127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

WheelieWonka
post Jan 5 2012, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 5 2012, 10:03 AM)
good one.

actually if we really wanna see the design difference between korean and japs, you can try to sit in kia forte, and then you can try maybe civic or city.

Immediately you can notice, korean is trying too hard. the interior is too busy. like clothes, you cant have too many colours on you in one time. THis is the styling difference, they saw too many nice stuff, so they wanna cramp it all in one car.

As oppose to local design, they saw all the crappy stuff, so they can only give you crappy interior. THe jap has their direction in the interior, for civic, its futuristic, so you see minimalist and futuristic design. CIty, the car is entry level, so, keep it simple and functional.

Even BMW, they want you to concentrate driving, so the interior is very bland and nothing to show off. While kia, is trying very hard to get the WOW factor from you. But no worries, its not a bad thing, they will only get better and better.

Once again, japanese is all about reliability. no one bothers to challenge them on this. And resale value is all about reliability. Who is going to buy your second hand car? rich ppl or not so rich ppl? Those not so rich ppl, what do they think about? They wanna save more money, so they are willing to pay more for cars that are reliable(that they think is reliable).

To them, even local car is reliable, simple because its everywhere, spare parts, service center, acc shop. THey feel safe by buying a car thats available everywhere. Unless you have 3 cars in your garage, otherwise, one will even worry what will happen when their ferrari fails.

And the reputation of reliable is not built over night. Korean car's 10 years warranty in US is not transferable, but its a start, to let ppl notice them. We consumer will definitely benefit from this korean vs jap car war. So now Kia is giving 5 years unlimited warranty, and VW too, to give owner a peace of mind. While jap car, no one ever question why they only give 3 years/100k. Simple, they are proven(at least public mindset is) .
Bro, I have a 2006 Honda Civic (1.8) and 2010 Kia Forte (1.6). And honestly both are good reliable cars, with no major problems from either.

When I got the Forte, I had some minor rattling in the seat belt area which was rectified by SC. Other than that, after 1.5 years, still drives like a new car and I have no regrets buying it whatsoever. The car is way quieter and refined compared to the H. City (costs RM 8k more) and fits my budget perfectly. I have set in previous Kia’s - before Forte and the quality was crap… but since the Forte, Kia (and Hyundai, I presume), the Koreans have improved by leaps and bounds. Btw, the NVH in my Forte is way, way, way better than the Civic!

Compare Inspira and Forte – the Forte’s switches feel much more tactile and premium, even the doors close with a solid thud. Next time, try for yourself.

I don’t get this constant bashing of Koreans and japs…. Just saying that the Koreans have closed the quality gap

Added on January 5, 2012, 11:46 am
QUOTE(raptorclans @ Jan 4 2012, 09:32 PM)
Is this true? Cos if it is, it sure is a pretty preposterous price...  shakehead.gif doh.gif 

Kereta Hyundai Elantra Baru
RM110k for 1.8 Elantra is like commiting harakiri!!

Hopefully its only speculation

This post has been edited by WheelieWonka: Jan 5 2012, 11:46 AM
tunasandwich
post Jan 5 2012, 11:47 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 09:21 AM)
Why do ppl keep slamming the so called 'Malaysian Mindset'? Ask yourselves this: HOW WAS THIS MINDSET CREATED IN THE FIRST PLACE?

That's an important question. Mindsets are created based on experiences. Many of you are using the current Korean makes as examples to slam those with the so called 'anti Korean' mindset. But let me tell you that it was the Koreans themselves which created this mindset by giving us crap cars in the past. Go read up about Korean cars since the 1980's and ull see all the horror stories. We are not talking about 1 or 2 cases mind you.

The Japanese built their reputation over a long period. Ask any of our older generation of elders and they will mostly say that Toyota is the brand of choice even compared to some European makes. Right from the Toyota LE days which span more than 30 years. While the Koreans were busy producing crappy models (although not all), the Japanese were busy establishing themselves in the mind and hearts of their users. Loyalty isnt created overnight.

So now that the Koreans have awakened from their slumber and realised that they need to produce better cars before they become obsolete, we are getting better products with better specs and more futuristic designs. This is a good effort but to expect that the mentality of the ppl will change overnight just because of some good designs and specs is too much to ask for. The Japs took more than 30 years to build up the reputation they currently enjoy. Do u actually expect mentality changes and loyalty swings just cuz the Koreans came out with the Forte, Sportage, Sonata, Optima, etc in the last 3 years?

It will be a slow process which the Koreans need to patiently endure and persevere. Durability is still something that people are generally pessimistic about the Korean makes. Again dont blame them. End users did not merely imagine bad quality, they experienced it themselves. Ive got a Korean make in my home and im not impressed with its build quality at all. While there may be a few cases of good experiences among older Korean makes, but the general picture isnt good at all. But once ppl have the confidence, sales will improve and with that resale values will increase.

With the Koreans picking up steam, it only means that the Japanese cannot afford to relax any more and merely bank on loyalty to boost sales. They have to come up with better designs and specs to match the Koreans. All this means we the end users will get better products and more choice.

Cheers!
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 5 2012, 10:03 AM)
good one.

actually if we really wanna see the design difference between korean and japs, you can try to sit in kia forte, and then you can try maybe civic or city.

Immediately you can notice, korean is trying too hard. the interior is too busy. like clothes, you cant have too many colours on you in one time. THis is the styling difference, they saw too many nice stuff, so they wanna cramp it all in one car.

As oppose to local design, they saw all the crappy stuff, so they can only give you crappy interior. THe jap has their direction in the interior, for civic, its futuristic, so you see minimalist and futuristic design. CIty, the car is entry level, so, keep it simple and functional.

Even BMW, they want you to concentrate driving, so the interior is very bland and nothing to show off. While kia, is trying very hard to get the WOW factor from you. But no worries, its not a bad thing, they will only get better and better.

Once again, japanese is all about reliability. no one bothers to challenge them on this. And resale value is all about reliability. Who is going to buy your second hand car? rich ppl or not so rich ppl? Those not so rich ppl, what do they think about? They wanna save more money, so they are willing to pay more for cars that are reliable(that they think is reliable).

To them, even local car is reliable, simple because its everywhere, spare parts, service center, acc shop. THey feel safe by buying a car thats available everywhere. Unless you have 3 cars in your garage, otherwise, one will even worry what will happen when their ferrari fails.

And the reputation of reliable is not built over night. Korean car's 10 years warranty in US is not transferable, but its a start, to let ppl notice them. We consumer will definitely benefit from this korean vs jap car war. So now Kia is giving 5 years unlimited warranty, and VW too, to give owner a peace of mind. While jap car, no one ever question why they only give 3 years/100k. Simple, they are proven(at least public mindset is) .
it's not why Korean cars resale value is bad, but why the Civic's resale value is so good? a depreciation of 16K over 2 years for a 131K car...

why would ppl even allow this?

turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 5 2012, 11:44 AM)

RM110k for 1.8 Elantra is like commiting harakiri!!

Hopefully its only speculation
see, even you(who has both civic and forte) cannot accept 110k for 1.8 elantra.

but how come many ppl can accept 120k for 1.8 civic?(yours should be 115k when you bought)

can you share why do you think elantra cannot be 10k cheaper? must be much much more cheaper?

can you give a review on the handling of both civic and fote?

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2012, 11:59 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 5 2012, 10:47 AM)
Sorry tldr

But talk is cheap, action speaks louder then words. I had never bought a T or H car in my life so far. Have you?
Read my previous threads. Ive been a proud Toyota user for the past 8.5 years for reasons which ive clearly mentioned many times. But im still keeping an open mind for my next car upgrade.
MeToo
post Jan 5 2012, 12:00 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM)
see, even you(who has both civic and forte)  cannot accept 110k for 1.8 elantra.

but how come many ppl can accept 120k for 1.8 civic?(yours should be 115k when you bought)

can you share why do you think elantra cannot be 10k cheaper? must be much much more cheaper?

Cause u pay 10k more for Civic but your resale value is 30k more then Korean cars. Overall gain 20k.

So you need Korean cars to be EVEN cheaper to make up for the 2nd hand value loss whistling.gif
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2012, 12:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 5 2012, 11:47 AM)
it's not why Korean cars resale value is bad, but why the Civic's resale value is so good? a depreciation of 16K over 2 years for a 131K car...

Resale values are determined by demand which is always a reflection of original sales. Its not just the Civic which has good resale values. Take a look at the Toyota Vios. A 2003 model (1st gen) Vios 1.5E sells for about 40K now. Thats a depreciation of only 46% over 8 yrs which roughly works out to be 5.75% per year. Why? Because of demand plus original sales. The Vios is the best selling non national car. Even the new gen Honda City can't match the Vios despite better looks and specs.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 5 2012, 12:05 PM
jai2005
post Jan 5 2012, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 5 2012, 11:47 AM)

that's a beauty of malaysia
if other country the car is no value at all
still people think cars here is expensive
p/s: just my opinion. No need to debate ya biggrin.gif
SUSdantck
post Jan 5 2012, 12:05 PM

1,004 posts

y the price is up?
because hyundai saw the demand on this page,

I rather get a japanese still for the price....
MeToo
post Jan 5 2012, 12:06 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:03 PM)
Resale values are determined by demand which is always a reflection of original sales. Its not just the Civic which has good resale values. Take a look at the Toyota Vios. A 2003 model (1st gen) Vios 1.5E sells for about 40K now. Thats a depreciation of only 46% over 8 yrs which roughly works out to be 5.75% per year. Why? Because of demand plus original sales are the best among the non national cars.
While a Hyundai Accent 1.5 2004 is what? 17k RM? So... Hyundai cars have to be 20k+ lower then Toyota before its value for money laugh.gif
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2012, 12:11 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jai2005 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:04 PM)
that's a beauty of malaysia
if other country the car is no value at all
still people think cars here is expensive
p/s: just my opinion. No need to debate ya biggrin.gif
Do u know anything bout taxation on motor vehicles in Malaysia? People dont THINK cars here are expensive. They ARE expensive. Resale value is more important here because of the initial high prices ure paying for cars.

A new BMW 328i costs only US$40K in America. (Dont do a currency exchange as u are not a tourist). So with such low prices would anybody bother about resale value? Surely not. But we can't say the same about Malaysia can we? Our cars cost approx 6X more than many other countries.
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2012, 12:13 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 5 2012, 12:06 PM)
While a Hyundai Accent 1.5 2004 is what? 17k RM? So... Hyundai cars have to be 20k+ lower then Toyota before its value for money  laugh.gif
yes the same thing ive been saying from before. For the Koreans to match the Japs here in Malaysia, they need to distance themselves from the Japs. The Sonata came too close to the Camry & Accord and look at their sale figures. But then again, to the Koreans Malaysia isnt a primary target for sales.
MeToo
post Jan 5 2012, 12:13 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:11 PM)
Do u know anything bout taxation on motor vehicles in Malaysia? People dont THINK cars here are expensive. They ARE expensive. Resale value is more important here because of the initial high prices ure paying for cars.

A new BMW 328i costs only US$40K in America. (Dont do a currency exchange as u are not a tourist). So with such low prices would anybody bother about resale value? Surely not. But we can't say the same about Malaysia can we? Our cars cost approx 6X more than many other countries.
Even with currency exchange I'll gladly pay RM120k today for a BM328i new car tongue.gif
jai2005
post Jan 5 2012, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(dantck @ Jan 5 2012, 12:05 PM)
y the price is up?
because hyundai saw the demand on this page,

I rather get a japanese still for the price....
totally agreed with ur bro, or else get Forte.
I also think same thing during place the elantra's booking. dont want to show a demand. But at the end book jugak lah rclxms.gif

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:11 PM)

Lets make simple calculation
US40k = 120k
after 5 years you lost 120k. Not including expensive insurance.
malaysia you bought it let say 280k
after 5 years you can sell it at least 140k
you lost 140k hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jai2005: Jan 5 2012, 12:31 PM
BuFung
post Jan 5 2012, 12:32 PM

8,407 posts

this 1 gonna be very hard to customize/change after market HU....

MeToo
post Jan 5 2012, 12:36 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(jai2005 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:16 PM)
I also think same thing during place the elantra's booking. dont want to show a demand. But at the end book jugak lah rclxms.gif
US40k = 120k
you lost 140k  hmm.gif
1) I didnt know US scrap their car to zero value after 5 years.
2) Fresh grad with their 3K USD/mth salary can afford a BMW328i, your KL fresh grad can?
cybermaster98
post Jan 5 2012, 12:47 PM

4,440 posts

US40k = 120k
you lost 140k  hmm.gif
Why are you doing currency exchanges??? U buying the car in US and importing it here? No right! Do an apple to apple conversion. How many times do we need to say this??? vmad.gif

You earn in USD, you spend in USD. Why do a currency conversion???? You earn roughly the same salaries as in Malaysia. An engineer earning 5K in Malaysia will probably earn USD5K there. Can u afford a BMW 328i in Malaysia with a RM5K salary? Surely u cant. But someone earning USD$5K can afford that car in the US. But after taking into account other more essential living costs.

STOP DOING CURRENCY CONVERSIONS UNLESS YOU ARE A TOURIST OR DOING IMPORT BUSINESS

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 5 2012, 12:48 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 01:34 PM

250 posts

US40k = 120k
you lost 140k  hmm.gif
you mean in US, after 5 years, the BMW will explode and leave you dust only?

what makes you think the BMW in US cannot be sold after 5 years?

you can easily sell it for 10k USD.

remember, 40k USD = their ONE year annual salary(fresh grad or 1-2 years working).

how many here making RM120k a year?

its nothing to debate actually on the car policy, biggrin.gif

terima sahaja la.

Added on January 5, 2012, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 5 2012, 12:32 PM)
this 1 gonna be very hard to customize/change after market HU....

so, now we know their design philosophy din think so much about after market eh?

so, 5 years later the HU spoilt....then.....( minus resale value!!! )

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 01:36 PM
gregy
post Jan 5 2012, 01:46 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:03 PM)
Resale values are determined by demand which is always a reflection of original sales. Its not just the Civic which has good resale values. Take a look at the Toyota Vios. A 2003 model (1st gen) Vios 1.5E sells for about 40K now. Thats a depreciation of only 46% over 8 yrs which roughly works out to be 5.75% per year. Why? Because of demand plus original sales. The Vios is the best selling non national car. Even the new gen Honda City can't match the Vios despite better looks and specs.
Sorry loh, the best selling non national car is the Civic loh... especially the EF, EG and FD.

Btw, how come all your posts have to centre around the Vios? Do you know any other cars or not? Getting tired listening to your pristine-condition-never break down-high resale value Toyota Vios. Sudah lah.
WheelieWonka
post Jan 5 2012, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM)
see, even you(who has both civic and forte)  cannot accept 110k for 1.8 elantra.

Actually bro, I bought the Civic thru Malaysia My 2nd Home program (my grandma is foreign national). Guess how much the Civic 1.8 is WITHOUT taxes??
RM73k ONLY (paid cash)

Elantra cannot be 10k cheaper b/c no matter how good Korean cars are, the depreciation is much lower b/c of 2nd car market's perception. So to make up for lost depreciation value, sale price must be lower also.
Hyundai's goal is to sell cars and to steal market share from Civic/ Altis, so they need to spec the model well and give lower price to lure Civic/ Altis buyers... that's the logic.

Btw, Forte's handling is much better than Civic, the suspension a bit more keras also...but very comfortable and stable for highway driving laugh.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 01:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 5 2012, 01:57 PM)
Actually bro, I bought the Civic thru Malaysia My 2nd Home program (my grandma is foreign national). Guess how much the Civic 1.8 is WITHOUT taxes??
RM73k ONLY (paid cash)

Elantra cannot be 10k cheaper b/c no matter how good Korean cars are, the depreciation is much lower b/c of 2nd car market's perception. So to make up for lost depreciation value, sale price must be lower also.
Hyundai's goal is to sell cars and to steal market share from Civic/ Altis, so they need to spec the model well and give lower price to lure Civic/ Altis buyers... that's the logic.

Btw, Forte's handling is much better than Civic, the suspension a bit more keras also...but very comfortable and stable for highway driving laugh.gif
oh, if you post this statement in forte thread, forte owner will be rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

biggrin.gif and civic owner gonna be vmad.gif mad.gif

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:39 AM