Crank pulley, Stock VS lighten.

sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 04:06 PM

HKS japan sold LCP few years back even before malaysian know about it . so how a big company would risk ? as long the pulley is balance in some way how it could wreck ur crank ? wreak crank or crank oil seal my cause by improper instalation oil seal . when the oil seal is improper install it my cause the valve seal to worn out or the inner retaining wire in the oil seal may came off and scratch the crank hence crank damage and unrepairable oil leak .

Added on January 26, 2012, 4:16 pmso if using lcp could ruined ur engine so how about using lighten flywheel ? since it could effect the same way like the pulley ? some time the info u found on web aka information highway can be olso MISINFORMATION HIGHWAY .

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Jan 26 2012, 04:16 PM
sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:21 PM)
Agreed on the lightweight crank pulley part laugh.gif
Not to mention normal drivability suffer(A/C Not Cold,Engine easier to stall etc)
this not a issue if the aftermarket lcp is same size with stock not those undersize . i installed a handful since i work as mechanic for a living
sinister_sid
post Jan 26 2012, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:09 PM)
now i get it .
either u are the chief mechanic at pagini factory or team renault f1 chief development and u never seen local paliah scene that most were homemade brew recipe . sorry to degrading you
sinister_sid
post Jan 30 2012, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 30 2012, 12:12 PM)
simple..

1) you own a workshop
2)ive never heard a bad review of your services means you know your shit and you do a good job.in fact before you even quota a price you always ajak ppl over to discuss what needs to be done and have a look at ur workmanship.

do you dare vouch for the quality of products you dont carry or the services of any other workshop?

tongue.gif
I still dont get it ? ur answer looks more like shoe licking and butt polishing unker maddriver . i tot u earliar said lighten crank pulley will destroy crank .
and i believe maddriver sold many of these and install on totally standard engine without any1 race prep and harmonic balancing . care to explain ?
sinister_sid
post Feb 18 2012, 05:50 AM

wah !! speed2horison mali liaw . lolz
@ryan hustler u still havent answer my question , i only see alot of yapping and barking , and my older question i ask earlier why hks , cusco , knightsport , gfb , skunk 2 racing , aem , sells lcp ? no 1 answer me , instead i got a flywheels with spring , why does this big shot aftermarket made aftermarket lcp if its a risk ?

Added on February 18, 2012, 5:50 amwah !! speed2horison mali liaw . lolz
@ryan hustler u still havent answer my question , i only see alot of yapping and barking , and my older question i ask earlier why hks , cusco , knightsport , gfb , skunk 2 racing , aem , sells lcp ? no 1 answer me , instead i got a flywheels with spring , why does this big shot aftermarket made aftermarket lcp if its a risk ?

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Feb 18 2012, 05:50 AM
sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 19 2012, 02:27 PM)
Also,some well known 4G63 master refer Eric Hsu as Tooner laugh.gif
who ? blink.gif

Added on February 19, 2012, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(drexchan @ Feb 18 2012, 11:55 PM)
True. So that they can afford to fund engineers who thinks their funders are stupid.
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Feb 19 2012, 07:27 PM
sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 07:46 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 18 2012, 11:43 PM)
I think his argument is that if these aren't reliable, why do big names make them. The reality is that big names will just as easily skimp on the risk if they feel that there's enough money to be made. If companies can put melamine into baby formulas, well, you get where I'm going lol. After all, caveat emptor  biggrin.gif

Always assume worst case scenario, that way you'll always be ahead of things. For your friend's Airtrek, I can bring up a Evo 9 that had a cam pulley failure that resulted in total valve loss, but of course that was a bred monster of 500 HP. Even mine runs 380 HP with RON98 which is way outta spec. This is an even bigger issue with blocks where the bore versus stroke isn't square, where the effects of harmonics stack up with that of the velocity of the pistons. As a process eng once told me, that piss you take into the sea may turn into that tsunami that wrecks some dude's house.

My assumption is that if you're going to get an LCP to gain more power, you're not only increasing the stress on the engine by introducing more power, but you're taking away something that decreases stress. In high performance scenarios, the usual is to toughen up the crank pulley while lightening the cam pulleys, so in a way it goes against the way I figured things should be done, hence the bias.

Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out  smile.gif
1) do you think consumer are that stupid or the word "LEGAL ACTION" does not exist ?? u think those big company rather risk their name for a small profit like this ? u think people around the world are like malaysia's JASMA ???

2)cam pulley failure ? wooooo perhaps HKS = HONG KONG SPORT FROM CHINA that been mistaken for HKS japan ? , imitation in malaysia no need me to write out load here la , every1 knows or perhaps the mechanic/tuner farked up ?

3)there are a saying , once u start to bump up the horses from ur engine or changing stuff that u deemed better , u already increase the risk , if u can bump the power the way u did do you think those engineer that do r&d at the factory dint figure it out ? why doesnt they do it ? u bump ur evo X to 380 horses easily like u claim then why Mitsubishi doesn't made the evo 380 horses from the factory ? yes u can say cost , enviromental but doesnt u realise 1 major point ? RELIABILITY , DUHHHHHH

4) WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH lab cal-ed torque whench wor ,
i wait the world greatest invention to announce the torque whench of ur to be the greatest idea/gadget to human kind
then those people that massed produce plastic gauge and feeler gauge can shut down thier factory go home eat maggi liaw

lol u really a joke thumbup.gif
u make me laugh like a idiot rclxms.gif
WAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAK doh.gif rclxm9.gif
sinister_sid
post Feb 19 2012, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 19 2012, 07:58 PM)
1. Now do you seriously believe that companies don't take risk for money? biggrin.gif . There are first version big brake kits out there from big names that screw so badly with the ABS systems the cars are undrivable. During my younger days, I used to drive a P38 Rangy, man that shit BECM and security system was bugged to hell, using your logic, would Range Rover build a shit car and done more testing?

2. I don't live in Malaysia. And I base it on trust that a man who spends a crapload of his money on cars would try very hard to make sure what he got was genuine. Maybe it was the mechanic's fault, maybe it was fake, but when a lot of people say the same thing. Well, err on the side of caution.

3. Mitsubishi in the UK makes the FQ400, 400 horsies. From the factory. laugh.gif. Aslo available in the FQ-300 and FQ-360 flavours. Also from the factory. I'm keen to hear your argument in regards to this biggrin.gif

4. I'm not sure how you can equate a torque wrench to a feeler gauge, they measure different things.
1)if for those small company yes , but what is big company ? , those company establish their brand for more than 30 just to ruin thier reputation ? as for ur range rover its like proton , what to argue , car manufacturer does make mistake , one year or two years back ? toyota massive recall ? toyota wor , big brand wor ? mitsu back in 90's ? rusty roof , doddy auto gb ? lancia back in 80's rust issue , chevy in 50's unreilable auto gb ?????

2) i see u agree with me , thank you

3)can you remind me the extra money have to top up for it ? hmmmmmmmmm ? with the money u add for it i can say many tuner outside can proudly get more power from it but it sell wells and people buys it because it the money u paid for the extra enginnering , so whats ur arguement ?

4) may i ?
Probably just me being anal lah. I mean my car has lab cal-ed torque wrench and a set of torque drivers to fit everything up. It just bothers me because I feel that there are many places to get more evident and effective power out

u dint wrote that ? let me highlight 1 more time
to fit everything up

yah maybe its me that is not very well educated
but i understand from that sentence is that as u assemble ur engine bottoms up using ur lab cab torque wrench hmm.gif rclxub.gif

0.0304sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:45 PM