100 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v4 thread, We Drum We Drum We Drum Drum Drum!!!

TS5p3ak
post Dec 30 2011, 08:40 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Dec 30 2011, 05:56 PM)
Not this year biggrin.gif HAHAHAHA! Last year got, this year too busy :/
Anyway, I set up and tuned drums for one of my clients today (my school tongue.gif).

Basically, they ordered two sets of the Ludwig Element kit with Evans heads, and I threw in some cymbals and Gibraltar hardware, cause it was quite a big order, with a lot of other audio equipment including amps and mics, etc.

So, I set up one of the kits today, and mixed it in with the previous set (Pearl Forum sad.gif )

And now the entire kit goes like this. Its not the best stuff, but for a school, I have to admit its already pretty okay lah. FOR A SCHOOL. xD

Cymbals: Stagg EXK 14' hi hats, Pearl 14'  hi-hats (side hats biggrin.gif ), Stagg EXK 20' ride , Pearl 18' crash ride, Meinl HCS 12' china, Stagg EXK 16' crash, Meinl HCS 16' crash.

Drums (from left to right): Pearl Forum 16' floor, Pearl Forum 14 x 6.5 steel snare, Ludwig Element 14 x 6.5 snare, Element 10' tom, Element 12' tom, Element 22' bass drum, Element 13' floor tom, Element 16' floor tom.

The Element toms are outfitted with Evans Hydraulics (its durable, will last long, and super easy to tune, making crap drums sound decent biggrin.gif), the bass drum has a coated EMAD (again, very durable, and doesn't ring, with a consistent, if not dynamic tone - perfect for hard rock and metal, actually), and the snare has a Power Centre Reverse Dot, coated (which when matched with a relatively deep snare like this, gives a very fat sound).

Pictures soon, maybe. HEHEHEHE.
Aww man...haizz Mesh heads pun no stock...I guess every 1 getting ready for 2012 cry.gif
muckstefan
post Dec 30 2011, 10:44 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Dec 30 2011, 05:56 PM)
Not this year biggrin.gif HAHAHAHA! Last year got, this year too busy :/
Anyway, I set up and tuned drums for one of my clients today (my school tongue.gif).

Basically, they ordered two sets of the Ludwig Element kit with Evans heads, and I threw in some cymbals and Gibraltar hardware, cause it was quite a big order, with a lot of other audio equipment including amps and mics, etc.

So, I set up one of the kits today, and mixed it in with the previous set (Pearl Forum sad.gif )

And now the entire kit goes like this. Its not the best stuff, but for a school, I have to admit its already pretty okay lah. FOR A SCHOOL. xD

Cymbals: Stagg EXK 14' hi hats, Pearl 14'  hi-hats (side hats biggrin.gif ), Stagg EXK 20' ride , Pearl 18' crash ride, Meinl HCS 12' china, Stagg EXK 16' crash, Meinl HCS 16' crash.

Drums (from left to right): Pearl Forum 16' floor, Pearl Forum 14 x 6.5 steel snare, Ludwig Element 14 x 6.5 snare, Element 10' tom, Element 12' tom, Element 22' bass drum, Element 13' floor tom, Element 16' floor tom.

The Element toms are outfitted with Evans Hydraulics (its durable, will last long, and super easy to tune, making crap drums sound decent biggrin.gif), the bass drum has a coated EMAD (again, very durable, and doesn't ring, with a consistent, if not dynamic tone - perfect for hard rock and metal, actually), and the snare has a Power Centre Reverse Dot, coated (which when matched with a relatively deep snare like this, gives a very fat sound).

Pictures soon, maybe. HEHEHEHE.
what do you think about evans hydraulics on a snare drum? i was thinking bout changing the batter head to replace the remo black-x i have on it...i just felt that it's just the wrong head for my snare.tried everything tuning-wise,my snare still rings like s**t and not to mention the rattle that it caused on the wires...gosh..
isaacmiranda7
post Dec 31 2011, 04:08 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Dec 30 2011, 08:40 PM)
Aww man...haizz Mesh heads pun no stock...I guess every 1 getting ready for 2012  cry.gif
I might be able to get bass drum mute. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Dec 30 2011, 10:44 PM)
what do you think about evans hydraulics on a snare drum? i was thinking bout changing the batter head to replace the remo black-x i have on it...i just felt that it's just the wrong head for my snare.tried everything tuning-wise,my snare still rings like s**t and not to mention the rattle that it caused on the wires...gosh..
No way bro. Not at all. Hydraulics for toms, yes, not for your snare. AT ALL. xD
Try Onyx, if you want a dark sound, perhaps? Double ply.

Anyway, have you tried putting rings on your head for the overtones? And get ProSound snare wires, or something tight?

Added on December 31, 2011, 4:30 pmSorry for the horrible handphone pictures, but yeah. This is the school kit that I was talking about a few posts earlier that I set up yesterday. Playing at my school next year is going to be a blast! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Dec 31 2011, 04:33 PM
AhBoy~~
post Dec 31 2011, 07:45 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Dec 29 2011, 08:27 PM)
Drum dial quite nice...convenient.but don't you think it's quite expensive?some more even torque on every lugs doesnt mean all of them will have equal pitch..as far as i understand la... hmm.gif
it measure the tension of the drum skin, u actually achieve similar result like listening to the skin when you tune each of the lugs

you doesn't need it if you can tune/listen very fast and accurate. Same like some ppl use tuner to tune guitar while some can just strum and tune~

I used the tama tension watch but I believe it is same with drum dial

TS5p3ak
post Dec 31 2011, 08:21 PM

5,648 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Dec 31 2011, 04:08 PM)
No way bro. Not at all. Hydraulics for toms, yes, not for your snare. AT ALL. xD

Anyway, have you tried putting rings on your head for the overtones? And get ProSound snare wires, or something tight?

Added on December 31, 2011, 4:30 pmSorry for the horrible handphone pictures, but yeah. This is the school kit that I was talking about a few posts earlier that I set up yesterday. Playing at my school next year is going to be a blast! biggrin.gif

Cool~ My bass drum is the one that needs to be tamed tongue.gif

Anyways, why 2 16" FT hmm.gif Isit one of them 16x14?

muckstefan
post Dec 31 2011, 08:39 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Dec 31 2011, 04:08 PM)

yeah tried muffling already,but im opting for a change of head instead and see where it takes me to..i just like to play open n oyeah,gotta love that warm,dark sounding snare.hehe.how bout evans genera dry or HD dry?saw some review and it seems that they have some kind of holes and muffler built underneath to control the ring.im using a mapex mpx birch 13x6 btw. biggrin.gif

btw is evans onyx similar to remo black suede emperor?

that's the kit for your school?damn..the kit for my residential college doesn't even comes close! ohmy.gif

Added on December 31, 2011, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Dec 31 2011, 07:45 PM)
it measure the tension of the drum skin, u actually achieve similar result like listening to the skin when you tune each of the lugs

you doesn't need it if you can tune/listen very fast and accurate. Same like some ppl use tuner to tune guitar while some can just strum and tune~

I used the tama tension watch but I believe it is same with drum dial
oh isit?would really like to get one if like that...since i tune damn slow. tongue.gif but then the price still too much la... sweat.gif but then what to expect rite...its a precision device.

This post has been edited by muckstefan: Dec 31 2011, 08:55 PM
zacharyseng
post Jan 1 2012, 12:13 AM

216 posts

hey guys! I'm currently under a drum teacher near my house and I wanted to change instructor.

which is better go to music school and learn from drum teachers or buy programmes online? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zacharyseng: Jan 1 2012, 12:13 AM
AhBoy~~
post Jan 1 2012, 12:20 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(zacharyseng @ Jan 1 2012, 12:13 AM)
hey guys! I'm currently under a drum teacher near my house and I wanted to change instructor.
which is better go to music school and learn from drum teachers or buy programmes online? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
why change?

er... depend what kind of person are u really~

like me lazy guy wub.gif to learn myself better just follow a teacher if I will just practice the same thing I know again and again sweat.gif

btw currently I also looking for a drum teacher

Added on January 1, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(muckstefan @ Dec 31 2011, 08:39 PM)
yeah tried muffling already,but im opting for a change of head instead and see where it takes me to..i just like to play open n oyeah,gotta love that warm,dark sounding snare.hehe.how bout evans genera dry or HD dry?saw some review and it seems that they have some kind of holes and muffler built underneath to control the ring.im using a mapex mpx birch 13x6 btw. biggrin.gif

that's the kit for your school?damn..the kit for my residential college doesn't even comes close! ohmy.gif

Added on December 31, 2011, 8:43 pm

oh isit?would really like to get one if like that...since i tune damn slow. tongue.gif but then the price still too much la... sweat.gif but then what to expect rite...its a precision device.
if not tuning a lot drum or often need to tune~ no need to buy la~

This post has been edited by AhBoy~~: Jan 1 2012, 12:21 AM
zacharyseng
post Jan 1 2012, 01:20 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jan 1 2012, 12:20 AM)
why change?

er... depend what kind of person are u really~

like me lazy guy  wub.gif to learn myself better just follow a teacher if I will just practice the same thing I know again and again  sweat.gif

btw currently I also looking for a drum teacher

Added on January 1, 2012, 12:21 am
if not tuning a lot drum or often need to tune~ no need to buy la~
i need to know any reliable programs you guys would recommend laugh.gif .
i play punk brows.gif
muckstefan
post Jan 1 2012, 01:26 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(zacharyseng @ Jan 1 2012, 01:20 AM)
i need to know any reliable programs you guys would recommend  laugh.gif .
i play punk  brows.gif
Punk?

Go DIY. brows.gif
zacharyseng
post Jan 1 2012, 01:32 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Jan 1 2012, 01:26 AM)
Punk?

Go DIY. brows.gif
user posted image whistling.gif

Added on January 1, 2012, 1:33 am
QUOTE(muckstefan @ Jan 1 2012, 01:26 AM)
Punk?

Go DIY. brows.gif
no seriously, any program you can recommend me? not so expensive and good can already laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zacharyseng: Jan 1 2012, 01:46 AM
TS5p3ak
post Jan 1 2012, 09:56 AM

5,648 posts

What program? unsure.gif

zacharyseng
post Jan 1 2012, 10:48 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jan 1 2012, 09:56 AM)
What program? unsure.gif

something like learn online from pros? or is it not worth it? rclxub.gif
TS5p3ak
post Jan 1 2012, 10:58 AM

5,648 posts

I'm not so sure about that but I learn some stuff from youtube...go find this channel freedrumlessons
zacharyseng
post Jan 1 2012, 11:01 AM

216 posts

you self learn?
TS5p3ak
post Jan 1 2012, 12:27 PM

5,648 posts

Nope, I have a Sifu.
muckstefan
post Jan 1 2012, 01:23 PM

65 posts

i think there's not much difference between learning yourself and getting a teacher...everything is online nowadays right?internet is like one big university ody lorrr....just that you gotta have self discipline la cuz there's no one to instruct you to do this and that.no rigid syllabus.but yea..having a teacher quite nice oso.got org to marah2 you and tell you wrong things you did.hehehe.jst my 2 cents..

btw,personally i prefer DIY.smile.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jan 1 2012, 03:02 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

my new baby. (without cymbals)

any recommendation on 3pack cymbals set suitable for rock/metal and not expensive ?
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 1 2012, 03:23 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Dec 31 2011, 08:21 PM)
Cool~ My bass drum is the one that needs to be tamed tongue.gif

Anyways, why 2 16" FT  hmm.gif  Isit one of them 16x14?
One 16' floor tom on the left, one 13' and 16' floor on the right respectively biggrin.gif

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Dec 31 2011, 08:39 PM)

The HD perhaps? smile.gif It sounds alright. I've never played the Black Suede Emperor before, so I wouldn't know, but I have played the Onyx before, and its alright lah.

Yes, that's my school's new kit biggrin.gif

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jan 1 2012, 03:02 PM)
my new baby. (without cymbals)

any recommendation on 3pack cymbals set suitable for rock/metal and not expensive ?
Holy fudge bro biggrin.gif Congratulations xD HAHAHAHA!

Hmm... What do you mean by not expensive? :/ I could recommend the Sabian XS20 set, about 2k, which is pretty much midpriced la biggrin.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jan 1 2012, 03:27 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

2K is wah lau weh !
what about under 1.2K ? something affordable, yet good enough for "beginning intermediate"

100 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:01 PM