Apple TV, Make the most of Apple TV

cstkl1
post Jul 12 2012, 03:22 PM

6,799 posts

Just a feedback.. Got my ATV3 2 days ago. Was actually looking forward to it and then.

1.ATV high Profile 4.0 limit is REAL
ATV really cannot handle mkvs that are in high profile 4.1 that has been encoded from BD master/50gb etc.. It always hits a jag when the bitrates exceed the 25mbps spec on 4.0. So apple wasnt kidding on this.
Btw those mkv's are converted back to m4v,mp4 container with just the encoding done on the audio to AAC 160kbps Stereo and Dolby Digital 5.1 at 384kbps as per apple spec. Even optimized the mp4's so all the handlers are organized etc which makes it stream, load faster etc.

3. Pic Quality.
The prob is this. Downloaded two movies from Itunes at 1080p. Compared it with my own/downloaded rip of a 720p and a 1080p version of that two movies. Basically the detail on the 1080p version of itunes is comparable with those 720p's downloaded bitrate. So thats like a no no. Can already tell the difference on my 47 inch LM9600. So what about those of u using 55 inches etc. TrueMotion also shows a big difference
Its like 2 steps down from playing back a pure blue ray but a step better than dvd.

Conclusion.

So kindda pissed off lol. Like y couldnt they just made the ATV3 with the dual core A5 on the Ipad 2. It would have been perfect.

As for now seems using Ipad 2 as a streaming devices seems better but just 3 times at the price.

ATV seems to be only good for TV serials for me atm.

Again just a feedback after a 14 hours of testing on it trying to get a reasonable amount of home theater experience

btw i personally can share one thing about unifi etc.. those with 10-20mb line. Assuming ure not a 24 hours in the house guy. Lol after a month or two u wont have much things to download lol. Comes to a point where u wont mind even 10mb line as whats the difference in 8gb in 2 hours instead of 1 hour. So with this again i am pointing out on the bitrate issue with ATV3

Added on July 12, 2012, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(burb @ Jul 10 2012, 11:22 PM)
i helped my friend to update his atv2 before jb. so far no complaint from him... as for my own, i still stayed at 5.0.1. Lazy to update... if u are using atv3, no harm updating to get latest fw

Added on July 10, 2012, 11:23 pm

jailbroken or stock? JB = yes... stock = no

Added on July 10, 2012, 11:24 pm

5ghz? whats ur internet speed? if unifi should be no buffering.. unless the line is very bad...  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
I think he meant from Homesharing. U have a buffer. I think its around 200-300mb Approximate

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jul 12 2012, 03:40 PM
cstkl1
post Jul 30 2012, 08:09 AM

6,799 posts

Yeah cannot post sites abt jb tv streaming. Btw those were legal streams.

But can have a link and service to sell 40tb pirated bd on his signature

And can sell durianhd service which is a illegal pirate feed.

Way to go.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jul 30 2012, 08:12 AM
cstkl1
post Jul 31 2012, 08:52 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 31 2012, 06:51 AM)
wah lau eh 20mbps line also buffer  shocking.gif
somemore unif.... shocking.gif
then i might hold my unifi registration first  doh.gif
yup. correcto. theres buffering.

so far the longest was batman dark knight rises trailer.

btw one i thing i find interesting

for my imac, mac pro, ipad, iphone my gaming desktop.. once in a while if i mess with my media computer like off the network or itunes in it..there will be issue with the ios devices on finding back the homesharing library.

the imac, mac pro always finds my media computer itunes homesharing.
the ios is a bit tricky

but i am suprised that the atv which is ios based always finds it also

so wondering y the iphone and ipad is not as good. it will always find the atv. but not to the media computer. takes a few mins sometimes. its usually when i go out of the house change networks etc and come back home to house network when this happens.

just wonderin... why couldnt they make it as good as the atv.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jul 31 2012, 09:01 AM
cstkl1
post Aug 2 2012, 12:44 PM

6,799 posts

hmm has anybody noticed that apple tv max streaming is about 38-40mbps
this was via the Ethernet.

i wonder y??

pretty sure atv is limiting the speed or not running at 100mbps on the Ethernet.

tested with a 50gb bdriped to mainline, highprofile and baseline all at higher level 4.0 and 4.1. Wanted to test the capabilities. So far baseline 4.1 is possible as long its cabac 4 frames. 5 frames it gets tricky but with 5 frames ure more inline with 4.1 and blueray spec.

What was surprising was the buffering. But pretty sure if it could hit 100mbps it would be faster.

Ipad streaming was fine at 64mbps Short GI enabled.

is it keeping the other 50-60 including overhead for airplay, downloads of movie etc??

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 2 2012, 12:46 PM
cstkl1
post Aug 3 2012, 11:07 PM

6,799 posts

lol. Prefer Download myself and airplay it.

I find netflix too slow. I normally tend to skip parts in tv shows.

but still does anybody here get full 100mbps from their computer on homesharing. I dont mean connected but when u stream it check at ure task bar for network performance and see how much of bandwidth apple air play is taking up.
cstkl1
post Aug 4 2012, 11:31 PM

6,799 posts

eh again voting for downloading ureself. change the container, re-encode the audio to aac and dolby digital. add cover. add subtitles. add chapters ( movies). tag it.

and presto. awesomeness to stream from homesharing.

again no feedback on y atv only uses 30-40mbps of its 100mbps Ethernet port for streaming??
cstkl1
post Aug 7 2012, 02:53 PM

6,799 posts

ok retested again with few videos

with high profile 4.1.. no problem except.. when it hits more than 50mbps. the video and will stop with audio still continuing.

y this happens cause sometimes on cabac 4-5. it will slightly go over the 4.1 spec.

other than that apple tv has no issue with high profile 4.1

personally i think apple limited it to 4.0 because of the 8gb inside and it only buffers max around 5gb..at max 35-40mbps ( so thats around 4.5-5mb per sec transfer).. basically 1gb in 3.8mins

tested with a few files.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 7 2012, 02:57 PM
cstkl1
post Aug 10 2012, 04:42 AM

6,799 posts

Still gonna defend AppleTV and Ipad and Homesharing with m4v's.
sorry for the shaky hands on ipad camera.

Warning!! 1920x1200, 2048x1546, 1080p.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 10 2012, 04:44 AM
cstkl1
post Aug 11 2012, 10:41 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Aug 11 2012, 09:36 PM)
I'm in a little dilemma. I have ipad in my house, which my mom mainly use to stream drama and etc, I'm planning to get MacBook soon, I wanted to setup a network storage for all my media, and I want to play them in my TV or MacBook whenever I want. I also like the idea of AirPlay where my mom can use the TV to watch those video instead of watching on the ipad. I want to make sure my concept is right, so hoping sifus here can point out if any of my understanding is wrong.

So if I get Apple TV, i can hook on the network storage to it to play the media, but only limited video format supported. Which means I have to convert them before storing the file. Or i can use third party media player in MacBook which play files like MKV and RMVB and airplay it to the TV. And my mom can airplay the video in her ipad to the TV. Am i right?

Worst come to worst, i will have to use third party media centre which compatible with all sort of file type, but I'll lose the airplay function >.<
osx lion. Airplay mirror.
Network Storage has to be accessed by ure macbook.

appletv currently only supports homesharing with a pc/osx. it doesnt read from a network storage.btw this will increase ure buffering slightly and i advice u run everything on a gigabit network and not wifi or a 100mpbs ethernet.

Added on August 11, 2012, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(cylince @ Aug 11 2012, 05:29 PM)
cstkl1, what is the video converter you use to convert to apple tv format?
very vague question but will try it depends on the source movie/tv shows etc container and video/audio codec.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 11 2012, 10:43 PM
cstkl1
post Aug 15 2012, 11:03 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 15 2012, 09:40 AM)
is it possible to download movies from netflix or xbmc? i saw post above someone posting picture a hdd besides hdtv. Is it possible to download in hdd?
xbmc is a media centre.
Netflix u cant download it. hence y netflix is only always on licensed platforms. In this case on Apple IOS.
If u want u can find the file but pretty sure it will have a drm on it. Think it will be faster for u to download the show/movie ure self

cstkl1
post Aug 15 2012, 09:02 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Aug 15 2012, 05:11 PM)
have strong feelings that it wouldnt come, just watch legal paid contents.
its still cheap!
Ure skimming on the word legal.
Its illegal with vpn.

Its a yes or no. Not almost. It just sounds legal cause ure paying for it. The copyright is licensed for distribution/viewing/streaming in the us. Its the same-thing as drugs. Theres a lot of recretional drugs legal in multiple countries. It doesnt make it legal if somebody buys from them overseas from a certified shop, smuggles in through customs and smokes it for personal use at home.

Btw just realized how lacking knowledge ppl are in encoding. So much ppl are being conned with 2nd hand atv2 price. Atv2 was rubbish from the get go like ipad 1.

Learn about homesharing awesomeness ppl. If u have time for stream contents to download u have time to download also. The question is more like choosing the rite rips and just encoding the audio and muxing it to m4v.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 16 2012, 02:06 AM
cstkl1
post Aug 16 2012, 12:14 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(izzi_guy @ Aug 16 2012, 11:52 AM)
nahh..vpn is used for virtual network man..it is legal if you referring to networking. people use vpn to create a network like home-country connection provided a dedicated proxy...for those working in mnc might getting a clear picture. i dont want to sound like a wise man in networking but for me it is legal.

using 2nd hand apple tv less hassle compared to download and encode it to right format.
moreover it just streaming. great enuff
Ure right about not being a wise man.

The content is legal to the point of ure vpn server location and ip add. Its illegal when than 1byte of data reaches on ure ip address in malaysia. Ure just restreaming a drm media. Dont think it as a network sharing. The rights dont even cover it.

Again skimming on the word legal.

Must be the same thought process online media pirates like durianhd. Pirate astro. Feed to some cuban sever etc etc. Then reroute it back here. And most probably also using vpn. Pirater paying asto. durianhd customer paying pirater. All good. NO

This is about data rights and distribution licensing.

again hassle because of ignorance. But that is a personal pref. Everybody is being high just because they pay netflix etc thinkin its legal. Its not. Netflix just feinting ignorance atm.For them is a win win.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 16 2012, 12:36 PM
cstkl1
post Aug 16 2012, 06:36 PM

6,799 posts

Hint theres a guy in piratebay already doing very good encodes for appletv2 and 3. From bdray.Tested a few.not bad subme 10 just thay i do it except i go a bit further on quality.

cstkl1
post Aug 19 2012, 11:13 PM

6,799 posts

this is y human beings are just pure suckers. Theres one or possibly more born everyday.

cstkl1
post Aug 22 2012, 10:30 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(burb @ Aug 22 2012, 09:32 PM)
no bro… not for atv 3 …
u missed it by just an hour.

i posted all of it.

LOL.

when will pm u

as i said before ignorance.

cstkl1
post Sep 3 2012, 12:50 AM

6,799 posts

Pity the guy. Doesnt know theres going to be a flood of encoders doing m4v from pure blu-ray coming soon.

ATV3 kicksass on 1080p
cstkl1
post Sep 4 2012, 12:49 PM

6,799 posts

Hmm got a idea. Just wanna see feedback and opinion.

How abt start a private torrent site.Encode a specific way to make sure get max resolution to size ratio on blu-ray.The tracker will be a seed box say 3tb in size with 36tb upload/download quota with 10gbps upload download bandwidth.

Everybody shares the cost say like for the seedbox like above is 90pounds a month. Idea is to get 90 ppl per 3tb hdd. Try to keep it at Rm5-RM10 per person for monthly basis. If no of ppl not taking up bandwidth then start buying itunes movies and start breaking the drm and place it at the server with the extra cash if it ever reaches to that state. Aim of this is to reach 1000 users. Beginning will be slow as content is a issue and teaching ppl encoding to upload. Later can even pool dough to buy blu-rays and say for senior verified members can like borrow it on a time basis. Extra cash can also be used to buy in in private tracker sites like torrentleach with superleaching privileages to get tvshows ( as they are released ) and blu-rays (leaked and official)

Divide the section of trackers to two. One is for Blu-ray and second for complete m4v.

Think ppl will go for this? Think theres a market?

btw if u wanna talk about sharing itunes drm movies and say its illegal. I dont see it any different that all the threads in garage doing renting movies of personal blu-rays without distribution and sharing license.

points to ponder.

1. Require a HTML and XML expert of sites etc
2. Encoders ( i7 computers with SSD fast internet atleast 10mb line)
3. Something to manage payment which will be paypal and show accounts transparency etc.
4. Part of encoding process. I can do all the OCR subs in english but maybe will add later malay and chinese. So will have to find ppl with good high proficiency in this.

Pros is u get a dedicated seedbox that will maximize ure speed. Can also add a vpn to this since we have server space for those who want protection etc. No seeding required. Get latest stuff based on blu-ray releases or leaked blu-ray releases.

So till then feedback

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 4 2012, 01:01 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 5 2012, 07:20 PM

6,799 posts

therrs a lot of encoding terminology is being used wrongly herr.

720p with mp4box anc qaac for acc encoding on a i7 45mins video.
1min.

so lol the xmedia.

use the latest x264. it uses avc in ure 2nd/3rd gen i5/i7. 50 percent faster
cstkl1
post Sep 9 2012, 09:43 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 9 2012, 07:08 PM)
Can i do airplay using my laptop using windows 7? Need to download any software? I plan to execute vlc player n airplay on the tv. Can?
use
airparrot
cstkl1
post Sep 10 2012, 09:36 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 10 2012, 09:28 PM)
i tried airparrot but very lag and sound becomes on and off in between. Is there any setting on th e preference...spent 9.99 for it. If it doesnt work, then really piss off.
thats because of ure connection.

np with minr. even playback of bluray also no issue.

0.0418sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:04 AM