The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

incubus_skj
post Oct 11 2012, 05:19 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 9 2012, 09:25 AM)
u can fit those watches under your cuff?
I have a hard time fitting my 48mm Alpina Extreme and 44mm Zenith Defy under my cuff. I will not call them dress watches.

Defy Classic or Extreme bro? drool.gif

was saving for an Extreme years ago before it got discontinued... then lost interest in it sad.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 11 2012, 06:23 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Oct 11 2012, 04:59 PM)
Im in a dilemma now too ! sigh !! I saw the new range of Graham watch the Black Forest last week and ordered

the one in black with orange. Saw the IWC "Baby Pilot" both prices are roughly the same. Cant decide which

to get now  icon_question.gif
IWC still...

but bear in mind that in the core... its still a (heavily modded) Valjoux 7750...
TSpatryn33
post Oct 12 2012, 09:42 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 11 2012, 05:19 PM)
Defy Classic or Extreme bro?  drool.gif

was saving for an Extreme years ago before it got discontinued... then lost interest in it  sad.gif
classic no $$ for extreme, u can get it on grey at a great deal.
so with the large amount of $$ (over 37k) saved U getting what next?
incubus_skj
post Oct 12 2012, 09:47 AM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 12 2012, 09:42 AM)
classic no $$ for extreme, u can get it on grey at a great deal.
so with the large amount of $$ (over 37k) saved U getting what next?
oowwhhh Classic.. Still a fine choice nonetheless! Nvm liao don't want to buy the Extreme already.

used that money to buy the Hublot Big Bang Black Magic instead lor. Got leftover money somemore for my next target in the far future: the Corum Golden Bridge

drool.gif

This post has been edited by incubus_skj: Oct 12 2012, 09:48 AM
TSpatryn33
post Oct 12 2012, 09:51 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Oct 11 2012, 02:48 PM)
Any owner of "44mm Mini Fiddy Case Black Marina Militare Automatic Power Reserve Watch" here?
Any review for Marina Militare's quality? Like the pammy style but only can afford the homage biggrin.gif

How's the quality & build? Normally how long it takes to reach Malaysia?
made in China? then don't matter as usually come from same source anyway. I had the pwr res one for 3mths and that I throw in away.

QUOTE(Prometric @ Oct 11 2012, 04:59 PM)
Im in a dilemma now too ! sigh !! I saw the new range of Graham watch the Black Forest last week and ordered

the one in black with orange. Saw the IWC "Baby Pilot" both prices are roughly the same. Cant decide which
IWC is modified ETA 7750, but now IWX don't do those work, ETA does it for IWC. Read more here.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f350/my-first...ion-644668.html

where is this new collection U talking about? not here. Anyway most of their movement looks like its been mod by La Joux Perret. La Joux Perret is park of citizen group now and they do movement for brands like Hublot, Panerai (in the past), Tag Heuer etc.
http://www.graham-london.com/en-gb/collection.aspx

nice read
http://robbreport.com/Underground-Movements.aspx

I would go for Graham, ~20+yrs ago I recall Graham enjoy the prestige like PAM. must have made the wrong move.

Added on October 12, 2012, 10:17 am
QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 12 2012, 09:47 AM)
oowwhhh Classic.. Still a fine choice nonetheless! Nvm liao don't want to buy the Extreme already.

used that money to buy the Hublot Big Bang Black Magic instead lor. Got leftover money somemore for my next target in the far future: the Corum Golden Bridge
lich! enjoy... post some pics... front and back!
whats the damage? still have $$ left

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 12 2012, 10:20 AM
Prometric
post Oct 12 2012, 10:30 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 12 2012, 09:51 AM)

where is this new collection U talking about? not here. Anyway most of their movement looks like its been mod by La Joux Perret. La Joux Perret is park of citizen group now and they do movement for brands like Hublot, Panerai (in the past), Tag Heuer etc.
http://www.graham-london.com/en-gb/collection.aspx

nice read
http://robbreport.com/Underground-Movements.aspx

I would go for Graham, ~20+yrs ago I recall Graham enjoy the prestige like PAM. must have made the wrong move.
Sorry noob here, do not how to attached photos.

Here is a link to the watch i ordered (the orange colour)

http://www.horozima.com/2012/07/graham-chr...ersize-new.html

yonggoh
post Oct 12 2012, 09:18 PM

1,314 posts

In the name of science i have over the past week, been trying to measure the accuracy of my automatic watches over the course of a week.

The base time is provided by my Luminox 5051 BO which utilizes a Quartz movement.

The Rolex Daytona is in a separate winder which spins about 850 turns per day in alternating clockwise and anti clockwise motion.
Four of the other watches have been placed in the same winder set at 750 turns per day in alternating clockwise and anti clockwise motion.

Please note that the results recorded are via my VISUAL comparison (my eyes switching back and forth between the base watch and watch to be measured) hence is no way absolutely accurate recordings

The results are as follows:

Day 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
___________________________________________________________________________________
2011 Rolex Daytona 116520 -3 -6 -9 -12 -15 -18 -21 (Avrg: -3.00s per day)
2009 Panerai PAM312 +1 +3 +4 +6 +7 +9 +11 (Avrg: +1.56s per day)
2009 Bell&Ross Phantom +3 +6 +9 +12 +15 +18 +21 (Avrg: +3.00s per day)
2006 Rolex Lady Datejust -4 -7 -11 -16 -19 -22 -26 (Avrg: -3.71s per day)
1998 IWC DerFleiger Chrono -9 -19 -25 -34 -45 -53 -62 (Avrg: -8.86s per day)

Conclusions:
The Daytona results are within COSC standards. I was anticipating +-1s per day accuracy but alas its not quite what i had hoped for.
The Panerai was the surprizing one here with an amazing average of +1.5seconds over the course of a day!
The results of the B&R prove that the ETA movement inside is a reliable work horse.
The lady datejust of my wife has never been serviced before and still provides decent accuracy.
Finally the IWC has not been serviced since the year of purchase in 1998 and it's timing shows that perhaps it can use with some regulating.
Just sharing some of my unbiased findings to fellow enthusiasts.
Have a good weekend people
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Oct 12 2012, 09:38 PM
Everdying
post Oct 12 2012, 09:41 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

u should test using atomic clock / sirim time - http://mst.sirim.my/
not all quartz movements are extremely accurate.
like the 'swiss' quartz movement in my victorinox runs about 2secs fast per week...i cant imagine the luminox to be any better...even luminox site states accuracy somewhere between -0.5 to +0.7 / day...so at worst -3.5s to +4.9s / week.

Human Nature
post Oct 12 2012, 10:10 PM

- student of human nature -
26,535 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 12 2012, 09:18 PM)
In the name of science i have over the past week, been trying to measure the accuracy of my automatic watches over the course of a week.
+1000 for your scientific endeavour thumbup.gif
TSpatryn33
post Oct 13 2012, 07:24 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Oct 12 2012, 10:30 AM)
Sorry noob here, do not how to attached photos.

Here is a link to the watch i ordered (the orange colour)

http://www.horozima.com/2012/07/graham-chr...ersize-new.html
Did u order this? whats the price if U can share.

Added on October 13, 2012, 7:54 amcheck out this new Longines watch
- 49mm watch
- Caliber L788, a column-wheel chronograph movement developed exclusively for Longines by ETA,
- retails US$4.9K

http://www.watchtime.com/watch-to-watch/lo...-watch-type-a-7

Added on October 13, 2012, 7:57 am
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 12 2012, 09:18 PM)

The base time is provided by my Luminox 5051 BO which utilizes a Quartz movement.

The Rolex Daytona is in a separate winder which spins about 850 turns per day in alternating clockwise and anti clockwise motion.
Four of the other watches have been placed in the same winder set at 750 turns per day in alternating clockwise and anti clockwise motion.

Please note that the results recorded are via my VISUAL comparison (my eyes switching back and forth between the base watch and watch to be measured) hence is no way absolutely accurate recordings

to add on to your test, here is 1 conducted by Watchtime.

http://www.watchtime.com/reviews/climbers-...rolex-explorer/
SPECS
Manufacturer: Montres Rolex SA, Rue François-Dussaud 3–7, CH-1211 Geneva, Switzerland
Reference number: 214270
Functions: Hours, minutes, seconds, stop-seconds function
Movement: Manufacture Caliber 3132, automatic; diameter = 28,5 mm; height = 5.37 mm; 28,800 vph; 31 jewels, Paraflex shock absorption; Parachrom hairspring with Breguet terminal curve; Glucydur balance with Microstella regulating screws; 48-hour power reserve
Case: 904L stainless steel, fully threaded screw-down back, flat sapphire crystal, screwed Twinlock crown, water-resistant to 100 meters
Bracelet and clasp: 904L stainless steel, Oyster band and Oysterlock safety clasp with Easylink extender
Rate results (Deviations in seconds per 24 hours):
Dial up +7
Dial down +6
Crown up +5
Crown down 0
Crown left +4
Crown right 0
Greatest deviation of rate. 7
Average deviation: 3.7
Mean amplitude:
Flat positions 296°
Hanging positions 263°
Dimensions: Diameter = 39 mm; height = 11 mm; weight = 126 g
Price: US$5,725

SCORES
Bracelet and clasp (Maximum: 10 points): Beautifully crafted steel bracelet with easy-to-operate, massive folding clasp and extending mechanism. 9
Operation (5): Thanks to the stop-seconds function, the time can be set quickly, simply and precisely via the crown, which is convenient to unscrew and easy to grasp. 5
Case (10): The well-made steel case has neatly polished and satin-finished surfaces. 9
Design (15): Except for the unduly short hands, this is a successful enlargement of the classic design, which epitomizes sporty elegance. 13
Legibility (5): Only the reflective crystal above the dial detracts somewhat from the good legibility of the high-contrast hands and large indices; the legibility is also good at night. 5
Wearing comfort (10): Nothing pokes or scratches uncomfortably; the wearing comfort is unusually good for a watch with a steel bracelet. 10
Movement (20): The construction, which is built for robustness and precision, is quite solid, and the decorations are nice. Rolex has further improved the hairspring and the shock absorption. 18
Rate results (10): The rate is decent, but one has a right to expect even better performance from a Rolex. 8
Overall value (15): The price of $5,725 is justified. 13
TOTAL: 90 points

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 13 2012, 07:57 AM
yonggoh
post Oct 13 2012, 09:26 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 12 2012, 09:41 PM)
u should test using atomic clock / sirim time - http://mst.sirim.my/
not all quartz movements are extremely accurate.
like the 'swiss' quartz movement in my victorinox runs about 2secs fast per week...i cant imagine the luminox to be any better...even luminox site states accuracy somewhere between -0.5 to +0.7 / day...so at worst -3.5s to +4.9s / week.
nice!!! such a simple factor to improve the integrity of the experiment....
i will be setting my watches to this website from today onwards and will use it for my next set of trials when my AP arrives in two weeks time...
thumbup.gif
twho
post Oct 13 2012, 11:01 AM

487 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone getting this watch?

http://www.orient-watch.com/orientstar/skeleton.html

Everdying
post Oct 13 2012, 01:02 PM

30,735 posts

deleted.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 13 2012, 01:10 PM
jackiewong
post Oct 13 2012, 01:37 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Oct 13 2012, 11:01 AM)
thumbup.gif nice watch.. if u know the price.. let me know..
Everdying
post Oct 13 2012, 01:46 PM

30,735 posts

that orient star? the leather strap one is rm5.2k retail...so somewhere around rm4k after discount.
completely mechanical, but not as thin as i expected...
dunno who would want it either since orient market here very small...maybe price will slowly drop tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 13 2012, 01:48 PM
jackiewong
post Oct 13 2012, 02:53 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 13 2012, 01:46 PM)
that orient star? the leather strap one is rm5.2k retail...so somewhere around rm4k after discount.
dunno who would want it either since orient market here very small...maybe price will slowly drop tongue.gif
if it drop below 2k.. i will buy it without thinking.. but with 5.2k?.. i will go for swiss made..
twho
post Oct 13 2012, 04:24 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 13 2012, 01:46 PM)
I think the steel bracelet retails at 5.5k
Should be below 4k after discount.
Quite light.

Hopefully it does drop as it's priced 2k higher than any other Orient Star around.
But resellers are saying it's limited edition, so i doubt it'll go down.

@jackiewong
Same for me. Went to check it out with 2k in hand. Was hoping to bring it home.
Was shock when the retail price was 5.5k
cry.gif

This post has been edited by twho: Oct 13 2012, 04:27 PM
Everdying
post Oct 13 2012, 06:06 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Oct 13 2012, 04:24 PM)
I think the steel bracelet retails at 5.5k
Should be below 4k after discount.
Quite light.

Hopefully it does drop as it's priced 2k higher than any other Orient Star around.
But resellers are saying it's limited edition, so i doubt it'll go down.

@jackiewong
Same for me. Went to check it out with 2k in hand. Was hoping to bring it home.
Was shock when the retail price was 5.5k
cry.gif
malaysian retailer's definition of 'limited edition' is more of limited stock in malaysian market...or more like distributor thinks its too expensive so only brings in a one time shipment of limited units.
and orient's site has no mention of it being limited, they even call it their flagship model.
yonggoh
post Oct 13 2012, 06:34 PM

1,314 posts

Anyone have any experiences with the following methods of regulating an automatic timepiece?

1. To gain a few seconds, lay the watch flat face-up overnight.

2. To lose a few seconds, lay the watch vertically with the crown downwards overnight.

3. To lose a few more seconds, lay the watch vertically with the crown up.

Glau
post Oct 13 2012, 07:26 PM

418 posts

Hi, I am planning to get a luminox watch. Please advice on where can I get a good deal in kl or PJ? Thanks

183 Pages « < 157 158 159 160 161 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:57 PM