Problem with Panasonic air conditioner

TSkelvyn
post Apr 26 2012, 08:55 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 25 2012, 07:09 PM)
Aiks... Just got Panasonic airconds installed for the whole house about a month back.  blink.gif
Using a mix of the normal and EcoNavi models.... fingers crossed that everything works well.

Used Daikin aircond before at my parents place and that was one aircond that was forever giving me problems. From water leaks to air being not cold enough... it was a constant every couple of months nightmare. Had it changed to an older model Pana and used it a couple of years before i moved out of my parents place with no issues.

Aircond still going strong and cold even though i've not slept in that room in over a year. Maybe its a mix of the aircond manufacturers, the sellers and a lil bit of luck that determines a persons experience with a specific brand.  hmm.gif
I reckon that sometimes, buying products will depends on your luck. If you are unlucky, you happen to get those batch or model that were not properly designed, etc. Then you are in trouble. I would say that the previous Panasonic model sucks. Problem with their swing mechanism. This is confirmed by their own technical people. That's why they came out with the latest model so fast.

Their latest model is better. Not forgetting those earlier one are also OK. This is from my own personal experience. My mum's and some of my friends' and also the one that I installed more than 2 years ago. All Pana brand. They are OK. No complain at all.

Since you have installed them, just monitor. If there are any problem, quickly lodge your complain during the warranty period. What I did was to extend the warranty of the aircon since I do not have confidence in that particular model..just for the peace of mind... smile.gif
ozak
post Apr 26 2012, 09:38 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 25 2012, 06:09 PM)
Aiks... Just got Panasonic airconds installed for the whole house about a month back.  blink.gif
Using a mix of the normal and EcoNavi models.... fingers crossed that everything works well.

Used Daikin aircond before at my parents place and that was one aircond that was forever giving me problems. From water leaks to air being not cold enough... it was a constant every couple of months nightmare. Had it changed to an older model Pana and used it a couple of years before i moved out of my parents place with no issues.

Aircond still going strong and cold even though i've not slept in that room in over a year. Maybe its a mix of the aircond manufacturers, the sellers and a lil bit of luck that determines a persons experience with a specific brand.  hmm.gif
Don't worry lah. I have been using panasonic aircon for over 14yrs. Change to 2nd set due to old age. Panasonic also.

Just becarefull with the installation and the servicing. This are the main cause that your aircon getting worst.
majorarmstrong
post May 20 2012, 09:40 PM

2,239 posts

anyone can intro a good and reliable aircond service guy. Need to service my panasonic already 1 years old. not cold now.
TSkelvyn
post May 20 2012, 09:58 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 20 2012, 10:40 PM)
anyone can intro a good and reliable aircond service guy. Need to service my panasonic already 1 years old. not cold now.
If your new aircon is not cold after only one year, then these must be some thing wrong with it... Maybe you should claim for warranty. Or maybe there is gas leakage somewhere...
YJYYEE
post Jun 10 2012, 02:07 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 20 2012, 09:40 PM)
What model is ur air conditioner?...heavy usage?

QUOTE(kelvyn @ May 20 2012, 09:58 PM)
If your new aircon is not cold after only one year, then these must be some thing wrong with it... Maybe you should claim for warranty. Or maybe there is gas leakage somewhere...
Usually an air conditioner need to be serviced after how many years?...

This post has been edited by YJYYEE: Jun 10 2012, 12:20 PM
TSkelvyn
post Jun 11 2012, 08:47 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Jun 10 2012, 03:07 AM)
Usually an air conditioner need to be serviced after how many years?...
For me, normally, I just clean the vent inside the blower unit. Just open the cover and clean the filter. The frequency will be dependent on the environment. If dirty and use frequently, then need to clean more frequent.

nicky1112001
post Jul 22 2012, 05:58 AM

219 posts

If suddenly got ice flying out.. small Pierce ice flying when I sleep in midnight just now..Panasonic 1.0 inverter. Seem alot problem...I buying time after 1 month then problem come...aircond with fresh hot air coming out.. then they come fix and after few month now got ice come out..

Added on July 22, 2012, 5:58 amIf suddenly got ice flying out.. small Pierce ice flying when I sleep in midnight just now..Panasonic 1.0 inverter. Seem alot problem...I buying time after 1 month then problem come...aircond with fresh hot air coming out.. then they come fix and after few month now got ice come out..

This post has been edited by nicky1112001: Jul 22 2012, 05:58 AM
skng03
post Jul 22 2012, 07:26 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 22 2012, 05:58 AM)
If suddenly got ice flying out.. small Pierce ice flying when I sleep in midnight just now..Panasonic 1.0 inverter. Seem alot problem...I buying time after 1 month then problem come...aircond with fresh hot air coming out.. then they come fix and after few month now got ice come out..

Added on July 22, 2012, 5:58 amIf suddenly got ice flying out.. small Pierce ice flying when I sleep in midnight just now..Panasonic 1.0 inverter. Seem alot problem...I buying time after 1 month then problem come...aircond with fresh hot air coming out.. then they come fix and after few month now got ice come out..
Your ac need service already, have u ever clean the filter? Can make ice mean your ac still good just the dirt block the air circulation
nicky1112001
post Jul 22 2012, 07:46 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 22 2012, 07:26 AM)
Your ac need service already, have u ever clean the filter? Can make ice mean your ac still good just the dirt block the air circulation
I just clean last week...and this model r410a inverter really give me alot problem....I I buy just 3 week then already spoil..now this Laguna geng. Got iced fly out..
lingleeyen
post Jul 22 2012, 09:44 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 22 2012, 07:46 AM)
I just clean last week...and this model r410a inverter really give me alot problem....I I buy just 3 week then already spoil..now this Laguna geng. Got iced fly out..
Check if you have enough refrigerant/ leakage. Check also if you have dirty indoor unit coil.
skng03
post Jul 22 2012, 10:31 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jul 22 2012, 09:44 AM)
Check if you have enough refrigerant/ leakage. Check also if you have dirty indoor unit coil.
And check the blower fan …
Dennos
post Jul 22 2012, 09:37 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 22 2012, 07:46 AM)
+1, my coil changed for this. Sleep and kiss by sliced ice at nite. WTF !!!
TSkelvyn
post Jul 23 2012, 09:01 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 22 2012, 08:46 AM)
Since it is only 3 weeks old, bettter lodge your complain with Panasonic. get the complain ref no.
Ask them when they want to send their people over to rectify the problem. Follow up with an official complain letter. Keep records of all your complains to Panasonic. If you complain "hard enough" am sure they will act on your complain for sure.
nicky1112001
post Jul 23 2012, 03:50 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 22 2012, 10:31 AM)
And check the blower fan …
may i know where the blower fan?can we open it and clean ourself?

Added on July 23, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(Dennos @ Jul 22 2012, 09:37 PM)
+1, my coil changed for this. Sleep and kiss by sliced ice at nite. WTF !!!
sick air cond....in midnight time suddenly got sound clong clong clong then fly out pieces peices of ice to my bed....really a sucks air cond...pay rm1450 get a ice making air cond to put my room...if like that..i better buy a peti sejuk to put my room...this my last time on this lousy panasonic air cond...next time if got free i also buang longkang on that..

This post has been edited by nicky1112001: Jul 23 2012, 03:53 PM
lingleeyen
post Jul 23 2012, 04:12 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 23 2012, 03:50 PM)
may i know where the blower fan?can we open it and clean ourself?

Added on July 23, 2012, 3:53 pm

sick air cond....in midnight time suddenly got sound clong clong clong then fly out pieces peices of ice to my bed....really a sucks air cond...pay rm1450 get a ice making air cond to put my room...if like that..i better buy a peti sejuk to put my room...this my last time on this lousy panasonic air cond...next time if got free i also buang longkang on that..
The entire system screwed up might be due to 2 factor. The unit itself or the installation.

Ice making AC might be caused by several factor.

1) Coil dirty
2) Refrigerant level low

Since you have just cleaned it, cause 1 is omitted. Cause 2 is more like it. Low refrigerant can be due to poor unit or poor installation. If the unit is damaged before or after installation, the leakage will be detected if the installer is running on a proper installation steps. If he is following the correct steps, things will not happen like what happened to you now. They will notify you on the fault and rectify it with or without charges.

What you should do now is to check for leakage. Get them to hold the pressure of the system, then the piping, then the indoor, then the outdoor.
nicky1112001
post Jul 25 2012, 05:52 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jul 23 2012, 04:12 PM)
The entire system screwed up might be due to 2 factor. The unit itself or the installation.

Ice making AC might be caused by several factor.

1) Coil dirty
2) Refrigerant level low

Since you have just cleaned it, cause 1 is omitted. Cause 2 is more like it. Low refrigerant can be due to poor unit or poor installation. If the unit is damaged before or after installation, the leakage will be detected if the installer is running on a proper installation steps. If he is following the correct steps, things will not happen like what happened to you now. They will notify you on the fault and rectify it with or without charges.

What you should do now is to check for leakage. Get them to hold the pressure of the system, then the piping, then the indoor, then the outdoor.
finaly they coming to check....guess wat i get?all the gas inside gone....no gas...funny things...special thanks that installer...somemore still dare ask me pay rm50 service and rm80 to pam gas inside agains...
halcyon27
post Jul 25 2012, 05:59 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 25 2012, 05:52 PM)
finaly they coming to check....guess wat i get?all the gas inside gone....no gas...funny things...special thanks that installer...somemore still dare ask me pay rm50 service and rm80 to pam gas inside agains...
sounds like a leak. even if pump gas it will still leak. best to reinstall piping or find and fix leak. A properly installed air cond shouldn't leak.

Places where leaks occur at:
fan coil - joint btw piping and blower
condenser - joint btw piping and compressor
piping - anywhere along piping

Barring aircond defect, problem lies with installation. If this air cond is inverter using R410a, it needs thicker piping (0.8mm). The old 0.6mm cannot handle the higher operating pressure of the R410a which is 1.6x higher than R22 meaning the thinner pipe will burst.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jul 25 2012, 06:01 PM
nicky1112001
post Jul 25 2012, 06:03 PM

219 posts

i dunno wat they doing..jsut see they clean my air cond blower inside and then say gas leak...then check where leak and fix then pam back that gas..

patmos
post Jul 25 2012, 06:14 PM

118 posts

Looks like it's more to installation problem instead of the air-cond itself.
halcyon27
post Jul 25 2012, 08:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Jul 22 2012, 05:58 AM)

I just re-read your post to confirm that since its R410a, it's good to get a second professional installer standby after two weeks.

R410a gas cost a bit cos it's a mixture of 50% gas a, 25% gas b and 25% gas c. It cannot be top up just like R22 which is only a single type. Since the gas is costly, my guess is that your first installer fudged on installation causing a leak.

Re-read my explanation up in post #57 for possible causes. My guess is there's a leak somewhere.

A worst case scenario is if the installers didn't realize that they are using 0.6mm pipes.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jul 25 2012, 08:31 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:46 PM