Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V13, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

ckboon
post Jan 14 2012, 03:05 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(goodseeder @ Jan 14 2012, 02:54 AM)
Hah! you just confirmed what I said. Did you read my post completely?  tongue.gif  I said 1 and 6 and 11 won't overlap correct. But thats only if we have 3 networks, each on one of these. In real life, whatever you choose, there is probably going to be overlapping networks.

This example shows my meaning:

If you choose 1, and there is a network at 3, you will interfere! If you change it to 6 you will STILL interfere!

If you choose channel 9, and there is a network at 3, you will not interfere. See my point ? biggrin.gif
9 (and above) here is the best choice, not 1 or 6. You said it must be 1 or 6 or 11, thats not true  nod.gif
lol it's not a must.. as i mention early, that's the best practice... as in real life there are some ppl who dont really understand the concept on channel will just pick their lucky number, i bet some will even choose channl 13. I did give an example of ppl using external IP as their Internal IP.

what i wanna bring out is that, 1,6,11 will be best channel if everyone follow the standard. as for ur example, as for standard i will go for channel 11 and not 9.

and if everyone follow the standard of 1,6,11, then by any meant we will only interfere with only 1 channel, either it's 1 or 6 or 11. but practically this is hard to archieve as some ppl will even go and choose automatic. smile.gif
goodseeder
post Jan 14 2012, 03:11 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 14 2012, 03:05 AM)
lol it's not a must.. as i mention early, that's the best practice... as in real life there are some ppl who dont really understand the concept on channel will just pick their lucky number, i bet some will even choose channl 13. I did give an example of ppl using external IP as their Internal IP.

what i wanna bring out is that, 1,6,11 will be best channel if everyone follow the standard. as for ur example, as for standard i will go for channel 11 and not 9.

and if everyone follow the standard of 1,6,11, then by any meant we will only interfere with only 1 channel, either it's 1 or 6 or 11. but practically this is hard to archieve as some ppl will even go and choose automatic. smile.gif
So if we live in a codo area, and there are 45 wireless networks in total, we should go like this:

channel 1: 15
channel 6: 15
channel 11: 15

Is the above the optimal/standard thing to do in your opinion? The 15 channels broadcasting at the exact same frequency, they will not interfere ? tongue.gif
Yes sure, the first 15 will not touch the second 15, but what about the 15 themselves!!
Bro they will go dancing like bowling pins after the ball hit them! laugh.gif
ckboon
post Jan 14 2012, 03:21 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(goodseeder @ Jan 14 2012, 03:11 AM)
So if we live in a codo area, and there are 45 wireless networks in total, we should go like this:

channel 1: 15
channel 6: 15
channel 11: 15

Is the above the optimal/standard thing to do in your opinion? The 15 channels broadcasting at the exact same frequency, they will not interfere ? tongue.gif
Yes sure, the first 15 will not touch the second 15, but what about the 15 themselves!!
Bro they will go dancing like bowling pins after the ball hit them!  laugh.gif
i dont think it will be an issue. Do think we are able to see all the 45 AP inside our unit? I don't think each of the resident will buy a big antenna which will blast their wireless up to 5km.. the most the resident will is around 4-5 AP if they are sitting inside their block. then just filter out all the channel and choose less used or empty channel...

we are talking about residential, so i don't see any problem with it

if commercial site, yes choosing 1,6,11 won't be practical as everyone wanna blast the wireless to the max.. and this where wireless booster come in, and different type of frenquency coming in..

hope i make this clear...

IwanAGP
post Jan 14 2012, 03:25 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 14 2012, 02:48 AM)
not all channel will overlap... ch 1, 6, 11 wont overlap each other, that's why i said it's the best channel

there's a consistent graph on wireless... so choosing channel in between which is 2-5, we will get more interference as it overlap from ch 1 through 6, just depend on which getting more and which getting less noise..

it's better to use channel booster if we wanna go use other non-advisable channel. and again its depend on the setup and strong ur wireless box will be.

not yet get.... did some read up on dytek and found that they can do torrenting from the box as well... correct me if i am wrong
QUOTE(goodseeder @ Jan 14 2012, 02:54 AM)
Hah! you just confirmed what I said. Did you read my post completely?  tongue.gif  I said 1 and 6 and 11 won't overlap correct. But thats only if we have 3 networks, each on one of these. In real life, whatever you choose, there is probably going to be overlapping networks.

This example shows my meaning:

If you choose 1, and there is a network at 3, you will interfere! If you change it to 6 you will STILL interfere!

If you choose channel 9, and there is a network at 3, you will not interfere. See my point ? biggrin.gif
9 (and above) here is the best choice, not 1 or 6. You said it must be 1 or 6 or 11, thats not true  nod.gif
If and only if there's one wireless device in your area, it never interfere. Or you can make sure all ur neighbours don't broadcast at same channel. It's like FM Radio. If both radio station broadcasting at same frequency, the receiver will only be receiving information of the stronger signal. This works about the same in WiFi but there's another factor here, that's the encryption of information of each AP. Hahaha... Cincai bluff bluff bluff. I think so called standard... Should be just a Norm. Not a must! For me, it should be choosing channel based on surrounding wifi. Don't use channels used by your neighbours. This is what I did...
goodseeder
post Jan 14 2012, 03:25 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Jan 14 2012, 03:21 AM)
i dont think it will be an issue. Do think we are able to see all the 45 AP inside our unit? I don't think each of the resident will buy a big antenna which will blast their wireless up to 5km.. the most the resident will is around 4-5 AP if they are sitting inside their block. then just filter out all the channel and choose less used or empty channel...

we are talking about residential, so i don't see any problem with it
if commercial site, yes choosing 1,6,11 won't be practical as everyone wanna blast the wireless to the max.. and this where wireless booster come in, and different type of frenquency coming in..

hope i make this clear...
We are just chatting in the middle of the night nothing better to do laugh.gif
I think I will make some warm drink nod.gif
ahlong
post Jan 14 2012, 07:49 AM

not a debt collector
610 posts

QUOTE(izzat80 @ Jan 13 2012, 10:15 PM)
how much is selling price for this units now?
bought it for rm145 @ sri comp lowyat
xngjn
post Jan 14 2012, 08:49 AM

1,239 posts

may i ask i currently still using streamyx unicool package (under contract till july), may i know can i able upgrade to unifi 20mbps? do i need pay penalty for terminate contract early?

thank you
TSCalvin871989
post Jan 14 2012, 09:40 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Thread has reach the limit.

Please continue in new thread.

0.0254sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled