post Aug 11 2012, 12:25 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Netflix on Apple TV ada subtitle?
-Teddy-
post Aug 11 2012, 01:14 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Just to confirm, even Apple TVs bought directly from Apple Malaysian online store will have Netflix, Hulu, and just everything else that's included in US's Apple TV?
-Teddy-
post Aug 11 2012, 07:14 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 11 2012, 01:18 PM)
No unless u change ur region to us.
Meaning I can just get one off Apple's website and simply change the region and everything will be good? Because Apple is selling it at just RM350, while those in Garage Sales are pricing them at around RM450, so I thought apps like Netflix and Hulu will be the differentiating points.

Any lubang to get an inexpensive ATV 2 by the way? tongue.gif
-Teddy-
post Aug 12 2012, 12:17 AM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Aug 11 2012, 09:36 PM)
I'm in a little dilemma. I have ipad in my house, which my mom mainly use to stream drama and etc, I'm planning to get MacBook soon, I wanted to setup a network storage for all my media, and I want to play them in my TV or MacBook whenever I want. I also like the idea of AirPlay where my mom can use the TV to watch those video instead of watching on the ipad. I want to make sure my concept is right, so hoping sifus here can point out if any of my understanding is wrong.

So if I get Apple TV, i can hook on the network storage to it to play the media, but only limited video format supported. Which means I have to convert them before storing the file. Or i can use third party media player in MacBook which play files like MKV and RMVB and airplay it to the TV. And my mom can airplay the video in her ipad to the TV. Am i right?

Worst come to worst, i will have to use third party media centre which compatible with all sort of file type, but I'll lose the airplay function >.<
Try AirVideo to play unsupported files on iPad.

QUOTE(DeLarafi @ Aug 11 2012, 09:48 PM)
Netflix got prob?? i can access the menu..but when come to play.. yesterday it say.. "cant play directly.. " today they say.. not supportyed in my region... but i can access all the menu and stuff.. VPN all okay..
Spongebob loading no problem.

P/s: Anyone can confirm that if I buy an ATV from Apple Online store, the Netflix app will show up by simply changing the region?

This post has been edited by -Teddy-: Aug 12 2012, 12:44 AM
-Teddy-
post Sep 6 2012, 11:56 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Anyone seeing any degrade in Netflix streaming quality? Using Unifi 5mbps, can stream Vimeo and iTunes Festival in HD without any problem, but Netflix looks crappy.
-Teddy-
post Sep 8 2012, 01:52 AM

meh
1,939 posts

It's midnight and no one is using the network. I'll see how it goes in the next few days. Hulu Plus is streaming better, but the amount of ads, yikes.
-Teddy-
post Sep 11 2012, 04:32 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 10 2012, 09:28 PM)
i tried airparrot but very lag and sound becomes on and off in between. Is there any setting on th e preference...spent 9.99 for it. If it doesnt work, then really piss off.
Should have tested it using free trial first.
-Teddy-
post Sep 15 2012, 01:59 AM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 14 2012, 10:21 AM)
can someone tell me whether subtitle option is available on netflix tv series? how to activate it? I confirmed hulu plus dont have the subtitle option.
Mostly available. Just long press the center button when the video starts playing.
QUOTE(annielee @ Sep 14 2012, 12:06 PM)
another question..ATV can watch Hulu+, but what if i want to watch those free episode on Hulu ? can only stream voa ATV to the LED TV from macbook ?

coz once i stream from my mbp, i cant do other stuff..

or am i missing something ?
Free Hulu can only be watched on the web. If you want it on TV, you have to hook up your MacBook via AirPlay mirroring or cable.
-Teddy-
post Sep 15 2012, 07:05 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Sep 15 2012, 01:43 PM)
but once i airplay via macbook, i cant do other stuff with my mac liao..

haih..now thinking should i return the ATV..since just bought few days back..
Either that or subscribe to Hulu Plus, $8 per month, with (way too much) ads. Netflix is better overall, good collection of movies and TV shows, but you won't get the latest TV shows unlike Hulu.
-Teddy-
post Sep 19 2012, 05:48 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 18 2012, 04:43 PM)
Erm, still need credit card info when registering 1 month trial with netflix?
I just registered one last week using atv2 and I just linked the itunes account, don't think they requested credit card info, although I do have some giftcard points left in my account.

Btw, how can you force set the quality for netlix?
I'm aware there's a quality setting in the netflix page, I've already set the best quality but sometimes the movies came out looking like 56k stream(probably not 56k..but too much artifacts and looking blurry)
Even video streaming on Hulu has better quality than netflix.
Using apple tv2, latest firmware and on 4mbps streamyx.
Netflix's quality is inconsistent, unlike Hulu which streams HD almost every single time. But I'm not paying to watch commercials, so Netflix's here to stay.

0.0189sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:33 AM