water heater, price and quality

idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:09 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 22 2013, 04:22 PM)
Seriously guys, I was merely answering a question posed by someone earlier. I may not know the mechanics or process (unlike many of u here) but surely the only way to find out is to give the unit a try.

Till now, no one has stepped forward to say they have tried the heater and can confirm it can or cannot do as claimed. Based on feedback of a friend who has used it for a year, he said OK but as with everything in life, only time will tell.
of course it will work. the important thing is how much does it cost?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 22 2013, 05:09 PM
*StarGazer*
post Oct 22 2013, 05:18 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 22 2013, 05:09 PM)
of course it will work. the important thing is how much does it cost?
Hi @idoblu, I managed to get the pricing at the recent homedec but my fear is once I post the prices, suddenly for no reason kena bombarded again (when i'm just sharing for the benefit of those interested) rclxub.gif
idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:28 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 22 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi @idoblu, I managed to get the pricing at the recent homedec but my fear is once I post the prices, suddenly for no reason kena bombarded again (when i'm just sharing for the benefit of those interested)  rclxub.gif
i think they are not bombarding you but the product..... tongue.gif
anyway seers have 3 kinds of water heaters - instant, storage and heat pump
my guess is you got the storage kind. even the 40L cost around RM1400 which is like 3 times the cost of a normal storage heater

at seers website here they explain how it works - see if it makes sense to anyone

weikee
post Oct 22 2013, 05:35 PM

12,019 posts

Yes we are commenting on the product not you (StarGazer)

weikee
post Oct 22 2013, 05:38 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 22 2013, 05:28 PM)
i think they are not bombarding you but the product.....  tongue.gif
anyway seers have 3 kinds of water heaters - instant, storage and heat pump
my guess is you got the storage kind. even the 40L cost around RM1400 which is like 3 times the cost of a normal storage heater

at seers website here they explain how it works - see if it makes sense to anyone

The product is just like any other storage heater product with only dual tank. With maybe a better insulation, but still will have leakage of heat. Their so call energy saving look like is just the insulation. For that price I rather use rinnai gas.
idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:43 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

hahaha...i was about to say "inb4 weikee says rinnai gas heater" laugh.gif laugh.gif

looking at the picture and explanation from Seers sales here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=62899187

i find it odd that the heated water needs to travel from tank 1 to tank 2 when there are two heating source C, one in each tank
maybe i see the picture wrong?

we all curious on how it works....some of us are a bit skeptical so Stargazer, please dont take it the wrong way icon_rolleyes.gif :

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 22 2013, 05:52 PM
*StarGazer*
post Oct 22 2013, 06:10 PM

264 posts

thanks mates .. i know i know ... smile.gif

Anyways here's the pricing for those interested -

instant water heater (no pump) - RM699
instant water heater (with pump) - 799
kitchen dispenser - 638

40L tank (3 pax) : single tank 783, double tank 1350
60L tank (4 pax) : single 828, double 1485
100L tank (6 pax) : single 945, double 2115

Centralised 100L tank : 3870

btw the sales person said that 2 tanks more efficient cos they work on the principle that heat goes up and is retained at top tank while the bottom tank does another round of heating from the cold water. This means that both tanks are working concurrently, top tank will transfer the heated water down while bottom tank will heat and allow the heat to go up as needed. I hope that makes sense, I'm not much of a science person but think the concept sounds quite logical wor *haha*

weikee
post Oct 22 2013, 06:20 PM

12,019 posts

The selling point for seer is good insulation and low current usage therefore no need independent wiring, rest still the same to me. The heating temperature look fast but the use 30c to start and 60c to end.

Ceramic still have hot wires inside which is also run on electric. How can it not pose any danger? Maybe due to manufacture defective ceramic crack and expose the wires..run on 12v it won't kill But to get 850watt it need to supply 70+amps. i think the large chunk of weight is on the Ac to DC converter.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 22 2013, 05:43 PM)
hahaha...i was about to say "inb4 weikee says rinnai gas heater"  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

looking at the picture and explanation from Seers sales here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=62899187

i find it odd that the heated water needs to travel from tank 1 to tank 2 when there are two heating source C, one in each tank
maybe i see the picture wrong?

we all curious on how it works....some of us are a bit skeptical so Stargazer, please dont take it the wrong way  icon_rolleyes.gif :
stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 07:35 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 22 2013, 06:10 PM)
thanks mates .. i know i know ... smile.gif

Anyways here's the pricing for those interested -

instant water heater (no pump) - RM699
instant water heater (with pump) - 799
kitchen dispenser - 638

40L tank (3 pax) : single tank 783, double tank 1350
60L tank (4 pax) : single 828, double 1485
100L tank (6 pax) : single 945, double 2115

Centralised 100L tank : 3870

btw the sales person said that 2 tanks more efficient cos they work on the principle that heat goes up and is retained at top tank while the bottom tank does another round of heating from the cold water. This means that both tanks are working concurrently, top tank will transfer the heated water down while bottom tank will heat and allow the heat to go up as needed. I hope that makes sense, I'm not much of a science person but think the concept sounds quite logical wor *haha*
As all said you got us wrong. Even though I commented "badly" on the product (actually commented badly on the company and not the product) because they claimed this and that like saving electricity bill and especially they claimed the product to be super safe that it won't kill. It is because they gives us (consumers) a false sense of safety and due to that we take no precaution to check or maintain if the product is still in good working condition after years of use. Such is dangerous and irresponsible. We die they don't after taking our money.

Also, If i were to buy a heater between the conventional instant water heater and this, I would buy this like you! icon_rolleyes.gif though it is much expensive. The reason is safety. (again I want to qualify, yes it looks to me safer than conventional type but not 100% safe).

I do not know why you choose the storage type. You should just get the instant one, each for each bathroom unless you already have hot and cold pipe ready in all the bathrooms and intend to have a pump so as to enjoy great shower, like rain shower.

This post has been edited by stevie8: Oct 22 2013, 07:38 PM
stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 07:46 PM

1,365 posts

They centralized 100L tank is close to a solar heater's price that use little or no electricity and safer from electrocution. Might as well go for solar. The reason ppl go for solar is not just cost of consumption (electric bill) but also for safety plus use as much as you like with no pain except for the cheap water bill.

As others commented due to high price for the storage it is better to get the conventional type. Safety wise more or less same, still the new one is safer by a bit not significant to me.

For the instant, it depend. There is always a price to pay.
stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 07:49 PM

1,365 posts

Have you decided which model or type to buy and the reasons for it so that we can help input for you to get a suitable one(s) since you only paid the deposit and still can change your mind changing to another type, ultimately the decision is yours.
stevie8
post Oct 22 2013, 08:08 PM

1,365 posts

*StarGazer*,

Seriously, we are here to learn from our experience and the experience of others so that we will not be fool forever. I myself was fool as you come across my thread regarding my DB with too few MCBs and it could be not because the electrician fooling me, it could be he himself was not knowledgeable.

No one is 100% correct. Here you have me and if my solar heater ko today i will still go for solar and yet for Weikee he is a die hard gas storage heater user. And if he is 100% correct then I would be 100% wrong! rclxub.gif doh.gif And now we are crazy about this new heater if it could be better.
*StarGazer*
post Oct 22 2013, 08:39 PM

264 posts

Hi all, thanks for all your comments. I know where you are coming from and noted all comments and kind advice. I'll respond tomorrow ya cos a bit hard to type on my tab now. Have a good evening ahead. Cheers!
*StarGazer*
post Oct 23 2013, 09:13 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:49 PM)
Have you decided which model or type to buy and the reasons for it so that we can help input for you to get a suitable one(s) since you only paid the deposit and still can change your mind changing to another type, ultimately the decision is yours.
Hi morning folks, I still undecided and have some options for my 4 bathrooms and kitchen -

Option 1 : Instant water heaters for all 4 bathrooms ie, 4 x RM699 = RM2796 + kitchen dispenser (under sink) RM638 = RM3434

Option 2 : Master bathroom 40L single tank RM780 + 2 bedrooms (shared) 40L double tanks RM1350 + Ground Floor bathroom & kitchen 40L double tanks RM1350 = RM3480

Option 3 : Master bathroom 40L single tank RM780 + 2 bedrooms /Ground Floor bathroom & kitchen 60L double tanks RM1485 = RM2265

Option 4 : Centralised 100L tank RM3870

Options 2-4 are not inclusive of the installation of the hot water pipes. I was told that it could be from RM600-900 per point. While my earlier intention is to have the centralised version, it will very much depend on the piping charges. Hence I am more inclined towards Option 3, besides cheaper, there are only 2 storage tanks for the house and hopefully less to pay for the piping.

What do you think .. pls advise

This post has been edited by *StarGazer*: Oct 23 2013, 09:13 AM
*StarGazer*
post Oct 23 2013, 09:17 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:35 PM)

I do not know why you choose the storage type. You should just get the instant one, each for each bathroom unless you already have hot and cold pipe ready in all the bathrooms and intend to have a pump so as to enjoy great shower, like rain shower.
That's the thing - I have yet to confirm if my unit already has the hot pipe in place or not. If it's in place then it could be the centralised storage ... otherwise the piping charges is a lot to pay for (exceed my budget)
weikee
post Oct 23 2013, 09:22 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 23 2013, 09:17 AM)
That's the thing - I have yet to confirm if my unit already has the hot pipe in place or not.  If it's in place then it could be the centralised storage ... otherwise the piping charges is a lot to pay for (exceed my budget)
New house or old? New house ask developer
*StarGazer*
post Oct 23 2013, 09:22 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 22 2013, 08:08 PM)
*StarGazer*,

Seriously, we are here to learn from our experience and the experience of others so that we will not be fool forever. I myself was fool as you come across my thread regarding my DB with too few MCBs and it could be not because the electrician fooling me, it could be he himself was not knowledgeable.

No one is 100% correct. Here you have me and if my solar heater ko today i will still go for solar and yet for Weikee he is a die hard gas storage heater user. And if he is 100% correct then I would be 100% wrong!  rclxub.gif  doh.gif And now we are crazy about this new heater if it could be better.
Hi Stevie8, thanks for your comments. I understand that we are all sharing and learning from each others experience biggrin.gif
I have tried gas storage before a long long time ago - i must say that the heat is consistent and the hot water is really HOT. Sorry for asking this dumb question - is is still like the old days where u can actually see the flames (i must say that sight is quite scary though I enjoy my shower a lot) ... hehehe
*StarGazer*
post Oct 23 2013, 09:27 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 23 2013, 09:22 AM)
New house or old? New house ask developer
Hi weikee, new house. I was told there is a heater point for master and living .. dunno if it means ready with piping or not ? I may need to confirm again later.
stevie8
post Oct 23 2013, 11:01 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 23 2013, 09:27 AM)
Hi weikee, new house. I was told there is a heater point for master and living .. dunno if it means ready with piping or not ? I may need to confirm again later.
When developer refers it as heater point they mean instant water heater power point and a cold pipe for the instant heater. You can just check. If i am right, there should be a switch with red light or red colour button switch on the outside of the bathroom side by side with the bathroom light, and 3 wire protruded from the wall 6 feet above floor and a stop valve below 2 feet fr floor and an outlet pipe from the same wall 5 feet high.
*StarGazer*
post Oct 23 2013, 11:44 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 23 2013, 11:01 AM)
When developer refers it as heater point they mean instant water heater power point and a cold pipe for the instant heater. You can just check. If i am right, there should be a switch with red light or red colour button switch on the outside of the bathroom side by side with the bathroom light, and 3 wire protruded from the wall 6 feet above floor and a stop valve below 2 feet fr floor and an outlet pipe from the same wall 5 feet high.
Thanks weikee - that's a good piece of info. I learned something new again today rclxms.gif

105 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:14 PM