswara model sad.gif
Lowenkreuz
post Feb 18 2012, 10:05 AM

waaa so many things that i kenot brain here. so long story short, change to lcp if you want the engine to shake shake and goes kaboom and pew pew ka?
sorry i is veli the noob.
so best is use stock and dun modifait the car?
shinjite
post Feb 18 2012, 10:10 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 18 2012, 05:52 AM)
i want to buy and try out mytheology LCP just for the sake of that additional rubber dampener also cannot since they stopped producing for iswara model sad.gif
Custom made
avielboys
post Feb 18 2012, 02:08 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 18 2012, 05:52 AM)
sorry to hijack ...

Hi bro Quazacolt, i still have a new Mythelogy LCP for 4G15 MMC, will suit your car nicely ... last piece on the market smile.gif

pm me if you intereested ...

Regards.

empire23
post Feb 18 2012, 02:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Feb 18 2012, 05:50 AM)
wah !! speed2horison mali liaw . lolz

Why does Garrett market a bolt on kit for the Evo X which exceeds the power handling capacity of the clutch at stock and markets it as a stock replacement?

Why do all the major for their first iterations of the X CAI all have issues with long term ECU compensation?

Why does Turbosmart market a replacement BOV that when vents to atmosphere ruins the AFR calculations of the ECU and can wreck the engine?

Why does Seibon market a carbon fiber hood that increases the likelihood of pedestrian death in the event of crash?

It is up to the end user to figure out a risk versus reward thing. Just that in the case of an LCP which concentrates only on weight, the reward is outweighed by the risk, because the reward is so little for the average driver. Simple as that and that has always been my personal argument.

Just because they're all famous brands, doesn't mean they don't play with risk. A lot of SAU members do not recommend the installation of the HKS lightened cam pulleys on the RB25/26 due to run out, so they just don't buy it. But but but it is from HKS, sure good one!

Even the likes of Cosworth can make crap sometimes for the sake of money wink.gif
drexchan
post Feb 18 2012, 02:45 PM

91 posts

Let's talk about the risk, and show some photo for the benefit of all.

Added on February 18, 2012, 2:47 pmuser posted image

Risk?

This post has been edited by drexchan: Feb 18 2012, 02:47 PM
maddriver
post Feb 18 2012, 04:51 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(Lowenkreuz @ Feb 18 2012, 01:05 PM)
waaa so many things that i kenot brain here. so long story short, change to lcp if you want the engine to shake shake and goes kaboom and pew pew ka?
sorry i is veli the noob.
so best is use stock and dun modifait the car?
some say yes......

bizzy
post Feb 18 2012, 05:05 PM

369 posts

alot still using Jasma brand without problem.. who dare to sell out in the market sure will no problem la. sure do research and follow design from famous brand in the market.

unless they plan to shut down they company just like that.

ZenGTMM
post Feb 18 2012, 06:02 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(bizzy @ Feb 18 2012, 05:05 PM)
alot still using Jasma brand without problem.. who dare to sell out in the market sure will no problem la. sure do research and follow design from famous brand in the market.

Sometimes problems do not come out right away from using the products even for 1-2years.. Stock engines built by manufacturers incorporate a lot of tolerance into each design of the components to accommodate for manufacturing variances and to ensure maximum reliability of an engine.
What aftermarket parts do is to reduce the tolerance for the stock engine and as a result from the reduction of tolerance there is a boost in performance. Since small time manufacturers manufactures in small quantity but at a slightly higher cost on material. To negate the higher cost and still maintain a profit margin, its compensated by the lack of R&D investment in product development.. Instead the R&D invested as mentioned is for the product copying process on the best and most efficient tooling method..

In Malaysia there are no such thing as product reliability guarantee and also no insurance coverage on the failure of product that u installed.
A person who does mods to his engine will in fact not just do 1 thing only such as installing a LCP, but will also include other mods such as performance plug, cam gears, piggyback ECU etc .. So if the engine indeed do fails, most of the ppl will be blaiming the base engine itself for not being reliable instead of blaming it on the cheap and lowly engineered products that are being used. Cos in a general consumers mind what I mod into my car is definitely right. Thats why we have Jasma users.

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Feb 18 2012, 06:07 PM
izso
post Feb 18 2012, 11:00 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 18 2012, 02:23 PM)
Why does Garrett market a bolt on kit for the Evo X which exceeds the power handling capacity of the clutch at stock and markets it as a stock replacement?

Why do all the major for their first iterations of the X CAI all have issues with long term ECU compensation?

Why does Turbosmart market a replacement BOV that when vents to atmosphere ruins the AFR calculations of the ECU and can wreck the engine?

Why does Seibon market a carbon fiber hood that increases the likelihood of pedestrian death in the event of crash?

It is up to the end user to figure out a risk versus reward thing. Just that in the case of an LCP which concentrates only on weight, the reward is outweighed by the risk, because the reward is so little for the average driver. Simple as that and that has always been my personal argument.

Just because they're all famous brands, doesn't mean they don't play with risk. A lot of SAU members do not recommend the installation of the HKS lightened cam pulleys on the RB25/26 due to run out, so they just don't buy it. But but but it is from HKS, sure good one!

Even the likes of Cosworth can make crap sometimes for the sake of money  wink.gif
I don't think you understand Sid's argument. The point was "these companies don't have proper R&D" and the brands he quoted are all big names whom are well known to have their own R&D done on products they sell.

Anyway, regarding the discussion on the LCP and harmonic dampening - this is subjective. Race engines are stressed very much more than standard engines like yours and mine and hence their tolerance is very very small, which is why harmonic vibrations will affect a race engine. Stock Evo engines come with engine balancers to counter those harmonic vibrations that the engineers couldn't offset (probably at a reasonable costing) but aftermarket balancer delete kits are everywhere. Have yet to hear about any engines blowing up because of the balancer delete kit. Friend of mine had his Airtrek Turbo rebuilt, balanced and blueprinted. Removed the balancer and that was nearly 6 years ago, his Airtrek is still running fine. Basically I think it's about tolerance and how much is acceptable depending on what the application is. A stock engine or even a modded engine will not reach that level of sensitivity.

You deal with large manufacturing machines and I don't blame you for wanting to follow the same concept as those machines. For you any failure from these machines = money loss which is never acceptable in any organisation. So every meticulous detail you will consider - including harmonic dampening. Our street cars don't need this luxury and I honestly doubt a loose bolt will fly out and kill anyone anytime soon just because of supposed 'lack-of-R&D'. Malaysia is similar to China, if there is a product that's doing well, it'll be copied and rebranded. Does it mean there's no R&D? Not necessarily. The original product might have already done it and the copies are just leeching off the original idea since patents in M'sia are pretty much pointless.

I've been using a Myth pulley for close to 5 years now on my car. I don't own a workshop, I don't own a car parts shop, I am not a mechanic, I am not an engineer, I am only just an enthusiast. Whats more mine is a modified pulley which allows me to advance my ignition timing without touching the crank sensor (I'm using a VDO setup).
empire23
post Feb 18 2012, 11:43 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Feb 18 2012, 11:00 PM)
I don't think you understand Sid's argument. The point was "these companies don't have proper R&D" and the brands he quoted are all big names whom are well known to have their own R&D done on products they sell.

Anyway, regarding the discussion on the LCP and harmonic dampening - this is subjective. Race engines are stressed very much more than standard engines like yours and mine and hence their tolerance is very very small, which is why harmonic vibrations will affect a race engine. Stock Evo engines come with engine balancers to counter those harmonic vibrations that the engineers couldn't offset (probably at a reasonable costing) but aftermarket balancer delete kits are everywhere. Have yet to hear about any engines blowing up because of the balancer delete kit. Friend of mine had his Airtrek Turbo rebuilt, balanced and blueprinted. Removed the balancer and that was nearly 6 years ago, his Airtrek is still running fine. Basically I think it's about tolerance and how much is acceptable depending on what the application is. A stock engine or even a modded engine will not reach that level of sensitivity.

You deal with large manufacturing machines and I don't blame you for wanting to follow the same concept as those machines. For you any failure from these machines = money loss which is never acceptable in any organisation. So every meticulous detail you will consider - including harmonic dampening. Our street cars don't need this luxury and I honestly doubt a loose bolt will fly out and kill anyone anytime soon just because of supposed 'lack-of-R&D'. Malaysia is similar to China, if there is a product that's doing well, it'll be copied and rebranded. Does it mean there's no R&D? Not necessarily. The original product might have already done it and the copies are just leeching off the original idea since patents in M'sia are pretty much pointless.

I've been using a Myth pulley for close to 5 years now on my car. I don't own a workshop, I don't own a car parts shop, I am not a mechanic, I am not an engineer, I am only just an enthusiast. Whats more mine is a modified pulley which allows me to advance my ignition timing without touching the crank sensor (I'm using a VDO setup).
I think his argument is that if these aren't reliable, why do big names make them. The reality is that big names will just as easily skimp on the risk if they feel that there's enough money to be made. If companies can put melamine into baby formulas, well, you get where I'm going lol. After all, caveat emptor biggrin.gif

Always assume worst case scenario, that way you'll always be ahead of things. For your friend's Airtrek, I can bring up a Evo 9 that had a cam pulley failure that resulted in total valve loss, but of course that was a bred monster of 500 HP. Even mine runs 380 HP with RON98 which is way outta spec. This is an even bigger issue with blocks where the bore versus stroke isn't square, where the effects of harmonics stack up with that of the velocity of the pistons. As a process eng once told me, that piss you take into the sea may turn into that tsunami that wrecks some dude's house.

My assumption is that if you're going to get an LCP to gain more power, you're not only increasing the stress on the engine by introducing more power, but you're taking away something that decreases stress. In high performance scenarios, the usual is to toughen up the crank pulley while lightening the cam pulleys, so in a way it goes against the way I figured things should be done, hence the bias.

Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out smile.gif
drexchan
post Feb 18 2012, 11:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 18 2012, 11:43 PM)
The reality is that big names will just as easily skimp on the risk if they feel that there's enough money to be made.

True. So that they can afford to fund engineers who thinks their funders are stupid.

This post has been edited by drexchan: Feb 18 2012, 11:55 PM
empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 12:03 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(drexchan @ Feb 18 2012, 11:55 PM)
True. So that they can afford to fund engineers who thinks their funders are stupid.
Nothing wrong with that as long as I get paid biggrin.gif
Travaller
post Feb 19 2012, 12:53 AM

269 posts

6 pages and still keep going. hmmmmm.

low yat 82
post Feb 19 2012, 09:52 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

alo alo alo..........pls stick to topic... d TS is askin for his puny 4g15 engines........ not hoola boolaa.... for dats kind of engine size, harmonic dampening or not, its not abig effects.there is nothin wrong replacing it wit aftermarket crank pulley.... in reality it may onli give 1-3whp, BUT for puny engine , it means ALOT. for monster engines, safety is more of a concern ab harmonic dampening yadyada...

where d TS.... ask him kolos d topic lo...
drexchan
post Feb 19 2012, 11:47 AM

91 posts

The discussion has been healthy. Why close?
OC4/3
post Feb 19 2012, 02:27 PM

4,746 posts

Even the likes of Cosworth can make crap sometimes for the sake of money  wink.gif
Also,some well known 4G63 master refer Eric Hsu as Tooner laugh.gif

empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 02:51 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 19 2012, 02:27 PM)
Eric Tsu as in the MotorIQ / ImportTuner dude?
Quazacolt
post Feb 19 2012, 04:46 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

care to elaborate more on that? interested to know.

Added on February 19, 2012, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Feb 19 2012, 09:52 AM)
alo alo alo..........pls stick to topic... d TS is askin for his puny 4g15 engines........ not hoola boolaa.... for dats kind of engine size, harmonic dampening or not, its not abig effects.there is nothin wrong replacing it wit aftermarket crank pulley.... in reality it may onli give 1-3whp, BUT for puny engine , it means ALOT. for monster engines, safety is more of a concern ab harmonic dampening yadyada...

where d TS.... ask him kolos d topic lo...
the title is "crank pulley"
desc "stock vs lighten"

i think the discussion has been healthy thus far with the exception of some personal attacks here and there, in which case they can be reported if you deem fit. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Feb 19 2012, 04:49 PM
OC4/3
post Feb 19 2012, 05:48 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 19 2012, 02:51 PM)
Eric Tsu as in the MotorIQ / ImportTuner dude?
Yeap,that fella
speed2horizon
post Feb 19 2012, 07:15 PM

15 posts

Haha... Sounds funny la you...

1) Garrett stated something in the box... Please read the box and manual properly... Then start talking.
2) X CAI. I don't get what u meant.
3) A proper CF hood can break, but not disintegrate. Read your fiber and matrix.
4) The HKS camgear is the only camgear that will bit snap your belt due to sharp edges and material hardness. Also read the HKS manual properly on the maintenance and lifetime. Also the disclaimer.

QUOTE(bizzy @ Feb 18 2012, 05:05 PM)

You are a lucky guy. My friend just broke his Skunk 2 by jasma on his way back home... Not crank, not bushing failure, but it jsut snapped.

China only coppy stuff by request. The evil is the man whom request and order.
In china market race application, they support Full Original stuff...

I think his argument is that if these aren't reliable, why do big names make them. The reality is that big names will just as easily skimp on the risk if they feel that there's enough money to be made. If companies can put melamine into baby formulas, well, you get where I'm going lol. After all, caveat emptor  biggrin.gif

Always assume worst case scenario, that way you'll always be ahead of things. For your friend's Airtrek, I can bring up a Evo 9 that had a cam pulley failure that resulted in total valve loss, but of course that was a bred monster of 500 HP. Even mine runs 380 HP with RON98 which is way outta spec. This is an even bigger issue with blocks where the bore versus stroke isn't square, where the effects of harmonics stack up with that of the velocity of the pistons. As a process eng once told me, that piss you take into the sea may turn into that tsunami that wrecks some dude's house.

My assumption is that if you're going to get an LCP to gain more power, you're not only increasing the stress on the engine by introducing more power, but you're taking away something that decreases stress. In high performance scenarios, the usual is to toughen up the crank pulley while lightening the cam pulleys, so in a way it goes against the way I figured things should be done, hence the bias.

Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out  smile.gif
RON98..? Please show me how you justify your RON98...? Unless you show me the container that states RON98. Then it's fine.... I think the best best person to ask is Drex Chan instead of you due to his educational background...

Pee and tsunami... Haha... I'm still convinced that u're a funny guy...

LCP does not gain more power... It only reduce the inertia for the engine to accelerate better for response. Please remember... If u're going for a true beast under the hood... Then, we should be talking about fluidmpr... It's one thing u should never forget. Not your OEM. I had my OEM Crank Pulley misaligned due to rubber gave way... I'm not the only case... I also have friends disintegrating the OEM crank pulley.

Calibrated torque wrench for engine assembly... Correct for the head assembly and partial correct for the short block assembly.
Why do you need plastic gauge when u can fully trust your TW.

Of course there are much more area u can extract power. It's the matter of cost...

Ok, I still think you should be replacing Rowan A. cause u're truly a funny guy.
sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 19 2012, 02:27 PM)
who ? blink.gif

Added on February 19, 2012, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(drexchan @ Feb 18 2012, 11:55 PM)
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Feb 19 2012, 07:27 PM
empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 07:37 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(speed2horizon @ Feb 19 2012, 07:15 PM)
Haha... Sounds funny la you...

1)  Garrett stated something in the box... Please read the box and manual properly... Then start talking.
2) X CAI. I don't get what u meant.
3) A proper CF hood can break, but not disintegrate. Read your fiber and matrix.
4) The HKS camgear is the only camgear that will bit snap your belt due to sharp edges and material hardness. Also read the HKS manual properly on the maintenance and lifetime. Also the disclaimer.

RON98..? Please show me how you justify your RON98...? Unless you show me the container that states RON98. Then it's fine.... I think the best best person to ask is Drex Chan instead of you due to his educational background...

Pee and tsunami... Haha... I'm still convinced that u're a funny guy...

LCP does not gain more power... It only reduce the inertia for the engine to accelerate better for response. Please remember... If u're going for a true beast under the hood... Then, we should be talking about fluidmpr... It's one thing u should never forget. Not your OEM. I had my OEM Crank Pulley misaligned due to rubber gave way... I'm not the only case... I also have friends disintegrating the OEM crank pulley.

Calibrated torque wrench for engine assembly... Correct for the head assembly and partial correct for the short block assembly.
Why do you need plastic gauge when u can fully trust your TW.

Of course there are much more area u can extract power. It's the matter of cost...
Ok, I still think you should be replacing Rowan A. cause u're truly a funny guy.
1) If it states it in the box, then it should be stated outside the box right? Marketing I feel should be honest. Or at least it proves my position of "buyer beware"

2) Generally the Evolution X cold air intake

3) The idea is, does it break and crumple according to standards set out?

4) If I sold a dangerous product and put a disclaimer there, it still makes me liable for damage. That is the law.

RON98? Container? Me car actually needs RON98 to run. Don't ask me why, the Japanese told me to do it.

Be it fluidampr, RossTuffbond or ATI, I think the idea is the same. The OEM can take a strong beating before it needs an upgrade and they put it there at stock for a reason lah. Of course this is subject to design, for example the pulleys on an Evo are nylon, while those on a Hyundai are alu, the latter definitely lasts longer.

Logically you'd gain a little bit more power in addition to response lah due to less weight, but I wouldn't believe it is much wink.gif

Erryone has their side of the argument, well no point in making it hectic mate. We're all just stating our 2 cents, no point getting hyped up, just enjoy yer drive. I'm in a good mood after a run up and down The Panorama in Tallai. God, that was awesomest drive ever.

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 19 2012, 07:48 PM
sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 07:46 PM

I think his argument is that if these aren't reliable, why do big names make them. The reality is that big names will just as easily skimp on the risk if they feel that there's enough money to be made. If companies can put melamine into baby formulas, well, you get where I'm going lol. After all, caveat emptor  biggrin.gif

Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out  smile.gif
1) do you think consumer are that stupid or the word "LEGAL ACTION" does not exist ?? u think those big company rather risk their name for a small profit like this ? u think people around the world are like malaysia's JASMA ???

2)cam pulley failure ? wooooo perhaps HKS = HONG KONG SPORT FROM CHINA that been mistaken for HKS japan ? , imitation in malaysia no need me to write out load here la , every1 knows or perhaps the mechanic/tuner farked up ?

3)there are a saying , once u start to bump up the horses from ur engine or changing stuff that u deemed better , u already increase the risk , if u can bump the power the way u did do you think those engineer that do r&d at the factory dint figure it out ? why doesnt they do it ? u bump ur evo X to 380 horses easily like u claim then why Mitsubishi doesn't made the evo 380 horses from the factory ? yes u can say cost , enviromental but doesnt u realise 1 major point ? RELIABILITY , DUHHHHHH

4) WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH lab cal-ed torque whench wor ,
i wait the world greatest invention to announce the torque whench of ur to be the greatest idea/gadget to human kind
then those people that massed produce plastic gauge and feeler gauge can shut down thier factory go home eat maggi liaw

lol u really a joke thumbup.gif
u make me laugh like a idiot rclxms.gif
WAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAK doh.gif rclxm9.gif
empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 07:58 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Feb 19 2012, 07:46 PM)
1) do you think consumer are that stupid or the word "LEGAL ACTION" does not exist ?? u think those big company rather risk their name for a small profit like this ? u think people around the world are like malaysia's JASMA ???
2)cam pulley failure ? wooooo perhaps HKS = HONG KONG SPORT FROM CHINA that been mistaken for HKS japan ? , imitation in malaysia no need me to write out load here la , every1 knows or perhaps the mechanic/tuner farked up ? 

3)there are a saying , once u start to bump up the horses from ur engine or changing stuff that u deemed better , u already increase the risk , if u can bump the power the way u did do you think those  engineer that do r&d at the factory dint figure it out ? why doesnt they do it ? u bump ur evo X to 380 horses easily like u claim then why Mitsubishi doesn't made the evo 380 horses from the factory ?  yes u can say cost , enviromental but doesnt u realise 1 major point ? RELIABILITY , DUHHHHHH 

i wait the world greatest invention to announce the torque whench of ur to be the greatest idea/gadget to human kind
then those people that massed produce plastic gauge and feeler gauge can shut down thier factory go home eat maggi liaw 

lol u really a joke  thumbup.gif
u make me laugh like a idiot  rclxms.gif
WAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAK  doh.gif  rclxm9.gif
1. Now do you seriously believe that companies don't take risk for money? biggrin.gif . There are first version big brake kits out there from big names that screw so badly with the ABS systems the cars are undrivable. During my younger days, I used to drive a P38 Rangy, man that shit BECM and security system was bugged to hell, using your logic, would Range Rover build a shit car and done more testing?

2. I don't live in Malaysia. And I base it on trust that a man who spends a crapload of his money on cars would try very hard to make sure what he got was genuine. Maybe it was the mechanic's fault, maybe it was fake, but when a lot of people say the same thing. Well, err on the side of caution.

3. Mitsubishi in the UK makes the FQ400, 400 horsies. From the factory. laugh.gif. Aslo available in the FQ-300 and FQ-360 flavours. Also from the factory. I'm keen to hear your argument in regards to this biggrin.gif

4. I'm not sure how you can equate a torque wrench to a feeler gauge, they measure different things.
OC4/3
post Feb 19 2012, 08:11 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 19 2012, 07:58 PM)
1. Now do you seriously believe that companies don't take risk for money? biggrin.gif . There are first version big brake kits out there from big names that screw so badly with the ABS systems the cars are undrivable. During my younger days, I used to drive a P38 Rangy, man that shit BECM and security system was bugged to hell, using your logic, would Range Rover build a shit car and done more testing?

2. I don't live in Malaysia. And I base it on trust that a man who spends a crapload of his money on cars would try very hard to make sure what he got was genuine. Maybe it was the mechanic's fault, maybe it was fake, but when a lot of people say the same thing. Well, err on the side of caution.

3. Mitsubishi in the UK makes the FQ400, 400 horsies. From the factory. laugh.gif. Aslo available in the FQ-300 and FQ-360 flavours. Also from the factory. I'm keen to hear your argument in regards to this biggrin.gif

4. I'm not sure how you can equate a torque wrench to a feeler gauge, they measure different things.
1.On the market of flop product,let's see....ATP Garret GT3071R Bolt On Turbo for CN9A-CT9A Platform(They use an adapter to adapt T3 flange to stock Twin Scroll Flange) and it sucked so badly that no one bother nowadays laugh.gif
Cheapo Coilover such as K Sport,Megan etc(Damping suck)
Tein S-Tech(Always Blow EVO shock) laugh.gif
ACT Clutches(High RPM Lock Out When Shifting At High RPM)

2.MIVEC FTW...You can adjust timing with just laptop laugh.gif

3.400hp on stock block too laugh.gif

sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 08:12 PM

1)if for those small company yes , but what is big company ? , those company establish their brand for more than 30 just to ruin thier reputation ? as for ur range rover its like proton , what to argue , car manufacturer does make mistake , one year or two years back ? toyota massive recall ? toyota wor , big brand wor ? mitsu back in 90's ? rusty roof , doddy auto gb ? lancia back in 80's rust issue , chevy in 50's unreilable auto gb ?????

2) i see u agree with me , thank you

3)can you remind me the extra money have to top up for it ? hmmmmmmmmm ? with the money u add for it i can say many tuner outside can proudly get more power from it but it sell wells and people buys it because it the money u paid for the extra enginnering , so whats ur arguement ?

4) may i ?
Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out

u dint wrote that ? let me highlight 1 more time
to fit everything up

yah maybe its me that is not very well educated
but i understand from that sentence is that as u assemble ur engine bottoms up using ur lab cab torque wrench hmm.gif rclxub.gif
empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 08:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Feb 19 2012, 08:12 PM)
1)if for those small company yes , but what is big company ? , those company establish their brand for more than 30 just to ruin thier reputation ? as for ur range rover its like proton , what to argue , car manufacturer does make mistake , one year or two years back ? toyota massive recall ? toyota wor , big brand wor ? mitsu back in 90's ? rusty roof , doddy auto gb ? lancia back in 80's rust issue , chevy in 50's unreilable auto gb ?????

2) i see u agree with me , thank you

3)can you remind me the extra money have to top up for it ? hmmmmmmmmm ? with the money u add for it i can say many tuner outside can proudly get more power from it but it sell wells and people buys it because it the money u paid for the extra enginnering  , so whats ur arguement ?

4) may i ?

u dint wrote that ? let me highlight 1 more time

yah maybe its me that is not very well educated
but i understand from that sentence is that as u assemble ur engine bottoms up using ur lab cab torque wrench  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
1) Like I said, there have been crap products before. I still remember that some batches of Garret's "Disco Potato" broke under high boost after what people said were "design revisions for cost", sending chunks into the poor block. Garrett is owned by Honeywell and they're a big company right?

I mean it is all calculated risk. Companies will always cost cut, I mean, if nobody notices and nothing happens, a cost saving is always welcome.

3) Your argument was on the basis of reliability. Those blocks are stock as far as I know. With enhancements to the intake and exhaust. The Team Mitsubishi Ralliart version here in Australia with 360 ponies only comes with a different exhaust, everything else is stock. Going back to your argument in point one, would Mitsubishi risk their reputation by putting out a beast that would blow up?

4) I assemble everything with that wrench haha. From fitting wheels, banjo bolts for the brakes, caliper bolts, the head, cam bolts and so on to service manual spec. My company bagi as my personal tool set, might as well use. I like my things to book spec unless conditions call for different values.
speed2horizon
post Feb 19 2012, 08:38 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 19 2012, 07:37 PM)
1) If it states it in the box, then it should be stated outside the box right? Marketing I feel should be honest. Or at least it proves my position of "buyer beware"

2) Generally the Evolution X cold air intake

3) The idea is, does it break and crumple according to standards set out?

4) If I sold a dangerous product and put a disclaimer there, it still makes me liable for damage. That is the law.

RON98? Container? Me car actually needs RON98 to run. Don't ask me why, the Japanese told me to do it.

Be it fluidampr, RossTuffbond or ATI, I think the idea is the same. The OEM can take a strong beating before it needs an upgrade and they put it there at stock for a reason lah. Of course this is subject to design, for example the pulleys on an Evo are nylon, while those on a Hyundai are alu, the latter definitely lasts longer.

Logically you'd gain a little bit more power in addition to response lah due to less weight, but I wouldn't believe it is much wink.gif

Erryone has their side of the argument, well no point in making it hectic mate. We're all just stating our 2 cents, no point getting hyped up, just enjoy yer drive. I'm in a good mood after a run up and down The Panorama in Tallai. God, that was awesomest drive ever.
Which also written in their website.

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Feb 19 2012, 07:46 PM)

3)there are a saying , once u start to bump up the horses from ur engine or changing stuff that u deemed better , u already increase the risk , if u can bump the power the way u did do you think those  engineer that do r&d at the factory dint figure it out ? why doesnt they do it ? u bump ur evo X to 380 horses easily like u claim then why Mitsubishi doesn't made the evo 380 horses from the factory ?  yes u can say cost , enviromental but doesnt u realise 1 major point ? RELIABILITY , DUHHHHHH 

lol u really a joke  thumbup.gif
u make me laugh like a idiot  rclxms.gif
WAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAK  doh.gif  rclxm9.gif
He meant lab calibrated torque wrench...

1)obviously big companies will take risk for profit. But there's always a balance between profit and reputation. The risk are majorly on the production vs demand.

2) agreed. Fake stuff has bad QCs...

3) Fq series. Let's check who is the company that provides the warranty. MMC or ralliart??? They are different division.
4) does the torque of te main studs affect the clearance??? Hahaha.... So, do you torque the bottom according to the torque or the clearance... Get ur hands on my friend. Then u'll know why I say that...

So, have u been pumping RON98??? Where??? Thanks for your information. Cuz we don't get it in Malaysia. I detuned my aftermarket ECUs to take so called RON95.
empire23
post Feb 19 2012, 08:47 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(speed2horizon @ Feb 19 2012, 08:38 PM)
Which also written in their website.
1)obviously big companies will take risk for profit. But there's always a balance between profit and reputation. The risk are majorly on the production vs demand.

2) agreed. Fake stuff has bad QCs...

3) Fq series. Let's check who is the company that provides the warranty. MMC or ralliart??? They are different division.
4) does the torque of te main studs affect the clearance??? Hahaha.... So, do you torque the bottom according to the torque or the clearance... Get ur hands on my friend. Then u'll know why I say that...

So, have u been pumping RON98??? Where??? Thanks for your information. Cuz we don't get it in Malaysia. I detuned my aftermarket ECUs to take so called RON95.
My manager always go through the same process when it comes to cost savings.

1) Is it going to affect things by a detectable amount?
2) If shit happens is it going to be bad?
3) If it does turn out bad can the finger be pointed solely at us?

If no to all 3, go right ahead lol.

Over here the FQ or Ralliart series retains the MMC factory warranty. 5 years for the car, 10 years for Powertrain. smile.gif

My dealership (Zupps) tells me that I can head towards Ralliart power levels and will not void my warranty and they've confirmed it with MMC Australia. Plus I have a government guaranteed warranty which overrides all their T&Cs

To remove the bottom without an engine crane or a car lift for an Evo is close to impossible due to clearance, you can do the heads, but that is the extent of what I can do at home. I don't do the bottoms, only the tops and what I can access. Although if you asked me if I torqued industrial heavy machines like 3 phase oil cooled units, compressors and so forth, I'd say that is part of what I do.

Read the location under the member thing. I don't live in M'sia. We get 98 at every pump. We used to get 100 Octane at Shell, now no more tho sad.gif

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 19 2012, 08:49 PM
izso
post Feb 19 2012, 10:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 19 2012, 04:46 PM)
care to elaborate more on that? interested to know.
Sure. For VDO you can't manipulate the ignition timing. The only way is to modify the crank sensor holder assembly as what Drex has done or to advance it at the pulley. Mine had be drilled in to allow for a few degrees advancing. One of these days I'll take a picture but I'm worried some folks will try to copy me and then DIY it, then when something explodes he'll turn around and scold me for damaging his engine. rolleyes.gif (I was being sarcastic).

Anyway, if you're interested we can always talk in PM.

speed2horizon
post Feb 19 2012, 10:26 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 19 2012, 08:47 PM)
My manager always go through the same process when it comes to cost savings.

1) Is it going to affect things by a detectable amount?
2) If shit happens is it going to be bad?
3) If it does turn out bad can the finger be pointed solely at us?

If no to all 3, go right ahead lol.

Over here the FQ or Ralliart series retains the MMC factory warranty. 5 years for the car, 10 years for Powertrain.  smile.gif

My dealership (Zupps) tells me that I can head towards Ralliart power levels and will not void my warranty and they've confirmed it with MMC Australia. Plus I have a government guaranteed warranty which overrides all their T&Cs

To remove the bottom without an engine crane or a car lift for an Evo is close to impossible due to clearance, you can do the heads, but that is the extent of what I can do at home. I don't do the bottoms, only the tops and what I can access. Although if you asked me if I torqued industrial heavy machines like 3 phase oil cooled units, compressors and so forth, I'd say that is part of what I do.

Read the location under the member thing. I don't live in M'sia. We get 98 at every pump. We used to get 100 Octane at Shell, now no more tho sad.gif
Ooo... Sorry for not having time to read through your profile...
I knew Vpower from australia is RON100. Not sure if they're still available.. But will soon to find out during commissioning trip in Aussie in short future...
However, As what I've claimed earlier... Torque wrench, correct for the head... But partial correct for bottom.
drexchan
post Feb 19 2012, 11:23 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(speed2horizon @ Feb 19 2012, 07:15 PM)
I think the best best person to ask is Drex Chan instead of you due to his educational background.

Wei don't put me on the table. What educational background lah....
I spent 9 years cleaning glass wears only lah... ask me how to keep test tubes and flasks squeaky clean lah..

Quazacolt
post Feb 20 2012, 12:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(drexchan @ Feb 19 2012, 11:23 PM)
Wei don't put me on the table. What educational background lah....
I spent 9 years cleaning glass wears only lah... ask me how to keep test tubes and flasks squeaky clean lah..
what kinda educational background you have? lol
Vervain
post Feb 20 2012, 01:39 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 20 2012, 12:46 AM)
what kinda educational background you have? lol
Click on his siggy to find out.. haha

Anyhow, this has been a great discussion (Apart from insults & provoking statements). Carry on folks.
Quazacolt
post Feb 20 2012, 04:54 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 20 2012, 01:39 AM)
Click on his siggy to find out.. haha

Anyhow, this has been a great discussion (Apart from insults & provoking statements). Carry on folks.
i no facebook, and whatever available for public doesnt say much sweat.gif
Weasel1980
post Nov 29 2019, 12:29 AM

13 posts

Hi guys, I know a whole lot of writing and reading been going through. Just want to ask if the Myth CP for my 2009 Waja CPS is available? My car stock is already I think 128hp (because it's Campro CPS- Something like 30% Mivec).My specs are standard modified, I will just type what's important leaving out extra accessories that might not add in to the performance. 1) 421 Header 2) K&N Drop in Filter 3) Arospeed Plug Cables 4) Platinum Spark Plugs 5) Liquimoly Ceramic Engine Treatment 6) 16" Lightened Sports Rims 7) Auto Gear Oil Treatment. So in order to make my revving smoother and lighter, which is already feeling very slow and unresponsive, I have realised Dampened and Lightened Crank Pulley is the key. Can I know where can I get it? Thanks Sifus.

This post has been edited by Weasel1980: Nov 29 2019, 12:30 AM
unitron
post Nov 29 2019, 11:49 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Weasel1980 @ Nov 29 2019, 12:29 AM)
Hi guys, I know a whole lot of writing and reading been going through. Just want to ask if the Myth CP for my 2009 Waja CPS is available? My car stock is already I think 128hp (because it's Campro CPS- Something like 30% Mivec).My specs are standard modified, I will just type what's important leaving out extra accessories that might not add in to the performance. 1) 421 Header 2) K&N Drop in Filter 3) Arospeed Plug Cables 4) Platinum Spark Plugs 5) Liquimoly Ceramic Engine Treatment 6) 16" Lightened Sports Rims 7) Auto Gear Oil Treatment. So in order to make my revving smoother and lighter, which is already feeling very slow and unresponsive, I have realised Dampened and Lightened Crank Pulley is the key. Can I know where can I get it? Thanks Sifus.
Wow an old thread got necro-ed..

You can easily get lightened crank pulleys at Sunway horsepower / cut throat shops.
Kakimotor should have it. Otherwise just shop hop until you find one that does.
Vervain
post Dec 1 2019, 12:48 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Weasel1980 @ Nov 29 2019, 12:29 AM)
do throttle body cleaning including map sensor cleaning. if this fails to improve the performance, BOT.

0.0673sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:11 AM