Don't play play.  sweat.gif
Ketchup sos
This one is what kind of heater you think? I bet it is those instant
idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 05:01 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I think more important is to make sure your ELCB is working and earth wire is grounded

over at the Property forum, someone suggested to turn off the heater before taking your shower. thats a good idea if you takut
but of course,you cant do this with instant heaters

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 9 2013, 05:25 PM
idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 07:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Why houses/condo nowadays don't come with copper piping for storage heaters?
My 20 years old medium cost condo also included
idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 08:33 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 9 2013, 08:25 PM)
Cheaper cost ma
its also a possibility that owners do not know about these things. just pasang only without realizing that their bathrooms are equipped for storage heaters

idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 08:38 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 9 2013, 08:34 PM)
Where got so stupid.  Very obvious
if you read some of the questions people are asking just on this page alone, you can see that there must be a possibility
that they wont know if their homes are equipped for storage heaters or not. copper pipe is concealed. only thing showing is a mixer knob or two depending on design. you'd be surprised how many wont know

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 9 2013, 08:40 PM
idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 09:05 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

brochures will say "heater point", 2 to 3 years later apa "point" also forgotten lah laugh.gif
idoblu
post Sep 9 2013, 09:08 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(hontoni1983 @ Sep 9 2013, 05:51 PM)
Purchased Alpha Smart 18i from Perfect Lifestyle fair a week ago, and they have came for installation yesterday,this is the first time in my life that i am installing water heater (all the while,my parents refuse to install heater because worry of electricity leakage),and holy shit,they use a PVC pipe to connect the output of my original rain water shower output to the heater input, and now, I can see the whole PVC pipe naked on the tiles which is about 2 meter long.....

Oh my god,i really can't accept that after spent so much of money to renovate the house,and the ugly part appear in the toilet!!! Really learnt my lesson, anybody here got idea how to overcome this?? except drill hole and put the pipe inside, and redo the tiles??
is your bathroom equipped for storage water heater? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 9 2013, 09:14 PM
idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 07:47 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Storage heaters and mini heat pump the safest. biggrin.gif
Gas can leak, cause fire and explosion laugh.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 10 2013, 07:48 AM
idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 09:01 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 10 2013, 08:40 AM)
During gas heater era, not much news I heard about gas explosion. Normally the leaking is very small. Rather a fire than explosion.

Gas heater have a safety valve. Which will shutdown when high pressure release. Even if a gas hose broken, the most is fire shut out. Because the gas valve limit the pressure. I saw this kind of situation before during makan steambot. Scary.  sweat.gif

The most famous news using gas heater is suicide. Specially in HK. Even HK actress use gas heater for suicide.
i am just half kidding around, hence my laugh.gif at the end.
just like electric heaters, there is suppose to have a level of safety thru the ELCB....but as you can see, anything can happen

those gas water heaters with the big tank.....I dont think its available here any more. Only those small ones like what Rinnai is selling
those with the big tank has a pilot light continuously burning just like stove and oven from yester-years biggrin.gif
idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 09:03 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 10 2013, 08:53 AM)
Eat also can choke. No need to eat.

In life we do all the precautions we can, if really want to go is time to go. What we can do is make sure the thing we install are safe and product we get are good brand.

Heard from radio today the water heater that cause of death of the couple is instant water heater.
I have no doubts its one of those instant kind.

idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 09:52 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 10 2013, 09:15 AM)
The sad news is, they left behind a 6 months old baby. Pray for the baby finding a good home.
oh man thats tragic sad.gif

idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 12:31 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

*deleted

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 10 2013, 12:34 PM
idoblu
post Sep 10 2013, 03:48 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(hontoni1983 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:35 PM)
This is why I am angry with my developer,give me a nice shower rain on top of ceiling,but never give me the pipe for centralised water heater. Asking my reno sifu now to see how to do it with minimum hacking of tiles....
maybe got leh, do you see a man hole cover on your ceiling in your bathroom?
go up and take a look. Maybe there is a copper pipe there. The part that you can see usually very short length only. it wont be connected to anything.

or take a look at your controls for turning on the water. do you see a red and blue dot?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 10 2013, 03:50 PM
idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:09 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 22 2013, 04:22 PM)
Seriously guys, I was merely answering a question posed by someone earlier. I may not know the mechanics or process (unlike many of u here) but surely the only way to find out is to give the unit a try.

Till now, no one has stepped forward to say they have tried the heater and can confirm it can or cannot do as claimed. Based on feedback of a friend who has used it for a year, he said OK but as with everything in life, only time will tell.
of course it will work. the important thing is how much does it cost?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 22 2013, 05:09 PM
idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:28 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 22 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi @idoblu, I managed to get the pricing at the recent homedec but my fear is once I post the prices, suddenly for no reason kena bombarded again (when i'm just sharing for the benefit of those interested)  rclxub.gif
i think they are not bombarding you but the product..... tongue.gif
anyway seers have 3 kinds of water heaters - instant, storage and heat pump
my guess is you got the storage kind. even the 40L cost around RM1400 which is like 3 times the cost of a normal storage heater

at seers website here they explain how it works - see if it makes sense to anyone

idoblu
post Oct 22 2013, 05:43 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

hahaha...i was about to say "inb4 weikee says rinnai gas heater" laugh.gif laugh.gif

looking at the picture and explanation from Seers sales here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=62899187

i find it odd that the heated water needs to travel from tank 1 to tank 2 when there are two heating source C, one in each tank
maybe i see the picture wrong?

we all curious on how it works....some of us are a bit skeptical so Stargazer, please dont take it the wrong way icon_rolleyes.gif :

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 22 2013, 05:52 PM
idoblu
post Oct 23 2013, 01:40 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 23 2013, 09:13 AM)
Hi morning folks, I still undecided and have some options for my 4 bathrooms and kitchen -

Option 1 : Instant water heaters for all 4 bathrooms ie, 4 x RM699 = RM2796 + kitchen dispenser (under sink) RM638 = RM3434

Option 2 : Master bathroom 40L single tank RM780 + 2 bedrooms (shared) 40L double tanks RM1350 + Ground Floor bathroom & kitchen 40L double tanks RM1350 = RM3480

Option 3 : Master bathroom 40L single tank RM780 + 2 bedrooms /Ground Floor bathroom & kitchen 60L double tanks RM1485 = RM2265

Option 4 : Centralised 100L tank RM3870
Options 2-4 are not inclusive of the installation of the hot water pipes. I was told that it could be from RM600-900 per point. While my earlier intention is to have the centralised version, it will very much depend on the piping charges. Hence I am more inclined towards Option 3, besides cheaper, there are only 2 storage tanks for the house and hopefully less to pay for the piping.

What do you think .. pls advise
did you check whether your house has all the necessary piping for centralized heated water?
centralized means copper piping going to all your long bath, shower, basin, kitchen sink, etc.....

if you gonna put in your own piping to make it really centralized, then might as well get solar (1st choice) or heat pump (2nd choice)
but if paying an exorbitant amount just for regular storage heaters is your choice, then so be it biggrin.gif
mind you, doing all the piping, you will need to redo all tiling as well and hacking etc....really big elephant just for hot water in a hot country.....LOL

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 23 2013, 01:42 PM
idoblu
post Oct 23 2013, 01:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

some solar has an electric element build in, they call it a backup
what kind of house is this may i ask
new development or old?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 23 2013, 01:52 PM
idoblu
post Oct 23 2013, 01:57 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Oct 23 2013, 01:52 PM)
DSL intermediate type
well it probably wont have centralized piping
but most likely you have copper piping that is localized for each bathroom and they only go to the shower and long bath if you have one
you can easily check this -

1. look to see if you have a mixer (the knobs that controls the water)
2. take a look inside your plaster ceiling to see if there is a short copper pipe just above the showers

does your master bathroom have a long bath?
idoblu
post Oct 23 2013, 08:58 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 23 2013, 04:49 PM)
I would like to know if storage 25L enough for 2 person? Then storage tank share better or individual better?
I like to say enough but if you like to take 30mins shower than maybe not enough lah. biggrin.gif
Even if not enough, the only penalty you need to pay is wait another 15mins or so for it to heat up another tankful. Really no big deal.

Not sure what you mean by sharing but if you want to use one tank for two bathrooms, it's possible if the bathroom are side by side. My old condo is set up this way and I had the plumber link both bathrooms to one tank. You must also understand that if you got two person taking showers at the same time in the separate bathrooms, you habis your hot water faster and may exhaust your 25L capacity

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 23 2013, 08:59 PM

0.0592sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:52 PM