126 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

salimbest83
post May 28 2012, 09:27 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

guys.. shud i wait next gen release or just upgrade my current Intel x25M g2?

so far i read, vertex 4 is the fastest rite?
law1777
post May 28 2012, 03:14 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 27 2012, 11:33 PM)
All my applications are installed on the SSD, but most games are in a HDD. When I download via BT, I save them to my SSD first and then move the completed downloads to their final locations in the HDDs.

The reason I do this is because my games rarely improve when installed to my SSD. And also so that my HDDs aren't abused by doing a lot of random writes. HDDs are fragile, SSDs are not. At least in my experience. tongue.gif
all my BT downloads r straight saved to my wd green hdd.. so far so good

btw guys i just received my vertex4 and will post the picture here soon =)
salimbest83
post May 28 2012, 03:33 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ May 28 2012, 03:14 PM)

how much u got that v4? hmm.gif
dun forget to share some score later icon_idea.gif
law1777
post May 28 2012, 03:37 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ May 28 2012, 03:33 PM)
how much u got that v4?  hmm.gif
dun forget to share some score later  icon_idea.gif
RM550 for ocz v4
everling
post May 28 2012, 03:40 PM

3,591 posts

For those chasing performance SSDs to replace their old SSDs, will you please report if you can feel the performance difference? Does it compare to the first time you used an SSD?
yaphong
post May 28 2012, 03:59 PM

659 posts

Will I have bottlenecks with use Intel 330 SSD on SATA II?
Cyclonechuah
post May 28 2012, 04:02 PM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ May 28 2012, 03:59 PM)
Sata II have limitation of transfering 300mb per second(3GigaBits) not sure i'm correct or wrong thou.

you have check 330 SSD benchmark to know if it's bottleneck. If i remember, i think it's it's 230mb read and 170mb write.

This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: May 28 2012, 04:02 PM
Skylinestar
post May 28 2012, 05:49 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

see my post: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2186620/+1220# icon_idea.gif it's crucial m4 on sata2.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: May 28 2012, 05:49 PM
sulfuriq
post May 28 2012, 08:10 PM

1,183 posts

How lightning fast you want your SSD to be? SSD will definitely improve your Windows experience whether it is on SATA II or SATA III. I will definitely buy another SSD for my newly rig but I will definitely not buy another SSD to replace what I'm having now. For SSD, the bottleneck is your HDD. Even a 10,000 rpm HDD can't keep up with the entry level SSD.
law1777
post May 28 2012, 08:24 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ May 28 2012, 08:10 PM)
How lightning fast you want your SSD to be? SSD will definitely improve your Windows experience whether it is on SATA II or SATA III. I will definitely buy another SSD for my newly rig but I will definitely not buy another SSD to replace what I'm having now. For SSD, the bottleneck is your HDD. Even a 10,000 rpm HDD can't keep up with the entry level SSD.
so thats why my best choice is vertex4 and i've never used an ssd before. gona test it tonight with only game loading and starting up/scrolling big sized videos
1024kbps
post May 28 2012, 08:51 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 28 2012, 03:40 PM)
For those chasing performance SSDs to replace their old SSDs, will you please report if you can feel the performance difference? Does it compare to the first time you used an SSD?
Can but only little, cause i stored most of my raw TIFF scans on SSD, most of them are over 50MB each, loading time is only a little bit faster cause bottleneck-ed by my CPU, 3.7GHz AMD thuban (some image viewer will resample at real time to fit the screen which use cpu resource, and its the resample is not multithreaded!111!!) sweat.gif
Only ATTO can tell the difference LOL doh.gif
I bought the HyperX 120GB cause it priced same as my old SSDnow(old price almost same, 260++)
pot
post May 28 2012, 09:01 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ May 28 2012, 03:14 PM)

Law that means the program of BT and downloads all start in harddisk?? how long u have been doing this?? Thank you.

Added on May 28, 2012, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(law1777 @ May 28 2012, 08:24 PM)
so thats why my best choice is vertex4 and i've never used an ssd before. gona test it tonight with only game loading and starting up/scrolling big sized videos
Waiting ur report. I thought u have using SSD + HDD combination for BT downloading?? SSd for system and BT + program of BT all throw to HDD?

This post has been edited by pot: May 28 2012, 09:03 PM
SSJBen
post May 28 2012, 09:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 28 2012, 03:40 PM)
Went from an Intel X25 to a Crucial M4 and Samsung 830.
Have them on SATAII and SATAIII machines, difference? Perhaps. But I think it's only psychological, lol. laugh.gif

Heavier tasks like encoding videos or real-time recording (especially when recording at 60fps) on the other hand, I do see and feel the difference however.

You're not getting full speed, atleast interms of sequential writes and reads.
If you're reading reviews, don't just read how fast the SSD can transfer data, because that's sadly not the whole story.

The reason for SSD being so quick is because of its virtually non-existant access time.
And fortunately for you, even first-gen SSDs are already in this area of no-acess time at all.

Bottleneck? Yes. If all you're gonna do is run ATTO or AS SSD everyday.

If you're actually using the computer, you'll likely not be able to tell the difference between SATA II and SATA III.
yaphong
post May 28 2012, 10:37 PM

659 posts

I am just planning to upgrade my current HDD to SSD. My motherboard does support SATA III albeit through Marvell controller.

It seems if I use the SATA III, my boot time will be longer because my motherboard needs to boot the controller before can load the system.
Yuuyatails
post May 28 2012, 11:29 PM

42 posts

What is the price of a 240 GB version of OCZ Vertex 4?

And...how good is it?
herojack41
post May 28 2012, 11:35 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

the speed aint going anywhere if im still on sata 2 rite?
1024kbps
post May 29 2012, 12:21 AM

李素裳
6,015 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 28 2012, 11:35 PM)
the speed aint going anywhere if im still on sata 2 rite?
Possible Max sequential read/write speed for your SSD is 375MB/s for SATA 3GBits/s.
if im correct sweat.gif

Added on May 29, 2012, 12:24 am
QUOTE(yaphong @ May 28 2012, 10:37 PM)
I am just planning to upgrade my current HDD to SSD. My motherboard does support SATA III albeit through Marvell controller.

It seems if I use the SATA III, my boot time will be longer because my motherboard needs to boot the controller before can load the system.
Mostly will be 2 or 3 second longer if third party controller enabled, before the BIOS screen sweat.gif not a big deal though
btw Marvel controller sucks, you will get sub optimal result if using these controller instead of intel native sata port.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 29 2012, 12:24 AM
law1777
post May 29 2012, 11:58 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(Yuuyatails @ May 28 2012, 11:29 PM)
What is the price of a 240 GB version of OCZ Vertex 4?

And...how good is it?
all memories of vertex4 are superb AFTER you UPDATED THE FIRMWARE to v1.4

vertex4 is temporary the fastest ssd on earth and price is cheaper than corsair/intel
EvOKIdZ
post May 29 2012, 12:54 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ May 29 2012, 03:58 PM)

vertex4 is temporary the fastest ssd on earth and price is cheaper than corsair/intel
bro have u install ur ssd yet? any review? brows.gif
Yuuyatails
post May 29 2012, 03:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ May 29 2012, 11:58 AM)

Well, the problem is I may use the SSD as the primary drive if I have planned to build a new desktop PC. (currently I don't have enough money to buy the components)

Plus, my current PC is in IDE mode and the OS is Windows XP, and there is no way to update the SSD firmware in that mode.

This post has been edited by Yuuyatails: May 29 2012, 03:37 PM

126 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:09 AM