127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

MangO
post Jan 6 2012, 09:54 AM

LYN Addict
623 posts

Just to add that if the price/package for Elantra is not attractive I might gravitate to to Forte. This is because I am am looking for a well specced/priced car which Forte embodies. It is within my expectation Hyundai will be more expensive and less specced but I can personally accept it since I like the engine and design.

While I will not generalise Elantra buyers but I believe some are looking for good value, good price and nice design. This is why they might move on to Forte because T & H are not their first few choices which they would have got instead of waiting so long.
mac.tay
post Jan 6 2012, 09:59 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jan 6 2012, 09:36 AM)
Is it show room car or test drive car? I think if show room car then worth it
http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/587721/hyu...-a-2011-nf.html
spchew79
post Jan 6 2012, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(MangO @ Jan 6 2012, 09:54 AM)
Just to add that if the price/package for Elantra is not attractive I might gravitate to to Forte. This is because I am am looking for a well specced/priced car which Forte embodies. It is within my expectation Hyundai will be more expensive and less specced but I can personally accept it since I like the engine and design.

While I will not generalise Elantra buyers but I believe some are looking for good value, good price and nice design. This is why they might move on to Forte because T & H are not their first few choices which they would have got instead of waiting so long.
I agree with you. I haven't place my booking on Elantra yet..waiting for price confirmation. If 1.8(A) above 105k then Forte 2.0(A) will be my buy.
dvinez
post Jan 6 2012, 10:12 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 5 2012, 03:33 PM)
Bro... just because I have extra 20k in my pocket.. does that mean I have to take it out, go to the river, and throw it in? U think those rich people get rich by spending as they like without proper planing/judgement?

Anyway, buy whatever u like mate, I have korean, jap, local cars... u dont see me rushing to defend hyundai's pricing policy just because I own one.
if u think like that, if u think it is throw into river then keep it, nobody force you, no big deal.

maybe your rich definition and mine is totally different, also the value of your 20k worth to me. well, i guess it depends on financial ability and age.

also, those can change car in 2-3 years, need not to be rich, i only mentioned enough bullet. 20k, it can only buy above average 3-4 bags a year.

you might want to read again my earlier post if you dont understand, it is a fair statement without aiming at anything.

probably you are right, since u have korean, japanese and local cars. as you must in some age to own so many cars, so you must be rich, and u must be clever.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by dvinez: Jan 6 2012, 10:12 AM
cybermaster98
post Jan 6 2012, 10:13 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(spchew79 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:08 AM)
I agree with you. I haven't place my booking on Elantra yet..waiting for price confirmation. If 1.8(A) above 105k then Forte 2.0(A) will be my buy.
The Forte is already due for a change soon. The net is already abuzz bout the totally new replacement model. I dont think that getting a Forte now will be a wise decision unless you have no other choice. The Forte was a good design when it was launched but now i dont see it as being exciting anymore especially with the other newer and more modern designs coming out from other manufacturers.

Have you sat in the Elantra during KLIMS 2010? I did and i was really impressed with the interior design and rear legroom. It surely looks and feels more classy compared to the Forte which now looks bland.
squareballs
post Jan 6 2012, 10:21 AM

4,331 posts

Rear headroom of elantra not that good..
tested at sg pinang durin nov .. left hand drive unit..

So.. forte 2.0, inspira 2.0, elantra 1.8.. how how
dvinez
post Jan 6 2012, 10:26 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

forte will facelift in 2013, totally different look.

newer car really push forte aside now, especially if u put forte and elantra side by side, even though they used the same platform.

hyundai being kia big brother, suppose it will be classier, better equipped and better quality if compared.
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:27 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jan 6 2012, 10:21 AM)
Rear headroom of elantra not that good..
tested at sg pinang durin nov .. left hand drive unit..

So.. forte 2.0, inspira 2.0, elantra 1.8.. how how
down to "dollar and sense"? biggrin.gif
dvinez
post Jan 6 2012, 10:30 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 6 2012, 10:27 AM)
down to "dollar and sense"? biggrin.gif
if dollar and sense, for me i will say it is inspira.
gregy
post Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:13 AM)
The Forte is already due for a change soon. The net is already abuzz bout the totally new replacement model. I dont think that getting a Forte now will be a wise decision unless you have no other choice. The Forte was a good design when it was launched but now i dont see it as being exciting anymore especially with the other newer and more modern designs coming out from other manufacturers.

Have you sat in the Elantra during KLIMS 2010? I did and i was really impressed with the interior design and rear legroom. It surely looks and feels more classy compared to the Forte which now looks bland.
The new Forte will be based on the current Elantra platform, just as the current Forte is based on the outgoing Avante, but I believe it will have its fans in those who dislike the smiley face of the current Elantra and the weird as hell nose job on the current Sonata. Kia fans are more into German inspired styling, and in that respect the current Forte is not outdated, compared to the soon to be launched Civic and current Altis. Also, in some ways the Elantra is more suited to the younger set who want a racy looking car while the Forte appeals to those who are a bit more laidback and don't mind conservative styling but more features.

And sometimes newer doesn't mean better, as in the case of the 2012 Civic and current Dugong. The original Vios still looks better and more dependable than the Dugong although the former's design dates back to 2003.

Anyway don't expect the Forte's replacement to come so soon. The current facelift is only a year old. Perhaps there will be an engine refresh as mentioned by someone here. The thing about buying cars is you should buy when you need to, not wait until the cows come home, for there will always be a better model down the road. Just decide what you want and bite the bullet.
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Jan 6 2012, 10:30 AM)
if dollar and sense, for me i will say it is inspira.
er.... how about driver's pleasure?
cybermaster98
post Jan 6 2012, 10:46 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM)
The thing about buying cars is you should buy when you need to, not wait until the cows come home, for there will always be a better model down the road. Just decide what you want and bite the bullet.
I think we should always give serious thought to every investment especially a car since its a losing commodity. So biting the bullet may not really apply to all n sundry. Many ppl out there buy cars without giving much thought to the future. They are either rich or plain ignorant.

I for one have always given serious thought to everything ive spent money on. From the light bulbs in my house to buying half a million ringgit properties. And so far (touch wood), i have made good decisions. It may take some time but i guess its time worth spent once u see the returns.

Btw, i bought my 1st second hand motor bike in Uni for RM 400 and sold it for RM450 2 years later. That should give you a rough inclination about the person i am when it comes to money and how to maximise profits. Also, i plan to retire by the age of 45 and allow passive income to take me through the golden years. So far im right on track.

Sorry to digress! Cheers!
dvinez
post Jan 6 2012, 10:50 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM)
er.... how about driver's pleasure?
to be honest i think proton handling is good. it could be godlike with a mitsubishi inside.
after i changed car, only thing i missed is proton handling. thumbup.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:52 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Jan 6 2012, 10:50 AM)
to be honest i think proton handling is good. it could be godlike with a mitsubishi inside.
after i changed car, only thing i missed is proton handling.  thumbup.gif
biggrin.gif too bad its a P badge.
dvinez
post Jan 6 2012, 11:01 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM)
Also, in some ways the Elantra is more suited to the younger set who want a racy looking car while the Forte appeals to those who are a bit more laidback and don't mind conservative styling but more features.

The thing about buying cars is you should buy when you need to, not wait until the cows come home, for there will always be a better model down the road. Just decide what you want and bite the bullet.
totally agree bro!
i didnt wait for elantra because i prefer more act polite look, and my face cannot act cool also, plus im going to reach 30 in few years time.
i didnt wait or consider much when i get my car, i only have it in mind after i read and survey the known problems and details.

the only thing i do is calculate is the scenario if i want to sell, change or buy another car 2-3 years later. also, a budget every month if i ter-get a baby. biggrin.gif
i decided to get it without hesitation, since i already prepared for it.

Added on January 6, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 6 2012, 10:52 AM)
biggrin.gif too bad its a P badge.
guess so for most.
my blm gave me a so so impression since got irritating rattling sound at door.
(the same sound appeared on my new car and i easily solved it, so i guess i probably blamed my blm wrongly)
if i drive persona, i will have confident to get back to P since it is nvh is good. but then, if i owned it i wont change car so fast.

This post has been edited by dvinez: Jan 6 2012, 11:05 AM
cybermaster98
post Jan 6 2012, 11:30 AM

4,440 posts

Did you know that in the 2011 JD Power Vehicle Dependability Survey, Kia was ranked as ‘average’ (3 Stars) in overall dependability in the same category as BMW, Audi, Volvo, Honda and Subaru?

Hyundai recorded the biggest improvement to be ranked above these cars and was given a 4 Star rating the same as Toyota and Porsche. Mazda was among the worst with only 2 stars in the same category with Mitsubishi and Nissan.

For reference, Toyota was ranked 5th and Hyundai was ranked 10th in the overall survey.

turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 11:37 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 6 2012, 11:30 AM)
Did you know that in the 2011 JD Power Vehicle Dependability Survey, Kia was ranked as ‘average’ (3 Stars) in overall dependability in the same category as BMW, Audi, Volvo, Honda and Subaru?

Hyundai recorded the biggest improvement to be ranked above these cars and was given a 4 Star rating the same as Toyota and Porsche. Mazda was among the worst with only 2 stars in the same category with Mitsubishi and Nissan.

For reference, Toyota was ranked 5th and Hyundai was ranked 10th in the overall survey.
which country?

sochaiapk
post Jan 6 2012, 11:43 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:46 AM)
I think we should always give serious thought to every investment especially a car since its a losing commodity. So biting the bullet may not really apply to all n sundry. Many ppl out there buy cars without giving much thought to the future. They are either rich or plain ignorant.

I for one have always given serious thought to everything ive spent money on. From the light bulbs in my house to buying half a million ringgit properties. And so far (touch wood), i have made good decisions. It may take some time but i guess its time worth spent once u see the returns.

Btw, i bought my 1st second hand motor bike in Uni for RM 400 and sold it for RM450 2 years later. That should give you a rough inclination about the person i am when it comes to money and how to maximise profits. Also, i plan to retire by the age of 45 and allow passive income to take me through the golden years. So far im right on track.

Sorry to digress! Cheers!
I have always find your reply in the forum portray that you are a very mature person with a lot of knowledge on the value to look for in a car. You definitely have a done a lot of research on the cars that you are looking to get and you are in no hurry to get one since your Vios is still serving you well. No doubt you are the kind of person who always looks for the best value for money when it comes to car. Not only the price, accessories, design, driving experience but also after sales service and the list goes on. I doubt many here will have your kind of patience to research and wait and test and repeat for a whole year or more just to get the ‘perfect’ car. Nevertheless, despite of all these, I don’t think you will get the kind of reliability that you have enjoyed with 8.5years old Vios when you have finally decided which car you will purchase in the future. Things had changed so much since the time when you got your current car. Cost cutting is a happening in every industry and products can never be so long lasting and reliable as they used to be. BTW, mind telling what is your age now since I really curious to know if a person of a wht age would have such discipline and good planning to retire by the age of 45 with passive income. laugh.gif
devinz
post Jan 6 2012, 11:47 AM

597 posts

yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

this is soooo boring..

rclxlh.gif

WheelieWonka
post Jan 6 2012, 11:57 AM

Man this thread is really deviating from discussing Elantra into arguments tongue.gif

Btw, if the Elantra 1.8 is priced abt 105k would be appropriate for the kit that we are getting. Otherwise ppl would rather get the 2.0 Forte.

IMHO the new forte will be only out in 2013 earliest.

127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:08 PM