Sep 11 2012, 06:22 PM
6,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Yippy. After b****ing hard time on doing my own gui. Finally created a way to do chapter images like subler on mac.
Mac limitation is NTFS above 4gb copy Now no more limitations.Can make it exactly like itunes except slightly bigger to compensate that i am taking from blu-ray while apple is from lossless so can make the vid quality either abt the same or better. |
Sep 12 2012, 10:48 AM
11 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Sep 12 2012, 11:03 AM
1,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ATV Flash Black 2.0 is available
Sep 12 2012, 11:03 AM
Full Chapter Image+English SDH Sub+Multi Audio
Transformers » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Sorry for the low res tint thingy. Its a LG remote App Screen Capture on Ipad issue. All Encode was from pure bd with highest settings for VC-1 in accordance with iTunes 1080p. Personally i think Apple is right Encodes should be in High Profile 4.0 rather than 4.1 for 1080p. 4.1 is suitable for BD only. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 12 2012, 02:20 PM |
Sep 12 2012, 02:24 PM
Transformers - Dark of the Moon
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 12 2012, 04:18 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi cstkl
Posted in other thread but maybe you have lost interest to discuss there. Actually I am very interested to learn how you do those you have shown. I am very interested to buy Apple TV but want to learn how you do what you have done with your movies collection before I make the plunge. So far I have an Ipad 3rd gen for my viewing pleasure. I get what you say about 'downgrading' the file quality when using third party apps but since they are user friendly and 'download and use' hence why a lot ppl did not bother to attempt what you did. Maybe I should say Im not really a techie so apologies if any of my comments here are 'unintelligent'. But trying to learn as much as I can. Tried 'converting' one of my mkv movies using Avidemux. Although iTunes did detect the file however the movie did not play or rather move at all (it opened). Just stuck. I used copy for video and AC3-aften for sound. Original file was DTS. Also when I used VLC to play the mp4 file the sound was distorted. Only when I changed to AAC the sound was ok but again the movie stuck. I tried re-encode the video but no different. Is there some sort of problem with my original file? No 2 is there any other option besides Avidemux? I want the files to be m4v rather than mp4 or is it not a problem with ATV? Read somewhere that m4v has more metadata info than mp4. But that is easy (I think) as I saw a lot of software that can change the container without re-encoding. No 3 how to 'install' (dont know what is correct word) multi audio? ie AAC (stereo) and AC3 (surround) in the same m4v/mp4 file? Tried looking for this in web but either I can't find the info or I can't understand what I was reading lol (likely this) No 4 I haven't tried inserting subtitle yet but I will try once I manage to sort above problems. But saw somewhere that you can use mp4box. Im sure I will encounter some problems. Saw your post somewhere that you can't get the subtitles on the iPad. However you found the problem and rectified it. Im sure I will ask you again about this since I will most definitely encounter this problem. Lastly just remembered, saw you post about IOS able to handle 4.1 high profile? I saw this as an option in video encode but how do we know the ori mkv file is in that form or not? Should we just change it but wouldnt it cause the video to be re-encoded rather than just copy? Got more questions to ask but I think its too long already so I better stop. Sorry if my post is out of topic. I just love the way the files were nicely grouped and their presentation in iTunes. Really hope I can emulate that. Thanks in advance. |
Sep 12 2012, 04:36 PM
11 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Hey guys,
Has anyone tried using a wireless headphones plugged directly into the optical audio of Apple TV3. I can get the sound to work but the streaming stops/slows down to the point of not working. Has anyone found a way around this? I am guessing that the wireless headphones (Astro A50) shares the same frequency as my router. Any help, anyone? Regards, Gnooh |
Sep 12 2012, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(abei2 @ Sep 12 2012, 04:18 PM) thats kindda long.Avidemux was just the beginning. Atleast u saw how fast is muxing. I've gone further. I now encode blu-rays. Reason being found it will be higher than the mkv remux.the reason not for the guide is 2. 1. Ppl wont appreciate it. 2. Just give u a glimpse will talk about one topic below. Before u encode u need to arm ure self with knowledge on codec, compression etc. Stop this one click gui. Ok lets talk abit about high profile 4.1. Blu-rays comes in 3 formats. MPEG-2, VC-1 and AVC High Profile 4.1. Nowadays more on the last two. VC-1 has a lot of smoothning but its pretty good. Example Dark Knight, Transformers 1,2,3. High Profile has better compression and better motion estimation to distribute bits and has better capabilities to reproduce lossless video source.Y i said apple is smart. They choose high profile 4.0 for their 1080p. A lot of mkv's out there are using high profile 4.1 on small size. This encoders dont realise how to use High Profile to the advantage to get a better compression throughout the film. Also hmm a lot of new mkv realeases are bad. How i know bad?? lets put a side what i see is what i get. A lot of ppl are fooled that size of mkv or bitrate shows the quality. Before u talk about bitrate u should look at the compression settings they used in x264. U can find this in mediainfo. Like mine is » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The most important setting u need to find is Subme nvr download any mkv with avc with subme less than 10/11. I do 11. Some say placebo but i find theres a difference. Btw some even sillier they use subme 10/11 without using trellis. It will default back to 9 even when it writes as 10/11 Subme 9 encoding of transformers = 2 hours Subme 10 encoding of transformers = 6-7 hours Subme 11 encoding of transformers = 10 hours. All on a i7 4.5ghz 100% running on 8gb 2133 CL7. What my secret is i use custom first pass which u wont see it depending on different type of film. Types meaning, Animation, Action Drama, Still film , Grainy Film, VC1, AVC etc. How to check ure codecs. Download install mediainfo. Run mediainfo and tick the option for windows explorer extension to make life easier. Ok here is anotherthing. A lot of ppl think running high profile 5.1 on their encoding from blu-ray or mkv source to make it smaller will increase their quality. It doesnt. However its just a matter or time for compressionist moves from 8bit encoding to 10bit. Theres a difference in size while retaining quality. Only thing other than PC nothing will play it atm. Ok another daft thing on encoding. U will hear dumbass saying CRF better than AVG bitrate etc. What they dont understand all is this.Encoding for video has two ways 1. Constant Bitrate 2. Variable Bitrate in variable Bitrate has a subset of 3. lol getting long will end it here. as i said if write this down will take awhile. U can see from this thread and others nobody cares. They all patting their backs with crappy netflix and hulu. Added on September 12, 2012, 5:56 pmdecided to teach u bro but prefer its a question answer session. Just do it here since its going nowhere with netflix and hulu and vpn for the last 10-20 pages samething over and over again. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 12 2012, 06:18 PM |
Sep 12 2012, 06:19 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
This is getting very interesting although mind boggling. Last night I slept at 4pm just reading all your post and trying to digest while googling terms that I dont understand. Likely I wont sleep at all tonight!
But from what I've seen screenshots that you have shown, it is worth the effort. But I really need to 'study' a bit. So mediainfo will tell what is the setting of subme for a particular type of mkv file. But we have to download the file first before we can see what is the setting of that file right? Not that download limit is a problem but it is still waste of time unless the info is stated. Doubt it as I've never see that kind of info on the site. Anyway I will check it out. Thanks. Something for me to look forward going home tonight. |
Sep 12 2012, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(abei2 @ Sep 12 2012, 06:19 PM) This is getting very interesting although mind boggling. Last night I slept at 4pm just reading all your post and trying to digest while googling terms that I dont understand. Likely I wont sleep at all tonight! nah i can teach u in 10 mins lol. whatsapp or call me with But from what I've seen screenshots that you have shown, it is worth the effort. But I really need to 'study' a bit. So mediainfo will tell what is the setting of subme for a particular type of mkv file. But we have to download the file first before we can see what is the setting of that file right? Not that download limit is a problem but it is still waste of time unless the info is stated. Doubt it as I've never see that kind of info on the site. Anyway I will check it out. Thanks. Something for me to look forward going home tonight. pm u the number i am free right now. Added on September 12, 2012, 6:24 pmgood encoders will write the x264 settings. Normally releasers like blow all wont cause they are just aiming to be the first to rip blu-ray release etc. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 12 2012, 06:24 PM |
Sep 14 2012, 10:21 AM
Trade Dispute
5,689 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
can someone tell me whether subtitle option is available on netflix tv series? how to activate it? I confirmed hulu plus dont have the subtitle option.
Sep 14 2012, 12:00 PM
1,804 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Sep 14 2012, 12:06 PM
294 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
another question..ATV can watch Hulu+, but what if i want to watch those free episode on Hulu ? can only stream voa ATV to the LED TV from macbook ?
coz once i stream from my mbp, i cant do other stuff.. or am i missing something ? This post has been edited by annielee: Sep 14 2012, 12:06 PM |
Sep 14 2012, 11:26 PM
186 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
I'm buying atv3.
But want to confirm hulu can be purchased via i tunes using US gift cards. Via web not possible anymore. |
Sep 15 2012, 01:59 AM
1,939 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 14 2012, 10:21 AM) can someone tell me whether subtitle option is available on netflix tv series? how to activate it? I confirmed hulu plus dont have the subtitle option. Mostly available. Just long press the center button when the video starts playing.QUOTE(annielee @ Sep 14 2012, 12:06 PM) another question..ATV can watch Hulu+, but what if i want to watch those free episode on Hulu ? can only stream voa ATV to the LED TV from macbook ? Free Hulu can only be watched on the web. If you want it on TV, you have to hook up your MacBook via AirPlay mirroring or cable.coz once i stream from my mbp, i cant do other stuff.. or am i missing something ? |
Sep 15 2012, 01:02 PM
Trade Dispute
Ok thx teddy, will try n see.
Sep 15 2012, 01:43 PM
294 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
but once i airplay via macbook, i cant do other stuff with my mac liao..
haih..now thinking should i return the ATV..since just bought few days back.. QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 15 2012, 01:59 AM) |
Sep 15 2012, 06:45 PM
Trade Dispute
i remember last time when register for 1mth free service from netflix, we need not to provide credit card...but now need?
| Change to: | 0.0314sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:55 AM |