= Sugar Glider Thread V17 =

valthera
post Feb 10 2012, 02:40 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(bunnyrox7 @ Feb 9 2012, 10:48 PM)
no no no no no never... pls nooooo..
u should learn before u breed... but i'm really glad that u asked..
pls no.. dun seperate them..
it will stress out the mother..
the male play an important part in taking care of the joey(s) after they're born...
when the mother go out and play, he'll take care of the joey(s)
plus if u seperate them... the mother will be really stress.. she might reject the joey(s)..
or even worst... eat them..
thxxx
Im on learning the breeding, actually i also shocked when she want to breed..
So i just keep them together? Afraid the male will eating the baby..
Thx for ya reply!

xpresso143
post Feb 10 2012, 11:49 AM

45 posts

hi guys, i'm a newbie here - 2 ques~

1-when my joey lily cry in her cage -should i calm her from outside or just sit next to her cage,

last 3 night it happen [2nd day wif me..] so i gently stroked on her and calm her down. it works, but im just curious-what exact things to do IF it happened again...i read that they cry coz calling for family, so i'm getting another female soon..

2-i bring her along in bonding pouch to office, when she wakes up should i gave her treat when she's in the pouch ? in the morning [at 6.30] already gave her fruit blend wif vegies.

can't take her out, since she's not totally bond with me.afraid she ran away lah..

NewbieBetta
post Feb 10 2012, 01:50 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

no more DIY sleeping pouch seller in lyn. most of the existing seller seems not much active.
kelvin_faye
post Feb 10 2012, 02:03 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

What u looking for actually? smile.gif
jitshiong
post Feb 10 2012, 10:12 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Feb 5 2012, 11:25 PM)
australia = young to old grey colour
indonesia = young grey , old yellow colour

Anyways , due to dad sickness , i have no choice but to sell my sugar glider. if anyone interested , please pm me.

Female 3 months old.
no such thing...
the colour is due to tainting....
all wild gliders will come out yellowish
if u use coconut shell, or rarely wash ur sleeping pouch, they turn yellowish
if u clean properly all the time, they r always grey...
bunnyrox7
post Feb 10 2012, 11:28 PM

the male will never eat the baby..
sg are very different from others like rabbit... or hamster...
the male will babysit the babies..
when the mum go out to eat or play..
both of them need to be together..

QUOTE(valthera @ Feb 10 2012, 02:40 AM)
thxxx
Im on learning the breeding, actually i also shocked when she want to breed..
So i just keep them together? Afraid the male will eating the baby..
Thx for ya reply!

Added on February 10, 2012, 11:34 pm1. cry? u mean barking.? she's lonely.. play with her.. u should spend time and play with her.. if u want to bond with her fast, just take her out the cage and play with her in a glider-proof room..

2. wakes up u mean she's trying to get out or just moving, adjusting her position then go back to sleep...?
mine never wants to eat in the day.. u could give her some treats or fruits.. it's like midnite snack..

QUOTE(xpresso143 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:49 AM)
hi guys, i'm a newbie here  - 2 ques~

1-when my joey lily cry in her cage -should i calm her from outside or just  sit next to her cage,

last 3 night it happen [2nd day wif me..] so i gently stroked on her and calm her down. it works, but im just curious-what exact things to do IF it happened again...i read that they cry coz calling for family, so i'm getting another female soon..

2-i bring her along in bonding pouch to office, when she wakes up should i gave her treat when she's in the pouch ? in the morning [at 6.30] already gave her fruit blend wif vegies.

can't take her out, since she's not totally bond with me.afraid she ran away lah..
This post has been edited by bunnyrox7: Feb 10 2012, 11:35 PM
ix3Rukia
post Feb 11 2012, 05:16 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 10 2012, 10:12 PM)
no such thing...
the colour is due to tainting....
all wild gliders will come out yellowish
if u use coconut shell, or rarely wash ur sleeping pouch, they turn yellowish
if u clean properly all the time, they r always grey...
my customer been keeping sugar glider for few months. she never use coconut shell and always wash sleeping pouch.

The sugar glider eventually turned yellowish.

Fed daily with apples only.

Explain.

Copy pasta from website.

Why so? Well, I remembered I saw someone’s joey that he brought for me to check, it’s front hands and feet have no dark colouration, the Merauke has no dark colouration on their front hands. They also appear to have longer bodies and tails but slimmer in built. Lean and large, I believe we have Merauke in Malaysia, just maybe mixed breed with the Sorong glider, which majority of us all have. Also, the Merauke can come in brown colouration, which is called Caramel and there is an albino version of the caramel as well. Big demand now in the USA as this sub-species can interbreed with their gliders to strengthen the gene. Also, dark eye bands, dark black stripes with longish tails and brownish fur with grey, a yellowish face…. this can be sugar gliders of Sorong. I mostly have this type I think. I’m trying to contact a researcher in the US to see what she can share with me about them.

This post has been edited by ix3Rukia: Feb 11 2012, 05:19 AM
NazTS
post Feb 11 2012, 02:46 PM

114 posts

[quote=ix3Rukia,Feb 11 2012, 05:16 AM]
my customer been keeping sugar glider for few months. she never use coconut shell and always wash sleeping pouch.

Explain.

color debate nice.........hehehe biggrin.gif

Dear:ix3rukia

please advice ur customer to look for a proper diet than rather worrying about their color coz

do you know that lack of diet can also cause their color to change

and just imagine us(human being) eats apple for the rest of our life will we be able to walk straight or even last that long

we can`t provide a 100% guarantee diet to them but a 90% closest to it will be better then nothing.....

the answer to the question above is WHAT not WHY........

and last but not least pls act quick on their diet,u don`t want them to have HLP in the future

This post has been edited by NazTS: Feb 11 2012, 05:45 PM
NewbieBetta
post Feb 11 2012, 03:51 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Feb 10 2012, 02:03 PM)
What u looking for actually? smile.gif
looking for sleeping pouch
jitshiong
post Feb 11 2012, 07:09 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Feb 11 2012, 05:16 AM)

Explain.

Copy pasta from website.
poor glider, pls ask your fren to provide better diet.

as for the colour, understand that in the US there are many variation.
Mosiac, leucistic, albino, black beauty, etc....
in fact, in Malaysia, we have them too...but we do not separate the colouration that much
i call my gliders standard grey, but the actual fact is that 2 of my breeding pair actually produces black beauty

i'm still sticking to my opinion that the yellowish colouration is due to tainting
if you study glider behaviour, you will know that gliders actually mark their partners too
so even if u clean everything, the males might mark them
that can also contribute to the yellowish taint

anyhow, that is my opinion
if you beg to differ then by all means, go ahead

cheers!
*ariena*
post Feb 12 2012, 01:41 AM

wah..thread v17 already a?..

keep up..
i got 10 sg now..weeee...

ix3Rukia
post Feb 12 2012, 11:33 AM

18 posts

[quote=NazTS,Feb 11 2012, 02:46 PM]
[quote=ix3Rukia,Feb 11 2012, 05:16 AM]

Explain.
color debate nice.........hehehe biggrin.gif

Dear:ix3rukia

please advice ur customer to look for a proper diet than rather worrying about their color coz

do you know that lack of diet can also cause their color to change

and just imagine us(human being) eats apple for the rest of our life will we be able to walk straight or even last that long

we can`t provide a 100% guarantee diet to them but a 90% closest to it will be better then nothing.....

the answer to the question above is WHAT not WHY........

and last but not least pls act quick on their diet,u don`t want them to have HLP in the future

[/quote]

customer give apple , hpw , cat food , mealworm. How come still turn yellow colour?

@jit Hmm my customer have only 1 female with her , so i dont think marking will happen. Her sg fur just randomly turned yellowish slowly in 3 weeks D:
jitshiong
post Feb 12 2012, 01:16 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Feb 12 2012, 11:33 AM)
customer give apple , hpw , cat food , mealworm. How come still turn yellow colour?

@jit Hmm my customer have only 1 female with her , so i dont think marking will happen. Her sg fur just randomly turned yellowish slowly in 3 weeks D:
cool, your customer have a yellow glider then!
Reanne
post Feb 12 2012, 01:58 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Diet does play a role, but doesn't mean that's the only reason. Genetics is tricky to figure out especially when there is no record on the parents/grandparents n so on.

Miko was never grey but she never got much yellower than when she first came at 7 months. Billie is a black beauty, though the fur on her face did turn slightly yellowish, the majority still remains grey. Dakota stayed grey for more than a year, but now I'm not sure if she turned yellow or not as I have not received any updates.

I've seen gliders kept in not very clean conditions housed with coconut shells for years yet some still remain a beautiful grey.

As for what I think, love your glider, feed it, care for it well and it will look beautiful no matter what the colour is.

Oh and yes, female gliders can mark. Believe me they can really mark! Not all female gliders but Billie is a marking-whore. She will mark from my shoulder all the way to my palm and other places as well if she gets the chance. It is pungent, strong and kind of a translucent brownish grey fluid. It's pretty grosss........

Washing sleeping pouches too often can cause excessive marking as well.

I usually wash every week to 2 weeks depending on the glider. Billie keeps her pouch super clean so every 2 weeks.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 12 2012, 02:04 PM
cchanmt
post Feb 12 2012, 03:00 PM

468 posts

talking about marking...
my rockstar marks on my baju all the time!!!
and its really pungent...often near my shoulder/neck area...bloody smells tongue.gif
r they like human...when they drink more water...they will hv a less smellier marking? tongue.gif

NightHeart
post Feb 12 2012, 10:14 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Feb 12 2012, 11:33 AM)

I had 1 female too, which became a bit yellowish until I put a stop to it.

Gliders are messy eaters, the yellow is from the HPW & apples. Their skin get rubbed against the HPW plate/bowl which stains their skin. Although they clean/groom themselves well but it can't be 100% perfect.

Same goes to the apples, when my glider carry the apple around, it rubbed against her skin especially the belly. After some time, those stain will grow yellowish.

Urine too, she peed and then jump/run/dropped all over her own pee. Thus staining her skin again. After some time running around she gets tired, fell asleep & the stain dries on her skin. Making it harder to clean when she finally wakes up & start cleaning herself.

Btw, add more papayas to the fruit diet. It'll save the gliders from HLP. And reduce the mealworms & catfood, it'll prevent the glider from getting obese.

This post has been edited by NightHeart: Feb 12 2012, 10:20 PM
ix3Rukia
post Feb 13 2012, 01:57 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 12 2012, 10:14 PM)

Gliders are messy eaters, the yellow is from the HPW & apples. Their skin get rubbed against the HPW plate/bowl which stains their skin. Although they clean/groom themselves well but it can't be 100% perfect.

Same goes to the apples, when my glider carry the apple around, it rubbed against her skin especially the belly. After some time, those stain will grow yellowish.

Urine too, she peed and then jump/run/dropped all over her own pee. Thus staining her skin again. After some time running around she gets tired, fell asleep & the stain dries on her skin. Making it harder to clean when she finally wakes up & start cleaning herself.

Btw, add more papayas to the fruit diet. It'll save the gliders from HLP. And reduce the mealworms & catfood, it'll prevent the glider from getting obese.
wonder if a obese glider can fly xD !

Anyways , thanks for this! I remember hpw can be the culprit of the yellowish stains. my bad Dx
xpresso143
post Feb 13 2012, 04:35 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(bunnyrox7 @ Feb 11 2012, 12:28 AM)

Added on February 10, 2012, 11:34 pm1. cry? u mean barking.? she's lonely.. play with her.. u should spend time and play with her.. if u want to bond with her fast, just take her out the cage and play with her in a glider-proof room..

2. wakes up u mean she's trying to get out or just moving, adjusting her position then go back to sleep...?
mine never wants to eat in the day.. u could give her some treats or fruits.. it's like midnite snack..
yup - she bark a bit.
now spending more n more time wif her.. wub.gif
play around wif me till 1/2am [if not working, lagi lame lah..]

i talk a lot with her.she sometimes let me cuddle her, but sometimes she nipping on me..aiyoo

one day.i let her sleep on me (so that she recognize my scent~ [but she in the pouch, with the zipper open] when i woke up, she already exploring my room..feel like jantung nak explode tengok she on her own, on the floor! sweat.gif thank god she don't hesitate to get back in pouch..
[but not to climb on me.. sad.gif ]

in the morning 6 to 11am/12pm/1 pm - she's not totally asleep.[maybe because i'm moving and shifting a lot~] so i feed her like fruits/pallet..and some water - after she satisfied then only tido~..if not, she keep on trying to get out of the pouch and stare me with those big round eye, is this normal ?

rclxub.gif

but this morning,when i try to get her inside the bonding pouch, she walk past it, went up my right hand and to my back - the went down through the left hand straight inside the pouch .. smile.gif

got me worried at first - if she jump away, but surprisingly not. rclxms.gif

any advice are so welcome - still newbie, learning from 'senpai' on thiz matter like you guys here.. smile.gif
theories n practical are not the same..easy to read and learn pretty challenging to make it happen..but for my love to Lilly, i'll do all that i can.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by xpresso143: Feb 13 2012, 05:20 PM
Reanne
post Feb 13 2012, 05:37 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

QUOTE(cchanmt @ Feb 12 2012, 03:00 PM)
talking about marking...
my rockstar marks on my baju all the time!!!
and its really pungent...often near my shoulder/neck area...bloody smells tongue.gif
r they like human...when they drink more water...they will hv a less smellier marking? tongue.gif
Well, the marking musk is not pee, so it may or may not help. I feel you, like their trying to say 'u are mine, haha.'

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 12 2012, 10:14 PM)

That's staining from food, not all yellow gliders get yellow from food staining. I hv seen gliders tht arent on HPW n almost never fed apples gradually turn yellow as time passes, but it's a very nice natural yellow, not dirty or sickly yellow. As for food stains, I hv joeys get dirty brown yellow which resulted in fur loss. She was so dirty tht almost all her fur dropped off so she looked naked.

Yup, urine can stain. But thts if there's nothing to absorb it other than the fur I guess. Miko used to pee in her pouch but she didnt get yellow. She did smell bad though.

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Feb 13 2012, 01:57 PM)
wonder if a obese glider can fly xD !

Anyways , thanks for this! I remember hpw can be the culprit of the yellowish stains. my bad Dx
Yes they can, but they need more effort. And its amusing to see them try.

QUOTE(xpresso143 @ Feb 13 2012, 04:35 PM)
yup - she bark a bit.
now spending more n more time wif her.. wub.gif
play around wif me till 1/2am [if not working, lagi lame lah..]

i talk a lot with her.she sometimes let me cuddle her, but sometimes she nipping on  me..aiyoo
one day.i let her sleep on me (so that she recognize my scent~ [but she in the pouch, with the zipper open] when i woke up, she already exploring my room..feel like jantung nak explode tengok she on her own, on the floor!  sweat.gif thank god she don't hesitate to get back in pouch..
[but not to climb on me.. sad.gif ]

in the morning  6 to 11am/12pm/1 pm - she's not totally asleep.[maybe because i'm moving and shifting a lot~]  so i feed her like fruits/pallet..and some water - after she satisfied then only tido~..if not, she keep on trying to get out of the pouch and stare me with those big round eye, is this normal ?

rclxub.gif

but this morning,when i try to get her inside the bonding pouch, she walk past it, went up my right hand and to my back - the went down through the left hand straight inside the pouch .. smile.gif

got me worried at first - if she jump away,  but surprisingly not.  rclxms.gif

any advice are so welcome - still newbie, learning from 'senpai' on thiz matter like you guys here.. smile.gif
theories n practical are not the same..easy to read and learn pretty challenging to make it happen..but for my love to Lilly, i'll do all that i can.. smile.gif
U probably know this but always be careful when sleeping with ur glider. A friend of mine did tht and killed his glider by rolling on her by accident. As for the love n commitment, keep it up!
loritanah
post Feb 13 2012, 06:34 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 12 2012, 01:16 PM)
cool, your customer have a yellow glider then!
+1

Added on February 13, 2012, 6:37 pmDo not attempt to lying on the bed and put yr glider ontop of u...

Nak make love pun, sugar glider letak dalam cage.

I fall asleep while playing with my glider few years back. :-(

This post has been edited by loritanah: Feb 13 2012, 06:37 PM

51 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:54 PM