The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Jason
post Oct 2 2012, 06:47 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Oct 2 2012, 04:50 PM)
Any chance of getting a tissot or seiko?
Yes definitely can get Tissot or Seiko <800. Throw Orient in the mix as well. I would look at Seiko & Orient, bigger range of choice.
yonggoh
post Oct 3 2012, 03:43 PM

1,314 posts

My new soldier for the rigours of daily battle!
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Oct 3 2012, 03:48 PM

pallidum
post Oct 3 2012, 04:12 PM

222 posts

Wow, a panerai and bell n ross guy wearing luminox ?

Wow. I'm kinda proud owning a luminox then.
incubus_skj
post Oct 3 2012, 05:00 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(fremont88 @ Sep 27 2012, 03:56 PM)
Latest purchase....i see not many tag lovers here though...so pls be gentle...

[attachmentid=3071533]
I think maybe because Tag's watches are getting pricier nowadays? Anyways nice design! My Carrera's been with me for about 6-7 years already i think.

The new Carrera 1887 in black/rose gold looked yummy but the price really turned me off sad.gif

This post has been edited by incubus_skj: Oct 3 2012, 05:03 PM
fremont88
post Oct 3 2012, 05:04 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 3 2012, 05:00 PM)
I think maybe because Tag's watches are getting pricier nowadays? Anyways nice design! My Carrera's been with me for about 6-7 years already i think.

The new Carrera 1887 in black/rose gold looked yummy but the price really turned me off  sad.gif
u mean the new carrera that is 43mm? i contemplated that, but it did not look so good when i wore it....so chose the 41mm, with no rose gold....
yonggoh
post Oct 3 2012, 05:12 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(pallidum @ Oct 3 2012, 04:12 PM)
Wow, a panerai and bell n ross guy wearing luminox ?

Wow. I'm kinda proud owning a luminox then.
dude, you have no idea how much crap I get from watch snobs owning a panerai and b&r(to be sold to a new owner soon actually)...

but yes my fellow Luminox kaki, lets be proud of our pieces and enjoy in good health smile.gif
incubus_skj
post Oct 3 2012, 05:16 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(fremont88 @ Oct 3 2012, 05:04 PM)
u mean the new carrera that is 43mm? i contemplated that, but it did not look so good when i wore it....so chose the 41mm, with no rose gold....
yeah... this one:-

fremont88
post Oct 3 2012, 05:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 3 2012, 05:16 PM)

yup, tested that, as well as the one with white face....took me a long time to decide before i chose the one that i am wearing now....

but i do agree, it looks good too.....
pallidum
post Oct 3 2012, 05:21 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 3 2012, 05:12 PM)
dude, you have no idea how much crap I get from watch snobs owning a panerai and b&r(to be sold to a new owner soon actually)...

but yes my fellow Luminox kaki, lets be proud of our pieces and enjoy in good health smile.gif
Oh ya forgot to mention your IWC and rolex. blink.gif

What do u mean u get so much crap from watch snobs ?
Everdying
post Oct 3 2012, 05:25 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 3 2012, 03:43 PM)
My new soldier for the rigours of daily battle!
rclxms.gif
lol.
i was interested in that, tho my gshock is doing well enough for that purpose tongue.gif

Added on October 3, 2012, 5:26 pm
QUOTE(pallidum @ Oct 3 2012, 05:21 PM)
Oh ya forgot to mention your IWC and rolex.  blink.gif

probably same snobs who look down on watches that use regular eta movements too.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 3 2012, 05:26 PM
incubus_skj
post Oct 3 2012, 05:27 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(fremont88 @ Oct 3 2012, 05:20 PM)
yup, tested that, as well as the one with white face....took me a long time to decide before i chose the one that i am wearing now....

but i do agree, it looks good too.....
Yeah, RM12k is ok la. The listed price I was quoted for the rose gold/black model was RM20k. I can buy a Zenith Chronomaster already with that kind of money.

QUOTE(pallidum @ Oct 3 2012, 05:21 PM)
Oh ya forgot to mention your IWC and rolex.  blink.gif

dunno about B&R snobbing, but for Panerai it's usually "The new Rolex for Cinapeks" laugh.gif

Correct me if I'm wrong though.

fremont88
post Oct 3 2012, 05:30 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 3 2012, 05:27 PM)
Yeah, RM12k is ok la. The listed price I was quoted for the rose gold/black model was RM20k. I can buy a Zenith Chronomaster already with that kind of money.
dunno about B&R snobbing, but for Panerai it's usually "The new Rolex for Cinapeks"  laugh.gif

yes, 20k, even with discount 22%, total is RM 15600....still high....
yonggoh
post Oct 3 2012, 06:23 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 3 2012, 05:27 PM)
dunno about B&R snobbing, but for Panerai it's usually "The new Rolex for Cinapeks"  laugh.gif

B&R gets its fair share of flack because despite their supposed "mid-level" pricing for a timepiece (typically RM10k+), all their pieces all use off the shelf unmodified ETA Valjoux movements that can typically be found in pieces that can be had for a quarter of their prices...
What this means, is that a buyer is paying a premium for pretty much a casing, branding and all the marketing hoolah... which is fine if one puts value into such things... but is frowned upon by the horology nerds who are more particular with the guts of a watch (in house movement) and tradition...

Panerai is an interesting one because it has never really branded itself as a horological powerhouse... They have a rich history, tho even when they were commission by the italian navy in WW2 they were still using outsourced movements...It was only recently with their Manifattura line of watches that Panerai began to do things in house...These puppies often commanded premium over the ETA fitted pieces but often with monster duration power reserves that beat at 28,800vph...Attached is the pic of the in-house P9000 as used in my PAM312.

It was only in the mid 90s when a certain actor with the funky sneering lips, became ambassador(tho not officially??) for the brand that Panerai became noticed in the luxury watch segment and command the high sticker prices of today... While such a recent resurgence of the brand typically indicates an uncertain staying power...no other watch company is able to clear their inventory like Panerai do and that trend doesnt look like dying anytime soon with the continued fascination of oversized watches.... Saying that, traditionalist tend to overlook the brand as trendy over hyped articles with little horological significance....

a Rolex for Cinapeks??? don't even mention Rolex in the same sentence... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Oct 3 2012, 09:21 PM
sniper on the roof
post Oct 3 2012, 07:32 PM

23,414 posts

Yeah.. my boss just upgraded his louis vuitton to a black panerai. Dunno what model is that.
Everdying
post Oct 3 2012, 09:37 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 3 2012, 06:23 PM)
It was only in the mid 90s when a certain actor with the funky sneering lips, became ambassador(tho not officially??) for the brand that Panerai became noticed in the luxury watch segment and command the high sticker prices of today... While such a recent resurgence of the brand typically indicates an uncertain staying power...no other watch company is able to clear their inventory like Panerai do and that trend doesnt look like dying anytime soon with the continued fascination of oversized watches.... Saying that, traditionalist tend to overlook the brand as trendy over hyped articles with little horological significance....

a Rolex for Cinapeks??? don't even mention Rolex in the same sentence...  sweat.gif
eh what fascination with oversized watches? thats only on asian midget wrists.
on rocky's wrist its perfectly proportionate tongue.gif

Jason
post Oct 3 2012, 11:08 PM

6,355 posts

B&R gets its fair share of flack because despite their supposed "mid-level" pricing for a timepiece (typically RM10k+), all their pieces all use off the shelf unmodified ETA Valjoux movements that can typically be found in pieces that can be had for a quarter of their prices...
What this means, is that a buyer is paying a premium for pretty much a casing, branding and all the marketing hoolah... which is fine if one puts value into such things... but is frowned upon by the horology nerds who are more particular with the guts of a watch (in house movement) and tradition...
which is true. its a fashion watch. my cheap tag has a fancier decorate ETA movement icon_idea.gif . I view people with BR as someone who has too much money and don't know where to spend, not a bad situation to be in though.
littlebeettle
post Oct 4 2012, 12:05 AM

1,099 posts

this hamilton...so tough

drool.gif
Genoss - Apple House
post Oct 4 2012, 12:20 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 3 2012, 05:16 PM)

This look so nice and cool!
May I know what is the price for this watch?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 4 2012, 01:20 AM

23,414 posts

Panerai is an interesting one because it has never really branded itself as a horological powerhouse... They have a rich history, tho even when they were commission by the italian navy in WW2 they were still using outsourced movements...It was only recently with their Manifattura line of watches that Panerai began to do things in house...These puppies often commanded premium over the ETA fitted pieces but often with monster duration power reserves that beat at 28,800vph...Attached is the pic of the in-house P9000 as used in my PAM312.

a Rolex for Cinapeks??? don't even mention Rolex in the same sentence..sweat.gif
Everywhere I looked on the interweb, the debate about Panerai's tend to get nasty and frankly not very informative besides beating the dead horse so I hope the guru's here can help enlighten me a bit.

Below are my 2 cents..

Personally I think Panerai's looks good and they seem very popular and like THE watch to wear these days and like you said, new movements and I really like the idea of a ceramic case (like my boss punya)

But rich history?

According to the interweb, they made like 300+ watches for the Italian Navy (not exactly the best fighting force in WW2) until the contract got canned.

What about Hamilton Field Khaki's that were issued to WWII GI's... or the Rolex/Omegas that were smuggled into Britain to be issued to RAF Spitfire pilots during the darkest hour or the Seiko issued to Kamikaze pilots (wait... that won't sell) and Seiko divers favored by GI's in Vietnam that worked in the paddy fields and during love you long long time sessions. Or the modern timex, g-shocks etc favored by Navy SEALs etc and our own PASKAL? All those also can claim even richer history laugh.gif

Bit more military trivia... the Germans, British and Japanese also used commando manned torpedoes during the war though typical for Japanese forces in that era... they more garang and kamikaze with the torpedo and their seikos. doh.gif

And the final thing I don't understand is ..... an Italian watch?

I know OP's now Swiss but while Italians have great aesthetic designs, they're aren't exactly brilliant with mechanical stuff and neither are they the ideal image of a patient watchmaker (I've been working with them for the past 10 years doh.gif )

But respect-lah.. marketing coup d'etat of the century. Not easy to pull something like this off.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 4 2012, 01:28 AM
fremont88
post Oct 4 2012, 07:11 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(Genoss - Apple House @ Oct 4 2012, 12:20 AM)
This look so nice and cool!
May I know what is the price for this watch?
price tag is about 20k

183 Pages « < 152 153 154 155 156 > » Top

0.0311sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:19 PM