127 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 07:45 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:09 PM)
nah, rules are not changing, just the workpass that i am going to hold does not permit to drive a foreign vehicle in anymore.
now in the process of getting the new work pass.
straight wp to pr or Ep to pr?
Lester1987
post Jan 16 2012, 07:53 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 16 2012, 07:45 PM)
straight wp to pr or Ep to pr?
SP (1 year 10 months) > EP (Sept until now) > PR (haven get yet, ngam ngam approved).

later that mercury will come and flame again... seriously, i find it nothing wrong to hold WP. and WP and SP makes no difference.

oh ya, for those who stay in JB, u guys can apply also. don't listen to those ppl saying stay in JB hard to get PR blah blah blah.

i got no paper qualification (STPM only), travel daily from JB to SG also can get mine approved on my 1st attempt. so if u think you need it, just apply.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jan 16 2012, 07:54 PM
eataroundthebush
post Jan 16 2012, 07:55 PM

Guys need some advice from those already in SG,

I have 5 years of good experience in large companies and MNCs in both MY and in China doing business consulting and market research work. Have wanted to make the move to SG for some time now but I can't get any decent response from the larger companies there. Only replies have been from more ahem chinaman type smaller companies which I am probably not interested in. After trying for a year now I am thinking about leaving it for the time being and requesting for an internal transfer in a couple of years as an alternative. The problem is that this method is definitely not always open and a lot of politics when moving across. I get headhunter calls almost every week for some company in Malaysia but even applying directly for a lower position than my current one in a competitor company in SG doesnt even get a response.

Any tips the sifus here can give to me for trying to improve my response rate?

Thanks !!

This post has been edited by eataroundthebush: Jan 16 2012, 07:57 PM
toughnut
post Jan 16 2012, 08:04 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(eataroundthebush @ Jan 16 2012, 07:55 PM)
Guys need some advice from those already in SG,

I have 5 years of good experience in large companies and MNCs in both MY and in China doing business consulting and market research work. Have wanted to make the move to SG for some time now but I can't get any decent response from the larger companies there. Only replies have been from more ahem chinaman type smaller companies which I am probably not interested in. After trying for a year now I am thinking about leaving it for the time being and requesting for an internal transfer in a couple of years as an alternative. The problem is that this method is definitely not always open and a lot of politics when moving across. I get headhunter calls almost every week for some company in Malaysia but even applying directly for a lower position than my current one in a competitor company in SG doesnt even get a response.

Any tips the sifus here can give to me for trying to improve my response rate?

Thanks !!
Brush up your resume and make yourself more marketable. If your resume failed to make any impression, you wont have chance for interview.
eataroundthebush
post Jan 16 2012, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 16 2012, 08:04 PM)
Brush up your resume and make yourself more marketable. If your resume failed to make any impression, you wont have chance for interview.
I think my resume is definitely above average, have had multiple people from HR industry help me revise it plus I worked on some major client engagements (especially in China), so experience highlighted throughout the resume should also definitely be OK.

I did hear that if SG companies see a Malaysian address they usually just automatically send it to the delete pile? Is it worth camping it out in Singapore for a while (Say maybe a month) so that my address is local?
mercury8400
post Jan 16 2012, 08:37 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 16 2012, 06:04 PM)
Wah, didn't know 3 days passed already, time sure flies huh biggrin.gif
Yup.
Time sure flies.
Another year has passed.
Another economic crisis is broiling
Another war starting (in Iran, just in case your wondering)
Another foriegner comming to SG (actually alot)

But all in all, its a good year for me in SG, still.
Coming year, not so sure...
Banks are frezeeing hiring, people are still moving, budgets are increasing, cost of living is rising, retrechment nearing (for some).
Actually a pretty bad year if you wanna come to work in SG, this year.
Candidate's bargaining power just went down a couple notches.
So weather the crisis, stay low and tough it out flex.gif
I always believe "keep the fire and keep the temper" aim high and push harder....stay relevant.
Lester1987
post Jan 16 2012, 08:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(eataroundthebush @ Jan 16 2012, 08:16 PM)
I think my resume is definitely above average, have had multiple people from HR industry help me revise it plus I worked on some major client engagements (especially in China), so experience highlighted throughout the resume should also definitely be OK.

I did hear that if SG companies see a Malaysian address they usually just automatically send it to the delete pile? Is it worth camping it out in Singapore for a while (Say maybe a month) so that my address is local?
if you plan to do so. might as well u accept the chinaman style company's offer and set ur foot here 1st.
then start looking for jobs.. coming to SG without getting a job is a very very bad idea.
not only that, you cannot legally rent a room here because you are not even a resident because you come into SG as a tourist.
mercury8400
post Jan 16 2012, 08:42 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:53 PM)
SP (1 year 10 months) > EP (Sept until now) > PR (haven get yet, ngam ngam approved).

later that mercury will come and flame again... seriously, i find it nothing wrong to hold WP. and WP and SP makes no difference.

oh ya, for those who stay in JB, u guys can apply also. don't listen to those ppl saying stay in JB hard to get PR blah blah blah.

i got no paper qualification (STPM only), travel daily from JB to SG also can get mine approved on my 1st attempt. so if u think you need it, just apply.

Got PR adi why so scared i flame you?
Flame shield on!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

That also means time to job hop (for some).....type those resume and start spamming like no 2moro....make sure your grandma check is turned on!!! thumbup.gif
and CPF contribution....although you only contribute like 5% for first year and increase gradually....also means less disposable income....
It also means time to look at resale HDB flat......maybe in a couple months from now....property prices still going crazy...
totti 10
post Jan 16 2012, 08:52 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:42 PM)
Got PR adi why so scared i flame you?
Flame shield on!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

That also means time to job hop (for some).....type those resume and start spamming like no 2moro....make sure your grandma check is turned on!!! thumbup.gif
and CPF contribution....although you only contribute like 5% for first year and increase gradually....also means less disposable income....
It also means time to look at resale HDB flat......maybe in a couple months from now....property prices still going crazy...
need to find a PR partner first before can buy HDB
or get a citizen can buy new one not resale rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 16 2012, 08:59 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:52 PM)
need to find a PR partner first before can buy HDB
or get a citizen can buy new one not resale  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I tot as long as you >35 yo no need to get partner?

Anyway not to worry. I was told SG has a gov dating agency called SDU or something....maybe you can try it out....who knows....you might get lucky nod.gif
eataroundthebush
post Jan 16 2012, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:42 PM)
if you plan to do so. might as well u accept the chinaman style company's offer and set ur foot here 1st.
then start looking for jobs.. coming to SG without getting a job is a very very bad idea.
not only that, you cannot legally rent a room here because you are not even a resident because you come into SG as a tourist.
Sound advice... thanks
elvenchou1987
post Jan 16 2012, 09:09 PM

327 posts

Anyone in SG this coming saturday??

totti 10
post Jan 16 2012, 09:10 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:59 PM)

Anyway not to worry. I was told SG has a gov dating agency called SDU or something....maybe you can try it out....who knows....you might get lucky  nod.gif
>35 only for citizen
no worry already have a citizen gf rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

@eataroundthebush
I'd say the same like lester said
as long as the salary offered by chinaman company is reasonable(or maybe slightly on lower end)
just take it as a stepping stone, work like 6months-1year jobhop icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
seantang
post Jan 16 2012, 09:12 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:09 PM)
nah, rules are not changing, just the workpass that i am going to hold does not permit to drive a foreign vehicle in anymore.
now in the process of getting the new work pass.
Congrats on the blue IC.

J'Daniel
post Jan 16 2012, 09:13 PM

370 posts

may i know where to apply for job in SG? im in IT line doing as400 ...

as i know jobstreet is for mainly for malaysia, what about sg ?

where can i make my first move guys ?
seantang
post Jan 16 2012, 09:16 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:59 PM)
Not for PRs. It's not called the "Single Singapore Citizen Scheme" for nothing.

wseng
post Jan 16 2012, 09:16 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:53 PM)

hi lester .. mind to share when u applied for your PR ? and how long it takes to get the approval ?
mercury8400
post Jan 16 2012, 09:18 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 16 2012, 09:10 PM)
no worry already have a citizen gf  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Lucky B@stard!!! rclxms.gif

Then can go get EC instead. HDB price with condo resale value...
Plus yr gf/wifu can get S$30k grants and if near her mothers place i heard got samore grants...
SG gov thowing free money around....fast hand, fast leg go and pick up.
Lester1987
post Jan 16 2012, 09:21 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 16 2012, 09:16 PM)
hi lester .. mind to share when u applied for your PR ? and how long it takes to get the approval ?
I apply mine on the 26th November... got it approved today smile.gif
now having a headache on how to get to work after doing the formalities....
actually i apply just for fun 1. didn't expect them to approve since i stay in JB and no qualification.
totti 10
post Jan 16 2012, 09:29 PM

339 posts

wah that was less than 2 months leh
quite fast. grats to you

127 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:37 PM