Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V13, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

ekudz
post Jan 13 2012, 06:12 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

got unifi installation next week on saturday but im working .. ask UNIFI to come on Sunday they said cant .. only weekdays or saturday ...

then how? im working .. cant take leave due to lot of work .. if installation only 1-2 hours maybe can lari kejap la.. but installation more than that ...

Damm!!
jolmy
post Jan 13 2012, 06:27 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 13 2012, 06:12 PM)
got unifi installation next week on saturday but im working .. ask UNIFI to come on Sunday they said cant .. only weekdays or saturday ...

then how? im working .. cant take leave due to lot of work .. if installation only 1-2 hours maybe can lari kejap la.. but installation more than that ...

Damm!!
Are you staying at landed house or high-rise condominium?
ekudz
post Jan 13 2012, 06:34 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Jan 13 2012, 06:27 PM)
Are you staying at landed house or high-rise condominium?
landed ..

just call UNIFI .. they said cant change the date .. then i got no choice but to use orang dalam la .. will wait for the answer can or not.. if cant .. then need to be ANGRY CUSTOMER la .. heheheh!!~
ahlong
post Jan 13 2012, 06:46 PM

not a debt collector
610 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jan 13 2012, 04:51 PM)
1043ND alot different then 841 ?
1043ND got USB and with Gigabit LAN port rclxm9.gif
ekudz
post Jan 13 2012, 06:54 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

QUOTE(ahlong @ Jan 13 2012, 06:46 PM)
1043ND got USB and with Gigabit LAN port rclxm9.gif
is it like this?

ckboon
post Jan 13 2012, 07:03 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 13 2012, 05:47 PM)
USB Port, more ram, more antennas but same chipset(if I didn't remember wrongly).
check it up here: http://www.tp-link.com.my/products/details...del=TL-WR1043ND
izzat80
post Jan 13 2012, 08:26 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 13 2012, 05:14 PM)
best practice is to choose channel 1,6,11

those unwritten channel will overlap with each other..

this is a standard for wireless networking

where did u read this infos? I don think is correct

then why put in router channel 1 to 11?
expl0it
post Jan 13 2012, 08:36 PM

On Letting Go
1,213 posts

The speed is much better compared to yesterday
ahlong
post Jan 13 2012, 09:53 PM

not a debt collector
610 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 13 2012, 06:54 PM)
is it like this?

yes, thats the one rclxms.gif
izzat80
post Jan 13 2012, 10:15 PM

261 posts

how much is selling price for this units now?
ckboon
post Jan 13 2012, 10:28 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(izzat80 @ Jan 13 2012, 08:26 PM)
where did u read this infos? I don think is correct

then why put in router channel 1 to 11?
it's standard ...

please understand how wireless waves being transmit.

it's the same thing for internal IP and external IP...

definitely u won't see a single internal IP coming from external IP, but they are some non-tech ppl will use external IP for their internal IP, it's the same goes to wireless channel... best practice is to use 1,6 and 11. I don't mean u cant use the rest of the channel, but it will create more interference.

i lazy wanna google it up. u can try to search and proof that i am wrong. tongue.gif
phenomsys
post Jan 13 2012, 10:57 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Jan 12 2012, 12:57 PM)
can a modem router become AP mode? as i can use my old belkin product, or do i need to purchase new router? asus good? belkin? cisco? netgear?
yea.... As per previous post that other LYN member reply, what u need to do is disable the DHCP only. actually for me i prefer cisco. but what i know for UNIFI support just only few brand include Asus. so i choose Asus for 2nd Choice.
jolmy
post Jan 13 2012, 11:01 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 13 2012, 05:14 PM)
best practice is to choose channel 1,6,11

those unwritten channel will overlap with each other..

this is a standard for wireless networking

Problem is if you stay in a high-rise apartment/condo, you'll have many neighboring hotspots also on 1,6,11. And out of no choice, I have to choose a channel which is least used, although it does overlap with others, but at least, it works. In my case, I am on Channel 4.

This post has been edited by jolmy: Jan 13 2012, 11:03 PM
jun6065168
post Jan 13 2012, 11:04 PM

194 posts

I'm new to unifi here n i was wondering if there's no unlimited usage quota alr?
milky
post Jan 13 2012, 11:12 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(jun6065168 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:04 PM)
I'm new to unifi here n i was wondering if there's no unlimited usage quota alr?
not implemented yet.... i think soon...
toobad
post Jan 14 2012, 12:14 AM

291 posts

Hey guys, unifi contractor just came today, they did a pretty amazing job, setting it up all the devices including my homeplug in just about an hour! Pretty happy with their service.

I realise the speed is not stable as for today, it fluctuates ALOT.

I do realise that the FUP (fair usage policy) is not implemented yet. However, is there a way to check total download and upload? Just curious

Also, may I know what is your average download speed for torrent on 5MB package?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by toobad: Jan 14 2012, 01:02 AM
ckboon
post Jan 14 2012, 01:46 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Jan 13 2012, 11:01 PM)
Problem is if you stay in a high-rise apartment/condo, you'll have many neighboring hotspots also on 1,6,11. And out of no choice, I have to choose a channel which is least used, although it does overlap with others, but at least, it works. In my case, I am on Channel 4.
it doesn't matter if they are using 1,6,11... just choose 1 of those that have less congestion. if you chose channel 4 it will interfere from channel 1 to 6, hence getting more noise.... anyway if u r happy if the link, then just use it. smile.gif
goodseeder
post Jan 14 2012, 02:36 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 14 2012, 01:46 AM)
it doesn't matter if they are using 1,6,11... just choose 1 of those that have less congestion. if you chose channel 4 it will interfere from channel 1 to 6, hence getting more noise.... anyway if u r happy if the link, then just use it. smile.gif
Sorry to burst your bubble, but you are wrong tongue.gif

ALL channels overlap, 1 overlaps with 2, 2 with 3, ........ 10 with 11.

So in theory you are correct, if we are in a condo, and only three wireless AP there, then the best way is for each to use one of these, meaning one of the routers chooses channel 1, the other channel 6 and the last is channel 11. This way they will not overlap at all. But what if there are MANY others on channel 1 or 6 or 11? You will interfere.

So basically what you need to aim for is to stay as far away as you can from congested channels. If that means going for 4 or 7, go for it.

See this pic from a router "wireless survey", it scans wireless networks nearby, see the recommended channels rolleyes.gif

Btw, did you buy a NAS? how's torrenting laugh.gif
ckboon
post Jan 14 2012, 02:48 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(goodseeder @ Jan 14 2012, 02:36 AM)
Sorry to burst your bubble, but you are wrong  tongue.gif

ALL channels overlap, 1 overlaps with 2, 2 with 3, ........ 10 with 11.

So in theory you are correct, if we are in a condo, and only three wireless AP there, then the best way is for each to use one of these, meaning one of the routers chooses channel 1, the other channel 6 and the last is channel 11. This way they will not overlap at all. But what if there are MANY others on channel 1 or 6 or 11? You will interfere.

So basically what you need to aim for is to stay as far away as you can from congested channels. If that means going for 4 or 7, go for it.

See this pic from a router "wireless survey", it scans wireless networks nearby, see the recommended channels  rolleyes.gif

Btw, did you buy a NAS? how's torrenting laugh.gif
not all channel will overlap... ch 1, 6, 11 wont overlap each other, that's why i said it's the best channel

there's a consistent graph on wireless... so choosing channel in between which is 2-5, we will get more interference as it overlap from ch 1 through 6, just depend on which getting more and which getting less noise..

it's better to use channel booster if we wanna go use other non-advisable channel. and again its depend on the setup and strong ur wireless box will be.

not yet get.... did some read up on dytek and found that they can do torrenting from the box as well... correct me if i am wrong
goodseeder
post Jan 14 2012, 02:54 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 14 2012, 02:48 AM)
not all channel will overlap... ch 1, 6, 11 wont overlap each other, that's why i said it's the best channel

there's a consistent graph on wireless... so choosing channel in between which is 2-5, we will get more interference as it overlap from ch 1 through 6, just depend on which getting more and which getting less noise..

it's better to use channel booster if we wanna go use other non-advisable channel. and again its depend on the setup and strong ur wireless box will be.

not yet get.... did some read up on dytek and found that they can do torrenting from the box as well... correct me if i am wrong
Hah! you just confirmed what I said. Did you read my post completely? tongue.gif I said 1 and 6 and 11 won't overlap correct. But thats only if we have 3 networks, each on one of these. In real life, whatever you choose, there is probably going to be overlapping networks.

This example shows my meaning:

If you choose 1, and there is a network at 3, you will interfere! If you change it to 6 you will STILL interfere!

If you choose channel 9, and there is a network at 3, you will not interfere. See my point ? biggrin.gif
9 (and above) here is the best choice, not 1 or 6. You said it must be 1 or 6 or 11, thats not true nod.gif

115 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 >Top

0.0210sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:14 AM